Centerbase

Manage and grow your firm - through a single platform

Overall rating

4,4 /5
(35)
Value for Money
4,1/5
Features
4,1/5
Ease of Use
4,3/5
Customer Support
3,9/5

89%
recommended this app
Sort by

35 Reviews

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Centerbase in the Cloud for Law Firms

Reviewed on 2019/04/12

Centerbase is a Legal Case Management cloud application that provides a Law firm with full matter...

Centerbase is a Legal Case Management cloud application that provides a Law firm with full matter management of all the details about a case, including the Parties (each with contact screens) the Court, the Filed Case Activity and MOST importantly all the Documents associated with the Matter, in one location (at the Matter). It is really easy to use and has fantastic Customize-ability.

Pros

Powerful legal practice management solution
Can establish multiple workflows to automate a process (where tasks are sequenced and fulfilled by the system)
integration with O365 (saving an email to the matter, or scheduling an appointment /saved in both)
Plugin for MS WOrd and Outlook (to allow drafting of a document or an email to be saved in the matter)
Capture incoming leads and turn into a Potential New Client.

Cons

Complex workflow processes require a knowledgeable Consultant (expert) to build.
Training for an IT Admin would be helpful if provided (meaning in-depth behind the scenes configurations)
More videos about how to Implement key customizable features.

Theresa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Customize-able, scale-able, intuitive

Reviewed on 2019/08/23

We decided on Centerbase for many reasons, but the catalyst is that we, as a Los Angeles-based...

We decided on Centerbase for many reasons, but the catalyst is that we, as a Los Angeles-based firm, acquired an office in San Francisco and in San Diego. We needed a central repository for case management and document management. In addition:
1) We needed our practice to be accessible in court or on the go (cloud-based)
2) We needed integration with a reputable document manager (we went with NetDocs, though Cenbterbase has it's own document management system, too)
3) We needed to eliminate the "human error" component in workflow systems, so we built workflow systems for all different types of legal procedures from intake to administrative appeals to litigation. This is especially important for solo practitioners, those working with limited resources or when the job requires extensive training about minute things. Creating a workflow that does the administrative thinking for you, is everything. They have a great Word Merge feature which integrates with Word.
4) We needed a reliable calendaring system - they're working to integrate the calendar with Outlook and Google calendars, as I understand.

Pros

The software is incredibly customize-able. There is no limit to what you can do. Think big, bigger than you think you need to. The customization scales marvelously and works intuitively. The software elevates practice management so that operations are more fluid.

Cons

The only con is that we need to review lots of data in table form. Once you chose column headings, you are stuck with those columns no matter what query you run. Column headings are customizable, but not customizable within each data set; you have to modify them each time you run a query. The way around this is to export to Excel and delete the irrelevant data.

Alternatives Considered

Actionstep

Reasons for Choosing Centerbase

TimeMatters was clunky and limited in strange ways. Not because it wasn't powerful, but there were layers upon layers of updates and quirks that made it clunky and not user-friendly. Also, it was not cloud-based.

Reasons for Switching to Centerbase

Highly customizable. Checked all of the above boxes.
Page
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

No Integrity

Reviewed on 2024/02/27

Centerbase signed a written agreement to lock in the rates in perpetuity, then updated the terms...

Centerbase signed a written agreement to lock in the rates in perpetuity, then updated the terms and conditions (linked) as part of the annual invoice which stated they could increase rates and told my firm that they could no longer honor our agreement. This company does not have integrity and is willing to lose loyal clients for a couple of dollars.

Pros

Ease of use. Integration between time, billing, and accounting. Streamlining processes. Ability to customize the system.

Cons

Customer Support's inability to answer questions and resolve problems. The system not functioning correctly and having glitches. Way too much turnover in management and account managers.

Alternatives Considered

Time Matters

Switched From

Practice Pro

Reasons for Switching to Centerbase

Pricing, functionality, ease of use, intergration.
Holly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

New User: Growing Business

Reviewed on 2019/08/19

Centerbase has moved our firm into the 21st Century in terms of access through web browser and...

Centerbase has moved our firm into the 21st Century in terms of access through web browser and phone app. Our timekeepers love the straight forward use and it has increased consistency and timing of time entry. The link to LawPay that auto-processes payments has cut our manpower down and increased cash flow for it's ease of use for our clients. We are a Trust/Retainer heavy firm and clients can make one payment and it directs splits between AR and replenishment retainer in trust to the correct accounts, opposed to us manually tracking and writing multiple checks or transfers from one account to the other.

Pros

The ease of use, I have used several billing and accounting programs over my 25 years experience and must say Centerbase is thoughtful in its approach of what worked and what didn't and compiled an inclusive product that is constantly evolving with ease. Since it is cloud based, upgrades and updates are pushed monthly, no versioning or what for new/annual releases that need to be purchased like on premise software.

Cons

They are still developing out of the reports, which I wish were more inclusive. However, they have built a comprehensive and easy to use menu to build your own. Their accounting side is fairly new and constantly taking feedback and improving, but still has some AP areas that could be streamlined. I am looking forward to the opening up API where you can add apps to work in conjunction with Centerbase and make it truly a one stop shop for timekeeper and administrator. They are on their way!

Alternatives Considered

Tabs3 and Cleo Integration Cloud

Reasons for Choosing Centerbase

We needed innovative program that keeps us abreast of technology and mobility. Smarter not Harder!

Reasons for Switching to Centerbase

the functionality, customizing ability, payment processing, appearance, and ease of use for our attorneys
Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Centerbase is Great but Could be Better

Reviewed on 2019/08/20

Overall I do like using CB because I use it daily. As long as the cons could be worked on,...

Overall I do like using CB because I use it daily. As long as the cons could be worked on, everything would be a 100% great!

Pros

It's easy on the eyes. Certain reports are easy to use and navigate. Quick at generating invoices, certain reports, emails.

Cons

1. CB needs to have a report feature that shows the legal services with number of hours worked and rates. However, CB only provides expenses per client/matter.
2. It's confusing how to pull up total paid amount to each matter. It confuses accounting and the client. It needs to be clear report that shows attorneys, hours, rates, total.
3. In posted bills, there needs to be a box to let us see only certain origination attorneys and their specific matters.
4. There also needs a contingency setting where it shows rate the legal fees amounts are but doesn't require the client to pay the invoice since it'll be recoup at the end.

Donna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Centerbase for Legal Practice management, billing and accounting

Reviewed on 2019/08/15

We have been using Centerbase for 15 months and love the ability to work from anywhere we can get...

We have been using Centerbase for 15 months and love the ability to work from anywhere we can get internet access. We love being able to enter billing items from our phones and it immediately be available to bill. We love that the accounting module is built into the software as well.

Pros

A completely integrated cloud solution all in one package with immeasurable customization options.

Cons

How cloud products handle document assembly or document automation.

Alternatives Considered

CosmoLex and CARET Legal

Reasons for Choosing Centerbase

We wanted a cloud solution that was completely integrated not linked with another product with extensive ability to customize the software. We got that!

Reasons for Switching to Centerbase

Customizability, calendar features, how flat fee billing is handled.
Dominick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Stay away from this software

Reviewed on 2024/03/22

Writing this post so others don't find themselves in the situation we're in today.

Writing this post so others don't find themselves in the situation we're in today.

Pros

The pre-bills are electronic and mobile timekeeping.

Cons

Lack of support is always an issue with Centerbase. They make promises they never keep, reports always get broken even after fixing them, data doesn't feed at random times causing huge issues for accounting and following GAAP. Site is slow and randomly shows error messages for no reason when our internet speeds support any other site, so we know it's their site. Reporting is not condusive for a mid-sized firm.

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Centerbase Makes Life Easy!

Reviewed on 2019/08/15

It allows me to track my time and create billing records efficiently. I've been ver pleased with...

It allows me to track my time and create billing records efficiently. I've been ver pleased with this product.

Pros

It suits my need as a single practitioner perfectly. A lot of thought was obviously given to making it user friendly.

Cons

My only minor concern was that after a relatively brief period during which I was learning to use this software, support services became less accessible.

Moira
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing Product!

Reviewed on 2019/08/20

The customer service is amazing. The CEO is committed to learning from his customers and actively...

The customer service is amazing. The CEO is committed to learning from his customers and actively engages and listens to help make the product better every day.

Pros

Cloud based, user friendly, all in one practice management that integrates with document management software beautifully.

Cons

This software has really met every need.

KATE
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Centerbase Transformed Our Legal Practice

Reviewed on 2019/12/04

Pros

increased our efficiency 10-fold with time keeping and document storage. We had a very clunky timekeeping software before that would crash frequently. So glad to have a better solution! They also have extremely helpful and responsive support, AND their willingness to hold our hands through a massive file migration was super impressive (and something that no competitors were willing to do.).

Cons

there can be little quirks with saving- especially with excel files- sometimes we have to save to our hard drive directly because it will glitch when saving an excel file on to center base. BUT- every time we have a missing file issue, their support jumps right on it.

Alternatives Considered

Clio
Buck
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Centerbase Review

Reviewed on 2019/11/06

Pros

It is easy to navigate. It is also very user friendly. We also like the billing function emails.

Cons

Difficult to update items that have been finalized like invoices.

Alternatives Considered

Clio

Reasons for Choosing Centerbase

Started new firm and was looking for software that could bill emails as they are sent.

Switched From

Tabs3

Reasons for Switching to Centerbase

Centerbase could bill emails as they are sent.
Howard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The right choice for putting your practice in the cloud.

Reviewed on 2019/08/19

We migrated to Centerbase after reviewing a dozen practice management solutions. We left Practice...

We migrated to Centerbase after reviewing a dozen practice management solutions. We left Practice Advantage and the move to the cloud and the import of our data was easy and accurate. Most of the interface is very user friendly and it was easy to train out timekeeper.

Pros

Centerbase is easy to use and fairly easy to configure. We email our invoices out directly from the software and it has cut days off of the time getting our invoices to our clients. There is integration with MS office that streamlines practice management.
They have an app that most of our attorney find very helpful in tracking time and getting what they need.

Cons

Reporting can be a challenge but no more than most applications with lots of database. If what you want it in a canned report it is easy to get. If what you need isn't you need to engage a consultant (for a fee) to work with you. This is not unusual.

Monica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CenterBase - a life/time saver

Reviewed on 2019/12/11

Overall the experience has been positive and decreased our billing time each month.

Overall the experience has been positive and decreased our billing time each month.

Pros

The matter dashboard helps me and any other user quickly asses the matter balances.

Cons

The accounting software. It is not user friendly and we had to switch back to QuickBooks.

Kenneth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Centerbase

Reviewed on 2019/08/19

Pros

Our firm has used Centerbase for over three years. During this time period, with the assistance of Centerbase, we have become more organized and efficient in our case management while increasing our overall billable hours. We are able to customize Centerbase to manage and track the data that is most helpful to our firm. The file management feature is also a major plus. Finally, the best part about Centerbase is the team behind the project. The Centerbase team has always been there when needed to assist with technical support.

Cons

In previous versions, the product had problems with lag. This problem has been addressed and fixed.

Phuong
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

AVOID - DO NOT USE! WORSE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM EVER!

Reviewed on 2021/08/04

I'm so confused why this program has so many good reviews. This is the most frustrating program...

I'm so confused why this program has so many good reviews. This is the most frustrating program I've used. The same issues keep coming up and support chooses when they want to reply and never addresses the problem. They offer a solution that is irrelevant or already did on my own. Calendar management is the worst. Missing so many features and program is practically useless. I'm better off manually calendaring everything on my own on Outlook. They constantly have new glitches and bugs.

Pros

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.
Customer service sucks - literally told me "we have no solution for you" and had to bill our IT guy to do something that Centerbase could have literally done.
Features are bonkers. Nothing works properly. Literally a new issue EVERY SINGLE DAY.

Cons

EVERYTHING! NOTHING WORKS LIKE IT SHOULD BE. CAN'T BELIEVE I'M SAYING THIS BUT CENTERBASE IS WORST THAN CLIO.

Cassie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Firm Admin Review

Reviewed on 2021/04/13

Very good customer support and I appreciate the frequent upgrades to the program.

Very good customer support and I appreciate the frequent upgrades to the program.

Pros

This software allows our company to have a document management, timekeeping and reporting software all in one. Very easy for all of my staff to use and navigate daily.

Cons

Reporting and accounting features could be improved, but are adequate.

Jodi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Would NOT recommend.

Reviewed on 2022/12/08

I would not recommend this company to any business. Their initial responsiveness is not indicative...

I would not recommend this company to any business. Their initial responsiveness is not indicative of the customer service that will be provided once monies are paid. Moreover, their failure to refund monies paid, after they failed to perform, is indicative of a more concerning problem with this company.

Pros

I was really looking forward to moving my case management system to the clouds, and using 1 system for the 3 areas of law that my practice handled. The Centerbase personnel were also very responsive during our initial discussions, and while they assisted me in becoming familiar with their product.

Cons

Once I remitted payment for this product, the Centerbase personnel stopped being responsive. Email inquiries from me were not responded to for weeks. An agreed-upon "go live" date came and went, without explanation until after many emails. The company blamed "recent turnover". It has been 5 months since I remitted payment to Centerbase, and there has been no activity on their part, nor has my payment been refunded, despite repeated requests.

Response from Centerbase

Jodi, we are so sorry. This is not the experience we want for our customers. Our teams are resolving this issue and contacting you shortly. We hope we can win back your trust in the future. Wishing you and your firm the very best.

Judge
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Firm Management Softward

Reviewed on 2019/08/27

We have been very happy with Centerbase from the onsight, both in the product itself but moreso in...

We have been very happy with Centerbase from the onsight, both in the product itself but moreso in the people behind the product and the service that we have received.

Pros

We have worked with this developer almost from the day we opened our law firm, and they have walked along side our growth and been responsive to our developing needs as we have grown. The flexibility and adaptability of the software has been critical to our ability to grow.

Cons

There are parts of the software, such as the document management piece, that are not compatible with our practice.

Sheila
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Robust & Flexible System

Reviewed on 2021/04/22

Overall, our initial experience was not good however, it is getting better.

Overall, our initial experience was not good however, it is getting better.

Pros

It was a flexible and reliable system. There were more features to take advantage of regarding Centerbase.

Cons

The implementation, what was promise regarding our setup and support

Alternatives Considered

CosmoLex, Abacus Private Cloud, Rocket Matter, Smokeball and Clio

Reasons for Switching to Centerbase

The features that was advertised and what the company promise they could assist and implement for the firm
Ian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Product and Service

Reviewed on 2019/12/04

Our experience will Centerbase has been fantastic. The software allows for lawyers to seamlessly...

Our experience will Centerbase has been fantastic. The software allows for lawyers to seamlessly maintain their calendars and billing. The customer support is second to none.

Pros

The Centerbase software is easy to navigate and easily understood by even the most novice computer users. In addition, the customer support that is provided by Centerbase is second to none.

Cons

There is not any aspects of the software that our office do not enjoy.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Flexible

Reviewed on 2019/08/22

Pros

Centerbase has enormous flexibility. You can add virtually unlimited number of custom records and custom fields - allowing you to track just about anything. The creation of new record types and fields is intuitive and fairly easy. The very powerful workflow allows you to customize even further.

Cons

Having so many options and features can be a bit overwhelming at the beginning.

Rick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product - Fleixble and Customizable

Reviewed on 2019/08/14

Very eager to please.
Open to feature requests.
Quick at finding and fixing any problems (usually...

Very eager to please.
Open to feature requests.
Quick at finding and fixing any problems (usually due to environmental changes or updates)

Pros

For a cloud based product the number of customization choices is amazing.
Company very responsive to user feature requests.
Once customized with workflows and customization it is not difficult to train users.
Growing list of consultants to advise you on how to setup and use this product.
Very good path for importing data.

Cons

Do not set this up yourself; It requires someone with experience with the product.
This is not a 15 minute training and your on your way.
Due to its myriad of customizable features you will want a certified consultant to do the roll out with you.

Katya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Centerbase

Reviewed on 2019/08/22

Pros

So much potential for automation! You just have to get creative. I no longer have to crunch excel sheets like crazy when I want to come up with certain lists/data. It's made many of my redundant reports obsolete. The cloud function is very convenient, as are all of the integrations it has with other products. The interface is also really clean which helps encourage my people to use it.

Cons

The calendaring features could use improvements, which is already apparently in the works.

Frank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Centerbase Software - An Accounting Perspective

Reviewed on 2019/08/16

Pros

Ease of access - cloud based.
Time entry users love it.

Cons

Somewhat limited data entry capabilities - must re-enter similar transaction data. Would also like to see user option to eliminate certain data entry fields. For example, since we do not use accounts payable (we are a cash basis user), we have no need to put in invoice dates when we enter a check payment.

Sherry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Not an out-of-the-box time and billing software.

Reviewed on 2019/08/19

Centerbase has improved our ability to pull meaningful reports. Customization has allowed us to...

Centerbase has improved our ability to pull meaningful reports. Customization has allowed us to enter detailed information about each case so it is easily available to all users.

Pros

Centerbase is customize-able. Customer support has been very helpful in setting up our database and reporting specifically for our practice. Great bang for your buck.

Cons

Security cannot be set up as precisely as we would like it to be.