Cohesity Reviews

Cohesity

Server backup and data management software

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(49)
Value for Money
4,6/5
Features
4,6/5
Ease of Use
4,7/5
Customer Support
4,8/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

49 Reviews

Joshua
Joshua
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cohesity solves your backup and storage problems!

Reviewed on 2021/07/30

We have been very happy. We have eliminated tape backups, eliminated our legacy NAS devices, and...

We have been very happy. We have eliminated tape backups, eliminated our legacy NAS devices, and added new features we didn't know we would even get at the time we purchased... like O365 backups and AD backups. The engineering team is aggressively working to extend the product to more use cases in the data management realm.

Pros

Cohesity has been a quick and easy win for our department. Setup and installation was quick and we were able to start backing up our VMs and legacy NAS devices. We have been able to eliminate time consuming and costly tapes by replicating our monthly's to a remote Cohesity cluster. In the future we will utilize cloud via Cohesity as well.

Cons

There have been a handful of patches that need to be administered from the command line vs the gui process that normally makes updates a snap.

Alternatives Considered

ShadowProtect and Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

Tired of dealing with tapes both in terms of cost and time. Legacy file servers needed replacement.

Switched From

Veritas Backup Exec

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

Cohesity offered file shares in addition to backup capabilities so that we could retire legacy NAS devices. Rubrik was substantially more expensive. The Storage Craft offering was an intriguing budget option, but didn't seem quite as fleshed out as Cohesity who had much larger market presence.
Michael
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Peace of Mind

Reviewed on 2020/04/23

Cohesity has been excellent to work with. The local team is always helpful and responsive, support...

Cohesity has been excellent to work with. The local team is always helpful and responsive, support is excellent, and the product exceeds all expectations. We started small because we were uncertain that they could do all of the things we heard about during the pre-sale process, but we couldn't be happier with the product. We are currently in the process of tripling our capacity and adding additional features because we were so impressed by every aspect of Cohesity.

Pros

Backups were always a pain point for us and required constant attention prior to moving to Cohesity. Cohesity makes backup and recovery simple to manage and requires no attention. It just works. This had freed up resources to focus on improvements to other areas of the business.

Cons

Integration was painless. When we first implemented Cohesity there were some reporting features that were lacking, but each new release has addressed this and we now have access to all of the reports and features that we were missing.

Alternatives Considered

Nimble

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

We were looking to replace an aging file server and Cohesity was a perfect fit. They were able to easily migrate the data and provide additional features and functionality for a much lower cost.

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

There were many factors, but the culture and philosophy of Cohesity was a big part of the decision. The price was less of a factor, but it was much cheaper than the competition.
scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

neutral

Reviewed on 2023/05/03

The tool seems like it is in it's infancy - restoring is more difficult than it needs to be and the...

The tool seems like it is in it's infancy - restoring is more difficult than it needs to be and the "instant recovery" seems great in theory, but the vMotion aspect takes way too long to be usable in our capacity.

Pros

support is very helpful for all of the issues that seem to creep up daily.

Cons

There are so many features that we ( and support ) do not seem to know about. IT would be very helpful if these features were easily accessible rather than hidden away. Furthermore we have requested this several times from support and we seem to get back generic documentation rather than insightful feedback. Many of the features are flaky and require constant monitoring / case opening to resolve. We have opened a lot of cases in our timeline thus far... many.

Alternatives Considered

Veeam Data Platform

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

lifespan of the product ended

Switched From

Dell EMC Avamar

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

not my decision
Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mark's Cohesity review

Reviewed on 2023/05/04

Over the the Cohesity is a set and forget it solution.

Over the the Cohesity is a set and forget it solution.

Pros

The easy of setup and use and having in all in one applicance (software and hardware).

Cons

The process for patching the appliance is a little clunky.

Alternatives Considered

Veeam Data Platform

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

It was expensive and very difficult to administer.

Switched From

Commvault Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

It was easy to use solution, an appliance based solution and it was more cost-effective.
Fabian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cohesity... 18 months later

Reviewed on 2020/06/02

We had so many issue with our old backup tool that I won’t know where to start. Now with Cohesity I...

We had so many issue with our old backup tool that I won’t know where to start. Now with Cohesity I can finally spend my time doing something else then firefighting. Also, As a backup administrator, I know that the backup we do every day can be restored quickly in case of issue.

Pros

Our journey with Cohesity started about 18 months ago and we are still so happy with the product.
It’s working perfectly, it’s still fast and reliable as from day 1.

Cons

We are waiting for some new features to be added, like cluster support for Windows and RedHat cluster, it’s taking some time.

Alternatives Considered

Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

We had so many issue with NetWorker’ it will take too long to list them all.

Switched From

Dell EMC NetWorker

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

It was not only a backup tool but an hyperconverged platform for our backup and archives
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scalable and high performance back-up solutions and more!

Reviewed on 2021/01/17

Great innovator that really listens, if you provide feedback.

Great innovator that really listens, if you provide feedback.

Pros

Being a platform for secondary data opens up a lot of possibilities: back-up of workloads, NAS, applications, but also being target for archive data combines nicely. Additional analytics on data, combined with a great scalable solutions gives everything needed for solving secondary storage challenges.

Cons

Currenlty not supporting complete MS365 stack.

Alternatives Considered

Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

Scalability and performance

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

More functionality regarding storing secondary data.
Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cohesity is a great backup solution that can do much more, and the feature list is growing.

Reviewed on 2021/08/10

We have been very happy with our relationship with Cohesity. The company listens to users and I...

We have been very happy with our relationship with Cohesity. The company listens to users and I have seen features I requested added to the product. Reporting used to be a weak point, not it is very good comparatively.

Pros

The software has a nice interface and a very concise dashboard. Backups are completed consistently and we have not had trouble with restores. We also back up OneDrive and Sharepoint data with the software.
Support is very good.

Cons

There are a few things which are handled differently from our previous backup software. When restoring a VM you must manually delete the existing VM from vCenter; the old software would do that for you. One approach may not be better than the other, but it did take a bit of sleuthing to figure out why we were getting an error on a VM restore initially.

Alternatives Considered

Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

Our back end storage was getting too slow and too expensive to increase each year.

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

Cost and the perceived ability to deliver the features we required.
Cazi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Centralized and Simplified Data Management and Protection

Reviewed on 2022/05/21

Cohesity has greatly improved our data protection from our previous backup solution. Being able to...

Cohesity has greatly improved our data protection from our previous backup solution. Being able to centrally manage and protect our data, as well as the advanced security features to protect from ransomware attack, helps us all sleep better at night.

Pros

A modern data protection solution built with virtualization and cloud in mind and hyperconverged infrastructure. It helps simplify the backup software and hardware into a single solution.

Cons

The reporting is a little basic, although they do have a custom reporting module for more advanced reporting, although that requires developing your own custom reports.

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cohesity back and restore

Reviewed on 2020/12/03

Great. We had issues deployment but that was related to the servers. But cohesity support was very...

Great. We had issues deployment but that was related to the servers. But cohesity support was very helpful and did a great job.

Pros

Having access to Helios is feature. And the setup and install of Cohesity was seamless. Choesity support is one of the best support teams.

Cons

I wish there were report or custom reports option.

Alternatives Considered

Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

evault backups kept failing.

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

I worked with Cohesity before at a previous job.
David
David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Head and shoulders above the competition

Reviewed on 2020/03/05

We were able to implement greatly reduced backup windows and enhance how many backups we take...

We were able to implement greatly reduced backup windows and enhance how many backups we take throughout the day giving us a much better ability to recover and various points.

Pros

Cohesity is an amazing platform that greatly reduced out data management and backup footprint. I really like the ease of use and ability to have one place to go for all of our data protections needs.

Cons

This can be a little difficult to size and configure initially. It can also do a ton of stuff so getting your head around how it works and then be able to move forward with it can take a little time.

Shawn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love my Cohesity!!!!!

Reviewed on 2023/05/04

Pros

For us the speed/performance of backup and restores was a great feature of Cohesity. My previous backup was not completing on a daily basis; because the backups were taking way to long to completes. I could not backup everything in a 24 hour time period (with multiple appliances running).

Cons

There have been no complaints with Cohesity. We have been very pleased with the product.

Alternatives Considered

Rubrik

Switched From

Rapid Recovery
Erwin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cohesity for easy scalable back-ups

Reviewed on 2021/09/02

From a daily basis it really lowered the time we were needed to manage our back-ups. Even when we...

From a daily basis it really lowered the time we were needed to manage our back-ups. Even when we had issues their support is top of the game and really helpful.

Pros

Cohesity was for us the perfect solution in providing back-up as a service to our customers. It is easy to scale, easy to configure and very easy to manage.

Cons

It was somewhat behind on features compared to the likes of Veeam for example, but they have been implementing the missing features at a rapid pace. They also value feedback a lot so when requesting a missing feature their development team will look into it.

Alternatives Considered

Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

Mainly because Cohesity was easier to scale
Brian
Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great solution for so many workloads

Reviewed on 2020/01/06

Overall Cohesity has been one of the best vendors we have ever worked with. Their support team...

Overall Cohesity has been one of the best vendors we have ever worked with. Their support team started very small and I usually got the same 2 or 3 customer service reps. Now they are much larger but I still get the 1-on-1 attention I need from their team.

Pros

Cohesity is first a fantastic backup product. We went from four backup solutions to just one. It gives us full off site DR capability by archiving to Azure. We protect many workloads such as VMware, SQL, Office 365 and file shares.
Beyond that Cohesity is an amazing platform for test and development, file services and marketplace apps.

Cons

Getting up and running had a few glitches and it took a couple days to fully grasp the dependencies but once those were taken care of it has run very smoothly. Occasionally bugs will surface during new feature releases but I have not had any problems staying on the LTS track.

Alternatives Considered

Unitrends Backup and Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

VDP was being discontinued

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

Ease of use and available features in GA
Dustin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Look no further

Reviewed on 2020/01/17

Overall experience has been great, no complaints anywhere.

Overall experience has been great, no complaints anywhere.

Pros

The visibility of your total foot print and management tools there of saves hours per day.

Cons

Its fast growing company so the update speed is fast. If you are looking for a static software for backups...this is not the one.

Alternatives Considered

Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

manageability and visibility

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

all inclusive pricing, not piece milled.
Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Not only a protection platform

Reviewed on 2021/02/26

Storage, compression, deduplication, backup and archiving combo like no others.

Storage, compression, deduplication, backup and archiving combo like no others.

Pros

Cohesity redefines secondary storage, providing not only for robust, tamper-protected backup and archiving solution, but also allows to consolidate various secondary storage options and devices under single 'pane of glass' management platform. Ability to centrally manage and assign storage shares has been a great addition. Backups and restores also work as a breeze, including amazing capability to run the restored resource from the platform within seconds, without waiting for full restore.

Cons

Somewhat fast release cadence causes a little problems with dependencies and documentation, but that's palatable.

Alternatives Considered

Rubrik
Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A solid product with room for improvement

Reviewed on 2021/10/13

Backing up entire VM's through vCenter is a breeze and works well. Application backups (Exchange,...

Backing up entire VM's through vCenter is a breeze and works well. Application backups (Exchange, SQL, AD) will all require an agent and the agent management is very poor in my opinion. Replication works fine and restore times from locally cached data is quick. There are still a lot of little things that keep this from being a polished solution but the overall product is good.

Pros

Profile creation makes scheduling very easy.
Very fast restores from local appliances
Excellent deduplication/compressions ratios.

Cons

Agent management is cumbersome and feels like an afterthought. This is my single biggest issue with this application
Agent installation application doesn't open necessary firewall ports
No centralized credential manager
No global options for backup exclusions - have to manually set options for each policy you create
Software claims immutable backups, but anyone with admin credentials can delete all data on the appliance. Maybe the term 'immutable' is open for debate, but if I can go in and delete all the data on a protection run, then this does not qualify for immutable in my mind. You can put legal holds on data, but this isn't the same thing.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Getting Better All the Time

Reviewed on 2020/02/04

Pros

Ease of use. The software is fairly straight forward and finding and creating backup policies is has simple has a few clicks.

You can customize every aspect of the backup job to get the best possible data retention that meets your SLA.

Cons

The API has a ways to go. It has gotten considerably better over the last year.

Alternatives Considered

Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

Originally we where using an old Cloud Based with local storage solution that would take hours to backup and hours to restore. On our trial phase of Cohesity the system cut that down to sub 30 minute restores of ERP database.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Ease to use backup and management appliance with more features

Reviewed on 2020/08/13

As said, it is setup very fast and easy to use. Also if you need backups in case of an emergency,...

As said, it is setup very fast and easy to use. Also if you need backups in case of an emergency, it is very easy to handle with the GUI.

Pros

It is setup quickly and up and running in less than 2 hours. It is easy to administrate and also very easy to use on a daily basis.

Cons

there is not soo much not to like, but finding bugs that make admins live harder is definately not very nice.
Some integrations like AD Forest recovery are not yet supported.

Pranav
Pranav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Efficient and cost effective secondary storage and backup solution

Reviewed on 2021/06/09

Pros

This product can alone replace your storage array, backup solution and the Disaster recovery solution. Also, it is a compact four node system and has integration with several other vendors like VMware , AWS, Azure etc.

Cons

The KB articles and product documentation can me improved and made more specific and to the point.

Brent
Brent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Set it and forget it

Reviewed on 2023/02/09

Deployment was easy and getting familiar with the interface was quick. Once the backup policies...

Deployment was easy and getting familiar with the interface was quick. Once the backup policies are set, and VMs associated with policy, it just works.

Pros

Ease of use and the simple interface. Connect Cohesity to vCenter, select VMs to backup, and select the backup schedule.

Cons

I would like it to be less expensive. I am not saying it is not worth the price, just that less expensive would be nice.

Kurt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best backup software we've ever purchased

Reviewed on 2020/01/31

The overall experience has been great so far. We were able to get multiple admins up to speed how...

The overall experience has been great so far. We were able to get multiple admins up to speed how how to recover files and databases with ease.

Pros

The greatest thing about Cohesity is that it's a backup appliance with everything you need built right in. There are no special license to add special features.

Cons

At first some of the features were missing that other vendors were already offering but Cohesity have caught up.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cohesity bring HCI to backup

Reviewed on 2020/01/30

Pros

Flexibility. Can use it as backup ,secondary storage, file server, NAS .
All-in-one. No more VMs for reporting, media server, master server and so on.
Cloud enabled: Can backup to cloud, tier to cloud, DR to cloud and also backup to cloud. And i mean any cloud provider.

Cons

It is not a cheap solution. You need at least 3 nodes. So it is not ok for small size solution.

Alternatives Considered

Rubrik

Reasons for Choosing Cohesity

Less complex infrastructure

Reasons for Switching to Cohesity

more deduplication factor
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great backup solution, and a great partner

Reviewed on 2019/04/22

Cohesity has allowed us to move to a global backup platform that has modern cloud based capabilities...

Cohesity has allowed us to move to a global backup platform that has modern cloud based capabilities, enabling a more flexible and cost efficient architecture.

Pros

I like the flexibility of the platform to service many backup needs, as well as the ability to act as a file server replacement for branch offices.

In addition, the ability to archive and restore on-premise backups to AWS cloud is a major feature that we depend on for our operations.

Last but not least, Cohesity has been a true partner as we rolled out their solution, and on more than one occasion has developed or improved their product based on our feedback or issues that we discovered.

Cons

as with all software, I wish it were cheaper.

Arnoud
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The great way Cohesity is going

Reviewed on 2019/04/23

We managed to solved managing 2 systems for 1 product and having to manualy exetend datastores for...

We managed to solved managing 2 systems for 1 product and having to manualy exetend datastores for backupjobs. The support is great and product development is listening to the market and their customers for features.

Pros

We were running into problems with our old backup solution, cohesity gave us the posibility to combine scale-out storage and backup software in 1 design. Making it easier for supporting and maintaining the software. It got great support for VMware software and gets better features with the newer releases. Functionality is almost on par with other vendors giving them a great edge on competition.

New versions gives us multi-tenant support for MSP's and vCloud director support.

Cons

The functionality is not completely on par with other vendors, but the new 6.2 release gives us great functionality for vCloud Director and multi-tenant support for MSP.

Alessio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful BackUp and Restore Appliance that will be even greater in the future

Reviewed on 2020/07/02

Pros

You can create BackUp Groups and sync them with you vCenter. As soon as so create a VM in the specific folder, the vm will be backuped.That is very useful and you don't have to configure every backup for every vm.

Cons

Unfortunately, it often happens that bugs are delivered with updates. Sometimes also critical matters.