BDRSuite Reviews

BDRSuite

#1 Robust & Cost-Effective Backup & DR Software.

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(20)
Value for Money
4,5/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,2/5
Customer Support
4,4/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

20 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

useful backup recovery and replication tool

Reviewed on 2019/12/12

enjoyed implementation as this was perhaps the most customer friendly vendor team that we have...

enjoyed implementation as this was perhaps the most customer friendly vendor team that we have worked with and even as of date post implementation support is really exceptional.

Pros

It is reliable, comes with a good web interface to get started and supports multiple platforms. The best part is the exceptional customer support that we get from the team on an ongoing basis. It is easy to set up and get started when not in a big cluster environment.

Cons

There are two things that I would like to point out - version upgrades should be made much simpler than the time consuming process at the moment and also the ability to support linux environment especially recover at an individual file level should be made on par with windows file recovery process.

Forrest
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good product for SMB

Reviewed on 2022/09/15

Overall experience is great, most of time it's running quietly, no issue on recovery

Overall experience is great, most of time it's running quietly, no issue on recovery

Pros

Support VMware backup, Windows server backup, it's versatile

Cons

Scheduling additional full back is a bit harder to understand

Alternatives Considered

Veeam Data Platform

Reasons for Switching to BDRSuite

It's cost is better, it supports the free edition of ESXi

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for your review.

Good to know that our product has met all your backup requirements.

For any queries, you can reach our team through [email protected].

Tjaart
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Vembu BDR Review - Tjaart - Freelancer

Reviewed on 2024/04/04

I am very happy, its generally reasonably easy to set up and highly reliable, the free version can...

I am very happy, its generally reasonably easy to set up and highly reliable, the free version can help a great deal with small enterprises and for bigger businesses it is cost effective.

Pros

The reliability of backups. I used Altaro for a long time and sometimes had issues. I have never had an issues on Vembu with failing backups, Jobs always run on time without errors.

Cons

In the latest version there is a glitch when mapping network drives the file path is not allowed to have a space and took 2 days to figure out as it was not a problem on previous versions of Vembu.

Bob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great product when it working

Reviewed on 2022/09/20

Pros

Price, it's cheap and confusing as long as it's working

Cons

The need for Vem u to remote in for most issues

Alternatives Considered

Acronis Cyber Backup and ShadowProtect

Reasons for Choosing BDRSuite

Cost

Reasons for Switching to BDRSuite

Pricr

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review. For any queries, you can reach our team through [email protected].

Abdelhak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best alternative for Veeam

Reviewed on 2024/03/07

I still use BDRSuite for a disaster recovery plan of a Cisco CUCM Solution installed in a VMware...

I still use BDRSuite for a disaster recovery plan of a Cisco CUCM Solution installed in a VMware hypervisor, allongside with another backup solution. the backup jobs are running fast and it's configuration and troubleshooting is very easy. I like it, and I'm looking to add more automation to it .

Pros

I liked it's web client management interface instead of heavy software

Cons

I didn't appreciate much the backup job configuration assistant. It would better if it was in one single page

Response from BDRSuite

Hi Abdelhak,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on BDRSuite!

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It's good but needs more polishing

Reviewed on 2022/08/29

Overall the software is great for being free. I'm wouldn't be confident or as likely to recommend...

Overall the software is great for being free. I'm wouldn't be confident or as likely to recommend it as a purchased product at the price point they are asking. Their whole product and documentation need improvement before I would have confidence in recommending it to other companies that would use it in their production environment.

Pros

I like that I can back up 10 VMs with the free trial and perform restores. As a small business owner, it's hard to find software that is affordable for small environments. Once the software is installed and running, it works fairly consistently.

Cons

Their documentation needs improvement both from a base framework perspective and from a version-to-version perspective. Some of the documentation is only for the older version and references things that aren't present in the newer version. This out-of-date information is the only information available for the feature or topic.
The errors could be more informative in some instances. having to google the error because searching their KB area doesn't show any results for the error is frustrating.
I would prefer to not have to be the beta tester of the software and constantly report missing information in regards to error messages that aren't helpful or documentation that isn't for the new version.
The overall site navigation needs help.
The installation process for the agent on headless/core server OSes could use improvement. The uninstallation and reinstallation process should be smoother if you're attempting to do a repair because a version update broke something. When upgrading, sometimes the agent on the target server needs upgrading but doesn't auto upgrade and so you have to dig through older versions' documentation to find the command to uninstall and then reinstall. It should be in the upgrade notes that this upgrade may need XYZ done in case of a failed upgrade.
Restores aren't as elegant as they could be. Restoring a Domain Controller causes issues that aren't documented as possibilities. The issues aren't related to the DC, but due to the way, the restore is done.

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review.

We are continuously enriching content in our User Guides and Knowledge Base. We have forwarded all your feedback to our Technical Documentation team and will use it to further improve it.

For any queries, you can reach our team through [email protected].

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Mostly good

Reviewed on 2022/09/27

Pros

I like the combination of incremental and full backups. We keep offsite backups and this makes it easy to implement. The tech support people have done good work to get my backups working when I needed them.

Cons

After upgrading from 5.1 to 5.2, the incremental and full backups took 3X as long to complete. I was on vacation so I waited till I got back to work. Miraculously my backups speeded back up after about 3 weeks with no intervention on my part.

Reasons for Switching to BDRSuite

features and price.
Carl
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

For professional on-premise system administrators only

Reviewed on 2023/01/25

Not good. I wish the company well, but they have a dis jointed support and on-boarding process. The...

Not good. I wish the company well, but they have a dis jointed support and on-boarding process. The product does appear well built, but software without the proper support and consulting services is almost worthless, particularly mission critical software such as a backup system.

Pros

Appears well featured, tested, and designed. I can't speak to the product's ease of use as I couldn't find any help and constantly got the rund around from support, sales, etc... wasted my time, and made me wait needlessly. A "We can't help you" would have been much preferred to empty promises, which is what I got.

Cons

Got the run around when I needed them, and constant drip campaigns following up when I didn't. It just seems they're not well organized. I didn't expect free support, and offered to pay consulting time to help me on-board the product (I'm not a professional system admin) and they insisted on free on-boarding. Ok, fine ... but then promised to meet and schedule time with someone, but never followed through. Because Vembu is not a big enough company (I like that) the downside is nobody on Upwork knows the system, so my only option was self help, or relying on them... and the later was a mess.

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review.

We take customer satisfaction very seriously and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We understand that you were disappointed with our support and onboarding process. We're committed to providing excellent service to meet our customers' needs. We'll look into it to make sure it doesn't happen again.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Edwin
Edwin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Backup suite, Silafrica Tz.

Reviewed on 2022/09/16

So far the software meets our requirements.

So far the software meets our requirements.

Pros

You get everything about backup and restore undrr one roof/ package.

Cons

No mobile app yet to monitor alerts and processes apart from emails.

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review.

Your suggestion for mobile application support has been added to our roadmap.

For any queries, you can reach our team through [email protected].

Raymond
Raymond
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Good backup software, bad strategy

Reviewed on 2021/08/11

Pros

Easy to install and configure. Great support.

Cons

At some point Vembu decided that they did not need any resellers / MSP's anymore. They did want to deal with the customers directly. As we do the backups for (almost) all of our customers, we couldn't use it anymore. So, we switched to another brand. Later Vembu reversed this (stupid) strategy, but for us it was too late, we did switch already.

Craig
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good server backup, reasonable price

Reviewed on 2022/09/27

Seems to do a good job of backups. Occasional issues that technical support has helped with.

Seems to do a good job of backups. Occasional issues that technical support has helped with.

Pros

Low initial cost. Complete backup solution for server OS.

Cons

Can be too complex for a simple server setup.

Alternatives Considered

Veem

Reasons for Choosing BDRSuite

Not happy with BE.

Reasons for Switching to BDRSuite

Cost

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review.

For any updates or queries, you can reach our team through [email protected].

yogeesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

good backup solution will cost effective

Reviewed on 2022/09/15

very good product.

very good product.

Pros

what you will invest will get more than that in terms of time and knowledge. The software is very light it takes less space. UI is good to see and with in 2/3 use we can learn how to operate the backup solution. most of time unable to restore the vm, during that we need to use some kb article shows in the ui tool and we can solve by our self.

Cons

mobile application is missing. This would help us to see and take necessary action.

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review.

Your suggestion for mobile application support has been added to our roadmap.

For any queries, you can reach our team through [email protected].

Nebiyu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

my time with Vembu

Reviewed on 2022/09/30

I mostly use Vembu for backup and restore. and it always does what's it's designed for it take...

I mostly use Vembu for backup and restore. and it always does what's it's designed for it take backup in schedule time, from all the users restoring is very simple and it takes very small space on the file server

Pros

the backup system is very friendly easy to use and it's compatible with most operating system also give you the option to take backup to AWS

Cons

Honestly speaking to my interest of business it's all good enough

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review.

Good to know that our product has met all your backup requirements.

For any updates or queries, you can reach our team through [email protected].

Riaan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Vembu BDRSuite

Reviewed on 2022/09/23

Vembu BDRSuite is a great product, very easy to use and works great

Vembu BDRSuite is a great product, very easy to use and works great

Pros

setup is easy, deployment easy and quick

Cons

can't think of any negative point on Vembu BDRSuite

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review. Good to know that our product has met all your backup requirements.

For any updates or queries, you can reach our team through [email protected].

massimiliano
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

a good software to save your investment

Reviewed on 2022/08/29

Vembu help me, when my user delete in accidental way a file. in short time i can put the copy at...

Vembu help me, when my user delete in accidental way a file. in short time i can put the copy at the user that has open a ticket to me. In the same way i can rebuild a Vm if fail for any reason, the possibility to start the macchine. same if the entire host fail, and i need to rebuild in quick way the virtual infrascruture.

Pros

This software hel me, in short time, to rebuild a data lost or vms. easy and powerful, let me the possibility to get the right protection to my company. good job

Cons

The solution it is fantastic, but havea old type interface GUI. would be fantastic improve the interface with betterr graphic, where will be improve the semplicity of use respect people that have low experience in this scenario.

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review.

We are continuously improving the BDRSuite user interface for the best user experience.

For any updates or queries, kindly get in touch with our team through [email protected].

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sami Group of Companies IT Manager Vembu Review

Reviewed on 2022/09/30

I was lost my files before but for now Vembur Server Backup are saving my files automatic as when i...

I was lost my files before but for now Vembur Server Backup are saving my files automatic as when i lost file or document on computer i can get it back from Server because Vembu will allready save it.

Pros

What i like most from this software is the way it collect files from more than one computer automatic after every 1 hour this software is completefully.

Cons

In this software for sure i get all the features i want for my Server backup it do all jobs of server backup.

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review. Good to know that our product has met all your backup requirements.

For any updates or queries, you can reach our team at [email protected].

ioannis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Vembu BDR Suite Review

Reviewed on 2022/09/23

All Esxi Backups can be managed. No need for VMWAre Center. I haven't tested for FileServer Backups...

All Esxi Backups can be managed. No need for VMWAre Center. I haven't tested for FileServer Backups and Windows HyperVisor

Pros

Runs on Linux. Very nice interface, easy to create backups

Cons

Some bugs that I have to call suport to fix. Perhaps a KnowledgeBase with instructions could help

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite review.

We are continuously enriching content in our Knowledge Base and we have forwarded your feedback to our Technical Documentation team.

For any updates or queries, you can reach our team through [email protected].

Jarah
Jarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Vembu

Reviewed on 2022/09/23

Pros

Easy to deploy and use, after a little bit of a learning curve.

Cons

Competitive product, but I would have liked to see the ability to save to other clouds, not just their own.

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for the BDRSuite Review.

BDRSuite supports object-based cloud storage - S3, S3 Compatible, and Azure Blob, which you can use to store the primary backup, backup copy, (or) offsite copy data.

If you need assistance with storing backups on Cloud, you can reach our team at [email protected]

Vedveer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Backup Solution for SMB at low cost

Reviewed on 2023/02/15

Pros

It offers a range of backup options, including file-level backup, image-based backup, and application-aware backup, to cater to different business needs.

Cons

Nothing as such but data compression and speed need some improvement

Response from BDRSuite

Thank you for your review on BDRSuite.

Good to know that our product has met all your backup requirements.

If you have any questions, contact our team at [email protected].

Sebastian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Me gusta.

Reviewed on 2023/08/07

Pros

Es una herramienta muy versatil intuitiva y facil de utilizar me gusto mucho.

Cons

No tengo ningun inconveniente con este aplicativo me gusta.