SAS-STAT Software Reviews

SAS-STAT Software

Comprehensive statistical analysis with advanced modeling

Overall rating

4,4 /5
(77)
Value for Money
3,8/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
3,6/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

88%
recommended this app
Sort by

77 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for analyzing big datasets and insuring the accuracy of your resulting

Reviewed on 2023/02/03

Pros

I love the output style and how the software is insured to produce the best possible output. Additionally, I like the log feature which helps you debug your code. I also like that the syntax is mostly not case sensitive (with the exception of literal strings).

Cons

There is a learning curve to this software regarding the language. But, there are free and affordable modules on the website and at you local library that you can check out to learn how to program in SAS. The software is expensive as well, but for what you get it is work the money.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quality software for a premium.

Reviewed on 2018/02/01

Pros

I use the software to accomplish 80% of my duties so I may be a bit biased.

The software is extremely flexible allowing you solve many problems using its predefined processes and functions. It can be used to solve many types of reporting problems. It has built in solutions to many common and uncommon statistical and business problems.

It has a variety of interfaces that are available to clients, depending on what a user needs they might choose to use different tools that are available to them. The whole suite is actually quite large and most users will only ever touch the parts of it that helps them accomplish their goals. The SAS eco-system is extensive, mature and well-developed. We rely on it for many mission critical solutions.

Cons

Often times the various prebuilt processes have their own syntax and they are not consistent throughout the application. The software package is not cheap.

alexandra
Overall rating
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good software, but steep learning curve

Reviewed on 2018/04/22

Pros

I can do sophisticated statistical analyses and clean data sets. For example, I use this survey to do regression analyses, survival analyses, and analysis of variance.

Cons

The graphics features are pretty basic. I usually export data and create graphics in other software. There is a steep learning curve and the online documentation is ok.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My go-to Statistical software

Reviewed on 2019/06/01

Pros

What I love about SAS are syntax consistency and standardized functions. SAS as an institute has been doing a great job at maintaining the software and providing great experiences to its users. Whenever I face an error, the message often tells me what to fix exactly whereas other programming languages like R doesn't - it's extremely annoying and time-consuming.

Cons

One thing SAS lacks - perhaps it's just because of the nature of the software - is its visualization capability. I'd do a lot of statistical analysis in SAS, but have to find an alternative way to create figures to convey the results as the graphics look like they're from 90s.

prathibha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

setup

Reviewed on 2020/05/10

Overall its easy to use. Even though their products are pricey they include free customer support

Overall its easy to use. Even though their products are pricey they include free customer support

Pros

It is one of best product in terms of churning large datasets for various statistics. It has improved in terms of reporting product through SAS Viya

Cons

Setting up rules for user access using groups and roles can be confusing as there are so many. It takes some time to troubleshoot when a user has access issue.

Eshetu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I found the statistical analysis software a wonderful addition in this fast growing world.

Reviewed on 2018/07/18

Save time on analysis and obtain results efficiently

Save time on analysis and obtain results efficiently

Pros

It gives us more easily accessible tools to manage data, clean, subset, merge and combine to prepare for analysis and further to analyze datasets.

Cons

The cost of the software is high and increasing to the level that sometimes hard to renew every year, to cope up with other incremental expenses of life.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Nice product for analytic job

Reviewed on 2019/03/19

Pros

Provide all kind of data cleaning and statistical methods as long as you know how to use it.

Cons

Companies or Schools need to pay for the license which makes sense but without institution support, no one can use it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SAS is very powerful statistical software

Reviewed on 2019/10/29

I started using SAS several months before and have found the software very powerful, functional,...

I started using SAS several months before and have found the software very powerful, functional, and easy to use. I don't have to write long codes to conduct data analysis. Compared to R statistical software, coding is much easier in SAS.

Pros

I just recently started using SAS at one statistics class and if I wanted to describe it in one word, i would say that it is so POWERFUL. I have been using different statistical softwares such R statistical software, Stata, Python. Compared to these softwares, SAS is very powerful in analyzing data.

Cons

The major problem with SAS is that they don't have the app for Macbook. It is only for Windows. Fortunately, they have made good suggestions on how to use SAS on Macbook. One way is installing Virtual Box and then running SAS on your Macbook. This is the way I have been using SAS.

Sara Natalie
Sara Natalie
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Used to perform sample selection, descriptive statistics, linear and logistic regression, as...

Reviewed on 2018/03/08

The tool has been used for advanced analysis, multivalent analysis, data management and predictive...

The tool has been used for advanced analysis, multivalent analysis, data management and predictive analysis.

Pros

The results of their analysis are easy to understand, they can be used for small data sets, to analyze data with missing values.

Cons

SAS / STAT has many procedures for statistical analysis with significant functionality. Statistical methods and high performance computational tools, for which I do not think that it has any disadvantage with respect to this tool.

Alberto
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very complete statistical tool for companies

Reviewed on 2023/06/05

Pros

SAS-STAT Software: Powerful, user-friendly interface for data analysis. Efficiently slice and dice large datasets, create visuals, and deploy recurring codes with ease. Versatile and time-saving, it's a valuable tool for analyzing and visualizing data.

Cons

SAS-STAT Software can be challenging when it comes to data import, lacking accessibility and intuitiveness. While it excels in analysis, it falls short in facilitating the development of new analysis techniques compared to open programming languages like R. Mastering all its features can be difficult.

Mitiku Wale
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Statistical analysis

Reviewed on 2023/01/10

I have an experience to do joint model, mixed model, spatial analysis and regression analysis using...

I have an experience to do joint model, mixed model, spatial analysis and regression analysis using the SAS-STAT software.

Pros

It is most powerful for any statistical analysis. For instance, spatial analysis, regression analysis, mixed/multilevel analysis, and so on.

Cons

The software is case-sensitive and time consuming to install.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Oh mine, SAS is software makes you satisfied all the time, what a miss, prior to my use of...

Reviewed on 2018/01/15

Pros

the ability to create code within a short time and ability to do programming steps as well as calculation steps all in one, in a very easy way makes it a powerful tool.

Cons

sometimes it takes too much effort to get help when you're stuck, you I just keep on searching, get frustrated, and even then have to continue the following day.

Setegn Bayabil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Data analysis

Reviewed on 2023/01/07

Economic data

Economic data

Pros

This software is more powerful for economic data and experimental designs.

Cons

As far as I know this software hasn't any limitations, after once installed.

Darshan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

SAS - A not so complete package

Reviewed on 2019/06/06

Pros

SAS has the excellent ability to handle large database sets, and the syntaxes required for the software is also easy to learn. and to conclude, I love the fact that every algorithm in SAS are tested before implementation so adequate results can be arrived at.

Cons

I don't like the fact that it has very less graphical representation capabilities. There are better software wherein much more detailed graphical plots and diagrams could be plotted.
And last but not least, SAS is very expensive software to operate and licenses are needed to operate in comparison to other open source software.

Kelley
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful stat software, if you know how to use it

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Pros

I think SAS is a "must have" stat software for anyone who dapples in "advanced" analyses using GLM or HLM. I like that I'm able to run these "advanced" analyses without having to purchase additional add on software as it comes standard. I also really like how well it handles big data sets.

Cons

Over the years, SAS has continually made improvements to their graphics; however, I still find SAS graphics to be inferior compared to other stats programs. There also seems to be a pretty steep learning curve when it comes to coding in SAS (again compared to other coding-based programs).

Girish
Girish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best to configure

Reviewed on 2022/04/07

Great to have a very useful.

Great to have a very useful.

Pros

Easy to config and setup and easy of presentation.

Cons

Hard to master all features and usaging.

Saurav
Saurav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very useful for statistical analyses

Reviewed on 2019/07/28

Pros

Among the various other statistical software I have used, I have found SAS to be quite user friendly. It actually was the first statistical software I used before I tried R, SPSS and other programming tools such as Matlab. Other than being user friendly, it was easy to generate a bunch of graphs to show what the data was doing using and editing a simple piece of code

Cons

It does take a little bit of time to familiarize yourself with the software but that is true for most software anyway

KALA MALLIK
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good software

Reviewed on 2021/07/11

quite impressive product, after using R you will feel a little confusing but overall it's very easy...

quite impressive product, after using R you will feel a little confusing but overall it's very easy to learn and analyze the data

Pros

easy to analyze statistical data, I tried from R, and then I used this one, it is quite impressive for statistical analysis.

Cons

there is nothing least, but we need to arrange the data in chronological order so that the software pulls up the data very easily without having any hurdles.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great paid software for statistical analysis

Reviewed on 2022/05/17

Pros

The software is a paid one and thus it has a wide amount of tools and support for use, it also has an integration with other tools such as JMP Genomics.

Cons

The software is aimed mainly at analysis but does not allow you to go for the full extent of developing new techniques for analysis as you can with open programming languages such as R.

SAPNA
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SAS the best

Reviewed on 2018/10/08

Research Analysis

Research Analysis

Pros

The ease that it allows us to change the data counting in our collected research data. Moreover, the graphical presentation is better than other software.

Cons

The time takes to download in a personal computer. However the world of citrix has made it easy for us to use it.

Simone
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SAS Review

Reviewed on 2019/07/24

Have been using SAS for over 10 years, and my experience has been positive overall.

Have been using SAS for over 10 years, and my experience has been positive overall.

Pros

It's powerful, useful for large datasets, and lots of options for analyses and visualization.

Cons

Cloud-based version took some time to figure out. Documentation support would help users during the transition.

Stephanie
Overall rating
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Worked with SAS in my econometrics class

Reviewed on 2018/04/18

not many when there are other, free packages available.

not many when there are other, free packages available.

Pros

The outputs are really nice in SAS - it runs several useful tests and plots just with the regress command. It is an easy way to see right away what is going on with the data.

Cons

The online support community is not helpful and very disorganized compared with other stats packages. Additionally, the software itself has a lot of bugs and I found myself needing to quit and restart the program just for the exact same code to work! Getting it to read data can be a pain as well. I no longer use for these reasons.

Jen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Grad school

Reviewed on 2018/08/29

Pros

Used it for most research, including dissertation. Easy to learn, not too complicated with coding.

Cons

It’s a bit of a headache to learn all the macros and such.

Zachary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very powerful Software

Reviewed on 2018/09/23

Pros

SAS logic can be easily to follow when the user provides enough denotation. It is powerful and capable of a large amount of processing in a short period of time.

Cons

Like most modeling software, SAS has a steep learning curve. It can take a while to understand its underlying logic.

Cristobal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast tool for optimization

Reviewed on 2019/02/15

Huge potential for optimization problems and other applications. Robust engine, runs relatively...

Huge potential for optimization problems and other applications. Robust engine, runs relatively fast and results are 100% reliable of script is solid.

Pros

Easy in the eye looks for coding. Intuitive error finding when writing code by colors contrast. Runs relatively fast.

Cons

Can be a bit overwhelming if you are not used to coding. Sometimes will run the solution and the results will not make sense without any warning from the software. Depends on service availability.