158 reviews

QlikView

Guided analytics apps for business insight

4,3 /5 (158 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,1
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,1
Customer Support
4,1
91% recommended this app
158 reviews
Selvakumar S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Single point of contact for your analysis!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/16
Review Source: Capterra

Completed more than 15 implementation across domains like Government, Distribution, Retail, Insurance,Manufacturing and services.

Have overall 10+ years of IT experience and 6+ years in BI

Worked with one of the Fortune 50 retail giant who uses QV for more than 200 business users around the world across regions. i would say most of the people are happy with the way how QV is helping them on decision making. Since its a retail business, QV handles more volume of data with ease. Thanks to their In-Memory technique.

Pros

1. Associate linking
2. Self Service - Business users can create their own charts and data table with little technical knowledge
3. Inline (Mapping ) for adhoc dimension or values
4. QVD can act as data cubes or even as Data warehouse for medium size companies
5. implementing QV will take less time compare to traditional BI
6. Partner eco- system and support is very good
7. One of the best In-memory BI tool available in the market currently

Cons

1. Initial investment is little high but they have release Qliksense to counter it and it comes with Saas Model as well with more animated data visualization

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Miguel D.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 201-500 Employees

QlikView good option if you are into BI

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/18
Review Source: Capterra

Been using QV for 2+ years now, have a lot of reports for almost any department in my companny, sales, buying, wharehouse inventories, financial, etc, etc all of them are productive resources for my internal users.

Pros

Once you set up your "reports" (IN QV they are called projects) there is no room to get things wrong, the final user will be able to run those reports and play with them with no worries of deteling something or change the report setting, as this can only be done by the admin, therefore the final user will be free to play and apply as many filters the report may have. On the other side, you will need some training to get the reports done, QV uses a report designer you will need to setup/install to build your projects.

Cons

QV as a company has some other products that all are but the similar to QV they have "QV Sense" is the "newer" version of QV that has a lot of support for mobile devices, dont get things wrong, QV has either support for mobile, but you need to build your reports thinking how will they look on a small display.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Or M.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Easy to use, Not so easy on the eyes though

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We're using Qlikview within almost all of the departments in the company.
From finance to HR and Garages.
we see it as an essential tool for the group activity.

Pros

triggers, On load, On open, etc.
easy to manage load tasks using the QMC task tree.

Cons

User activity monitoring is a bit of a lack.
unable to export a list of all currently licensed users.
it's especially difficult if your using DOC licenses, you to go from app to app to see the licensed users for the particular app.
also the UI getting a little old, the newer Qlik sense look much better.
if you're considering moving to Qlikview from PowerBI or Tableau, Qlik sense will make more sense.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Prafulla K.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Qlikview: An Analytical Tool

Reviewed on 2016/01/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This is an excellent analytical tool with below best suited features:
1) Flexible chart design
2) A lot of charts and plenty of minutes properties to configure the chart.
3) Power of custom expression using a expression language called "SET ANALYSIS". This enables a better control on data transformation and manipulation.
4) Script editor where in Data Layer can be defined, designed and managed.
5) Nice client server architecture so that report designed can be easily published over to web and access can be controlled easily through management console.
6) Qliksense, a cloud model, is a best thing qlikview has.

Cons

It's nothing like bad things but good if it has few features (that other BI tool has)
1) Data management should be more user friendly. Right now it is in script editor. Someone with good knowledge of Relational Database can easily handle this but a programmer knowledge is must. End users or non technical person may timid to start with qlikview as they will find it hard to start with.
2) Too many properties and configuration available. (It's not a bad thing at all as it gives more flexibility) But many configuration can be easily clubbed together systematically and user do not waste time to find the properties configuration. Meaning configuration should be simplified and structured.
3) Desktop should be as neat and clean as qliksense. Qliksense is way par than desktop in terms of User interface.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Excellent in-memory data exploration tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/07/26
Review Source: Capterra

Very powerful tool having capacity to solve every business problem. Can we used as ETL tool for transforming & modelling of data. It can be used to store the data in different formats like qvds, csv etc.

Pros

QlikView has very powerful ETL script editor with many functions. Also measures can be calculated with help of set analysis. Fastest in-memory tool. We can create custom objects as well.

Cons

User interface is not that pretty. Less availability of charts. Geo analytics map can have many more features like enabling satellite view. QlikView is not on cloud but a on-premise tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Tharindu R.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

QlikView; A BI tool with deep level analytics

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

I have being worked with QlikView for last 5 years and It was one of the best BI tools in the world. The level of slice and dice is amazing. Data holding capacity and power of deep level analytics are simply outstanding.

Pros

It has more analytical power. And the data holding capacity is excellent. Further it is easy to use and the integrations are also user friendly.

Cons

It needs the support of a programmer to create charts and end users can't do much. Graphics are low compared to newer BI platforms.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

John D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Qlikview provides solid, customizable visuals for your data.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Extensive customization options. Nice drag and drop interface.

Cons

Complexity of setup and customization. Not entirely user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Christine H.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Driving the business with Qlik

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Business has been able to realise value in having reliable data at their fingertips to make informed business decisions.
The ability to highlight any issues has meant that business improvements can be made quickly, thus reducing waste and inefficiencies.

Pros

We use QlikView to pull together a variety of data from multiple sources ranging from system databases to spreadsheets. We are then able to present this in a user friendly way allowing all levels of our business to use the data.
We provide dashboards for executive summaries while still allowing operational staff to drill down into the details.
Users are able to get up to date data in the way they can use to make informed decisions

Cons

The only thing we haven't been able to do is to generate regular reports and to then distribute them, however we have used another Qlik product (NPrinting) to achieve this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Powerfull BI tool with great ETL capabilities

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/29
Review Source: Capterra

It Improved our way to analyze production efficiency as well as other metrics to measure. Also allows to dig deeper on problems we might find.

Pros

QlikView scripting is a lot powerful. if needed to do some ETL on the report it's great for it as allows you to transform almost anything.
It connects to several different types of data sources.

Cons

The report itself feels old. Objects feel old and there's not much customization to do on the dashboards. They could do a refresh to meet new UI guidelines.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vechte P.
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

essential

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/09
Review Source: Capterra

I can see What percentage of which product revenue is derived from which sector and act immediately

Pros

QlikView is the tools for monitoring revenues
You can show the objectives of your sector
Data can be printed out, exported to Excel, for example, or processed in columns

Cons

Before utilisation, you have to understand how the filters work and the order to use
These operations require mastery of computer software such as Excel

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rob G.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 51-200 Employees

QlikView Business Intelligence - A Beginners View

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/13
Review Source: Capterra

We recently adopted QlikView as our Business Intelligence application, using it primarily to draw from and combine data from three different databases. It is a very cool product that is great for everything from producing regular standard governance reports to providing a playground for cutting and exploring data every which way.
For beginners it is pretty easy to get going with QlikView. There is a 'wizard' approach to connecting to data sources and creating a dashboard (I found this most useful when connecting to Excel files). Learning the basics is remarkably quick and easy. Using an existing dashboard is very intuitive with multiple ways to drill down and filter. As well as the obvious clicking on one or more selections on a list approach to filtering and drilling into data you can click directly on chart elements or items in a chart legend, or click and drag over visual elements to achieve the same result. A range of data and image copy/export options can be added as icons to the menu bars at the top of every object - ideal for quickly dropping tables or charts directly into documents.
First appearances may give you the impression that this is a fairly simple and limited piece of software, but don't be deceived. Under the hood there is a huge amount of capability hiding, though beyond the basics there is a steeper learning curve for BI newbies like myself. Support exists through a mix of videos, blogs and forums, and there is a downloadable comprehensive 900 plus page guide.
Where data is drawn from a mix of sources QlikView will assume that fields with exactly the same name in different datasources are the same thing, and will create links between the different data tables based on these. This can be great and can save time manually matching fields, but it can also create data 'loops' that require a bit of re-naming in the data load statements to fix.
As well as vastly improving our understanding of our business at a reasonable financial cost I have found this to be both an easy way to learn BI basics and a great platform for moving up to a more intermediate level of dashboard creation. If an easy to use geographic location mapping option was included this would be a hard product to fault.

Pros

Easy to get started, very intuitive for end users, great data and image output capabilities, simple to use over multiple data sources within one document.

Cons

Creating geographic mapping charts is pretty complex unless third-party add-ons are purchased.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

The Real Deal When It Comes To Business Intelligence

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/23
Review Source: Capterra

I'm happy as a Qlikview user and Developer, this is all i can say.

Pros

Qlikview is a perfect platform to develop your reports, to consolidate your data from many different sources into that final, beautiful and useful report that your users want. In the beginning you shall get some specific training building some simple reports and watching some tutorials, but let me tell you it is not difficult to learn since it is very similar to SQL scripting, and it allows you to embed your SQL script to build your reports. It is POWERFUL, within the script you can do pretty much anything with your data. The other great thing is about reports customization, when you are building your reports front-end you can also do pretty much anything, after some time and training your reports will look like apps.

Cons

Being a daily user and report builder i can say that there is nothing i dislike about it, i mean right now if asked i would not move to another BI tool. Qlikview serves its purpose 100 %. A thing you need to know is that when you build big fat reports, i mean loaded with data the reload of the report may take a while but this can be improved while coding the script i mean there are no miracles but depending on how you build it you can make the same amount of data to be a little faster to reload.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Banking
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Product review for Qlikview

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/05
Review Source: Capterra

I participated in the several implementations using Qlikview/Qliksense over the past several years.
Really impressed by the in-memory design and associative query engine of Qlikview.
Really like the excellent performance and beautiful modelling design of Qlikview.
Still hope Qlik can improve the UI design part of Qlik product.

Pros

1. The association modelling design in the Qlik query engine;
2. The principle of put correct granularity data to your data object which can guarantee the data integrity;
3. The good performance for big data set;
4. The straight forward built-in always connected data and UI design.

Cons

1. UI Design is not as intuitive as Tableau or Power BI;
2. The UI design is too flexible to manage, not as simple as Tableau or Power BI;
3. Poor job control and workflow management.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Marcio hoerlle L.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

turning Big Data into Easy decisions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/16
Review Source: Capterra

Once I was able to tame it and learn the tricks, it helped me to provide better insights to my customers and also provide them visibility to problems they didn't even knew they had before we implemented QlikView. Usually after our presentations, managers come out with more questions than answers, but not related to the tool, but to the business model they currently have and how to make it more productive, all thanks to Qlikview graphics and display of trends.

Pros

THe flexibility and freedom that BI developers have to work with the suite to create not only management friendly infographics but also the possibility to drill down to any level you need to pinpoint the exact cause of any issues found in a metric, in real time. I must also point out that it can read from almost any data source and provide you with several options and different points of view on what would be considered a useless pile of data that nobody understands or cares about.

Cons

due to its powerful engine and lots of options, the learning curve can be a little longer and steeper than other products.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Greg A.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

QlikView is a powerful, flexible BI visualization toolkit that lets you show your users what's in their data

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

QlikView is an excellent tool for data visualization. Developers can create intuitive solutions with relative ease.

Pros

QlikView has a positive 80/20 ratio. The first 80% of what you need to know (everything you need to know for most visualizations) can be learned in 20% of the time. The remaining 20% (complex expressions, extensions, and other advanced options) takes 80% of the time to learn.

A skilled analyst can sit down on day one and create a useful, meaningful QlikView solution. An advanced user could spend years learning new possibilities and creating more advanced offerings.

Cons

QlikView is an "in-memory" BI tool, which does offer speed and data manipulation capabilities. However, the data model is loosely managed. If it's not structured carefully, loading and processing times become unnecessarily long. The underlying model could be strengthened and otherwise improved to help the platform scale to larger projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Chris E.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Qlik products are powerful and flexible, great ROI.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Remembering that this is a platform, not just a BI tool, there is some back-office IT work required to implement, launch and maintain the software. Once up and running (which was very cost effective to outsource) the maintenance costs were minimal and we never had any problems.

Pros

Everything. This is a well engineered and powerfully designed tool that dominates the ETL and BI Visualization space for those that need both aspects combined into one. A decade of fine tuning make this a great tool for your analytical and data management toolbox.

Cons

The only con here is the cannibalization factor in the release of Qlik Sense, a far better and more modern take on the same tool. The Sense platform is very similar, but more powerful and expandable, and is getting 99.9% of the development resources, making Qlik View static. So while a great tool and still has years of life left, if you are launching new I'd go with Qlik Sense instead.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mehmet E.
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 201-500 Employees

QlikView Review from a Product Owner perspective

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/11/14
Review Source: Capterra

We have several data sources to feed our product and we wanted to use QlikView as our primary BI visualization tool. I like charts section especially after we customize it , i can have clearer view about our customers product and business. Reports section is very satisfactory. Learning the tool basic is very simple so even i can add some new data sources or filter some of the source so i can get more precise reports. Basically i am very happy to use QlikView

Pros

It is very comprehensive platform to customize your own reports, customizable charts are saving a lot of time for you. If you are more experienced on using you can use script editor, this is where our bi developers are more working. You can easily validate your etl with checking it small amount of datasets and you can see the reports and validate your data.

Cons

if your data sets are not a relational or classic data sets , i mean some big data, then you need to work on to convert them for QlikView. As long as the tool is very easy to use you still need to have some training to be expert on the tool

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nagaraju P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

With very less/minor effort we can build attractive Dashboards in no time. Cool formatting features.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/04
Review Source: Capterra

Performance, easy use, less maintenance required.

Pros

Dashboard Designing made so easy in this Tool.
Bunch of formatting options and features.
Scripting capabilities took this tool to next level to build more complex dashboards in a simpler way.
Implementation and maintenance is so easy compare to Business Objects.
Data integration, mapping capabilities, drill functionalities are too good.
In Memory capabilities gears up performance.
Another big advantage is, just one product.

Cons

Not that great when you work with data sources like BW and Big Data.
R integration is not possible.
For Detailed reporting is it not the tool preferable.
If you are looking for a great scheduling and publication capabilities you may not like this tool since this requires a separate setup like NPrining etc..

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Oleg T.
Industry: Management Consulting

Have been using QlikView for 13 years. Love the product!

Reviewed on 2015/12/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

QlikView is extremely easy to use, user-friendly and developer-friendly. At the same time, it offers a lot of depth - when a complex solution is required, QlikView offers robust tools for your most intricate analytical needs.

Cons

After 13 years of using the product, there are many little things that I don't like. For example, while QlikView scales up very well to handle hundreds of millions (sometimes even billions) of rows of data, QlikView Server management tools are relatively simplistic. It's easy to manage a single server or a few servers, with a few dozen of reload tasks, but it may be difficult to manage many servers with thousands of users and hundreds or thousands of reload tasks. Having said that - QlikView is still one of the most well-rounded tools that offer a great frond end and a phenomenal back end in one package.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 51-200 Employees

I work everyday with QV. You can customize everything with extreme ease in a very short time

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

my work revolves around these BI software. They gave me the opportunity to take certifications

Pros

The very high level of personalization of formulas and objects. Moreover there are different versions of the software (like the QV publisher) to further restrict the accesses of the staff involved in the consultation. Excellent tool for SQL

Cons

you need some training to use this software, and a minimum of one year of use to be able to use it with ease. It is not easy to understand the "set analysis" syntax to make intrarecord selections.
The qmc could be improved. It would be interesting to integrate the possibility to refresh the document directly from the front end to update the data analyzed. Improve the use of macros and enable the QV publisher to use them

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Peter M.
Industry: Investment Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great tool

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/04
Review Source: Capterra

I mentioned above - we needed to consolidate, analyse and use data for managing 13 hospitals. There were various ERP systems, HR systems, clinical systems, etc, so we had to implement interfaces and put all data on the same level, then automate the pumping of data, reporting, etc. (this was not in my current job)

Pros

User-friendliness of the tool while doing analyses. Many companies use excel, pivot tables etc., but once you discover how easy and fast it is with Qlik, you will love it. It is also possible to use it for free, with limitations, so you can test it. We have implemented this tool in hospitals, from where we needed the data to be collected on 1 place and then analysed. Normally you have a problem, that you have various sources of data. Each hospital is using different information system (ERP, clinical IS, HR system, etc), but once you set up bridges and automate the interfaces, you will have the same level of data quality from all sources. An the the fun begins.
Especially great is the speed of drilling in data and adjusting the dimensions, because often analysis is about discovery, not a reporting the same charts on and on.
Simply great tool.

Cons

Maybe only that it takes some time to learn how to use it, but compared to many other systems it's good. also you have to learn how to code in data interfaces (there is also a good wizard for that) or you can find a consultant for this (even online), not even this is not a big deal.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Abstracting and showing data sets in comprehensible form

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/04
Review Source: Capterra

In our company, our historic data is huge and that is why we need analytic interface to summarize and show them is efficient and effective way. Qlikview is perfect product with this features and provide our needs.

Pros

This product is perfect for our company due to summarizing our data history in simple way by choosing subjects or indicators. You can personalize subjects or indicators and have a report easily by opening the product.

Cons

Data sets as chart or graphs can be kept by chart on the screen but there is no special screen for only charts and graphs. When your indicators or statements increase, there is crowd on the screen and you must delete some of charts or graphs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Juan N.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

Still the best BI product for me

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/05
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I'm now a certified developer and I feel really comfortable to solve any problem with this tool.

Pros

Maybe it is because I'm have develop my skills with the tool but still it is the best product for me in the BI section. It has a lot of power to analyze big set of data, use it like an ETL and then create beautiful visualizations. Once you learn to use the desktop version and how to build metrics is very powerful and you can analyze anything with a different type of graphics.

Cons

Maybe the learning curve but not really, once you learn how to use the set analysis, variables and how the associations of data works is really good.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Paul N.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Merging and structuring data to create meaningful single customer views

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

Allowing us to knit together multiple data sources into a single customer view to aid our marketing and sales teams to better target their audiences.

Pros

Has a multitude of options to enable the creation of complex dashboards. Fantastic online community providing excellent support and guidance. Good intuitive, professional interface makes it productive to use. Can handle extremely large record sets without a problem.

Cons

Tough initial learning curve to get to grips with the language and best practice methods. Some extras likes maps and email marketing ability carry additional costs. Requries computer with lots of RAM.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

James D.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Like it’s little brother Qlik Sense, this program works well.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We absolutely love the Qlik family of programs. They work well and do as advertised. We had decided to switch to the much-cheaper Qlik Sense but still occasionally use QlikView for the customers we already had in the system.

Pros

While this program takes some time to get used to, once you learn it, it’s a breeze. The ability to manipulate data to make it just as you want is a major plus. Many other programs restrict your ability to show your data in just the way that you want.

Cons

The price can be a bit much. They did listen and thus created Qlik Sense, but at the higher price point, you would expect this program to have the same features as its competitors, but alas, it is still lacking. Not too terribly much, but there are features that it really should have that it does not.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10