Open Dental

4.6 (77)
Write a Review!
Quality Software for Dental Offices.

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(77)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

77 Reviews

Aubri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dental Software for Real People

Reviewed on 2019/08/28

Pros

So easy to use. Easy to learn. All questions can be answered with a simple google search. If not, you can call and the support team will call you right back with an answer. No spending hours on the phone on hold like with some other software companies.

Cons

Nothing, open dental is constantly improving their product.

Alternatives Considered

Eaglesoft

Switched From

Dentrix
Sumeet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Open Dental

Reviewed on 2022/03/27

Overall, excellent experience with Open Dental. The clean and user-friendly platform makes it easy...

Overall, excellent experience with Open Dental. The clean and user-friendly platform makes it easy to use and implement.

Pros

User friendly, simple and clean interface.

Cons

X-rays and patient communication tools - confirmations/reminders.

Alternatives Considered

Dentrix and Eaglesoft

Reasons for Choosing Open Dental

Mainly cost.

Response from Open Dental Software

We're glad you like our user-friendly interface! Please be sure to talk with our support technicians - our imaging module is now able to capture x-ray images, and we bridge to hundreds of other programs. Also ask them about our affordable eServices that have the patient communication tools you mentioned - they are available to our users on support.

Haylie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Confusing dinosaur program

Reviewed on 2019/02/21

Pros

The drag and drop feature is nice. Note section in appointments

Cons

Overall confusing and not user friendly at all.

Teresa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Far superior product!!!!

Reviewed on 2022/04/05

Our overall experience with Open Dental is that it is a far superior dental software and i have...

Our overall experience with Open Dental is that it is a far superior dental software and i have used, Easy dent, Dentrix, Eaglesoft and none of these can hold a candle to Open dental

Pros

This software make's my life so much easier as an administrator. The accounts are easy to read. Billing and insurance payments are a breeze, as well as emailing directly from the account if patient owes after putting in insurance payments.

Cons

I would like to see an option for printing or emailing the entre families appointments on paper or email.. (not at the end of statements)
This would really help with with our patients keeping appointments.

Response from Open Dental Software

Thank you for your kind words, Teresa, and we always appreciate feedback too! Our eReminder service (free to customers on support) allows you to set up an automated email reminder to be sent out to your patients - and it can be set up to send the whole family's appointment reminders together for same-day appointments. Please talk with our support team, they'll be happy to help you get everything set up to suit your needs :) You can also use our Feature Request system to ask for a way to print all upcoming family appointments. Thanks again for your support!

Nancy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Open Dental

Reviewed on 2022/08/16

Some of the best support I've ever dealt with. Thank you!

Some of the best support I've ever dealt with. Thank you!

Pros

The fact that it is easy to navigate, but if you were to have issues, the support is great. Granted that is a monthly fee for unlimited access, but it is totally worth it. There are times I can go months without calling for help, but hit one snag and I'm on the phone with them several times a day or days in a row.

Cons

It's not a con, but just me and my lack of knowledge. Some of the videos don't seem to have audio and I've mentioned that to them. I try to watch the help video first...sometimes. Sometimes, I don't have that luxury of time and will call them. So not them, I consider it an operator error, mine.

Kat
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great dental software

Reviewed on 2023/07/19

Great- been using this software for 8 years

Great- been using this software for 8 years

Pros

Very user friendly, excellent customer and IT service. Even for a novice this software is very easy to learn. I like that it’s customizable to an extent as well and there are hundreds of available queries to meet the practices needs

Cons

Occasional latency when opening images, occasional issues opening radiographs

Blanca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very easy to use

Reviewed on 2021/11/06

Pros

Very easy to use. A great value when compared to other dental software. Much easier to use and tweak

Cons

Don’t like how you have to pay monthly for support

Response from Open Dental Software

Thank you for your feedback, Blanca. So glad you're finding the software easy to use and customize. We find the 12-month support contract helps practices be more successful by giving practice staff help when they need it as they learn the software. Being on support also means you have access to eServices, and there is
no additional cost for software updates (released about 4 times/year) and updated CDT codes each year. We hope you'll find that to be a great value for our practice as well!

Pamela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

No monthly fees

Reviewed on 2020/09/22

Great software, not in love with their support department

Great software, not in love with their support department

Pros

I like the ease-of-use and the lack of monthly recurring costs. Open Dental is actually very powerful, and other software can be integrated within.

Cons

I don’t like how if you sign up for their support service, they charge you for at least six months.

Response from Open Dental Software

Thank you for your review, Pam! We've found that offices that are on support for their first year are more successful in the long run, as they learn to maximize the tools in the software to streamline operations, boost efficiency, and minimize errors. Thanks for your feedback!

Priscilla
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very easy to use and customize

Reviewed on 2022/10/14

Pros

I like the call buttons - we have customized it with audio so it has become an intercom system

Cons

I would like an easy way to organize the progress notes instead of scrolling through them

Response from Open Dental Software

Thank you for your feedback, Priscilla, glad to hear the call buttons are working well for you! Chart Views can be used to organize and filter progress notes and there is a search feature too. Please reach out to our support team, they will be glad to help you customize this for your needs! https://opendental.com/contact.html

Hannah
Hannah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall great software

Reviewed on 2020/02/19

Overall a great software that makes many of the tasks of a dental office more streamlined.

Overall a great software that makes many of the tasks of a dental office more streamlined.

Pros

The vast amount of features allow for keeping as much of what we do in one program as possible. Scheduling is a breeze, keeping logs of communication between staff and patients is simple and easy to find, and its nice to be able to view imaging inside the same program that we enter chart notes.

Cons

The only issue I have with this software is the billing aspect. The way statements are structured with both payment plans and regular account info makes no sense to patients, and confusion over that accounts for a large portion of our calls.

Katelyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy software to use! Very clean layout!

Reviewed on 2016/12/07

Treatment plans are simple to explain to the patient with the tooth chart! Very easy to use! The...

Treatment plans are simple to explain to the patient with the tooth chart! Very easy to use! The first software I ever used while training to be an office manager! Our doctor loved the price of the software!

Pros

Very easy to use! I had never worked in a dental office before and was trained to use Open Dental! Reports were very easy to get to for the Doctor!

Cons

The accounts were sometimes confusing to read, BUT the customer service was amazing to help us figure it all out!

Response from Open Dental Software

Thank you for your thoughtful review Katelyn. If anyone ever does have issues with our support, our management team, programmers and CEO (me) are available to be escalated to. -Nathan Sparks

nallele
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very easy to use

Reviewed on 2022/05/19

Pros

Customizable, very easy to use. Easy to learn and teach. Reliable.

Cons

Not really anything bad about the software. We are super happy with it so far!

Response from Open Dental Software

Thank you for your support Nallele! We're thrilled to hear you're happy with the software. We look forward to helping your practice grow and thrive!

Mary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very User Friendly

Reviewed on 2022/05/11

Pros

Very easy to learn and implement. Very user friendly

Cons

I would prefer the ability to have multiple windows open at the same time to be able to go back and forth.

Response from Open Dental Software

Thank you for the review Mary! To have multiple windows open, simply open multiple instances of Open Dental. To do this, just open the program, then open it again, and again, etc. - each copy of the program can be re-sized so you can work in multiple windows simultaneously. Feel free to reach out to our support team for any other questions!

Katie
Katie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Would Never Recommend Anything Else!

Reviewed on 2019/04/11

Love it, love it, love it!

Love it, love it, love it!

Pros

Honestly, can’t say enough! Ease of use, accessibility to all features, ledger is simple/easy to understand, payment allocation is perfect, customization is amazing. Not one thing I DONT LIKE ABOUT!!

Cons

I honestly can’t think of one single thing I don’t like about it. Especially since I’m at an office that uses Dentrix.

hannah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Open Dental is highly Recommended

Reviewed on 2017/06/09

Pros

Open Dental is very easy to navigate. I have used other softwares Eaglesoft and Dentrix. Eaglesoft is very similar to Open Dental. Dentrix has a 1 Star rating compared to Open Dental. Open Dental has a up to date look and the features are non comparison to others. You would have to see for yourself. The ease of setting templates to your schedules, adding patients, viewing notes, creating reports, the list can go on and on.

Cons

This could be a server problem but we have a very large company and when connecting remotely from another location the system runs very slow.

Kandhappan
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OpenDental is the best software out there

Reviewed on 2016/08/05

I have been using open dental for almost 12 years now and It comes across as the most configurable...

I have been using open dental for almost 12 years now and It comes across as the most configurable and customizable dental software.If someone couldn't figure out how to customise a flexible software could only be attributed to the lack of motivation or ability to put into good use, a strong workhorse

Pros

You name it -Once the modules are customised as per the Practices requirements then it is a breeze
Has almost all the features any dentist could ask for and are upgrading on daily basis

Cons

Yes they have some features, which are in the process of being implemented through time

Jenny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to learn and use

Reviewed on 2017/06/08

Pros

Able to search multiple offices at one time
Easy to learn the software
Easy to find the areas of the patient chart that is needed

Cons

Occasionally have issues with getting the appointment area open to find a patient account that is needed

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Open Dental

Reviewed on 2019/11/19

Pros

Easy to use. All the information is easy to view from one patient screen.

Cons

Takes a bit of time to get use too, but what new software doesnt.

Dominic
Dominic
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Nice apps for dental clinic scheduling

Reviewed on 2018/06/12

Pros

The tooth charting is very important feature that can be stored and also can import the dental x Ray then can full out any time

Cons

I did like this apps because only a windows based i recommend to have web based for this that accessible by online users

Neal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good software for price

Reviewed on 2022/07/08

Pros

after 12 months don’t have to pay for software

Cons

Hard to use not as intuitive as dentrix

Response from Open Dental Software

Thank you for the feedback, Dr. K, and welcome to the Open Dental community! If there are aspects of the software that are challenging, we welcome more specific feedback, as we are always looking to improve our software and our free learning resources. We look forward to serving you and your practice.

evelyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

very convenient

Reviewed on 2018/10/03

Pros

This software is very organized and very easy to use the features are so convenient for reminders on patients management

Cons

too many features to choose from. its better to get trained to use all the features

Response from Open Dental Software

Thank you Evelyn! If you ever do have an issue, you can always escalate to management as needed. I appreciate your kind review.
Nathan Sparks
CEO Open Dental

Kathy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We love Open Dental

Reviewed on 2016/11/28

We are a single dentist practice that converted in September. The conversion went smooth, the...

We are a single dentist practice that converted in September. The conversion went smooth, the system is very user friendly. Anything that we can't figure out is easily and promptly answered by their support staff. Even on Saturdays and Holidays.

Pros

very user friendly yet has the capability to provide what we need.

Cons

Have not run across anything yet!

Dr. Fady
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product , great price

Reviewed on 2017/04/15

Very user friendly dental software that can integrate with anyother software with no locks , great...

Very user friendly dental software that can integrate with anyother software with no locks , great price .

Pros

User friendly , great price , easy to use , full integration with other software

Cons

May be they should free initial training in house

lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Open Dental

Reviewed on 2019/04/05

It would be great to have a mandated educational technician come to the office prior to launching...

It would be great to have a mandated educational technician come to the office prior to launching for the dental staff to truly understand the software. It is uncomfortable to be learning it in front of the patient.

Pros

There is some versatility to this software that Eaglesoft and others don't have

Cons

There is a learning curve, especially when you are used to Eaglesoft or Dentrix.

Tina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Dental Practice Manager

Reviewed on 2018/08/12

Pros

Flexible, has many features that usually cost a lot more, time-saving, paperless, great ability to customize reports

Cons

Storage and encryption are your responsibility, compatible with Windows software but you may be able to modify to apple