XLDent

4.2 (39)
Write a Review!
Dental practice and clinical management software

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(39)
Value for Money
3.8/5
Features
3.8/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

85%
recommended this app
Sort by

39 Reviews

Lynnette
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use software

Reviewed on 2022/01/28

Pros

This software is easy to use, which means that it is easy to train new employees on it. I appreciate the videos that help to train the employees. The added features are great, and there always seems to be updates that improve quality even more. I have been very happy using this software.

Cons

I would appreciate an area to indicate a patients preferred pronouns due to some discussions with colleagues where this has been an issue.

Alternatives Considered

Eaglesoft

Reasons for Switching to XLDent

XLDENT seems to have more features and also has helpful support staff for questions.
WooKwon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It has been quite pleasant surprise since the beginning of my practice!

Reviewed on 2022/01/28

Pros

Very intuitive and does check a lot of boxes for functionality and more.

Cons

They advertised a new feature but so far it's been disappointment. Mango voice integration, global payment, etc. Not really as intuitive nor natural.

Alternatives Considered

Open Dental

Reasons for Switching to XLDent

Graphic is far more colorful with XL Dent. thus prettier!

Response from XLDent

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear XLDent is working well for your practice. We welcome any and all feedback on how we can improve the integrations and other services we offer.

Tami
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

review of XL Dent

Reviewed on 2022/02/11

We have been on this for a very long time. It is easy to teach new employees, Longterm very happy...

We have been on this for a very long time. It is easy to teach new employees, Longterm very happy with our choice for this program.

Pros

Ease of use has to be my number one answer. Simplicity is always best.

Cons

Not being to able to get back what was once there.... or even having to pay monthly for a program that shouldnt have a charge for

Alternatives Considered

Dentrix

Reasons for Choosing XLDent

Needed a newer easier system that had more to offer.

Reasons for Switching to XLDent

Simplicity of the product

Response from XLDent

Thank you for the feedback! We appreciate it and welcome it so we can continue to make XLDent easy to use and work better for practices.

Pattee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

My life with XL Dent

Reviewed on 2022/01/28

On a day to day basis it works for us. I do wish the customer service department would be more open...

On a day to day basis it works for us. I do wish the customer service department would be more open to customer service and helping me improving the features I'd like improved. I'm often, too often told no. It frustrates me greatly!
The hardware team is great and really responsive.

Pros

I do like the way we can customize many features. I like the way the charts are laid out and most of the integration to other software.

Cons

There are many features that could be improved. I have a list, I often try to share that list but don't feel like I get heard. I feel like sometimes they forget WE are their customer and should try to help us create what would work for us.

Alternatives Considered

Eaglesoft

Reasons for Switching to XLDent

I didn't, Doc did.
Timothy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

XL Dent

Reviewed on 2022/01/28

Good customer support, and they seem to somewhat listen to suggestions

Good customer support, and they seem to somewhat listen to suggestions

Pros

Ease of use, and the customer support is good.

Cons

Reviewing charts is not efficient, it takes too many clicks and too much sorting

Response from XLDent

We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear XLDent software and support are working well for you. The sorting options in some areas of XLDent are designed to be 'set and forget' so the sort selections stay for the logged in user. However, we are always open to ideas on how to make the software easier and will take a look at the chart review process and how it can be improved. If you have any other suggestions we always welcome them!

Karolyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Dental Software Review

Reviewed on 2022/02/02

Appointments are never double booked.
Accounting can be difficult to itemize 1 individual patient...

Appointments are never double booked.
Accounting can be difficult to itemize 1 individual patient in a family.

Pros

Patient charting and x-rays. Easy to create treatment plans. View and send X-rays and photos is simple.
Appointment book is great for 2 offices on the same system.

Cons

I feel there could be some changes to the accounting to make it more simple for posting to an individual patient. Insurance also could use some easier tweeking for procedure codes that may fall in a different classification with an insurance company.

Christine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Christine D.

Reviewed on 2022/02/07

Overall it is a user friendly dental software.

Overall it is a user friendly dental software.

Pros

Customizability in many modules of the software. The appointment book is easy to manage patient appointments/coordination and the charting feature allows customized templates for efficiency and accuracy.

Cons

Separates business transactions from clinical. Inefficient to jumping back and forth. Tooth charting lacks detail with partials.

Linden
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

XL Dent user since 2005

Reviewed on 2022/02/26

No previous history of using another software, but did try some other competitors and over all we...

No previous history of using another software, but did try some other competitors and over all we are satisfied. If you take that special someone to the prom, then you should dance with them the whole night, versus ditching them for a new partner. It looks green on the other side until, your on the other side.

Pros

For the most part it is easy for our office to use

Cons

Sometime after you use the product and get use to its limitations for your specific use, you create "work arounds" to make it fit what you need. Then you can loose that "work around" option when they do their Updates.

Dawn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Long time user of XLDent

Reviewed on 2022/02/02

XLDent has given us great customer service and we have a good working relationship with them.

XLDent has given us great customer service and we have a good working relationship with them.

Pros

We have had a great working relationship with the software support team and they have been super helpful getting the software to do what we need it to do. From what I hear from other offices with other software, that isn't the case. I really like the lighthouse integration for confirming and filling openings, it has saved a lot of front desk time.

Cons

The web access through patient portal is not easy for patients to navigate. We have a button on our website, but still not smooth. Also it would be nice if partial paid claims showed up in over 30 day claims. I also wish we could have a custom button on accounts that we could customize on our side, example patients with a certain insurance or example add a $ sign for accounts for financials.

Derek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Review of XLDent

Reviewed on 2022/02/02

Its fine. It was the office's first software and it does the minimum required. Easy for computer...

Its fine. It was the office's first software and it does the minimum required. Easy for computer limited staff to learn program. But we quickly grew up against its limits and difficult for me to measure certain areas of the office with difficult to use reports.

Pros

Very easy to use. Easy to train new employees. Few buttons means fewer places to get lost or wrong click

Cons

Very limited functionality. Not compatible with many outside programs. Very limited reporting.

Alternatives Considered

Open Dental and Eaglesoft

Reasons for Switching to XLDent

Ease of use and cost
Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reliable, functional software

Reviewed on 2022/01/28

Pros

Ease of use and trainability; affordable and has good customer service

Cons

Imaging - does not integrate well. Don’t like how they pull up - difficult to find older films

Response from XLDent

Thank you for your feedback and review! We're happy to hear it's easy to use and you're happy with our customer support too. If we can help with the imaging and review ways for that to be easier please feel free to reach out to our team.

Harper
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Software developers need to design with a client as part of the process,

Reviewed on 2022/02/04

Will start to look at other dental software in the next 3 years after my initial investment has...

Will start to look at other dental software in the next 3 years after my initial investment has been captured. If the software suite is improved (especially daily chart entries), I may stay. Not a big fan of click and drag. There is waaaaay too much setup involved and it is not as easy to make variances. Since I type rapidly, I have taken to typing each chart record in its entirety. Also, click and drag is slower for me than just typing. Boo yak on this module.

Pros

Chart view and appointment view. I also like the practice account reporting.

Cons

Daily dental chart records module. It is abysmal.

Denise
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Xldent review

Reviewed on 2022/02/02

Pros

Some of the features are easy to use and easy for new hires to catch on.

Cons

I wish it was easier to generate a list of patients instead of seeing all of them. I only want to see active patients or so fourth.

Ann
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Workable Product

Reviewed on 2022/02/01

Pros

Moving over to this system was seamless. Programs are easy to use.

Cons

Did not get answers for some of the querky things that happened.

Denise
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Long time XL Dent user

Reviewed on 2022/01/31

Their support is the BEST. They are there at 7 am if there's something that's not working when I...

Their support is the BEST. They are there at 7 am if there's something that's not working when I get to the office, and they are SO helpful!

Pros

Very user friendly, and new hires love the online videos they can watch to learn all the ins and outs!

Cons

The way statements are done-the messages it puts on the statements even if we are waiting on insurance sometimes upsets our patients, but if we "nice-up" the message, it doesn't get the point across to those that are past due!

Linda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent product.

Reviewed on 2022/02/02

Our experience with XLDent has been very good. Software questions are answered completely and the...

Our experience with XLDent has been very good. Software questions are answered completely and the staff is very helpful. The hardware department is exceptional. They are always right there to get things right and correct.

Pros

I like the ease of use. The reports are with complete information

Cons

The treatment plans are hard to navigate in the patients chart. I feel there is a lot of going in and out to complete a task.

Elizabeth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Only use it bc it’s too hard to switch

Reviewed on 2022/01/29

The customer support is great. Thank god bc I can not navigate anything in the software.

The customer support is great. Thank god bc I can not navigate anything in the software.

Pros

Can make templates for the progress notes

Cons

The platform is not user friendly. How to attach a progress note to a code. A material to a code. The options or child to progress note templates. It is really not intuitive. Think Apple phones. Babies can figure them out. XLDent- I have a doctorate and I can not figure it out.

Rollie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Dental office review of XLDent

Reviewed on 2022/02/07

when we have questions the XLDent support team is VERY helpful

when we have questions the XLDent support team is VERY helpful

Pros

ease of use. Support help is very easy to get in touch with as well as very friendly and helpful.

Cons

We have not liked how some of the Do not lock in the patient records and can be easily deleted.

Response from XLDent

We appreciate your feedback and so glad our support team is helpful to you. Thank you!

Ashley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

New Business

Reviewed on 2022/02/02

Happy overall but again nothing to compare it too.

Happy overall but again nothing to compare it too.

Pros

As a brand new business and the only emr system we have used it seems to do what we need it too. We aren't really sure what we are missing out on because we have nothing to compare it too. I do like that they do regular updates and added the XL connect feature. The scheduling system is sufficient the and dentist has no complaints on his end.

Cons

We wish we could custom the schedule more to show age and insurance type of the appointment that is scheduled since that affects how we schedule our patients. I also wish there was a way to check a patient out with closing out the chart so the doctor can get back in.

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Minimul but does the job

Reviewed on 2022/02/02

Customer Support is great!

Customer Support is great!

Pros

The different screens are easy to understand

Cons

Navigating between options is a bit much. ALOT of clicking here and clicking there and when you try to go back just one step, on things like reports, you can't. It takes you all the way back to the beginning to select parameters again

Celeste
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everything we need

Reviewed on 2022/02/01

I am always able to get great support in what ever area I am needing it. We are new to using Xl...

I am always able to get great support in what ever area I am needing it. We are new to using Xl Connect and Claims attach and are happy with both programs and the support I have received in getting them set up and running.

Pros

All aspects of XL Dent are easy to use for the most part.

Cons

updates sometimes change things we like or are use to.

Craig
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Software user for 7 years

Reviewed on 2022/01/28

Pros

This software was present when I started working at the clinic, since the company was sold and changed management, I am less satisfied with the product

Cons

Recent changes have increased costs and forced me into a bundled package I do not want

Alison
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

review

Reviewed on 2022/02/02

Pros

lots of different optional features/modules

Cons

billing - statements are confusing and not much customization available, does not integrate with most external platforms (voice, claims etc) which has been discouraging but as a standalone works well enough

Julie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall Good Experience

Reviewed on 2022/01/28

Very good

Very good

Pros

Pretty user friendly. I appreciate development team that adds to our wish list of new things.
Very good report options

Cons

Would like the resources to be easier. We miss the arrow to move over in schedule and view the columns we need.

Jaime
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Antiquated

Reviewed on 2022/02/07

Started ok, 8 years later ended poorly

Started ok, 8 years later ended poorly

Pros

The company used to try to update and customize for us. That has ceased and they are very outdated on features.

Cons

They stopped working with us on specific office needs.