Semper

Property Management System for Hospitality

Overall rating

4,3 /5
(119)
Value for Money
4,4/5
Features
4,2/5
Ease of Use
4,2/5
Customer Support
4,6/5

83%
recommended this app
Sort by

119 Reviews

Anuschka
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Semper review

Reviewed on 2024/01/19

Pros

Easy to use
Fast and reliable
Availability

Cons

At this stage no cons, might just have to use it a bit longer to discover cons

Response from Semper

Thank you for sharing your experience with Semper! We're thrilled to hear that you find our service easy to use, fast, and reliable. Your feedback on the seamless availability is much appreciated. It's encouraging to know that Semper has met your expectations. If you ever have any suggestions or additional thoughts, please feel free to share.

Gerrit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

All-in-all, a good functional option

Reviewed on 2024/01/23

My experience is limited to POS and Stock Control only. We do not use the reservation function for...

My experience is limited to POS and Stock Control only. We do not use the reservation function for our Guesthouse. Overall, I am happy with the product since it largely does what we need it to do.

Pros

Fairly easy to use and well suited for smaller restaurants for both POS and Stock Control. The support I have received in the past has been exemplary and problems have always been resolved fast and satisfactorily.

Cons

It would be nice to have more buttons displayed on the home screen. Having to scroll through button lists take up unnecessary time and lead to mistakes. Out of stock items are not displayed on the "Stock on Hand "report. A zero would help to assess at a glance that a product is out of stock. Dockets and Invoices are not customizable. When using formatted dockets, column widths are too wide leaving very little space for product descriptions - this, by the way, is the only support ticket that has not been resolved. I miss the ability to be able to log into the system remotely via an app in order to perform functions that are not permitted by on-site staff. Currently I need to come into the restaurant to resolve problems when I am at the restaurant.

Response from Semper

Thank you very much for your feedback.It is much appreciated.
we will make a change to teh docets to include more information as you request.
I am not sure if you are aware that we have a hosted version where you can log-in at any time and view all tables, sales etc. You can also make change from anywhere.

Vernon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Not happy

Reviewed on 2024/01/11

Pros

Nothing, not user friendly, set up promises weren’t kept, waste of money

Cons

Set up promises weren’t kept, blackmailed to accept or threatened to be tuned off

Response from Semper

We're sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction. We take your feedback seriously and apologize for any inconvenience you've experienced. Your concerns about the system not being user-friendly and setup promises not being kept are noted. We aim to address and rectify any issues promptly. If you have specific details or additional feedback, please reach out to our support team so we can better understand and assist you. We appreciate your input and are committed to improving our services.

Quinten
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best of the Bunch

Reviewed on 2023/12/07

Pros

People make a company,
especially in our industry, because they are the ones that resolve issues. We enjoy working with the semper team, their system is a pleasure to work with.

Cons

Nothing bothers us about the system if there was something lacking in the past [sensitive content hidden]
abd his team developed a solution. Its a solid platform

Alternatives Considered

ResRequest

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're honored to be considered "The Best of the Bunch." We completely agree that people are key, especially in our industry, and we're delighted that you enjoy working with the Semper team. If you have any further comments or suggestions, we're here to listen. Thanks for choosing Semper!

Jacomine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Grown to appreciate this product over others

Reviewed on 2024/01/11

I started out being totally intimidated by it, but it has grown on me and now I do not want to use...

I started out being totally intimidated by it, but it has grown on me and now I do not want to use any other system for now.

Pros

I like all the different aspects of Semper, especially all the different reports you can generate.

Cons

Some aspects are a bit over-complicated to get a hang of if you did not receive proper training from the start, e.g. setting up rates, invoice structure, etc.

Response from Semper

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Semper. We're glad to hear that you've grown to appreciate the product, especially the variety of reports it offers. We understand your concerns about certain aspects being over-complicated without proper training, such as setting up rates and invoice structure. We appreciate your feedback and are committed to improving user experience and training resources.

It's fantastic to know that despite the initial intimidation, Semper has won you over, and you prefer it over other systems. We're here to support you, and if you have any specific areas you'd like assistance with or suggestions for improvement, please feel free to reach out. We appreciate your choice in Semper and value your feedback.

Stacey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Still Learning

Reviewed on 2024/01/16

Pros

Functional Accounting system combined with reservations and Conferencing.

Cons

Recipe setup - restaurant
limited access to being able to delete items or invoices - manually without contacting support.

Limited reports

Alternatives Considered

Sage 300cloud
Leanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fernery Lodge Revie

Reviewed on 2024/01/12

We have enjoyed working with [sensitive content hidden] - he has helped us set up stock control in...

We have enjoyed working with [sensitive content hidden] - he has helped us set up stock control in semper which was never used at Fernery before.

Pros

It works for Hospitality

Cons

Most reports do not have totals

When you enter goods recieved - you cannot save - if there is a power cut you have to redo all your work. Yesterday my stock controller lost all his work. Not fun....

When I pull stock on hand reports to check on my staff - I always have to data sort as it does not show ie bar - housekeeping together is all over the place .

Athol
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Finding the Rights Admin System for Your Hospitality Company

Reviewed on 2024/01/23

Good experience always helpul & they will get back to me to Confirm that the Issues were resolved

Good experience always helpul & they will get back to me to Confirm that the Issues were resolved

Pros

Easy to Contact & most issues are Resolved

Cons

Costs Gets Expensive with other systems also required & it all adds Up.
So one has to make sure the system works for their Company

Response from Semper

Thank you for your review and positive comments

Pfukani
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great property management tool

Reviewed on 2024/01/12

Pros

Most of the things are relatively simple to use and understand. I'm rather pleased with semper.

Cons

I cannot think of anything at the moment.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're delighted to hear that you find our property management system user-friendly. If you have any suggestions or further comments, feel free to reach out. We appreciate your support!

Johan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everything you need and More... and then some!

Reviewed on 2021/11/15

Pros

It covers all aspects of what is required in the hospitality industry. From the restaurant all the way to wedding facilities and online booking platform.

Cons

The software altough works great and does everything it should, looks a bit dated.

Alternatives Considered

RoomRaccoon

Reasons for Choosing Semper

We required POS for our restaurant as well as PMS for the lodge.

Reasons for Switching to Semper

Pricing.

Response from Semper

Thank you for the great review, Johan! Are you on the new Semper web system yet? This is a very modern system with a lot of new functions. Feel free to send us an email and we will contact you to to switch you over.

Tom
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Semper Hospitality Software

Reviewed on 2021/11/15

The software is stable. Integrates well with other programs, - accounting and other booking...

The software is stable. Integrates well with other programs, - accounting and other booking systems. The maintenance and development is excellent on the program. The staff are friendly and willing to help and assist all the time.

Pros

The product stood out from others as it was easy to use. It incorporated tour groups and individuals that other programs could not do. A huge amount of data can be recouped through the record systems and easy to find them. Was easy to set the system up to our needs.

Cons

There is nothing that I do not like or find irritating.

Response from Semper

We can't thank you enough for the kind words, Tom. Your review means a lot to us and lets us know we're on the right track.

Andre
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good but still improving

Reviewed on 2021/11/15

Good, but do feel we were promised features during sales meetings that either do not exist, does...

Good, but do feel we were promised features during sales meetings that either do not exist, does not work as advertised or and most importantly, is still in development and development is taking slower than we were told it would.

Pros

Fairly easy to use on a day to day basis for operations

Cons

Still needs some development on the back end with regards to rate management and visibility of rates when not in use, example: you cannot set rates to turn on and off as specific dates in the year and if rate is not available it is still visible and bookable on the system, but at a zero rate.

Alternatives Considered

RoomRaccoon and OPERA Cloud Property Management

Reasons for Choosing Semper

It was too expensive, and had to pay for every feature. Also offered less integration to local OTA sites. Lastly it was server based and not Web-based so not great for remote use.

Reasons for Switching to Semper

Cost was better that Opera Support better than RoomRaccoon locally More features than NightsBridge
Annaloice
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Rating for Semper AK

Reviewed on 2024/01/20

It’s been very stressful to use especially with lack of support after installation which is not...

It’s been very stressful to use especially with lack of support after installation which is not what we were told when the advertising was done.

Pros

I was told it will make me stress free when is come to warehouse accountability

Cons

The lack of support when we asked our local product provider to see the errors that happen when we installed it. We are so concerned about this and now they are adding a new charge.

Leisha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Semper PMS Review

Reviewed on 2023/06/19

Pros

Customer support from the Semper team has been exceptional. Whenever I have had questions or needed assistance, their knowledgeable and friendly support staff have been prompt in their responses, ensuring that my concerns are addressed promptly.

Cons

Nothing I can think of at this time but perhaps speed on cloudbase system could be faster?

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you've experienced exceptional customer support from our team. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cloud-based system speed, and we're continuously working to enhance performance. If you have any further comments or suggestions, feel free to share. We value your support and are committed to providing an excellent experience for you.

Lyndri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Support

Reviewed on 2023/06/22

It is a great program. Thanx a mill to Bea who help us every time when we are struggling with...

It is a great program. Thanx a mill to Bea who help us every time when we are struggling with something or needs help setting the program up correctly. She is a star!!

Pros

When u can see ahead when bookings has been made in stead of looking in a book & loose space or details

Cons

When you can't change the dates for when invoice has been made...need to make new invoice...

Response from Semper

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your positive comments.

If you want to change an invoice you'll need to cancel/credit it, this is to be in line with general accounting and audit practices.

We're glad Bea has been a star in assisting you. If you have further questions or suggestions, feel free to reach out. Thanks a million for your support!

Christie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review done

Reviewed on 2024/01/19

Pros

guest booking data
just struggling as sometime add the toruism levy other time ignore

Cons

the stock system - record and ease of checking as supervisor and correcting entering of items
Printing - can not print only one for instance good received note - every time everything of the day have to then copy paste or select
General ledger integration

Response from Semper

We are actively addressing these issues to enhance our system's overall performance. We appreciate your transparency, and your insights are crucial as we strive to improve and provide a better experience for you. Thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to addressing your concerns promptly.

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Semper Property Management System

Reviewed on 2023/12/04

Pros

Makes managing properties and rentals so much easier.
Nice function for housekeeping and good integration with most booking websites.

Cons

Looks outdated (like a software from the early 2000's).
But I was using the desktop version and from what I understand, the web platform is much better and more modern.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that Semper makes managing properties easier with good integration. We appreciate your input about the desktop version's appearance, and we're excited for you to explore the more modern web platform for an updated experience. If you have any further comments or suggestions, feel free to let us know. We're here to enhance your property management journey!

Leanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Semper Review

Reviewed on 2021/11/16

Overall it has been a good experience with very little difficulties in user management. I would...

Overall it has been a good experience with very little difficulties in user management. I would recommend the software to other resorts without hesitation.

Pros

The booking System is very user friendly for my front office staff as well as the online booking system which is very user friendly for my guests.

Cons

The guest search engine could be improved to be more specific

Response from Semper

Leanne, thank you for the great review! We're so happy you find value in the system.

Feel free to send us an email with your suggestions on the guest search engine. We will be happy to look into it.

Ewaldt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Semper PMS Experience

Reviewed on 2023/07/24

The system is good for small independent hotels, It serves the daily needs of reservations, front...

The system is good for small independent hotels, It serves the daily needs of reservations, front office and housekeeping and accounting.

Pros

Dashboard has an easy to use format and everything you need in one place.

Cons

The reporting does not support easy revenue management and analysis.Semper channel manager only connects with limited otas, which is restrictive.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you find the Semper PMS dashboard easy to use. We appreciate your insights about the reporting challenges and limitations with the channel manager. If you have any specific suggestions or further comments, feel free to share. We value your input and are here to support your hotel's needs!

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It is user friendly with and Support is always helpful.

Reviewed on 2023/07/18

The system is user Friendly.

The system is user Friendly.

Pros

The online integrations make my front desk duties very easy.

Cons

There is nothing to change at the moment. The support staff ([sensitive content hidden]) is always available to assist.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're delighted to hear that you find the system user-friendly and appreciate the helpful support. If you ever have further comments or suggestions, feel free to reach out. We're here to assist you!

Tshepo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Staff

Reviewed on 2023/06/21

Pros

The system is user friendly and one can easily work around it.

Cons

It can be bit complicated sometimes, when ever you move bookings around, it changes the rate or sometimes the rates just disappears.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear that you find our system generally user-friendly. We understand the challenges with rates when moving bookings around and are actively working to improve this aspect. Your feedback is valuable, and if you have any further comments or suggestions, please feel free to share. We appreciate your support!

Temwani
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bea has been excellent.

Reviewed on 2023/06/22

i have gained lots of experiences with features it comes with

i have gained lots of experiences with features it comes with

Pros

Easy to use and assist in keeping track of goods

Cons

nothing, everything is good. would recommend to have it.

Response from Semper

Thank you for your positive review! We're delighted to hear that you find the system easy to use and effective in tracking goods. We appreciate your recommendation and are glad to know that you have gained valuable experiences with the features. If you ever have more feedback or questions, feel free to reach out. We appreciate your support!

Christabel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Semper

Reviewed on 2021/11/29

not bad, can be easy at times

not bad, can be easy at times

Pros

Search option is easy. you just type name and you receive what you need

Cons

changing rates for all rooms is tedious. If the other rooms can pick up the rates it will be better

Response from Semper

Hi Christabel, The web based system has a new rate management facility where rates are linked to each other. Change one rate and all linked rates get updated based on a pre-defined rule when they are linked. all online channels can also be updated with the change. all you need to do is change the rate in one place.

Joan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Using Semper for Reservations

Reviewed on 2024/01/16

Enjoy working on the system.

Enjoy working on the system.

Pros

User friendly making it easy to do the reservations and train new staff

Cons

Does not export some reports such as individual debtors accounts to excel

Suzette
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Professional & Efficient Service

Reviewed on 2024/01/23

Pros

The developers are continuously striving to improve the system.

Cons

I love the system. It is user friendly. Only area that needs attention is the e-mail templates.

Alternatives Considered

Little Hotelier and Opera

Reasons for Choosing Semper

I did not switch form NightsBridge. You do not have LodgeManager on the list. My business outgrew the previous product and I needed something that had a module for my restaurant.

Reasons for Switching to Semper

Local developer, pricing and speedy response to enquiry.

Response from Semper

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are busy changing the email templates and have introduced new correspondence documents that have been re-designed if you wish to implement.