SAP Business Planning and Consolidation Reviews

SAP Business Planning and Consolidation

Business planning and consolidation software

Overall rating

4,4 /5
(20)
Value for Money
3,9/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
3,8/5
Customer Support
4,3/5
Sort by

20 Reviews

Jigyasa
Jigyasa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SAP BPC - Planning and consol solution

Reviewed on 2022/08/29

Pros

SAP BPC is great tool for Consolidation , planning & budgeting. It provides feature for statutory and management consolidation. It provides excel based reporting as well.
It can be integrated with SAP and non SAP systems.
We can customise our solution in BOc based on business needs.

Cons

It have performance issue with massive data and poor database. Non- HANA database have low performance.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Hyperion Planning
Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Implementation and daily use of SAP for management of manufacturing resources

Reviewed on 2022/08/31

Pros

The software can be used to account for every individual material/resource that is used in a manufacturing process. It offers true end-to-end cost control.
I was a member of the team that implemented SAP on a local level at manufacturing sites, training people who would be front-line users in a manufacturing environment. Since then I have worked in local management, where my responsibilities would include reconciling and consolidating material use on SAP software.

Cons

Implementation of SAP for a large business must be done to an exceptionally high standard. Many businesses are likely to underestimate the amount of discipline and attention to detail that is required in the roll-out of this sort of high level ERP software. Mistakes that are made at this early stage will create long lasting snags that in my experience have taken up to 3 years to iron out.
I should add that my organisation did also require a lot of custom features to be set-up which is likely to have been a contributing factor to the difficulties we experienced.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Legacy tool

Reviewed on 2019/12/17

The planning capability provides additional value to our supply chain

The planning capability provides additional value to our supply chain

Pros

All of our systems are integrated to feed into this system. It is sort of our one stop shop when it comes to Supply Chain planning.

Cons

The user interface seems outdated. The functionality is confusing for beginners and we have to spend a lot of time training new employees.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A scalable and robust Planning and Consolidation Tool

Reviewed on 2021/06/15

Overall it is used as a critical application on top of SAP or multiple ERPs for Corporate Reporting,...

Overall it is used as a critical application on top of SAP or multiple ERPs for Corporate Reporting, Financial Planning and Consolidation.

Pros

Ease of use by finance community with XL friendly add-on;
multi dimensional cubes ease the reporting capabilities;
built in etl tool helps to connect with any system through flat file, with automation of data loads through scheduling.

Cons

DO not have built It reporting solution other than Analysis for Office (Excel based tool), need to buy additional SAP products like Analytics Cloud for visualization.

Alternatives Considered

OneStream
Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SAP Business Planning & Consolidation (formerly OutlookSoft)

Reviewed on 2021/06/18

I was the administrator, so I would do the installation and the business owner would do necessary...

I was the administrator, so I would do the installation and the business owner would do necessary training.
Coming from an accounting background I was able to give guidance on setting up hierarchies in the Chart of Accounts (COA) which was helpful to some of the managers using the software. I supported everyone form the analysts to Vice Presidents

Pros

This was very easy for the users to learn. This product has an Excel interface so everyone was pretty comfortable using this application. When I needed to call support, they were fantastic and went above and beyond. They walked me through an install in our test environment (all hours).

Cons

It is necessary to copy off old structures. At my company, the structure would change almost every year (Having the US divided up into 6 segments, then 4 then 5). This made it a bit cumbersome when comparing different structures

Bastián
Bastián
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

First steps

Reviewed on 2021/06/26

I had a SAP course at the university, where I learned to use the basic modules. The truth is that...

I had a SAP course at the university, where I learned to use the basic modules. The truth is that despite many times I followed the detailed instructions of the processes, they came with errors that I had to look for in the SAP forums because the program did not provide clear information regarding the error. It should be noted that the errors were due to settings that came by default. As in the previous section, my suggestion is clear, I think it should have a quick access line to show the information by areas, on a single page, which can be configured with the user, with their processes that are contiguous , in such a way that when carrying out an iterative process, it is already predefined by the user. In addition, I suggest enhancing the error messages with a hyperlink that allows you to direct to the source of the error.

Pros

What I liked most about the software is its security, not only in terms of the protection of information, but also the alteration of it, the fact that the records cannot be altered, it allows to maintain a clear and well-defined transaction history.

Cons

What I liked the least is its complexity, to use it, I learned a lot of quick access codes and thus develop my work well, but there are operations that complement each other too well not to be carried out in a single process and not several of them. In addition, although the errors show a description of the possible problem, there are situations where they are not justified, errors appear due to minimal details, which the program should show a quick access to be able to edit them. An example of this is when a material is poorly defined.

Anjan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A powerful enterprise tool

Reviewed on 2021/04/29

Overall extremely pleased with the application. It was seamless in terms of installation and...

Overall extremely pleased with the application. It was seamless in terms of installation and deployment. However, users will find it difficult to use at first; hence, invest time in learning how to use it.

Pros

The application is extremely powerful in terms of data collection and consolidation leading to effective business planning.

Cons

The application is difficult to learn and not intuitive. Recommendation to sign up for the courses or hire a trainer for the team at the initial phase of the application launch.

Komal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SAP BPC Fair Review

Reviewed on 2022/11/30

Pros

It is Excel based software, which provides automated consolidated reports in desired format. It is user friendly.

Cons

It might be costly to implement this software in your system.

Ahmed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Plan, manage and sort all your business

Reviewed on 2021/07/15

One of the leading planning software that you can't run your business without. It's a must.

One of the leading planning software that you can't run your business without. It's a must.

Pros

Huge database with easy to manage all your inventory and communicate with other departments in easy way.

Cons

Sometime it take longer than expected to update the data you just entered, and alot of time you can't find things easy, wish if they can add more information in help section.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

SAP BPC

Reviewed on 2019/03/10

Pros

Ability to forecast demands and build models is very useful and can be integrated into existing SAP modules.

Cons

Limited documentation on scripts. Training on scripts is very specialized and intensive.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Too complicated for its own good

Reviewed on 2019/03/12

Pros

I find this program relatively easy to use. There are lots of point and click options to learn quickly.

Cons

The system is too complicated. You can't tailor it to do simple things. There are lots of shortcuts that take years of use to learn.

Patrick
Patrick
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Deploy Budget and consolidation for a client

Reviewed on 2018/07/25

Pros

Simple add in for excel with minimum IT support if you use SQL database. It requires more IT involvement if you deploy with SAP BI

Cons

the script logic language and the BADI programming is not simple and the documentation is limited. SAP does not provide training for SAP Script logic.

Hisham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SAP BPC review for Budget Preparation based on my Experience

Reviewed on 2019/03/27

I recommend this software for all companies as it has a lot of features which is necessary for many...

I recommend this software for all companies as it has a lot of features which is necessary for many applications.

Pros

SAP BPC is a good software which I am using for budget preparation, it can acquire a lot of data in short time and this data can be reviewed / modified any time as and when required.

Cons

The interface with Excel I think it needs to be improved because it takes a lot of time for loading. In the same Excel interface, it is a little bit difficult while entering the data as it needs to be refreshed several times with every data entry.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

UI Needs work

Reviewed on 2019/01/09

I've been using this product for about a year now which is significant improvement over the...

I've been using this product for about a year now which is significant improvement over the previous product we used, but the experience has been very tedious.

Pros

I like that this software provides an integrate way to forecast, plan, and track financial actuals on a monthly basis. The tool provides a level of clarity into financial information that my organization didnt previously have access to.

Cons

Overall, I would say that functionality of this software is greatly limited by the slow performance. I am constantly getting errors that are complete gibberish and never get resolved. I think the user interface needs some work in order to make this product scalable and more widely used in my organization.

Jose Alejandro
Jose Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I've been working for over a year with it and its heavy, but good application for consolidate.

Reviewed on 2018/06/22

A lot of work, but also so much knowledge, its important keep it clean, so directors and managers...

A lot of work, but also so much knowledge, its important keep it clean, so directors and managers can have the information on time.

Pros

In my experiencie with this software SAP BPC, its good, i've been working over a year with it, We do use it for consolidate more than four productive systems, with over 15 Terabytes of data, and it works very well, if gives important information for managers gerencial reports, its a necesarry product software for big enterprises.

Cons

This BPC uses in extractions and consolidation, a big amount of red connection, sometimes it uses whole red link, and it need good resources of the computer, ram memory and disk size.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to adapt

Reviewed on 2021/07/15

Compatible with the various sources of data which is very helpful.

Compatible with the various sources of data which is very helpful.

Pros

User friendly and very easy and smooth to integrate from your existing software.

Cons

I only find it difficult to search few tabs of the folder and hard to remember the shortcuts.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SAP BW

Reviewed on 2019/01/18

Pros

This is an excellent and very user friendly tool. Since this is compatible with excel, it helps us to generate the reports and do the analysis easily.

Cons

It takes some time for a person to become hands on to this tool since this is a bit complex one.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Well designed system could work perfectly

Reviewed on 2019/04/26

Pros

SAP is an ocean that has no boundaries but it makes it difficult to design and update regularly.

Cons

it gets complicated after each update so it takes time to learn and adopt

francesco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Professionalità garantita

Reviewed on 2023/03/10

Leader nella pubblica amministrazione ed ora anche nel privato, software eccellente supportato dal...

Leader nella pubblica amministrazione ed ora anche nel privato, software eccellente supportato dal supporto professionale di una azienda che si mette completamente a disposizione del cliente. Notevole la possibilità di personalizzazione

Pros

Multitasking efficace e di alto livello che si interfaccia egregiamente con altre piattaforme

Cons

Enorme quantità di funzioni il cui utilizzo necessita di tempi superiori rispetto ad altre piattaforme ma sicuramente il tempo speso e ben ripagato

Wilson Enrique
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Software 100% seguro

Reviewed on 2022/09/25

La empreaa tomo la decision de implementar el modulo de planeacion debido a que los modulos...

La empreaa tomo la decision de implementar el modulo de planeacion debido a que los modulos adquuridos al principio dieron muy buenos resultados actualmente todo funciona a traves del software

Pros

Es un software que se adapta a todo tipo de empresas ademas una ventaja es que puedes implementarlo por modulos

Cons

Realmente es un producto muy seguro y sencillo de implementar y de usar no tengo queja alguna del software