Apache OpenOffice Calc Reviews

Apache OpenOffice Calc

Spreadsheet application for data visualization

Overall rating

4,4 /5
(49)
Value for Money
4,8/5
Features
4,1/5
Ease of Use
4,2/5
Customer Support
3,8/5
Sort by

49 Reviews

Sharon
Sharon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Does everything Excel does

Reviewed on 2019/07/08

I use this daily in my business by creating spreadsheets and other forms like timesheets, invoices,...

I use this daily in my business by creating spreadsheets and other forms like timesheets, invoices, purchase orders...

Pros

It's free. I use it to replace Microsoft Excel and I have not run into anything yet that I can't do. However I only use it for time sheets, invoices, purchase orders and estimates with auto calculations.

Cons

Sometimes it can be hard to find out how to do something I want, but with a little perseverance I can usually find the answer.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Choosing Apache OpenOffice Calc

Microsoft products can be expensive. OpenOffice is free.

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Apache OpenOffice Calc

OpenOffice Calc can do everything I want at significant savings.
Barry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Shipbuilding
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OpenOffice Calc - The Best Features of Excel - Without the Cost!

Reviewed on 2019/09/11

Using OpenOffice Calc has been a very good experience overall. Though the interface is a bit...

Using OpenOffice Calc has been a very good experience overall. Though the interface is a bit different than Microsoft Excel, it is easy to learn, and the price is right.

Pros

File type compatibility, cost (free), advanced features comparable to Excel, ability to save files to Microsoft native formats such as PPT and PPTX.

Cons

Lack of templates compared to Excel, and the interface is bit less "polished" than what you would fine in Microsoft Excel; lack of export cross-support from accounting software

Alternatives Considered

WordPerfect Office

Reasons for Choosing Apache OpenOffice Calc

Every time a new version of Microsoft Excel was released, it seemed the interface actually got worse - and the price would go up - substantially. After doing some research, I was impressed by the features offered by OpenOffice Calc, and quite surprised that it was free. OpenOffice Calc has been great - and I wished I had switch over sooner.

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Apache OpenOffice Calc

OpenOffice had similar features to both Microsoft Excel and Corel Wordpect Office spreadsheet software, and I had also read several reviews. It was free, so I decided to try it. Though the user interface took some "getting used to", OpenOffice Calc, overall, has been great. I use it every day, for everything from production schedules to quote sheets. I wish I had switched sooner!
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Was the go-to spreadsheet app, but ceased being developed and become unstable

Reviewed on 2018/03/15

OpenOffice Calc helped us avoid spending on purchasing commercial software for which this was a...

OpenOffice Calc helped us avoid spending on purchasing commercial software for which this was a suitable replacement for quite some time.

Pros

Calc has been great for importing various file formats and can also handle importing CSVs in a very flexible manner.

It was easy to use and the forums often got me out of trouble when seeking support or a how-to guide.

Cons

Instability of the desktop app cost us a lot of time and eventually forced us to move away from it. All the while, it wasn't able to export .xslx files, even if it could open them, which was a handicap and concerned me that our reputation would be affected because it appeared we were using outdated software if only able to export as .xls.

Tigran
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Same as Excel but free

Reviewed on 2021/05/03

Great, switched once and still using it. Nice functionality and compatibility.

Great, switched once and still using it. Nice functionality and compatibility.

Pros

I am using Open Office spreadsheets daily. I like that it has almost exactly the same functionality as Microsoft Excel, but is a free product. I started using it back in 2009 when switching from Windows to Linux and continue using to this day, now on Mac. It is really nice that the content can be exported in XLS format for those using more traditional products.

Cons

It is a little frustrating that I cannot copy-paste the spreadsheet content into Google Spreadsheets without losing formulas. Also the formatting is usually lost. I use Google Spreadsheets to share the numbers with my colleagues and prospective clients.

Harsh
Harsh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best alternative for Microsoft excel

Reviewed on 2021/07/28

Best and cheapest alternative for microsoft excel.

Best and cheapest alternative for microsoft excel.

Pros

It has all that a person needs for his/her personal use when he/she cannot afford Microsoft excel's subscription. You can choose what you want to delete.

Cons

Sometimes formulas working in excel which is provided by someone doesn't work in open office calc. Calc has less chart options as compared to excel.

Rafael
Rafael
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It is the best option, in terms of spreadsheets, that I have used as an alternative to excel.

Reviewed on 2018/03/16

The biggest benefit that OpenOffice has brought me is associated with its wide compatibility with...

The biggest benefit that OpenOffice has brought me is associated with its wide compatibility with different operating systems (Linux, Windows, Mac, etc.), unlike other similar programs (like Microsoft), designed only to operate with only one type of operating system.
That, added to the fact that it is free, makes its handling and installation in a good number of PC, very versatile.

Pros

Both in the case of OpenOffice and excel, I have notified the developers very specific problems with which I have found. In the case of OpenOffice the developers once they verified with the information that I sent, that the problem really existed, not only made the necessary adjustments to the program, but they contacted me back thanks for my contribution. In the case of Microsoft, that has never happened and when I have seen new versions I have verified that the problem I reported is still valid.
It consumes far less machine resources than Microsoft software. (approximately half according to my estimates).

Cons

Accepting the reality that most of the users (including my person) use mostly Microsoft software, it is necessary a period of adaptation to use the program, since the buttons, functions and general structure are presented with menus sometimes quite different from the excel, although we are fair: whenever you change the program, or version thereof, you need a period of adaptation to use it again efficiently.
For me it is more important the fact that it "hangs up" from time to time, especially when you import and modify a document from Office.
I have not asked why it happens, because it could be that it was even done on purpose, simply so that each time you use less the program of the competition, a strategy that is otherwise valid.

Maryelis
Maryelis
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is the best free spreadsheet software! It has everything I need for my job. It's free!

Reviewed on 2018/03/27

It is the best free alternative that can be found, with OpenOffice Calc you will not have problems...

It is the best free alternative that can be found, with OpenOffice Calc you will not have problems when making your works in spreadsheets and do not worry about the compatibility with other software, it can be highly compatible. And the best thing about this is that it's free!

Pros

It works on different Windows, Mac and Linux operating systems. It's assistant functions is quite friendly and similar to other softwares, you can also pivot table with a friendly assistant. It has advanced functions such as VLOOKUP and conditional formatting. Read different types of files including xls, xlsx and csv.

Cons

The visual interface I do not like, it is not updated to new trends. It has been installed with the OpenOffice suite. The graphics that are generated are of low quality. There is not much documentation of the problems, when one appears it is hard.

Hesandu
Hesandu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A better open source spreadsheet software...

Reviewed on 2021/01/03

Apache OpenOffice Calc is a good free spreadsheet software. We used it for more than 8 months. And...

Apache OpenOffice Calc is a good free spreadsheet software. We used it for more than 8 months. And we switch for Microsoft Excel. We used Apache OpenOffice Calc, create for financial statements, salary statements and etc. A good free software.

Pros

We used Apache OpenOffice Calc for more than 8 months. Excellent open source spreadsheet software. Easy to use and small in size. Apache OpenOffice Calc is an absolutely free software. And this software does work on Linux systems too. A free good software.

Cons

The UI doesn't look so pretty. Sometimes hard to find what we want. Must need to become familiar with the design. But a good spreadsheet software for free.

Michael J
Michael J
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent free spreadsheet software solution

Reviewed on 2020/10/07

Does what I need it to do, supports very large spreadsheets without any performance problems.

Does what I need it to do, supports very large spreadsheets without any performance problems.

Pros

Let's me create and edit my spreadsheets with ease. Great import functionality for CSV and Excel file formats.

Cons

The graphing and visualization features are not as well developed as the most recent versions of Microsoft Excel.

Michael
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

free alternative to Microsoft Excel

Reviewed on 2019/10/19

My computer sometimes has issues where Microsoft Office fails to load (especially Excel) or be...

My computer sometimes has issues where Microsoft Office fails to load (especially Excel) or be recognized by my computer, and I can easily keep working by using OpenOffice. Sure, the issue with Office clears up later, but I'd rather not have to wait to keep working.

Pros

The fact that it's free is huge, and can read files that you'd normally need paid software (whether Microsoft of Apple) to view.

Cons

It lacks as many features as the paid softwares, which is to be expected. Some of the features it shares with Excel aren't in the same place, so there's a bit of a learning curve if you switch, or if you use both.

Jane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and easy to find answers

Reviewed on 2019/11/19

Pros

Calc can do everything that Excel does. Sometimes it takes a little research to figure out how to do things but the community that supports it is awesome!

Cons

It took me a while to get used to the way of doing things that are different than Excel.

Sandeep
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best and free alternative for Microsoft Excel

Reviewed on 2021/04/22

Openoffice calc is free and open-source making it more technically efficient for automation...

Openoffice calc is free and open-source making it more technically efficient for automation scripts. But for regular usage, it needs to cope up with Excel features and functionality. Overall its a great app for handling all our spreadsheets works.

Pros

Openoffice calc is an efficient tool to open or edit spreadsheets. We use this tool especially for writing automation scripts in robot framework. It is free, open-source and loads files with lot of data instantly. It rarely crashed unlike excel or other such tools. We get the option to choose formatting of the file while launching the app every time. It easily integrates with Zephyr to export the scripts into JIRA.

Cons

It doesn't have all the features like excel. Copy, paste isn't as smooth as compared to MS excel. It works great on open-source OS such as Linux or Ubuntu, but doesn't work good on MacOS. It hangs a lot on MacOS.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Office Software that competes with the different worksheets existing in the market

Reviewed on 2018/07/07

It is an alternative to solve the needs of office in the company, although it lacks much improvement...

It is an alternative to solve the needs of office in the company, although it lacks much improvement to obtain greater performance.

Very low cost, provides a robust security for the company, giving it peace of mind and confidence

Pros

It is multiplatform and totally free, the software plugins are fully compatible with private packages, it has a large number of formulas, it arranges data with great ease and it is possible to work with dynamic tables, you can create graphics in an easy way, the sheet Calculation has a visual basic editor where you can adapt the program to the needs of the user, you can export the files to PDF very quickly.

Cons

It is a bit slow, sometimes it hangs, its environment is not attractive, it consumes much more resources than other office automation packages, it is not reliable to handle very large spreadsheets, when opening the documents in a package different from the openoffice damage the equations, the files are saved by default under the .odf format which can not be opened in proprietary software, the support for the application is mostly in the forums.

Mauro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A valid alternative to excel

Reviewed on 2020/02/27

It is very good for making calculations quickly. It opens in an instant and it's not heavy at all...

It is very good for making calculations quickly. It opens in an instant and it's not heavy at all and that's a very important thing

Pros

It is very similar to Microsoft excel but it is free. The features are very similar and I use it daily

Cons

There are additional features that maybe Microsoft Excel does not have, but this is to do better than Microsoft, the software is already very good

Christine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best tools

Reviewed on 2018/10/23

Open Calc gives me the opportunity to enter data as a part of my job. Each working sheet can be...

Open Calc gives me the opportunity to enter data as a part of my job. Each working sheet can be saved in the format of odt, that is the open office format, or MS Excel, etc. I find it very easy to use. I would definitely recommend it.

Pros

It is easy to learn and use, free to download and can be easily installed.

Cons

There isn't anything that I do not like about this software. Instead, I would definitely recommend it.

Daniela
Daniela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free your imagination

Reviewed on 2019/01/22

Pros

The first thing is this software is free and a powerful tool. It's an alternative to the private software and in the same way you can open the file of a private software with OpenOffice Calc.

Cons

The truth, I don't have any disappointment for this software. I think it's easy for use and very complete for make whatever calc.

Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

A fine spreadsheet tool for most, but you may as well use LibreOffice Calc

Reviewed on 2023/06/12

Pros

Works fine for the most part, and does import all the usual web file formats for organised data

Cons

It doesn't open the latest MS Office .*x files, and it's much more out of date then the equivalent LibreOffice Calc

Alternatives Considered

LibreOffice
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good alternative to Microsoft Excel

Reviewed on 2019/10/01

Overall good option if you don't want to pay for Excel licence and willing to learn to use it.

Overall good option if you don't want to pay for Excel licence and willing to learn to use it.

Pros

Almost all features used by average Excel user are available in Calc.
Works on both, windows and Linux.
Free licence.

Cons

User interface is basic and seems outdated. It takes time to get used to after migrating from excel.

Ebert
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It is a free way for calculating

Reviewed on 2018/07/14

Pros

I most like it is its functionality, because, I can do any mathematics calculation by using OpenOffice Calc, even I can draw any graphic from any set of data. It is very east to learn using it.

Cons

I least like OpenOffice Calc is the way to install any complement apps, which are quite difficult to include at the icon menu of the tool bar. At least for me, it is no easy. I have to spend time for including any new apps at the tool bar of my OpenOffice Calc.

Delbert
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Does everything I need and more

Reviewed on 2018/01/20

Love that this is a free spreadsheet software that can do so many different calculations.

Love that this is a free spreadsheet software that can do so many different calculations.

Pros

First I have to say I love the fact that this is free. It is a great alternative to the other spreadsheet software. This does everything I need and is pretty easy to learn how to use.

Cons

It does not have all the features and functionality of some of the other spreadsheet software but I'd say about 90% the same.

GIANNA
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Spreadsheet tool for all

Reviewed on 2018/01/10

Pros

I love how much I can do with the spreadsheet. It has all sorts of different calculations built in and can be used by novice on up. I also really like that this is a free program but offers the same as most paid spreadsheet tools.

Cons

The only thing that is a con on this is that there is no real-time collaboration. Other than that this software is amazing.

Matthew
Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

The Best Excel Knock-Off, and Free!

Reviewed on 2018/11/26

I use this at home, where I do not have MS Excel, and it is a very satisfactory replacement 95% of...

I use this at home, where I do not have MS Excel, and it is a very satisfactory replacement 95% of the time. What more can you ask from FREE software?

Kinks and all, I love OpenOffice.

Pros

It's free. It does 85% of what MS Excel can do. And it's free.

Cons

The program is comparable to Excel, but more clunky and hard to operate in certain ways. The fluidity and set-up of the UI is not as good.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Very Basic Spreadsheet Application

Reviewed on 2018/11/28

Basic, free spreadsheet application.

Basic, free spreadsheet application.

Pros

It functions as a very basic spreadsheet. You get some of the basic functions and calculations.

If you are a very basic spreadsheet user, OpenOffice Calc will be fine for you. Also, it is free.

Cons

It lacks so many features and built-in functions that I need and use on a regular basis with my preferred spreadsheet application.

Zyren Christian
Zyren Christian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OpenOffice Calc Review

Reviewed on 2021/08/15

Pros

OpenOffice Calc really helps a lot when when dealing with my spreadsheet files, even if I'm outside the office I can easily manage to check what files I need through this software. OpenOffice calc is very flexible to use and it has stable version unlike its early versions. And it is free.

Cons

Just like OpenOffice tools, some of the contents may get blank or corrupted when converting/importing to MS of

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Free spreadsheets!

Reviewed on 2018/06/29

Pros

Free, so you can just have it installed everywhere. gets your basic stuff done, and outputs in useful file formats

Cons

Buggy and rough. sometimes things just do not move as smoothly as you'd like, or work exactly as you'd hope intuitively.