Semper

4.2 (125)
Write a Review!
Property Management System for Hospitality

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(125)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

82%
recommended this app
Sort by

125 Reviews

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Semper is the best!

Reviewed on 2021/11/16

The customer support from Semper is fabulous and they now have specialist support members who are...

The customer support from Semper is fabulous and they now have specialist support members who are very knowledgeable about the product.

Pros

Semper Online is one of the easiest software packages that I have ever used and it has been extremely easy to convert from a server based system to this online one. It is extremely user-friendly and training new staff is now much easier.

Cons

There is nothing negative about Semper although it can be tricky when the internet is down - but that's not their fault!

Response from Semper

Thanks so much for the great review, Lisa! We are so glad you enjoy the Semper web system. Your review means a lot to us!

Nadia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User Friendly, with a Super Support Staff

Reviewed on 2022/09/29

Always friendly and always helpful and willing to assist.

Always friendly and always helpful and willing to assist.

Pros

The software is easy to understand and to use. This makes it a joy to work with on a daily basis.

Cons

Sometimes the updates bring out more problems.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you find Semper user-friendly and enjoy working with it daily.

Rhona
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Ultimate Safaris Review

Reviewed on 2024/01/11

Frustrating, struggling to get to work with our service provider as he is just never available.

Frustrating, struggling to get to work with our service provider as he is just never available.

Pros

That we could use it as a Central Reservations

Cons

Too big a program for our slow internet in Namibia
Struggle to get it to work for us.

Response from Semper

We're honored that you chose Semper after switching from Hotellinx Cloud due to your company's growth and your familiarity with the product from previous experiences. If you have further concerns or suggestions, please feel free to reach out. We're committed to enhancing your experience with Semper. Thank you for choosing us for your Central Reservations needs!

Quinten
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best of the Bunch

Reviewed on 2023/12/07

Pros

People make a company,
especially in our industry, because they are the ones that resolve issues. We enjoy working with the semper team, their system is a pleasure to work with.

Cons

Nothing bothers us about the system if there was something lacking in the past [sensitive content hidden]
abd his team developed a solution. Its a solid platform

Alternatives Considered

ResRequest

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're honored to be considered "The Best of the Bunch." We completely agree that people are key, especially in our industry, and we're delighted that you enjoy working with the Semper team. If you have any further comments or suggestions, we're here to listen. Thanks for choosing Semper!

Farryn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Semper Review

Reviewed on 2023/12/07

Some difficulties here and there but support staff always manage to help and sort out issues.

Some difficulties here and there but support staff always manage to help and sort out issues.

Pros

The support men and women are fantastic, I am always impressed with their commitment to customer satisfaction, specifically [sensitive content hidden]. The system as a whole is very easy to use and understand.

Cons

Sometimes the different reports relating to revenue and stock control do not provide consistent information that relate with each other, this makes accurate reporting, forecasting and revenue balancing very difficult.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your detailed review of Semper. We're delighted to hear that you have had a positive experience with our support team, particularly mentioning [sensitive content hidden]. It's great to know that you find the system as a whole easy to use and understand.

It's reassuring to hear that our support staff has been helpful in managing and resolving issues. If you have any specific details or further suggestions, please feel free to share them with our support team. We appreciate your trust in Semper and are dedicated to continuous improvement.

Haile
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Haithoms guesthouses review

Reviewed on 2024/01/11

Very good helped the organization to manage reservations

Very good helped the organization to manage reservations

Pros

Ease of use and cost effectiveness . It does not require any training

Cons

None at all very very good. Sometimes it frezees

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive review of Haithoms Guesthouses. We're glad you find our property management system easy to use and cost-effective for efficient reservation management. We apologize for any occasional freezing issues, and our team is actively working to address them. Your feedback is valuable, and we appreciate your trust in our product. We look forward to serving you even better in the future.

Andre
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good but still improving

Reviewed on 2021/11/15

Good, but do feel we were promised features during sales meetings that either do not exist, does...

Good, but do feel we were promised features during sales meetings that either do not exist, does not work as advertised or and most importantly, is still in development and development is taking slower than we were told it would.

Pros

Fairly easy to use on a day to day basis for operations

Cons

Still needs some development on the back end with regards to rate management and visibility of rates when not in use, example: you cannot set rates to turn on and off as specific dates in the year and if rate is not available it is still visible and bookable on the system, but at a zero rate.

Reasons for Choosing Semper

It was too expensive, and had to pay for every feature. Also offered less integration to local OTA sites. Lastly it was server based and not Web-based so not great for remote use.

Reasons for Switching to Semper

Cost was better that Opera Support better than RoomRaccoon locally More features than NightsBridge
Jacomine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Grown to appreciate this product over others

Reviewed on 2024/01/11

I started out being totally intimidated by it, but it has grown on me and now I do not want to use...

I started out being totally intimidated by it, but it has grown on me and now I do not want to use any other system for now.

Pros

I like all the different aspects of Semper, especially all the different reports you can generate.

Cons

Some aspects are a bit over-complicated to get a hang of if you did not receive proper training from the start, e.g. setting up rates, invoice structure, etc.

Response from Semper

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Semper. We're glad to hear that you've grown to appreciate the product, especially the variety of reports it offers. We understand your concerns about certain aspects being over-complicated without proper training, such as setting up rates and invoice structure. We appreciate your feedback and are committed to improving user experience and training resources.

It's fantastic to know that despite the initial intimidation, Semper has won you over, and you prefer it over other systems. We're here to support you, and if you have any specific areas you'd like assistance with or suggestions for improvement, please feel free to reach out. We appreciate your choice in Semper and value your feedback.

Bianca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Semper Review

Reviewed on 2024/01/11

Very good. Assistance by Semper is also good.

Very good. Assistance by Semper is also good.

Pros

Setup and the automatic syncronizing of the system is a plus.

Cons

No comments on this. All in order thank you.

Alternatives Considered

NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper

It was already implemented on the premises.
Karla
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Semper Support Review: [sensitive content hidden]

Reviewed on 2023/12/05

The support service from [sensitive content hidden] has been consistently excellent.

The support service from [sensitive content hidden] has been consistently excellent.

Pros

Consistently proven to be incredibly helpful. His knowledge and responsiveness have made resolving issues a smooth and efficient process. I appreciate his dedication to provide excellent assistance.

Cons

I currently find the support service to be outstanding, and I can't think of anything that needs improvements at the moment.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're thrilled to hear that Semper consistently provides excellent support. We appreciate your acknowledgement of his helpfulness, knowledge, and dedication. If you ever have further comments or suggestions, feel free to reach out. We're here to assist you!

Dean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Semper is a great tool for hospitality

Reviewed on 2021/11/16

I believe that this is a great tool to reach multiple markets at once and there is still a lot to...

I believe that this is a great tool to reach multiple markets at once and there is still a lot to build on.

Pros

Easy and quick to use. Makes streamlining all information easy.
Always exceptional support from [SENSITIVE CONTENT]. If not for him life would have been a lot more difficult

Cons

1. I wish there was Whatsapp integration built in. This would make it so much easier to communicate directly with guests from the system. Similiar to what automated sms and emails are set up.

2. Looking to integrate Xero Accounting software but found out today that there is an expensive monthly cost to doing this.

Response from Semper

Hi Dean,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Semper system. We are glad to hear you are getting exceptional support.

Feel free to send us an email with your request to integrate with WhatsApp and we will gladly look at it. The Xero integration will save you a lot of time, so it will be worth every cent. You can also send us an email and we can see how we can accommodate your needs.

Leisha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Semper PMS Review

Reviewed on 2023/06/19

Pros

Customer support from the Semper team has been exceptional. Whenever I have had questions or needed assistance, their knowledgeable and friendly support staff have been prompt in their responses, ensuring that my concerns are addressed promptly.

Cons

Nothing I can think of at this time but perhaps speed on cloudbase system could be faster?

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you've experienced exceptional customer support from our team. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cloud-based system speed, and we're continuously working to enhance performance. If you have any further comments or suggestions, feel free to share. We value your support and are committed to providing an excellent experience for you.

Bronwan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely User Friendly and Great Support

Reviewed on 2023/07/10

Pros

I have worked with Semper at Multiple Properties around South Africa and even opted to have Semper implemented in Botswana. I would not use any other PMS in future.

Cons

In my opinion I have not yet found any fault with Semper in order to advise on any improvements required.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you find Semper extremely user-friendly and appreciate the great support. It's fantastic to know that you've chosen Semper for multiple properties and even implemented it in Botswana. We're grateful for your trust and loyalty. If you ever have any suggestions or further comments, feel free to reach out. We look forward to continuing to serve you!

Christie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review done

Reviewed on 2024/01/19

Pros

guest booking data
just struggling as sometime add the toruism levy other time ignore

Cons

the stock system - record and ease of checking as supervisor and correcting entering of items
Printing - can not print only one for instance good received note - every time everything of the day have to then copy paste or select
General ledger integration

Response from Semper

We are actively addressing these issues to enhance our system's overall performance. We appreciate your transparency, and your insights are crucial as we strive to improve and provide a better experience for you. Thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to addressing your concerns promptly.

Leanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fernery Lodge Revie

Reviewed on 2024/01/12

We have enjoyed working with [sensitive content hidden] - he has helped us set up stock control in...

We have enjoyed working with [sensitive content hidden] - he has helped us set up stock control in semper which was never used at Fernery before.

Pros

It works for Hospitality

Cons

Most reports do not have totals

When you enter goods recieved - you cannot save - if there is a power cut you have to redo all your work. Yesterday my stock controller lost all his work. Not fun....

When I pull stock on hand reports to check on my staff - I always have to data sort as it does not show ie bar - housekeeping together is all over the place .

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Functional PMS

Reviewed on 2024/01/17

Pros

At a glance we know how are booking sheet stands

Cons

You can not integrate different properties onto the same data base
We need to be able use CRM as well

Response from Semper

Hi You are able to use multiple properties on one database and distribute to different OTA's as well as the own website booking system.
Semper has a built in CRM capability to enable you to build extensive profiles for each guest.
In addition, you are able to integration to 6 different CRM systems.

Leanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Semper Review

Reviewed on 2021/11/16

Overall it has been a good experience with very little difficulties in user management. I would...

Overall it has been a good experience with very little difficulties in user management. I would recommend the software to other resorts without hesitation.

Pros

The booking System is very user friendly for my front office staff as well as the online booking system which is very user friendly for my guests.

Cons

The guest search engine could be improved to be more specific

Response from Semper

Leanne, thank you for the great review! We're so happy you find value in the system.

Feel free to send us an email with your suggestions on the guest search engine. We will be happy to look into it.

Ewaldt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Semper PMS Experience

Reviewed on 2023/07/24

The system is good for small independent hotels, It serves the daily needs of reservations, front...

The system is good for small independent hotels, It serves the daily needs of reservations, front office and housekeeping and accounting.

Pros

Dashboard has an easy to use format and everything you need in one place.

Cons

The reporting does not support easy revenue management and analysis.Semper channel manager only connects with limited otas, which is restrictive.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you find the Semper PMS dashboard easy to use. We appreciate your insights about the reporting challenges and limitations with the channel manager. If you have any specific suggestions or further comments, feel free to share. We value your input and are here to support your hotel's needs!

Jean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple to use

Reviewed on 2024/01/23

Pros

Relatively easy to use, logical process. Modifications to bookings are generally easy.

Cons

Refund process, no opportunity to rectify or change once committed, forced to do work arounds for incorrect or amended entry.

Response from Semper

hi Jean, You will be pleased to know that we have re-written the refund process which will be available in the next release.

Athol
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Finding the Rights Admin System for Your Hospitality Company

Reviewed on 2024/01/23

Good experience always helpul & they will get back to me to Confirm that the Issues were resolved

Good experience always helpul & they will get back to me to Confirm that the Issues were resolved

Pros

Easy to Contact & most issues are Resolved

Cons

Costs Gets Expensive with other systems also required & it all adds Up.
So one has to make sure the system works for their Company

Response from Semper

Thank you for your review and positive comments

Pfukani
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great property management tool

Reviewed on 2024/01/12

Pros

Most of the things are relatively simple to use and understand. I'm rather pleased with semper.

Cons

I cannot think of anything at the moment.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're delighted to hear that you find our property management system user-friendly. If you have any suggestions or further comments, feel free to reach out. We appreciate your support!

Kyra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

[sensitive content hidden] is amazing

Reviewed on 2023/07/06

Amazing, [sensitive content hidden] is the best.

Amazing, [sensitive content hidden] is the best.

Pros

Easy to use, love the reports, friendly staff, [sensitive content hidden] is amazing.

Cons

Nothing, Semper is amazing and all reports are easy to use.

Response from Semper

Thank you for the amazing feedback! We're thrilled to hear you find our system easy to use, love the reports, and appreciate our friendly staff.

Glenda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CAJORI HOTEL FEEDBACK

Reviewed on 2024/01/16

IT HAS BEEN A BIT TRICKY, BUT HELPFUL. I USE CMS AND IT IS EASIER AND ALSO LOVE THE FACT THAT YOU...

IT HAS BEEN A BIT TRICKY, BUT HELPFUL. I USE CMS AND IT IS EASIER AND ALSO LOVE THE FACT THAT YOU CAN CHANGE THE DESCRIPTION OF THE PRODUCT WITHOUT ANY HUSTLE

Pros

DRAWING STATEMENT AND OTHER REPORTS. IT MAKES MONTH ENDS EASIER

Cons

CHANGING THE TEMPLATES OR NARRATIVES. ESPECIALLY ON RESERVATIONS SEMPER

Pieter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Semper Software review

Reviewed on 2021/11/15

We have used the Semper system for many years now, it is easy to learn, easy to operate and the...

We have used the Semper system for many years now, it is easy to learn, easy to operate and the after sales service is phenomenal. Their channel management is the best and integrates perfectly with our marketing partners. The reports available from Semper is great and makes very accurate and timeous reporting possible.

Pros

The ease of use, reliability of the product and after sales service

Cons

There is really not much to complain about with the Semper system

Response from Semper

Hi Pieter,

We can't thank you enough for the kind words and the ongoing support.

Tazz
Tazz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Five Star Support

Reviewed on 2021/11/30

Pros

Easy to use cloud-based solution that is a perfect fit for our accommodation and POS needs.

Cons

Just a thought - how about a mobile app?

Response from Semper

Thank you Tazz for the review. For web reservations, you can use it on a phone or tablet which for obvious reasons does not include all functions but enables new reservations as well as a live dashboard. in addition there are numerous apps for check-ins housekeeping, guest focussed etc. if there is anything specific you would like please let us know.