33 reviews

Blacksmith TPM

Trade promotion management for the CPG industry

4,3 /5 (33 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,4
Features
4,2
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,5
82% recommended this app
33 reviews
Julie M.

Our Trade Settlement Team is in Blacksmith Forge & Analytics tools every working business day.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- The Blacksmith team are experts in Food Service industry,
- In the forefront of the direction of Food Service Trade.
- Forge System is very intuitive and can be customized to meet our business needs, and provides ability to evolve along with Food Service Industry.
- We are currently reviewing upgrading to the newest version in 2018.
- Continuously adding system efficiencies into system or process to account complexities that we are faced with
- Network of Blacksmith customers
- Bi Annual Blacksmith meetings

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Scott M.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Forge Helps Make the Complicated World Of Foodservice Programs and Billbacks Easier

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/05
Review Source: Capterra

Forge has been a great help to our organization. It has helps us get our arms around a very difficult to manage piece of the Foodservice business.

Pros

The Forge system is very user friendly. The system allows all organizations within a company to understand the effect that the distributor and operator programs have on profitability. Forge allows companies to keep all of their programs in one place so the data and information is accessible to sales, management, finance and reconciliation/settlements departments

Cons

The Forge software can be overwhelming to new users. But once the users get a chance to work with the system for a while, they will become very adept at using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Yassmin U.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Forge & Forge Analytics Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/16
Review Source: Capterra

The overall experience for the first year was not what was expected. The features and functionalities would be great if it worked, however, the data was incorrect and it took over 9 months to find out that a refresh wasn't happening between Forge and Forge Analytics. The initial customer service experience was also poor and not helpful. Recently we received better customer service when we were provided with a different group of individuals to help us. There is no ownership on customer service on validating that the data between the systems are running appropriately. We constantly have to catch the issues and report them.

Pros

The quicker processing of the deductions and billbacks feature in Forge. The detailed billback reports in Forge Analytics are also great because of how much data you can include in the report.

Cons

The concept of the system is actually a great concept. The functionality though needs improvement. Forge and Forge Analytics needs to be consistent in refreshing between systems. The contract management piece in Forge is a great feature, however, it provides too much flexibility for sales to enter contracts and easily revise or duplicate them which in turn causes errors on the Forge Analytics report.

Response from Blacksmith Applications

Yassmin, we appreciate your feedback. As an early adopter of FORGE Analytics, we take your input very seriously as we activate continuous improvement to our support and data models. We'll have someone reach out to discuss system choices that can address the sales team permissions you commented on. Thank you for being a valued customer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Lupe R.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with GoSimple is very good you have everything you need in one system easy to use and track and see claims and run reports. I also like that you can see all categories on Home page so you know what category is priority and let's you know when contracts are expiring

Pros

What I like the most of this software is that you can keep track on claims and deductions so companies won't double dip such as rebates and etc. It's also nice that you can run reports and have the option to imported it in excel. It's been very useful for our company and also saving a lot of money on the long run

Cons

What I like the least about the software is that I wish the check numbers would show in more places like in the pending category other than that I do like it very much it's pretty much straight forward and very easy to use

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Timothy N.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Ease of Use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

Accounting has been very efficient.

Pros

Easy to navigate, search and complete details.

Cons

Some fields are a bit confusing and more time consuming than others.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matt S.

Blacksmith Forge is essential to everyday operations as a Foodservice CPG.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/12
Review Source: Capterra

Roll out to our business managers to take a closer look at their trade spend.

Pros

+ The product is intuitive and can be customized to meet our business needs.
+ Our Blacksmith Business partners are CPG experts and are forward thinking.
+ Customer service agent provides us with tremendous support and demonstrate a clear understanding of the current (and future) landscape of our Industry.
+ We recently rolled out the program for our business managers.

Cons

- Data configurations can be complex, but there is always a Blacksmith employee to address any questions that we may have. I do not feel there are actual cons with Forge.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Amy C.
Industry: Food Production

A must have for Foodservice Manufacturers!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

In depth industry knowledge makes the features/functionality invaluable
Intuitive for users of all experience levels
Above and beyond the software, you get a partner
Built to be flexible with it's features

Cons

Although we realize they are growing at a rapid pace, Customer Support can be a little slow at times.
Would like to see a user forum of some type for feedback

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kristy K.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Go Simple - experience

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

My experience was great, the system was easy to learn as well and train others. It was a personal feel and a ton of support from the account manager Andrea.

Pros

I liked the detail the system provided when working on a pending/recalculated claim and the hyper link options available.

Cons

The software could have had more customized reporting.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Becky H.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Overall my experience has been good.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/23
Review Source: Capterra

It helps me to perform my daily job duties

Pros

It is user friendly for me because I have used it from the beginning but new users struggle with it.

Cons

It seems upgrades that have been done for other manufacturers can create issues for our company that we are unaware of until something isn't working

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shirley C.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Operator Sales Specialist - easy of use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/07
Review Source: Capterra

most of the time i able to get what i need to perform my job

Pros

several ways to search for programs, reports are easy to download

Cons

I don't understand why updates have such a long black out period. When do mass price increases system is not available for 2 weeks or more.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Paige R.

Forge is an essential part of my day to day work.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- The tool is very user friendly.
- Customer Support is top notch whenever we are experiencing any difficulties or have any questions.
- The Blacksmith team is always willing to help with any system efficiencies to enhance our day to day work.
- Being able to network with other Blacksmith users within the industry helps us learn other ways we can utilize this tool across our Foodservice team.

Cons

- We experience a few system outages but the team is quick to work on it and fix the issue.
- System does run slow every now and then.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kevin B.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Fantastic Trade Tool!!!!!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

Our experience has been nothing short of spectacular. As a matter of fact, we are pursuing rolling it out to our Retail side of the business as well. The benefits we've reaped from the system are numerous. We have visibility to things we have never had in the past. It's been a great investment!

Pros

The ease of use of this product is amazing! Our user community has had nothing but good things to say about the product. GoSimple has helped our company uncover many, many things that have been swept under the rug in the past. Visibility to spending has been restored and our financial savings as a result of this tool continue to mount. Our company's decision to move to this trade tool has paid off very quickly. Customer services levels are also second to none.

Cons

Lack of an established CRM tool and trade spend file for analysis has been our biggest bottleneck. However, we are close to rectifying.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marco C.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Go Simple Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

I've been working with Go Simple for 3 years now, actually I was the first one to use it in my company and thankfully I've loved every piece of it. Go Simple has always made my life easier and has given me the opportunity to increase my abilities at reporting, time management, contract management, communication, etc.

Pros

It is easy to use, it is very helpful, it brings clarity to the user, processes are easy to follow, and it gives you clarity if you are doing something wrong within your company that employees might oversee.

Cons

Actually nothing, the software works as promised by them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kristy P.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great tool!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

We have so much more visibility then we've ever had before (stacked spending, incorrect deductions, repays, etc.). Working with GoSimple has been a great experience. The team is always available to assist when needed and they offer solutions to help us improve our trade spend monitoring.

Pros

It is a very user friendly tool and the customer service support levels are extraordinary. The return on investment has been fantastic!

Cons

The ability to pull a full trade spend report is currently lacking.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bailey K.

Forge allows me to have better insight to our trade spend

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- The product is easy to teach and understand for new users.
- We have great customer support from the Blacksmith Team.
- Blacksmith has an awesome community of users that help keep the tool innovative and fresh.
- It helps me perform my job daily!

Cons

- Can run slowly on some instances, but if there is ever a complete outage, the Blacksmith team has it fixed very quickly and efficiently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Cheryl Y.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

GoSimple Works

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

We have been able to find mistakes that were costing our company a lot of money. We were able to recoup a lot of money from companies that have been deducting incorrectly.

Pros

It’s keeps track of expiring pricing memos which was a chore on its own The best part is that it helps us capture money that was deducted when it shouldn’t have been.

Cons

One more step to do when offering a pricing memo. You have to input the information. We now have a designated person that takes care of that which helps tremendously.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pamela H.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Pam's Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

Fair

Pros

Rep helping me! And I can easily look up contracts.

Cons

Putting in a new program- some features are difficult

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Daniel H.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Value for the money

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

Very Good

Pros

It enables each person to keep track of unwanted deductions

Cons

A little time consuming entering the data

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kevin C.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Forge Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/07
Review Source: Capterra

Spending contracts

Pros

Ease of use, good info.. seems accurate

Cons

Sometimes is bogs down, slow kicks me out

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Scott P.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 201-500 Employees

First class customer service

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/13
Review Source: Capterra

Visibility of spending from the operator to the distributors

Pros

Ease of use, customizable, level of detail able to achieve

Cons

Reporting aspect has some challenges but they are working very hard with ya to deliver what’s needed and in the format requested

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ryan B.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Opinion of a daily user

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/11
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with FORGE has been mostly positive as it is a powerful tool in managing trade that offers excellent reporting capabilities as well as powerful search functions that save time.

Pros

The search function and reporting capabilities are excellent.

Cons

At times, especially when revising larger programs with hundreds of items and operator/distributor combinations the program can become very sluggish and unresponsive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kristy P.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

GoSimple - Great tool!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Customer Service is fantastic. Tool is very easy to learn & use. Provides us with great visibility.

Cons

Would like to customize some of the terminology used in the system to match our internal systems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mary R.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great support, great poduct

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

People are great to work with. They all have an understanding on how the software works. The screens are easy to work with.

Pros

Easy to filter and find things.
Support is amazing

Cons

Reports are on going, nothing to run out of the box. New broker security setup can be frustrating because you have to drag it to multiple spots.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kevin B.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Great Trade Management System!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use
Flexibility
Customer support

Cons

Reporting capabilities are somewhat limited

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Linda D.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Information Previously Unknown -Now Available and Valuable

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

benefits :Now we have accurate information at our fingertips , to stop over payments , double dipping and gives up back up to collect money owed to us

Pros

Account Information is easily located , sales on specific items easily found

Cons

Learning curve was a bit long in the beginning , after a while you get it , just seemed like a lot to learn and remember at first.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10