CollaborateMD

Cloud-based medical billing and practice management solution

Overall rating

4,0 /5
(73)
Value for Money
4/5
Features
3,9/5
Ease of Use
4,1/5
Customer Support
3,9/5

77%
recommended this app
Sort by

73 Reviews

Vishal
Vishal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CollaborateMD is just excellent..!!

Reviewed on 2022/08/31

My overall experience very good because however software is build. User friendly things makes that...

My overall experience very good because however software is build. User friendly things makes that software great. This is just great medical billing application I have used and I would recommend it to everyone without any doubt.

Pros

CollaborateMD is one of the best application that I used in my medical billing journey. It is very user friendly. Simple and excellent.

Cons

Till now I am not able to find any glitch in this software. I just love this medical billing application.

SLOAN
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Collaborate MD

Reviewed on 2021/05/12

Overall, it was pleasant. User friendly. Very easy on the eyes and very easy to train staff on in...

Overall, it was pleasant. User friendly. Very easy on the eyes and very easy to train staff on in regards to the front office aspect of the software.

Pros

The scheduling platform that Collaborate offered was very user friendly and offered a lot of features that helped our practice even when we were bringing on new hires. I liked most that in scheduling/calendar area you could at a very quick glance differentiate between scheduled, checking in, rescheduled, cancelled, and no show appointments. The "appointment box" if you will call it, also provided a glance of "appointment notes" from staff such as "collect $$$ copay" or "get new ins card" etc. That feature was very helpful across our practice since our verification and billing was a separate department than our scheduling and reception. Billing was no complicated and user friendly. Initially when I started using this program I was new to everything and had never even done billing before but due to its simplicity and ease of use it was not complicated for me, a new biller, new to the software, to pick up and start billing with ease.

Cons

There were some gaps that could use some improvements. It lacked a comprehensive referral system, It lacked management access to fine tune the automations of the application such as patient reminders, patient broadcasting, same day appointment broadcasting ex. "the provider had an emergency, pls contact office to reschedule appt" or something of the sorts. Also, pt messaging features were lacking. I could not text a pt, email a pt, or anything like that from within the system.

Alternatives Considered

eClinicalWorks, Tebra and Practice Fusion

Reasons for Switching to CollaborateMD

Highly recommended by a friend in the same industry. I was able to have the opportunity to view the workflow of Collaborate when I was at my friends practice while it was in use and get a up close view of how the software operated.
Molly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

CMD

Reviewed on 2023/11/03

Pros

There are some features that allow me to view claims more easily, but that's it.

Cons

Training was very complicated. Also if I mess up on a claim, I have no idea to go back and fix it. It used to be really hard to talk to someone, but that has changed recently. A lot of times, I couldn't figure out what was wrong with the claim, nobody could find the answer. I would finally look at my old billing software and figure out what looked different to figure out the issue. Now, when I tried to take off one user and called to do that, the person told me the wrong information. I explained this to the accounting department, and they still won't refund the extra amount I paid. It's really hard as a small business owner to pay for 2 users when I've already switched to a different billing system when I barely billed out any claims. It's absolutely ridiculous. I will not be recommending this software anyone and will definitely tell them to stay away.

Alexandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solid Software

Reviewed on 2023/06/06

It's good, support could be a little better but their online help is useful. Sometimes its nice to...

It's good, support could be a little better but their online help is useful. Sometimes its nice to be able to speak to someone though.

Pros

Our capacity for using CollaborateMD has been transitioning clients off of it to our preferred billing software. We keep the accounts open to ensure that we have access to older items and so that we can work down all of the existing AR. I like the software. It is easy to use and the custom reports are so helpful and easy to use.

Cons

There isn't really anything I dislike about it, I am just much more comfortable with other systems. I think this is a good and reasonably priced software to use for small to medium sized practices. I'm not sure about all of the integration, that may be a pain point since no one we have worked with so far has had a successful integration set up.

Alternatives Considered

AdvancedMD EHR

Reasons for Switching to CollaborateMD

We did not, we transitioned from the software.
Erin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product - Easy to Use!

Reviewed on 2021/06/24

Pros

I love the easiness of using CollaborateMD. It's an easy system to learn and to teach others. Everything flows nicely from one screen to another. I also love that you can customize reports and export them into formats that can be edited for future use.

Cons

I wish customer service was a little more attentive and helpful.

Alternatives Considered

AdvancedMD EHR

Reasons for Choosing CollaborateMD

Medware is awful and AdvancedMD is harder to use with less customizations.

Switched From

AdvancedMD EHR

Reasons for Switching to CollaborateMD

Ease of use.
MARGARITA
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Revenue Cycle Management

Reviewed on 2021/06/24

I've been around CollaborateMD since the beta version and have loved the improvements. The software...

I've been around CollaborateMD since the beta version and have loved the improvements. The software is actually been a great asset on my resume and has helped me progress through the chains of management.

Pros

I've always loved how user friendly the software is. It's easy on the eyes and navigating is a breeze.

Cons

Reporting. I have been able to work around glitches in the building process, but there is so much more that could be done to improve reporting. The software is more for individual providers versus facilities, which we work more with.

Kerri
Kerri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Collaborate The Cheaper Way To Server A Practice

Reviewed on 2019/04/06

Collaborate works in sync with Practice Fusion, which is the electronic medical record side, and...

Collaborate works in sync with Practice Fusion, which is the electronic medical record side, and for the price, it is amazing software. Collaborate MD is a billing software which is low cost and easy for people who are not the most computer savy to use. Though the reports may not be very detailed or designed with special graphic functions they are easy to read and use to follow up on the money, and the customer support is one call away and most of all always happy to assist you. It has proven for us to be dependable and great to work with.

Pros

I love the ability to print multiple charts at one time. When working with accounts where you have to review multiple accounts and print billing for them it is nice to have software where you do not have to do one chart at a time.

Cons

The reporting system is not very elaborate it is very simple and not as detailed as you may like.

Leah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

CollaborateMD review

Reviewed on 2021/06/28

Up until CMD was bought, the customer service was amazing. Now, not so much ☹️

Up until CMD was bought, the customer service was amazing. Now, not so much ☹️

Pros

Ease of use entering patients and claims

Cons

1. Not being able to call and a live person answer, like years past.
2. Not being able to receive HRSA payments through ERA
3. Claims showing on rejection report that weren’t actually rejected
4. BCBSTX eligibility check not working

Abigail
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use customizable billing system

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

I like this system overall, it was hard to get used to the new web based version at first but once...

I like this system overall, it was hard to get used to the new web based version at first but once I did u like that one a lot.

Pros

It is easy to use and create custom reports of the weekly billing and collections, has plenty of features to create custom reports and is better now that it is web based.

Cons

The fact that it freezes a lot and takes a while for it to start working again. Also, sometimes the reports would just stop working and not pull correctly for no reason.

Krisint
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Happy

Reviewed on 2021/06/24

Good but you are expensive

Good but you are expensive

Pros

Claims submission and reporting system. It is a good program for the most part.

Cons

Expense and can be time consuming with all the different features.

Russell
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Run, Don't Walk Away from the nickel and diming product with no customer service

Reviewed on 2023/03/14

We purchased this product because of its close working relationship with a clearinghouse we worked...

We purchased this product because of its close working relationship with a clearinghouse we worked with for our desktop program. Working with the same clearinghouse was a major factor for us. A little over two years later CollaborateMD is forcing its customers to change to an inferior clearinghouse that it owns. The clearinghouse does not even support Medicare Advantage and Medicaid products in our state. We completed transition paperwork over six months ago. We are now being charge a $250 penalty per month because their own clearinghouse hasn't done its job of completing the transition.

Pros

The program is easy to use and provides full reporting capabilities. Truly one of the best programs out there. But the CONS are horrible.

Cons

ZERO and I mean ZERO customer service when things go wrong. Constantly overcharging. For example, an EOB will be sent through three times and you will be charged three separate times. Likewise, an eligibility check doesn't go through and you must do it again. You will be charged twice. Many remittance advises are programmed into the system incorrectly so you must open the program to correct manually. When you put in a trouble ticket, such as on the misprogrammed RAs, nothing is done.

Alternatives Considered

eClinicalWorks, Tebra and athenaOne

Reasons for Choosing CollaborateMD

Wanted a cloud based product. We were assured that the relationship with our Clearinghouse would continue.

Reasons for Switching to CollaborateMD

Close working relationship with a clearinghouse that services our area well.
Max
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

If you're looking for poor service, look no further

Reviewed on 2023/02/17

I was with Collaborate MD for nearly 10 years. Did our billing in-house. In the past couple years,...

I was with Collaborate MD for nearly 10 years. Did our billing in-house. In the past couple years, costs went up and service went down. It was nearly impossible to get someone on the phone if there was an issue. Recently, Collaborate changed clearinghouses from Change Healthcare to eProvidersolutions - presumably to save themselves money while increasing our monthly fees AND forcing us to have to do the leg work of changing all our payor agreements (30+). I got a surprise bill of $199 in January 2023 because I hadn't done the legwork of manually switching all of our payor agreements to the new clearinghouse - no notice was ever received by us even though CMD policy requires 30 day notice. When I called CMD, I was confused. At that time, I didn't realize we had any role in CMD's transition to a new clearinghouse. I spoke with [sensitive content hidden], was assured that if I started all the transition work and submitted the agreements by early February, the fee would be waived and we'd be back on track. So I did my part, the fee was not waived, I emailed [sensitive content hidden] and reminded him of his promise (on a recorded line) and he responded by saying the agreements had to be submitted AND approved by the end of January - 12 days after I received the surprise bill. Most agreements take weeks to be approved. It was stunning. I've sent over $30,000 to this company over the past decade and was treated horribly in the end. Do yourself a solid and shop elsewhere.

Pros

For a while, the cost was competitive.

Cons

The system required you to search out problems with claims as opposed to it notifying you of denied/rejected/not acted upon claims.

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in the Market

Reviewed on 2021/06/24

Support is great, easy setup, easy navigation. I would highly recommend anyone move over to CMD.

Support is great, easy setup, easy navigation. I would highly recommend anyone move over to CMD.

Pros

It's easy to use, cloud-based, and the Dashboards and Reporting are the best, hands down.

Cons

Payer Agreements have come a long way with CollaborateMD and are very straight forward but I'm always looking for ways to make this easier and faster for providers/groups. Possibly be able to log into the ChangeHealthcare portal in the application would make it easier. Their website is not as user-friendly as CMD. It would also be nice to schedule reports to be delivered to users, user's emails, and on certain frequencies.

JENIFER
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

REVIEW FROM BAYWEST

Reviewed on 2021/06/24

EVERYTIME WE GET USED TO NEW UPDATES , THEN MORE CHANGES ARE MADE AND THERE ARE ALWAYS GLITCHES...

EVERYTIME WE GET USED TO NEW UPDATES , THEN MORE CHANGES ARE MADE AND THERE ARE ALWAYS GLITCHES WITH PREVIOUS UPDATES...LIKE THE CODE WERE ENTERED WRONG

Pros

SOME OF ITS FEATURES ARE BENEFICIAL OTHERS ARE ONLY THERE TO HELP CERTAIN PEOPLE FOR THEIR SPECIALTIES. IS NOT ALWAYS CONDUCIVE TO WHAT WE NEED FOR OUR CHIRO OFFICE

Cons

SOME FEATURES ARE REDUNDANT AND YOU HAVE TO GO TO SEVERAL OTHER SECTIONS TO DO THINGS INSTEAD OF IT BEING IN ONE SPOT. POSTING OPTIONS SHOULD ALL BE IN THE SAME SECTION. CHECKING ACTIVITY SHOULD NOT OPEN A WHOLE OTHER COLLABORATE AS IF I LOGED BACK IN AGAIN...SEVERAL OTHER THINGS AS WELL ARE INCONVENIENT

Samantha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

CollaborateMD for Family Practices

Reviewed on 2021/06/24

Overall, CMD is a great billing system.

Overall, CMD is a great billing system.

Pros

CollaborateMD is overall a great product for billing. What I like the most is the flexibility in reporting. You can customize any report and pull all the data that you need. I've never seen reporting capability like this in any other billing system. Customer Service is great with CMD as well. My support tickets are always addressed in a timely manner.

Cons

I am not a biller, but I do billing analysis on a daily basis and also help integrate CMD with our EMRs. I wish CMD had an EMR front end and wasn't just a billing system. The integration with EMRs is ok, but not perfect. There are small issues with each of our systems in communicating with CMD. One of our EMRs has to use the scheduler in CMD. The scheduler in CMD could use improvement. It is pretty basic and the user interface leaves much to be desired. Also it is not possible to use CMD reminders just on certain providers, you have to do them all. So we cannot take advantage of this feature the way we would like to.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CMD is easy to use and reliable

Reviewed on 2021/06/27

Pros

I have used other billing softwares but CMD is easy to use and very reliable. There are add on features that can be utilized if wanted, but you don't have to pay for things you don't need.

Cons

It would be great to customize reports more easily.

Amy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

ERA posting was down for 2 weeks!

Reviewed on 2023/03/23

I am using this software because it links with my EMR but would not chose to use it otherwise.

I am using this software because it links with my EMR but would not chose to use it otherwise.

Pros

online billing portal for patients is somewhat helpful but not ideal

Cons

You cannot call customer service when system is down. Slow system repair time. ERA posting is a basic function of billing software and should never be down for more than 1-2 business days. Does not have the basic feature of storing patient's credit card number on the back end so you have to enter or swipe a credit card number for every charge. Also patient's online billing portal is very basic and it is difficult for patients to track out of pocket expenses.

Jazmine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ultimately Customizable

Reviewed on 2021/06/24

Awesome.

Awesome.

Pros

This billing system is ultimately customizable and caters to so many different practices. We love that this system integrates with many EHRs. We love that the reporting caters to the needs of our providers.

Cons

What I like least about this software is duplicate claims don't get flagged or don't alert us.

Micah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quality Practice Management Software

Reviewed on 2016/10/03

After working on a variety of practice management systems, from the very expensive to the potentiall...

After working on a variety of practice management systems, from the very expensive to the potentially cost-prohibitive, I've found CollaborateMD to be extremely easy to use, as well as afford. From day-to-day tasks like checking insurance eligibility, to in-depth data mining and reporting, CollaborateMD has been an excellent solution for our practice.

Pros

Ease of use/functionality.

Cons

The interface from our EHR to the PMS is uni-directional, and bi-directional would be ideal.

Response from CollaborateMD

Thank Micah for your kind words. It has been a pleasure to support you and your business since 2013. With the EHR integration, we are glad your business has found value. Our current integration has saved users hours a day of duplicate data-entry of patient demographics and the automation of creating claims. We are working with your current EHR vendor to allow more diversity with our API integration, to streamline your day-to-day functions even further, in the future.

Thank you again for your loyalty with CollaborateMD.

Jennifer Wilson
Sales & Solutions Manager

JOEY
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

THE BEST MED SOFTWARE

Reviewed on 2018/06/26

Pros

Collaborate is an easy to use software that is user friendly with many easy to navigate features. Many options on every reporting tab. Patient portal, demographics, financial and insurance information. This program also has auto updates that allows you to choose from the most updated icd10 codes and claim choices.

Cons

The customer service could use improvement. Collaborate requests that you contact customer support through a message center and sometimes with the busy work flow the instant assistance would be more beneficial. If you are working on a report for the practice and need immediate assistance, you have to place the task to the side until Collaborate contacts you via message or via a phone call. They do have a self help option that sometimes needs more assistance with a one on one customer service rep

Carla
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great System and Staff

Reviewed on 2021/06/24

Overall, all experiences with CMD have been easy.

Overall, all experiences with CMD have been easy.

Pros

System if very user friendly. Tutorials and support is top notch.

Cons

Limited to one clearinghouse, does not have EHR included.

Alternatives Considered

eClinicalWorks, Tebra and AdvancedMD EHR

Reasons for Switching to CollaborateMD

User Interface, ease of use and cost.
Syed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best and inexpensive RCM Software

Reviewed on 2021/06/24

One of the best I have used so far and always recommend to our clients.

One of the best I have used so far and always recommend to our clients.

Pros

This is by far one of the most user-friendly software I have used. It very easy to use and navigate through all the options.

Cons

The claim scrubbing should be more enhanced as well as the Dashboard.

Alternatives Considered

Tebra, EHR 24/7 and AdvancedMD EHR

Reasons for Switching to CollaborateMD

Inexpensive and user-friendly.
Melissa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CollaborateMD is the best kept secret in the industry bar none!

Reviewed on 2016/07/16

Pros

I can say with confidence from my own experiences plus colleagues' reported experiences with several of the most well known medical billing/practice management systems, that Collaborate MD is the best product among them all. It's the easiest, fastest, most intuitive, user friendly product with unlimited professional support in every area for as long as you have the product. They have one goal, to get their customer's claims paid as fast as possible, and they take it very seriously. They are constantly improving their product with many updates throughout the year which include implementing customer's input to maintain a cutting edge product that is continually evolving. For the price, it's a steal in comparison to other systems. If they ever get wise to what they have, they would charge far more for their services.

Cons

Nothing. Product is exceptional all around and the people are top-notch professionals who know their product and area of expertise.

Gianna
Gianna
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent customization abilities within Scheduling and Reporting functions

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

It makes it easy for staff to understand billing procedures and therefore they can better explain...

It makes it easy for staff to understand billing procedures and therefore they can better explain to patients when balances accrue due to coinsurance/copays/deductibles.

Pros

The programming is intuitive and each section of a patient's account, such as patient data and claim data, communicates together (which improves ease of use and decreases labor costs).

Cons

It needs to have bidirectional communication with our EHR, Practice Fusion. Claims are sent from PF to CMD, but patient data is not communicated from CMD to PF, which costs us labor to input the schedule and patient data twice, once in each program.

Jackie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

If you are a Medical biller, CMD provides all the tools you need to track your claims within...

Reviewed on 2017/06/09

I love it. I have all the tools and support I need to get my claims paid. While using CMD, we have...

I love it. I have all the tools and support I need to get my claims paid. While using CMD, we have increase our clients revenue by a minimum of 15% and some as high as 50%.

Pros

They are constantly improving the software based on what we, the billers, need. Very professional and knowledgeable staff and support is at no additional charge.

Cons

CMD is a billing system. If you are looking for a more robust scheduler and other enhancements you may be disappointed. But as a biller; nothing else matters if you cannot get the claim out the door!