groundcover Reviews

groundcover

It’s time for a modern cloud-native solution

Overall rating

4,7 /5
(15)
Value for Money
4,8/5
Features
4,1/5
Ease of Use
4,7/5
Customer Support
4,9/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

15 Reviews

Julius
Julius
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very easy setup and fully customizable retention without affecting cost as it runs on your own...

Reviewed on 2024/01/15

Very good, we have been with them since the beginning of 2023 and after experiencing the likes of...

Very good, we have been with them since the beginning of 2023 and after experiencing the likes of DataDog, Dynatrace and Instana they have been a breath of fresh air with VERY predictable and reasonable pricing and a support team that is very eager to help out when you need them. Even going above and beyond and advising on how to use the data that is gathered by them inside your infrastructure and notifying you on how future changes might affect the usage of that raw data from the deployed databases.

Pros

Easy setup, simple pricing model no hidden fees.
Full control over retention without affecting cost.
Mostly used eBPF integrations out of the box.
Simple UI that gets directly to the point.

Cons

Some eBPF integrations not yet available

Alternatives Considered

Datadog, IBM Instana, Dynatrace, New Relic and Honeycomb

Reasons for Switching to groundcover

Simple and reliable pricing structure and they delivered on their eBPF zero-instrumentation promise for most of the services and provided a very attractive open-source alternative (oTEL) for the things that are not covered by eBPF.

Response from Groundcover

Thank you for taking the time to review groundcover Julius, we're super happy to learn about the positive impact that groundcover has had on you. We will continue to develop more capabilities into the platform, including additional integrations that will expand our impact even further! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Shimon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing observability platform!

Reviewed on 2024/02/04

Pros

Groundcover is so simple to implement and use!

we built our obsevability around it and are very happy with it!

logs ,metrics, dashboard - everything!

the pricing is great and simple and their slack community and tech team is very responsive and helpful!

we use it on a daily basis and it has proved itself as the best solution for a startup in our size!

Cons

more slice and dices option will be great and maybe additional dashboards and templates , but the product keeps improving and those features are already showing up.

Alternatives Considered

Datadog, Logz.io, Elastic Observability and Coralogix

Reasons for Choosing groundcover

costs, performance, ease of management and usage.

Reasons for Switching to groundcover

costs, performance, ease of management and usage and support
Yair
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Product has long onboarding time

Reviewed on 2024/01/21

Pros

A lot of important data is exposed, this helps a lot to debug our production

Cons

As a new user i find it hard to get into all of the abilities i have in groundcover

Response from Groundcover

Hi Yair, thank you for submitting your review of groundcover! I am sorry to learn that your experience was not optimal. The vast majority of our users report that quick onboarding and ease of use are part of the highlights of their experience with groundcover, and I would love for it to be the same for you. As I can't see your full details, please contact our support via our Slack community (https://www.groundcover.com/join-slack) or via email (hello at groundcover dot com) so our experts can help you through the process? I am certain we can turn your experience around in no time and would love to have the opportunity to do so. All the best, Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead.

Vinoth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Observability made easy

Reviewed on 2024/01/15

Pros

The ease of deployment, the platform, availability of majority of the features. And constant feature releases.

Cons

Nothing as such. The team is constantly improving and bringing in new features.

Response from Groundcover

Thank you for taking the time to review groundcover Vinoth! It's fantastic to know that your experience using the platform has been so positive and we look forward to continue bringing you and your organization value in the future! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Dudy
Dudy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing Product

Reviewed on 2023/12/27

Amazing experience from the UI to the UX, very recommended

Amazing experience from the UI to the UX, very recommended

Pros

Liked how native groundcover is with EKS, can be installed in a couple of minutes and provides a full observability platform.
It’s also low on resources and take an a minimal additional footprint on the infrastructure.

Cons

groundcover’s bread and butter is still K8s. for outside K8s they support a lot of intergrations but the experience is not as immediate as inside out EKS environment

Response from Groundcover

Thank you Dudy for taking the time to share your positive experience with groundcover. We are thrilled to learn of all the ways you were impressed with groundcover and look forward to continue delivering value to you and your organization.

Your comment regarding groundcover's strengths in Kubernetes environments is appreciated. While our core focus has been on delivering exceptional Kubernetes observability, we are already working towards expanding our offerings beyond Kubernetes, and the results of that work will be felt soon.

If you have any further suggestions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out.

Gilles Perez
Product Marketing Lead

Arman
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Groundcover is one of the kind

Reviewed on 2024/01/15

Pros

We liked the idea of hosting data in our cloud account and at the same time having the ability to use the service as SaaS. We also liked the ability to have fully managed observability service as such a low cost.

Cons

groundcover services are still maturing. We had to request couple of features that do not exist yet.

Alternatives Considered

Grafana and Amazon CloudWatch

Response from Groundcover

Thank you for submitting your review of groundcover Arman! It's great to see that you were impressed by our inCloud architecture and the control and flexibility it enables. Our team is constantly looking for ways to enhance our platform and our users' feedback and feature requests are super valuable for that process, please always feel free to share your ideas with us! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Marek
Marek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best APM solution that just works

Reviewed on 2024/01/15

It was very refreshing experience to setup such tool so quickly and get value out of it even...

It was very refreshing experience to setup such tool so quickly and get value out of it even quicker. Free plan is perfect for evaluation, even month-long, as the only limitation is a number of seats.

Pros

It is super easy to install (installer is clever enough to ask about kubernetes node taints required to be able to provision all nodes), just few steps in small cli tool. All the data is aggregated and displayed in meaningful way right at the front page, no need to spend hours learning documentation on how setup and use the tool. Very intuitive tool, focused on providing insight into health / state of k8s cluster and services and it does it really well. Historical data (events, logs, traces, metrics) allows you to quickly figure out issues that happened last night leaving no room for guess-work.

Cons

At this point it is missing eBPF support for MSSQL, navigating through distributed traces could be improved (group them by transaction type and aggregate based on that).

Response from Groundcover

Thank you for submitting your detailed review of groundcover Marek! It's wonderful to know that you were impressed with the easy installation and granular visibility out-of-the-box! We're constantly working on adding new features and your feedback is super valuable to us, I can tell you we're already working on developing these additional capabilities. Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Artur
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tool for observability

Reviewed on 2024/01/15

Very good - I doesn't have to care about things like grafana or prometheus

Very good - I doesn't have to care about things like grafana or prometheus

Pros

* easy to setup
* monitor all HTTP traffic
* nice dashboard

Cons

* missing filtering on http traces
* network traces should have view where one column shot "Host" header

Response from Groundcover

We're truly thankful for your review Artur and are delighted to hear about your positive experience with groundcover, especially regarding its ease of setup, HTTP traffic monitoring capabilities, and our intuitive dashboard.

We will look into your suggestions to enhance HTTP trace filtering and add a 'Host' header column in network trace views.

It's great to know that groundcover has streamlined your observability needs, freeing you from the complexities of managing tools like Grafana or Prometheus.

If you have any more insights to share or require assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Gilles Perez
Product Marketing Lead

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Groundcover review

Reviewed on 2024/01/15

Pros

Easy to navigate and search logs.
Shows good metrics pods-wise

Cons

Hard to find the details of a specific log

Response from Groundcover

Thank you for your review! We're glad to know that you found the ease of use and metrics granularity the be valuable to you. In regards to the log details, we provide full context for logs with correlated metrics and traces, s well as searchable attributes. Many of our users use groundcover as a centralized management hub, as limitless logging is possible with no effect on pricing. It's possible there's more to the platform than you had the opportunity to explore and we would love to walk you through it. Please reach out to us via our Slack community. Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead.

Benas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tooling

Reviewed on 2024/01/17

Pros

It is pretty easy and fast to setuo, and the UI is simple and understandable, but feature-rich.

Cons

The default setup had some stability issues at first, but the groundcover team was very helpful to solve them.

Response from Groundcover

Thank you for sharing your experience with groundcover Benas! It's great to know that the easy setup and intuitive UI were valuable to you. In most cases, installation is very straightforward but I'm sorry to know that the default option didn't offer that smooth-sailing experience for you. Our support team is made of superstars and I'm glad to know they were able to help you through the process. We look forward to continue bringing you value in the future! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Yair
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing visibility across all of our cluster

Reviewed on 2024/01/15

Pros

I liked the visibility I have as a developer to investigate real-life issues across all of our customers' deployments.
With GroundCover we're able to proactively find issues in our customers' environments, and fix them before they affect them.

Cons

Our customers are divided into multiple different clusters, and the view in GroundCover is per cluster - so we need to move between clusters to see the whole scope of the issue (although most of the time looking at one of the clusters is enough to identify issues). I hope they'll add the ability to aggregate all clusters in some view in the future.

Response from Groundcover

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of groundcover Yair! We're delighted to hear about the positive impact on your development process, especially in proactive issue identification. Your suggestion for an aggregated multi-cluster view is definitely something we're exploring, thank you for sharing this input. Stay tuned for updates, and thank you again for your support and insights!

Oshri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to debug , great UI

Reviewed on 2024/01/24

Pros

Very easy to see complicated data.
See log trace with great filter feature.

Cons

In first look it look cheap product, but after digging in it very compact and powerfull.

Guy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good observability on your network assets

Reviewed on 2024/01/15

Pros

Run fast in high scale . gives you a very good and deep insights for your apps and network / resources

Cons

don't have any yet I really like your product - I came from Nokia and we implement something similar but this is by far better

Response from Groundcover

Thank you for sending in your review groundcover Guy! It's so nice to read about your positive experience using our platform and we look forward to continue bringing you and your organization value! Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead, groundcover

Moshe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really nice product

Reviewed on 2024/01/15

Pros

Simple easy to understand UX which gives quick insights

Cons

I haven't experienced any issues yet on groundcover

Response from Groundcover

Thank you very much for your positive review Moshe, we're super excited to know how happy you are with groundcover and look forward to continue providing you value!

Gilles Perez, Product Marketing Lead.

Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2024/01/24

Pros

Makes work much easier. For example, finding logs.

Cons

Takes some time getting used to it but after a while its fine.