45 reviews

WaveMaker

Low Code Application Development Platform

4,6 /5 (45 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
45 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most affordable and capable platform compared to market leaders in RAD space.

Reviewed on 2018/09/10

Pros

We were tasked with creating some internal applications for our firm, we have tried out many platforms like OutSystems and Mendix which proved to too costly and some tools like KissFlow and Zoho Creator which are no where near the capabilities offered by WaveMaker. There are a lot of other tools which claim that they are alternatives to WaveMaker but that is far from truth. WaveMaker offers a variety of functionalities and tools which will enable you to create great business class applications where as the claimed alternatives are just form builders, one observation that we had from our journey of finding a good RAD platform is that most of the tools are just form builders and they claim to be equal to WaveMaker, one interesting fact is that you can create similar applications on Microsoft Excel rather than using KissFlow or ZohoCreator. I would not want to go into details but WaveMaker is a great tool if you are interested in creating great applications. It is affordable and their customer services team is amazing.

Cons

There is very little you can think of when you are paying a very small amount. WaveMaker is easily the most affordable platform which has so many capabilities. I do not understand why the claimed market leaders OutSystems and Mendix charge so much where as WaveMaker charges only 10% of OutSystems and Mendix. WaveMaker offers great freedom to move your applications out of their platform but OutSystems and Mendix do not allow users to move application away from their platform. WaveMaker is a great tool but I fail to understand why this is not so popular.

Krishna M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

RAD platform for Java Web & Mobile applications I have been waiting for

Reviewed on 2017/04/18

WaveMaker is the Rapid Application Development environment for the Java world that I have been waiting for about a decade, to help develop web and mobile applications. Built on latest tech stack (Bootstrap, Angular, Spring, Hibernate etc.) with no vendor lock-in or proprietary code.

Pros

With the widgets and service building framework you would be able to write a SQL to create RESTful webservice integrate with the widgets in a matter of minutes to create responsive web & mobile applications. Easy to build navigation and assign security for the pages or services with support for multiple roles. The ability to create partial pages makes your UI modular and reusable in many places easily. Custom business logic can be created as handwritten Java services. Seasoned web developers should be able to get trained within a week or so and start being productive. With some training simple functionality, reports etc can even be built by business users having the basic technical background.

The platform is a lot more stable now than what it was when I started using 1.5 years ago. Knowledgeable and prompt support helps you get around any issues or help using the platform. Expecting server-side validation framework in the next release, which should help tighten the ability to build business logic on the server side instead of purely relying on client side validations.

Cons

Expected areas of improvement for coming releases (as of April 2017)
Impact to existing application functionality due to platform version upgrades need to be improved by ensuring backward compatibility for all changes and by making the previous version of the platform available for a short period after the upgrade without forcing apps to migrate with no option. Would make it even more suitable for enterprise applications with additional enhancements around configurable server-side validation and workflows. Given that the platform is Angular/JSON heavy, by nature of how search engines work making it SEO ready could a challenge. Overall, I strongly recommend WaveMaker for small companies as well as enterprises looking for a robust RAD platform.

Nicholas B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great rapid development platform!

Reviewed on 2016/08/16

There is a bit of a learning curve, but thankfully their email support is top notch. Wave maker allows us to build awesome universals apps very very quickly.

Pros

100% cloud based, great customer support, tremendous uptime.

Cons

Very little documentation, or it all seems to be scattered and for an older version. Had to teach myself much of this platform

Joel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Service

Reviewed on 2019/06/12

It is a very useful and straightforward service available from anywhere.

Pros

It Just works. Good User Experience. It helps me save time on the op side of the business

Cons

Some configurations are missing. like automatic late payment management, and also credit card payment paid by the payee is missing.

Response from WaveMaker

Thanks Joel for the review. Will try to include your suggestions in our future product roadmap. Keep trying WaveMaker!

Marcello M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great speed on development

Reviewed on 2017/03/27

Integration with backend rest and database is what we are looking for. We don't need anymore software installation at customer site.
In two months we have completed and delivered custom development projects for our customers. With visual studio we could not have such a speed.
The ability to export the webapp in WAR format, allows those who have already an internal J2EE infrastructure, to start immediately with the developed webapp in minutes.
The support with the chat is very good, fast and reliable...

Jerry B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best RAD Software Platform for WEB Applications

Reviewed on 2016/09/30

Best RAD tool for building WEB HTML5 applications. No IDE required, just use the browser to build apps for the browser. Connect to multiple data sources on 1page from databases to WEB Services. Connect to popular 3rd party apps like Facebook, YouTube, Twitter.

Richard W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

WaveMaker Rocks

Reviewed on 2016/09/28

Very complete front and back-end support to include direct connections to SQL, with db modeling support as well as support for generated web services. Super flexibility as to deployment options.

Paul D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

great product

Reviewed on 2019/04/01

Pros

i like the functionality of this software most..

Cons

it's a little bit difficult to get the hang of and not the easiest to learn, with little tutorials available

Response from WaveMaker

Thanks Paul for the review. We are constantly improving our product to keep in pace with our customer expectations. So keep trying WaveMaker.

Ayesha M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Developed a Leave Management system within weeks for our startup

Reviewed on 2018/03/14

Pros

It is fast compared to other players in aPaaS space, feature rich and efficient. Its took only weeks to create a Leave management software.

Cons

Wave maker can get really expensive, particularly for a start up business like ours. Hope they come up with a better pricing model

Response from WaveMaker

Thanks for the review, Ayesha. Enjoy & keep trying WaveMaker. And do let us know any concerns: [email protected]

Regards,
Team #WaveMaker

Dejan K.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software development environment

Reviewed on 2016/09/20

Experience excellent. I started with version 6.7, and now I develop in version 8.0 and see the progress. I graduated with WaveMaker development platform software, where I presented the tool and developed a web application. I am particularly impressed by your support, which is quick and friendly. I am pleased with the entire team.

Pros

I am impressed with the development of software platforms and support.

Cons

I have no bad experiences or observations. I hope that you will continue in the future as well focused on the development.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good tool to make app for POC

Reviewed on 2020/01/04

We can develop apps and good speed but only to POC..

Pros

Drag and drop of the UI elements which generates the angular js code under the hood.. and single tool for both android and ios app

Cons

Less scope for customisation.. and less default templates

Rekha V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Maarga Systems

Reviewed on 2016/08/24

We have developed two applications for our POC so far. During that phase we found wavemaker is real a Rapid application development tool. Implementation of Security and its features is very easy to apply. We are able to build a professional and responsive ui build in a quick period. All menus are user friendly especially for developers. Navigation and validations are easy to implement. Excellent customer support, whenever we need response for any issue we got the replies on time. Follow ups on pending items by support team and their punctual in replies are highly impressive. Wherever we need any custom function to be implemented we can achieve it using angular JS and Jquery is an added advantage.

Pros

1. Responsive UI is very pleasant
2. Easy configurable and very well defined Security
3. Functionality can be quickly achieved.
4. Technical Support guidance for any issues.
5. Online References We are able to find many references for Wavemaker which is a vital factor for developers or fresher who start with wavemaker
6. RAD Quickly we can develop apps
7. DB connectivity
8. Versioning control option is good
9. Deployment procedure is simple
10. Backup / restore process is easy to use
11. Interface points / API support are extensive

Cons

1. Support for more databases would be welcome
2. Error logs can be more user friendly
3. Better support for rich text would be good
4. Ability to create scheduler jobs would be good

Martin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wavemaker 8.x Online review

Reviewed on 2017/01/19

My Experience with this product is that it is outstanding. If its all about speed and accuracy then I give Wavemaker 10/10. The Wavemaker Studio product is very professional and well worth the cost of a paid subscription. Support is always prompt and the engineering support team get my issues resolved quickly. Overall I would not bother looking anywhere else for a product that does what Wavemaker does. All their claims on their website are accurate!.

Pros

Fast, lightweight and flexible. Easy to adapt to any hosting situation or app store.

Cons

It is a cloud studio so I have concerns about untrusted environments. Also there were concerns about the default setting for C3PO Database connector.

Greg L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quick and relatively easy platform to develop complicated applications.

Reviewed on 2018/02/06

Pros

We have a mass project and desided to give this tool a go with the reasoning that we can take our code at any time anywhere and continue to write it with professional developers when we run short on knowledge. Otherwise with minimal research we have so far been able to develop quite complex applications. The support provided by the wavemaker team is quick and accurate with minimal discussion.

Cons

As the software develops step at a time it would be great to see more pre built features for the device and the application. Assuming this is mostly used for business development it would be good to see device barcode and peripherals integrated.

Vineet D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Radically change the entire process of building apps

Reviewed on 2016/02/01

Wavemaker is a boon for startups like us as it helped us build prototypes quickly and effectively. It enabled us to test some of the most difficult potential parts of the system early on in the life-cycle. Finding problems earlier in the life-cycle rather than later was a key benefit. The earlier a problem can be found the cheaper it is to address. It uses wysiwyg visual builder that allows quick app building, and hence for prototyping, the business analyst could directly get it done. The best part is that it is not just for prototyping, we later on went ahead and built upon the prototype to build a full fledged enterprise app.

We had an option to pick from a huge bag of themes and templates (for both mobile and web). Also had an option to extend the platform for our customised needs. The first prototype we built was developed in less than week instead of 20+ days as estimated initially.

Andi D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best RAD solution ever used!

Reviewed on 2017/01/05

I have been using a lot of tools and solutions for Rapid Application Development, for many types of applications, from simple to complicated ones!

But, using WaveMaker was amazing! You can develop apps very fast with a plenty of professional features.

All phases from development to production can be managed in a simple way.

Security features that you can add to any application are very professional.

Pros

- plenty of features
- fast development of applications
- application security feature

Cons

none

Paul O.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reduce your development time by over 60%

Reviewed on 2016/12/07

We have been using wavemaker to reduce development time for our frontend applications. Our startup is in machine learning and data science and focus more on backend models rather than frontend and as such we dont want to over invest in frontend technologies and at the same time we want to deliver a great experience to our customers. Wavemaker has solved that for us and provided us with more time to focus on machine learning models.

Román josué D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Rapid Application Development? WaveMaker is the answer!

Reviewed on 2019/02/20

When having a project of software development for a web-based app, even if short of time or no, WaveMaker is a great choice as will allow you to spend less time on ordinary tasks and let your developers team concentrate more on the business logic and the functionality of the app.
It really speeds up the development and reduce the time which would take in average.

Pros

WaveMaker is a great studio to develop web-based applications for Java Developers. As it uses the latest technologies and frameworks your app will be up to date for a long term. It uses the MVC arquitecture, on both frontend and backend, and there's a clear separation between this last two.
Something I really like is that WaveMaker is like a combination of code generator for the tedious and cumbersome parts, while you still have full control of everything and can change it as required.

Cons

I really loved the desktop version, and I'm missing that they no longer support it. My favorite version was the 6.7.0 RELEASE, even if having some bugs, the desktop version was something great!

Response from WaveMaker

Thanks Roman!

Really appreciate your time for this review. Keep trying WaveMaker.

Regards,
#Team WaveMaker

Li-da G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

i have achieved more than expected -- learned and developed first app for my startup within 3...

Reviewed on 2018/02/07

Pros

Wavemaker has great customer support (fast response and step by step guidance) which is the major reason I decided to subscribe a plan. A true RAD platform, yet it provides flexibility for complex coding. A cloud platform allow me code anywhere at anytime.

Cons

Hope there is a special pricing which is more friendly to small startup like mine :) and introduce more prefabs especially in area of payment gateway.

Rodrigo M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WM enables us to do many times as much with limited headcount.

Reviewed on 2018/02/07

Development speed and less bugs on final developed application.

Pros

The speed we have from concept to product is paralleled only by much more expensive tools like IBM VisuaAge, currently available only to high end risc workstations. The support is by large the best part in WM. The support team is always solicit and ready to pursue and provide any need for either support or information on how to do things with the tool.

Cons

WM would benefit greatly if had a planned roadmap ahead in time. Sometimes corrections and new features are expected and hence we face difficulties planning ahead in time without such information from WM product management. We have the release notes, of course, but only a few days before a release is actually made available.

Response from WaveMaker

Thanks for the review, Rodrigo. Enjoy & keep trying WaveMaker. And do let us know any concerns: [email protected]

Regards,
Team #WaveMaker

Eduardo P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The next RAD generation - Focusing on Business needs

Reviewed on 2016/06/14

With WM, you can develop a entire web application in days, with all the robustness and Security of Java and with the ease of Drag & Drop.

Pros

We like: The Platform which WM is based (Development with Java for Web) and its User Interface (Drag & Drop).

Today, the web development on Java is complex, with multiple frameworks, patterns, annotations, configurations, XMLs and so on.

With WM, all of this is abstracted from you, allowing you to put focus on the development of the business needs, reducing dramatically the development time.

Cons

The lack of other models of licensing, example: license only for web development - with a lower price ;)

Nome S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Really good support and tools

Reviewed on 2016/07/08

The support is paralleled in my 12 years of working in ICT. The tools are also very very powerful and you can actually do a lot with it. So many options I still have not explored.

Pros

It is easy enough to use. You can literally run an app in a few minutes. On the surface it seems simple but make no mistake. Under the hood there is a lot more customization you can do

Cons

While it is simple enough to use on the surface. To do really advance stuff there is a steep learning curve. There are a lot of help and training materials available though and of course the stellar support.

Desmond C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Packaging & Containers
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Let's talk Rapid Application Development!

Reviewed on 2019/03/27

Pros

WaveMaker makes it easier and faster for the rapid development of applications. What I like most in using WaveMaker is the built in templates when designing UI.

Cons

I can be a little difficult to learn to use the software, but when you grasp the concepts you are good to go.

Response from WaveMaker

Thanks a lot Desmond Chigariro for the review. Keep trying WaveMaker!

Eduardo P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wavemaker improved our lead time and results

Reviewed on 2018/06/04

Pros

User Interface is the one best thing that we really like in the product since we have had acquired the first annual subscription

Cons

Even with GUI (Graphic User Interface) still requires some coding java script in the onde thing that we don't like.

Reji N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent RAD tool for Responsive UI

Reviewed on 2016/06/16

We are still evaluating the tool. But so far it seems to be one of the best. It is quite easy to use and the tutorial was helpful.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Nothing so far