HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service Reviews

HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Backup and recovery platform

Overall rating

4,9 /5
(28)
Value for Money
4,9/5
Features
4,6/5
Ease of Use
4,9/5
Customer Support
4,9/5
Sort by

28 Reviews

Revlon Oliver
Revlon Oliver
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The simplest and easiest backup software solution available

Reviewed on 2022/12/21

Pros

It's simplicity to install, configure, run and start operations on day 1. You don't need to be trained and basic understanding of back-ups works. It's patented solutions with agentless back-ups for Virtual machines and for physical environments makes it sustainable. It supports most known backup storage solutions.

Cons

support for Hyper-V which again isn't a concern as I don't use this hypervisor

Alternatives Considered

Commvault Cloud and Veeam Data Platform

Reasons for Choosing HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Quite old in terms of technology and isn't catering to the next gen applications.

Reasons for Switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

HYCU is the simplest and easiest backup product to work with. Also it's wide range of application/HCI support made it easier. Moreover the pricing is well within budgets.

Response from HYCU

Revlon Oliver, thank you for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to write this great review, it means a lot!
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Jas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hycu Backup and Recovry

Reviewed on 2022/12/13

We have had a very good experience with product implementation and design from HYCU, and have...

We have had a very good experience with product implementation and design from HYCU, and have extended our clusters with WORM and Azure with significant support from HYCU.

Pros

The feature is simple to use and manage, the updates are straightforward with minimum downtime, and is integrated very well with Nutanix AHV. The support is of a very high standard from the documentation with Nutanix, and also the product knowledge of the support staff, of not HYCU but all of the applications backed up.

Cons

We have asked for a few more features on the Validity testing, and forever incremental backups.

Alternatives Considered

Veeam Data Platform

Reasons for Switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

HYCU integrates very smartly with Nutanix, and in this case proved a perfect fit to our requirements.

Response from HYCU

Jas, thank you for your feedback! It's great to see our solution has been helpful for your business and that it has simplified your day-to-day activities.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Adrian
Adrian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

HYCU protégé

Reviewed on 2022/12/05

Extremely satisfied. Do you want CONFIDENCE back?Then this product is what you are looking...

Extremely satisfied. Do you want CONFIDENCE back?Then this product is what you are looking for.Exceptional service delivery.

Pros

Simplistic but powerful.Web driven through a standard web browser. Oh,and did I mention it's agentless That's right,no need to install clumsy agents on each server.

Cons

Nothing.What more to ask for than a product that takes 15 minutes to learn.

Response from HYCU

Adrian, thank you very much for your kind words! We strive to provide the best possible experience so you can be successful. Simple, reliable, and secure - as data protection should be!
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Werner
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Backup and DR management in an all Nutanix environment

Reviewed on 2022/12/05

Very good balance of functionality, ease of management and pricing. Very pleased with both...

Very good balance of functionality, ease of management and pricing. Very pleased with both solution and company.

Pros

Integration with Nutanix AOS filesystem and managementFair pricingBrilliant and responsive supportReliableFastEasy managementVery progressive company that is good at listening to customer demand. Always helpful and very responsive

Cons

Moderate options for footprint reduction on target. Best used with deduplicating back-end

Alternatives Considered

Veem

Reasons for Choosing HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Change of platform

Reasons for Switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Reduced management, almost Zero impact of workload, better pricing, perfect integration, superb support

Response from HYCU

Werner, thank you! We appreciate your positive feedback! We'll continue working hard to provide you with an excellent experience.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Ron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

HYCU is a trusted partner

Reviewed on 2022/07/21

It has been a set it and let it run tool for us, of course we verify backups daily but unless we...

It has been a set it and let it run tool for us, of course we verify backups daily but unless we change something, it just works.

Pros

Easy to use and great support and documentation.

Cons

There is a learning curve with HYCU. Moving from traditional backup software to HYCU backup anytime and figuring out policy setup took a little bit but I had a backup running within 3 hours of starting the setup process.

Response from HYCU

Ron, thank you for your positive feedback! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU's simplicity - our product is designed from the need for a better and simpler way to protect business-critical data.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic Protection for Your Nutanix Enviroment(s) and Cluster(s)

Reviewed on 2023/05/09

We needed a solution for backing up our Nutanix Cloud as a Service Offering it fit perfectly.

We needed a solution for backing up our Nutanix Cloud as a Service Offering it fit perfectly.

Pros

The only choice to protect Nutanix! HYCU's support team are second to none and make implementation and support a breeze :-)

Cons

The only issues we have had are when updating and updating alongside Nutanix platform updates; it can take time to get it fully working again after Nutanix updates.

Alternatives Considered

Commvault Cloud

Reasons for Switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

A much better offering and really felt like it was designed with and for Nutanix.
Wael
Wael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Backup and Data protection software in the market.

Reviewed on 2022/12/08

Pros

it is super easy to implement and use. has all the features required to protect your data. Also Support is responsive and knowledgeable. Most of the tickets that I have raised are for knowhow. No bugs on the system so far. which means they do an excellent job on the QA.

Cons

I dont like the naming of the products, it is somehow confusing.

Response from HYCU

Wael, thank you! We appreciate your positive feedback! We'll continue to work hard to provide you with a great experience and service. P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Jonathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple, Easy and Effective

Reviewed on 2022/12/13

Pros

We currently use Protege for our O365 backups. The software was simple to set up and has a great interface to work with. It gave my team the ability to recover emails/documents faster when mistakes are made for a fraction of the cost of other industry-leading solutions.

Cons

We have no complaints about the Software.

Alternatives Considered

Druva and Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365

Reasons for Switching to HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

The software gave us a better administrator experience than Veeam and Druva. It also allowed us to backup MS Teams channels and private chats in a legible way.

Response from HYCU

Jonathan, thank you for your kind words! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU Protégé simplicity and that it has been helpful for your business.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HYCU Works Great and Requires Very Little Maintenance

Reviewed on 2023/03/01

We back up many virtual machines and are easily able to send backups to our local data infrastructur...

We back up many virtual machines and are easily able to send backups to our local data infrastructure as well as copies out to the cloud for off-site backups. We have many different policies set with different backup frequencies and retention levels. It has been a great asset to our server infrastructure.

Pros

The thing I like the most about this product is the ease of use and dependability it provides.

Cons

The only thing I have felt it is missing is SAML SSO authentication.

Neal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HYCU Meets and Exceeds Our Expectations

Reviewed on 2022/12/20

Pros

Easy to deploy, easy to configure, easy to keep upgraded. Nice dashboard for daily checks. Excellent detail in the jobs report for troubleshooting. Support is excellent.

Cons

Upgrades can lag behind Nutanix so that I have to wait for HYCU to sign off before I can upgrade Nutanix Files for example. Not a showstopper, just a minor annoyance at times.

Response from HYCU

Neal, thank you for your positive feedback! We're happy to see you enjoy HYCU's simplicity, and ease of use!
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to contact our CS team ([email protected]).

Will
Will
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Vendor Agnostic, Space Efficient, and Secure Backups! All under a single pane of glass!

Reviewed on 2022/12/01

HYCU Protégé DPaaS has been extremely easy to implement and then even EASIER to maintain. We can...

HYCU Protégé DPaaS has been extremely easy to implement and then even EASIER to maintain. We can rely on reporting to tell us if something has gone wrong or action is required. Otherwise, HYCU does it job...so we can do ours. HYCU is reliable, robust, efficient, and secure!

Pros

HYCU, with the vendor agnostic storage capabilities, allows for backup across On-Prem and Cloud environments. Whether systems and applications are in-house (Nutanix, VMware Dell PowerScaler (Isilon), SaaS solutions such as Microsoft 365 or others, or machines living in the hyperscalers (Azure, AWS, or Google Cloud), HYCU can do it all. HYCU is also - SIMPLE! A few clicks and storage is configured, backup policies are set, and virtual machines and workloads are being backed up. No more Windows Server OSes to maintain for the backup controller. Easy as advertised and secure!

Cons

HYCU is one of the younger vendors out there on the market, so there are a bit of growing pains. But...their team is responsive and reactive and operates with great care and efficiency. Be patient!

Response from HYCU

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, Will. And thanks for being such a great advocate for our service. We really appreciate it! We'll continue to strive to provide the best possible experience so you can be successful.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Rhys
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hycu is an innovator.

Reviewed on 2022/11/29

Pros

It just works. It really is that simple. Hycu was rolled out and successfully installed in less than 2 hours per site globally. We cut our backup times in half and in some cases even more so giving direct value add to the business. It also gave time back to our engineers on patch weekends. The support has been second to none. This has been one of the easiest implementations we've had and that's credit to Hycu and its team.

Cons

There is not much to dislike in all honesty and anything we have wanted to add is in for consideration with future releases. A once touch upgrade would be nice.

Alternatives Considered

Veeam Data Platform

Switched From

Veritas Backup Exec

Response from HYCU

Rhys - thank you! We're glad to have you as our customer and to see that you and your team of engineers are enjoying HYCU Protégé, which was designed to make moving, protecting, and recovering data no matter where it sits.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic - It Just works!

Reviewed on 2022/11/25

Pros

This is best backup solution I have used in the last 20 years. Once setup it just works and is fast and easy to use. Excellent integration with Nutanix AHV as well as working easily with Vmware vSphere, Microsoft

Cons

Separation of interfaces for office 365 backups

Alternatives Considered

Veeam Data Platform

Response from HYCU

Thank you for your kind words, Simon! We appreciate you taking the time to write this great review, it means a lot!
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HYCU DPaaS

Reviewed on 2022/12/05

Really great product, great company and staff, always willing to help if or when required. A...

Really great product, great company and staff, always willing to help if or when required. A professional team.

Pros

Agentless, intuitive management screens, Ease of use

Cons

Nothing to dislike, product works as promised and real easy to use.

Response from HYCU

Dear valued customer, thank you for your feedback! We're happy to see you are satisfied with both, our solution and our amazing support team!
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

HYCU Protégé Data Protection as a Service

Reviewed on 2022/12/02

Extremely happy with the Product and its was of use.

Extremely happy with the Product and its was of use.

Pros

Extremely Easy to setup and Use Data Protection for M365 Users

Cons

Sometimes Feature Changes are Made without Consolation or Notification

Response from HYCU

Dear valued customer, thank you for your feedback! It's great to see HYCU Protégé has been helpful for your business.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Craig
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hycu - A cost effective feature rich backup solution.

Reviewed on 2022/12/13

Overall, we have had a great experience deploying and using HYCU. The Sales and Support team were...

Overall, we have had a great experience deploying and using HYCU. The Sales and Support team were always in communication. Our account manager has been great, following via email and Teams call with how the project was going and if we needed support on anything. The trial was a very big thing for us as it allowed us to get a feel for the product before making the decision to purchase. Great experience overall!

Pros

Ease of deployment and policy management. Software was deployed and backing up in a short time. Policy creation and reporting of compliance of each policy is a great feature. Performance is also excellent, and many options for different types of targets. Cost is very competitive compared to some of the other solutions out there (Especially the main player in the DR space).

Cons

For our use case, there wasn't much to dislike. It ticked all the boxes for our purpose.

Response from HYCU

Thank you for your kind words, Craig! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU's simplicity and that it has been helpful for your business.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hycu Protege - the unsung hero

Reviewed on 2022/12/06

Pros

From onboarding the product to deploying it in our own environment, the HYCU team was with us all the way.They assist with knowledge transfer and customer enablement for on-sell every time. The software is easy to understand and it addresses pain points of legacy backup software in their environments. It is agentless and deploys in minutes - backing up is also not a weekend job but happens when you need it in the hour (or much less).

Cons

Hyper-V compatibility would be a great next for HYCU.

Response from HYCU

Dear valued customer, thank you for taking the time to write this review; it means a lot to us!
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Abayomi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

HYCU Usability and Cost

Reviewed on 2022/12/05

Pros

The solution has the advantage of the ease of deployment and cost-friendly

Cons

The solution has the advantage of the ease of deployment and cost-friendly. While additional functionality might be required for other functionalities.

Response from HYCU

Thank you for your feedback, Abayomi! We appreciate it and we'll make sure to continue working hard to provide you with an excellent experience.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Godspower
Godspower
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hycu importance

Reviewed on 2022/12/05

Pros

The backuping up files and backing up virtual machines. Also trying to restore files, virtual machines.Lastly Disaster recovery.HYCU really simplified everything and it works perfectly fine and does it's job very well.With HYCU, your virtual machines and files are safe. And can be gotten back anytime you are experiencing downtime.And also you can edit the policy you want, which is very important Generating reports and scheduling which email should receive the report and and what time.

Cons

I should be able to backup a virtual machine that is not on Azure, and also able to restore the same virtual machine that is not on Azure.

Response from HYCU

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you are happy with our HYCU Protégé and that it's been helpful for your business.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Backups done the right way!!

Reviewed on 2022/12/02

Superb. Greatly reduced backup times, and the ability to see a better and more granular view of the...

Superb. Greatly reduced backup times, and the ability to see a better and more granular view of the servers being backed up. Gained new features such as being able to back up from replica, and not to mention the cost savings made for the business.

Pros

The ease and speed of being able to back up and restore. Backup from replica. And how easy it was to use the graphical interface on the HYCU controllers.

Cons

Only con would be backup to tape is through a third party.

Response from HYCU

Thank you for your kind words, Kevin! It makes us very happy to see HYCU Protégé has been helpful for your business by reducing backup times AND increasing cost savings at the same time! That's amazing!
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Gerhard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Future of Cloud Backup as a service

Reviewed on 2022/12/06

Powerful lightweight easy to use comprehensive backup platform

Powerful lightweight easy to use comprehensive backup platform

Pros

Easy DeploymentNot resource intensiveSingle administration consol

Cons

Limited application support and no tape backup support

Response from HYCU

Thank you for your kind words, Gerhard! We're happy to see you are enjoying HYCU's simplicity and that it has been helpful for your business.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Amisha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

HYCU - Best backup manager tool

Reviewed on 2023/12/01

Integration is quite well with this product. I just take a weekly review of our daily backups and I...

Integration is quite well with this product. I just take a weekly review of our daily backups and I can live stress free.

Pros

It is very easy to install and perform backup of our local machines. Very easy to manage and price is quite good. No bugs found till now. Also helpful for virtual machine backups as well.

Cons

Not much I can get to complain for this product. AS it is a complete package.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HYCU is the product if you seek Simplicity and high performance

Reviewed on 2022/12/05

great for backup and replication to DR

great for backup and replication to DR

Pros

The most important aspect of this software is its simplicity, and ease of use.

Cons

The only thing missing in this product is the support for HyperV, although it could backup HyperV Virtual machines indirectly using other Hypervisors, but not directly if you only have HyperV

Response from HYCU

Dear valued customer, thank you for your feedback! It's great to see HYCU Protégé has been helpful for your business and that it has simplified your day-to-day activities.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Patrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Director of Information Technology

Reviewed on 2022/06/16

Excellent.

Excellent.

Pros

We can fully backup Office 365 including Teams chats and videos.

Cons

Better dashboard that will allow you to drill down more easily.

Response from HYCU

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, Patrick! We're glad you are happy with our HYCU Protégé and that it's been helpful for your business.
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).

Kieran
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HYCU survey

Reviewed on 2022/12/02

Actually for the first one, the service was amazing from start to finish

Actually for the first one, the service was amazing from start to finish

Pros

the service was amazing from start to finish

Cons

The training and experience level wasn't great ,

Response from HYCU

Kieran, thank you for your feedback! Happy to hear you are enjoying our HYCU Protégé, Data Protection as a Service!
P.S. If you ever need help, please don't hesitate to reach out to our CS team ([email protected]).