SurveyMonkey Reviews

SurveyMonkey

A market-leading survey platform.

4.6/5 (4744 reviews)
Verified Reviewer

Benchmark Solution for Survey Creation Comes with a Price

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/16
Review Source: Capterra

I've had nothing but wonderful experiences working with Survey Monkey. Whether it be the ease to make professional looking survey with from scratch or using their amazing library of temples, the effortless collection of responses from your surveys whether they have been posted on your website or or embedded in social
Media platform, or the dynamic looking reports you can create literally with a push of a button, this a wonderful yet slightly expensive survey solution .

Pros

This is hands down the best and comprehensive survey creation, tracking, and monitoring Solution out there, and there are many to choose from. Others might feature some gimmick that can't be found within Survey Monkey, but none of the others come with such a robust set of features and tools.

Cons

It's not cheap. And don't go expecting to get back with a free trial or limited plan, unless who want to be frustrated? From utilizing their amazing library of templates to monitoring any size volume of responses to utilizing their recruiting and panel services when you're short on time but need results, you want to make sure to not cheap on the plan select.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Edward M.

Professional Survey Creator

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Survey Monkey has benefited the company that I work for because it allows us to quickly create surveys that are professional and that make it easy for people to respond. The feature that allows you to filter responses has been one of the most beneficial for my company as it helps us to ensure the people that respond to our surveys are the intended audience. For example, if we want to survey supervisors, Survey Monkey allows us to have the first question of a survey ask if the respondent is a supervisor. If the respondent answers no, that they aren't a supervisor, we can immediately have them directed to a thank you page that explains how we appreciate them taking the time for the survey but that at this time we are only seeking responses from current supervisors. It has been a feature that has helped increase survey response accuracy and save the time of those people who are responding because if they aren't the audience we are looking to survey, we immediately filter them out with the first question so they aren't wasting their time responding and so that we aren't wasting time sorting responses that aren't valid four our purposes.

Pros

The thing about Survey Monkey that I like best are its survey templates. Survey Monkey has so many templates of surveys that are professionally built and designed. The questions that are in the templates are diverse, educated and are all designed with the purpose of the survey in mind. Each question in the templates have its own purpose and is important for the bottom line. I like that if you want to use a template but don't want a specific question or you want to add an additional question or edit an existing question - you can. Survey Monkey's templates are fully customizable.

Cons

I do not like that the Survey Monkey logo and branding appear on all surveys that you create with Survey Monkey. The branding even appears in most of the paid versions of Survey Monkey. I think that - especially if you are paying for an account, that you should be able to opt-out of having the Survey Monkey advertising or branding on your surveys. This is important because when you distribute a survey, you do so with the intention of getting as many responses to the survey as possible. In order for people to participate in surveys - especially electronic surveys, they must trust the source. I have found that many people are concerned when responding to electronic surveys that their answers or personal information will be shared. With the Survey Monkey branding - especially for people that are not familiar with Survey Monkey, it could decrease the likelihood of people trusting the source and responding. I think that all versions of Survey Monkey - even the free account - should have the option to remove the branding. However, I especially think that the paid accounts should have the option to remove the branding.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Perfect Information Gathering Tool

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

All in all, this is a very great piece of software for any organization to have. From product queries to gauging interest in a project, it will save you a lot of time by allowing you to focus on what is important to the customer.

Pros

I have been using SurveyMonkey for the last six years in a variety of settings. I have used the software for informal surveying, internships, projects for school, and in the last three years, professionally to survey the public. Over the course of the last six years, the software has improved significantly - the incorporation of suggested questions that minimize survey bias is a very helpful tool.

By far the thing that I like most about this software is its ability to predict what types of answers you will be looking for - even if does not do a good job predicting the type of answers you want, the listing on the side makes it easy to find exactly what you are looking for. After you have collected the data, it is extremely easy to export your results via Excel or PDF so that you can easily share this data within your organization. They recently incorporated a data analyzer if you have a very large set of data - however, we tend to use Excel in house to analyze the data.

We recently used it to survey the public regarding our website and to see what information is easy for them to get off of our site and what is difficult. The results made it easy to hone in on what is important and what isn't.

Cons

The thing that I like least about this software is the cost of it. It used to be that you pay one fee and get everything you need. They are now using the modular system where you pay for this and that - it all adds up after a little while. In one sense, you are paying for what you are using - which technically could be cheaper than if they had one price for everything. However, it just seems like everyone is trying to nickle and dime everyone for software these days.

If you are a student and do not have/or want to spend the money for the software, you can still use and create basic surveys with 10 questions or less for free. However, as you can imagine, it is very limited in the scope of what you can get from it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Mary D.

Useful, but awkward

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, a great option to allow many people to have the desired input at their convenience.

Pros

People can use this online immediately. The survey setup user may need a minute to decide how to lay out their survey with the limite options available, but actually creating the surveys can start right away. Respondents don’t have to sign up for anything, which means an excellent response rate.
The survey options allows for open-ended responses, which many other programs do not. You can also limit answer choices, and determine if a question requires an answer or can be skipped.
The program will let you determine if the survey closes out at a certain time, or after a certain number of responses, or after all invited respondents have answered. An email notification updates the surveyor on the status of responses.

Cons

An option to rank answers would be a huge advantage, letting the surveyor determine whether all answers need to be included in the ranking. (“Of these 5 entrees, please rank your choices, making an ‘x’ for any that are not options for you at all.”)
A preset “scheduling survey” option would be very useful, especially if it allowed ranking of answers. I personally use SurveyMonkey most often to help set meeting dates, times and locations for professionals with divergent schedules.
It could be much easier to repeat a question in setup so the next question will have the same setup, answer options, an phrasing as the prior. This option would allow quicker & more consistent survey question setup.
I find the current version awkward for sending the survey to specific recipients, moreso than in prior versions. It can be done successfully without too much trouble, but the screens and fields and directives were unclear and not as user-friendly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Aaron P.

A Powerful Yet Simple Method to Survey Your Offering

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/18
Review Source: Capterra

Very easy and straightforward to use. You don't have to make your surveys complex. However, it allows you to get to a deeper level if need be.

Pros

I'm developing an online retailing presence for physiotherapy and wellness. And I've used Survey Monkey in every step of our company's development. From market surveys of our logo, to product-quality feedback, Survey Monkey was incredibly helpful when it came to acquiring the data we needed to streamline and tailor our offering, and eventual launch.

There are many features that make this software exceptional. Particularly, the design and interface, which is not only customizable, but also professional looking and minimalistic. I think it certainly makes a lasting impression to an audience when your surveys look the part. It also makes data acquisition seamless for both surveyor and respondent.

However, the true power of Survey Monkey is in it's data analysis. Especially when you've collected answers from hundreds and even thousands of respondents. This is where it stands out from the rest. It compiles all of the acquired information seamlessly into a single database. From there, you have an arsenal of tools to analyze the data: pie charts, bar graphs, and scatter plots. You can drill down your variables further to get a deeper understanding of what your market is looking for. And finally reveal statistically relevant correlations between features of your product/service your target market.

Truly powerful stuff.

Cons

There is none I can think of. We've used this software since the beginning of our inception and we're continually using it for our many projects.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Samridh S.

Great for Basic Survey Needs and Easy Setup

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

I have used Qualtrics and Survey Monkey both and I think depending on the needs, SurveyMonkey may be a better fit in many survey projects.

Pros

SurveyMonkey platform has been out there for a while and it is one of the most widely used online survey platform for majority of users. I have used it many times during project evaluation, class evaluations and also certain fun events at the company gathering. It has all the basic tools one needs for the survey such as setting up variety of questions (Logical: true/false or yes/nop, ratings: 1 to 10, satisfaction or interest: not at all to highly). One can get lot of options during the setup as well for determining what kind of response is appropriate. One question response could be not interested to highly interested while other could be very easy to very difficult. Once the setup is done collection of results is done by SurveyMonkey automatically and stored for analyzing. SurveyMonkey provides a lot of tools for performing analysis on the data whether it be through graphical methods or percentage methods or other statistical methods. I enjoy these varieties as different questions needs different analysis when presenting to the larger crowd. Visual information gets people more in tuned and its easy to pass on lot of information in a short period of time.

Cons

SurveyMonkey has some limitation on the design tools that are available during the setup process. I think it could use a revamp and make the surveys more attractive. Due to limitations it may not be a perfect fit for some of the highly complex surveys. There is some learning curve to make the best use of the online tool to get what you need. Most people want to use the free edition of the tool but then you loose access to major features which is not available unless one upgrades. Otherwise I do not see much negative side of this platform considering it can be used for free in majority of the cases.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
P christopher B.

A Free and Easy Survey Manager

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/06
Review Source: Capterra

Survey Monkey is an easy-to-use system which has provided a means by which we are able to better understand how we have succeeded with different customers and where we need to improve. While there is a fee to receive all the benefits with Survey Monkey, it has certainly been worth it.

Pros

The nice thing about survey monkey is that it gives you an easy way to get opinions on various topics through a simple form. Furthermore, rather than having to create the form by hand, Survey Monkey does all the work. Choose your question type, input the question, and *boom*: you've got your first form up and running.

Since Survey Monkey is based on links, it also protects any user from inputting data twice to skew your results. It is not full-proof (the system uses IP addresses so a computer can only be used once. If you use another device, however, you could potentially reuse the link), but is certainly better than nothing.

Lastly, the way it displays the data for the person who created the form is easy to read and simple to comprehend. This makes it a breeze to manipulate your data and use it for whatever you need to use it for.

Cons

While there is a basic plan, Survey Monkey does have paid options. This means the basic plan is severely limited in options. You have a limited number of surveys, questions, and even responses. Customer support is even limited based on whether you pay money or not. While every program needs money to pay for their different employees, the price is certainly steep.

Furthermore, as far as responses go, it would be nice to group responses based on participant. Say you created a survey in which you were asking your employees to rank different staff benefits. If one person was unhappy with the company in general and gave 1 star to everything, it would group the responses for each question. You as the form creator would not be able to look at the results and be able to firmly say that it was only 1 person who was unhappy with everything instead of a few people unhappy with certain things. If you could group responses by the person responding as well, that would make everything a lot easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Laura N.

Easiest and quickest survey tool out there

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/22
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using this tool for many years now and it's the go-to when we are considering gathering any kind of data for a variety of purposes. It has yet to disappoint, but we hope that there is ongoing feature introductions.

Pros

It's incredibly quick and easy to set up an account and a survey.

There are common questions that can be easily applied to your survey, along with the ability to customize questions, and a fairly comprehensive bank of question types that are super useful.

It's easy to apply themes and logos to make it look professional, as well as the ability to customize things like the thank you page, although some of these features are only available on paid accounts.

The analysis tools have gotten even better recently with a very easy way to set up a dashboard to publicly present results.

There's control over users on paid accounts to share certain surveys and levels of access within those surveys, which is very helpful for us.

Cons

The biggest issue encountered so far is that there is no option to automate things to send a submission to the person who filled out a form. This has to be done manually. For this reason, we use both SurveyMonkey and Wufoo; if SurveyMonkey had this option, it would be a one-stop shop.

Some of the logic ability is a bit limited.

The free plans are very limited, but it's nice to still have that option when very simple surveys are all that's required for a small team.

Paid plans are fairly pricey if you're not using it very often, and non-profit pricing only applies to registered charities.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Sharon B.

Survey Monkey - Easy to use

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/26
Review Source: Capterra

Survey Monkey has helped our organization gather information about customer satisfaction, our programs, our teachers and our services and be able to display that feedback in an effective way. Before we used survey monkey, we used to give out paper surveys at the end of each of our workshops. During the summer we run 125 programs for around 1500 individuals. Gathering and analyzing that information from the paper was a big task and although we gave out the survey we never had time to aggregate the results. With Survey Monkey that is all done for you. Now we can actually use the feedback we are receiving from stdudents and parents to make positive changes that returning customers can see. In the past three years, returning campers and parents have definately noticed that their opinions and feedback is being heard and postivie changes have been made.

Pros

Survey Monkey is very easy to use and is great for sending out surveys to a large audience. Survey Monkey software formulated the feedback you receive back from customers in easy to read charts and tables. One of the features I really like about the software is that you can send different emails (or campaigns) from the same survey to compare different groups responses while still being able to look at the results overall. I used this feature this fall to send the same survey to four different groups. This allowed me to compare the satisfaction of each week of our programs as well as the satisfaction overall.

Cons

I had a hard time at first figuring out the different setups for each of the questions. It would be helpful if there was a definition next to the different settings. However, after a little trial and error I figured out what everything did.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Moses K.

SurveyMonkey enabled us to supercharge our market research without heavy monetary investment

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We found it so easy to set up any type of survey based on what data we wanted. Competing services do no come close to the survey type options that SurveyMonkey offers for all manner of uses ranging from inter departmental data to customer research.
We didn't even have to read through the documentation before using the services that SurveyMonkey offers, a towering testament to the intuitiveness inherent in the service.
The templates are really helpful for a new term members who don't know how to craft a professional and complete survey. We mostly start with the provided templates and slightly modify them depending on our needs.
Every team member gives the user experience an A+; there's little or nothing to complain about with the user experience

Cons

the very attractive advantage plan is quite expensive for small to medium businesses. It would be nicer if this package was slightly more affordable since it has very important features that the marketing department cant really do without.
There isn't a live chat option that we could use. This means employees from differing time zones can't easily get helped

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Venugopal S.

A superb application that allows you to create your own surveys

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It is an ultimate cloud-based software which helps you to create your own surveys with the help of question format templates. Its basic version is free, so you can try it for free. It is very easy to create a survey with a variety of question types. It is very intuitive and user-friendly i.e. can be operated with a short learning curve. It has great reporting capabilities and in addition, it’s time complexity is also very low. The combination of data and results are also very good. It allows you to customize your questions. Its uploading and shareability are quite remarkable. It helps you to know whatever they want, through surveys which is also very helpful.

Cons

Let’s talk about some negative aspects of SurveyMonkey. Sometimes it hides some important information while doing surveys and other times snags are being caught that resulted in the improper implementation of surveys. It is also having the problem of creating duplicate entries. You cannot change font type, cannot export data in free version, doesn’t allow collaborations, limited survey responses, inability to include video or graphics into the survey, etc. are some of the other problems of this application. Although, its time complexity is good but does not work well with more complex surveys and complicated skip patterns. However, you must have to learn to know how to analyze the results on the more advanced level. And lastly, if you want to use it to the fullest, you must pay higher for it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Aubree S.

Love the free access to create easy anonymous surveys

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/11
Review Source: Capterra

Survey Monkey allows us to create quick and easy surveys to collect anonymous responses to determine how we are doing within our department. We use these surveys to get a better idea of how others portray us within the company and get an idea of what others would like to see us do different next time. This platform makes this possible.

Pros

I love that Survey Monkey allows you to donate to charities just by taking surveys. This is huge for this company that encourages others to use this survey platform to create surveys as well as it encourages others to take the surveys to help contribute to charities at no cost to them. Survey Monkey gives you free access to create surveys and send them for others to take in a limited amount. They also offer plans for bigger organizations that plan to get back more responses than allowed with the free account.

Cons

I dislike that you are limited to the format you can create surveys in. The formatted templates are nice when you want to create a very simple basic survey but it lacks the ability to really create a unique survey based on your needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Joshua M.

One of the Most Effective Survey Tools Out There!

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

My personal experience with SurveyMonkey has been fantastic. SurveyMonkey offers a lot of very unique features and efficiencies for creating great looking surveys. Furthermore, my favorite feature definitely has to be the great data tracking measures that the service provides. One can export results into a variety of formats and also use some of their own visualization tools. Overall, the platform is relatively easy to use, share, and collaborate in order to find the details one needs.

Pros

SurveyMonkey is one of the survey tools that I have access to at my work. I absolutely love the help tools the platform offers for those with questions pertaining to how to make the best survey. That is one of the greatest pros about SurveyMonkey - the user-friendly nature of the platform. Furthermore, the reporting on surveys is extremely well-done. SurveyMonkey offers several reporting functions for best visualizing the data stemming from the surveys. I have really appreciated the visual nature of the platform and think it mixes perfectly between a social and work collaboration tool.

Cons

There are a couple things that I wish SurveyMonkey was better at as a service. First, involves the logic and conditional formatting. SurveyMonkey is a bit more work (compared to other larger competitors) when setting up conditional functions. It is often more taxing and time consuming to create these types of surveys. Furthermore, SurveyMonkey is definitely a more expensive option for survey tools. SurveyMonkey includes lots of add-on's for premium content. The service can become quite expensive if looking to have access to the entire suite.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

I didn't expect it's so easy to know who your clients are

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/29
Review Source: Capterra

Client increased sales 3x times!

Pros

We were working on some business logic enhancements for our client who is an online shop.
As we run out of free version capabilities really quick, we ended up on Advantage yearly subscription. While our client was excited about ability to perform segmentation of his clients, client also wanted to share some of survey results with his end users in real-time. Part of client end-users were excited to feel influencing on online shop design and assortment, so, I believe, we also earned an additional points of our end users loyalty. The client itself is really successful, they increase sales something like 3x over pas year, and the role of surveys in that is undoubted.

Cons

Sometimes there's lack of options to provide enough options to create flexible enough survey.
In particular we were unable to fin an easy option to switch users to another flow of survey based on segment they qualify based on first 3 questions. Survey results are not ordered by time that participants took it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Janine L.

No mess, no fuss Survey tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/06
Review Source: Capterra

We are able to maintain a high standard meeting and exceeding guest expectations because we use this tool as a tool for quality control. We are constantly monitoring whether our guests receive the experience that they are promised when they first become a customer.

Pros

I rated customer support although I've never spoken to them and never had a need to. I didn't want to give them a low or average rating, so I gave them the benefit of the doubt with a 4-star :) Truly, this is software that you can set up with little to no management on a regular basis. When you are ready, you can pull the data you've collected and do some fancy filtering when your team needs further insight into one aspect of your data collection. It's a no brainer to add this to your business process.

Cons

For the most part, I don't have any! Plus they have a monkey in their logo... who doesn't love that? If I must say one thing, then I'm unable to send out a general survey link while at the same time automating the collection of responses into separate categories.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ravinder B.

SurveyMonkey - A tool to take feedback and then turn them into actions

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/02
Review Source: Capterra

In our business, we generally used free version to create simple questionnaire to collect feedback on trainings, projects and various organization policies. Given that surveys are kept anonymous, so we get huge response which served our purpose. So, even free verison is worth it and ease to use in organizations to turn feedback into actions.

Pros

SurveyMonkey is an online data platform that allows organizations/individuals to take surveys on a topic and then extracts insights from the survey results. SurveyMonkey is super-easy to sign up and use even if you are a newcomer. Friendly and intuitive user interface. SurveyMonkey has some inbuilt questionnaire and templates on some of the topics which you can leverage easily. SurveyMonkey allows you to build your own customized questionnaire forms, so that you easily reach to a lot of people and seek their opinion. SurveyMonkey is available on both web and mobile platform and recipient is not required to sign in in order to fill a survey. Further, SurveyMonkey provides you insights upto some level even on the free version.

Cons

The free version has very limited options, so you can choose paid plan as per your need. Difficult to create complex surveys, but you hardly need to create complex surveys. The survey analyze tool can improved further to provide more detailed insights. The softwares seems to support only a few languages.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jill G.

Survery Monkey is VERY useful for so many things!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/02
Review Source: Capterra

It's something that people from 9 to 90 can use!!!!!!!!!!!!
THE BEST PART ABOUT SURVEY MONKEY is the QR code generator! Please do not ever do away with it!

Pros

Survey Monkey makes data collecting for all the firms I have worked for, very accessable, fun, and insightful! We love that administrators have the ability to look up and aggregate the metrics.
When we used Survey Monkey for BIG ORANGE PRODUCTIONS, we were able to answer important information about product demos, customer comments about food, taste, allergy concerns, etc.
It was a very portable service, one that was easily recognizable and customizable. Speficically, with BIG ORANGE PRODUCTIONS (marketing company from RI,) a large portion of their data collecting relies on Survey Monkey as a backbone.

Cons

A few times if I hit a blank field (some key that I know not what it was), I was sent back to the beginning, and all the information that I input was lost. It would be great if SurveyMonkey has "save draft" options.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Arpan S.

One of the best cloud based software as a service online survey creation tools!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/12
Review Source: Capterra

The tool can an asset to any business because the feedback received from the audience can be used to make improvements in the existing business model, ultimately helping a business in gaining satisfaction among customers.

Pros

- Simple and easy to use interface.
- Able to quickly generate and sending out a form which can be used to get feedback from people around the world.
- Little to no training is required even for a beginner with creating and sending out surveys.
- Ability to extract and share actionable insights on the fly and take corrective actions.
- The surveys are highly customized according to one's needs. For instance: a company's logo can be added.

Cons

- The cost of Team Advantage and Team Premier plans can be high for small and medium businesses.
- The free plan is of little to no use for any business as it comes with major limitations:
A survey with only a maximum of 10 questions can be created and only maximum of 100 responses can be viewed per survey.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Laura T.

Super easy survey tool!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/14
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it is an easy way to gain feedback and it is easy to use! I like the different pricing options as well.

Pros

My association pays for Survey Monkey which means that we can do special themes and branding - which look amazing!! The product is so easy to use and there are a number of question templates that make it easy to get the kind of results that you are looking for. Then, just export it all into an easily readable report! We previously were using a survey tool that required us to completely re-format the report that took hours of staff time. Now with just one click we have results that are easy to read, share and store.

Cons

Once you determine how to export the survey to meet your needs it is simple, but it does require some effort to ensure that you are selecting the correct reporting options. Also, if you need to add an attachment to the final page of your survey, you have to make sure that you click off of the link before hitting next or else it does not save the attachment. We have sent out a few surveys without the necessary attachment before figuring out this rule.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Miguel C.

Very satisfied with the results obtained from its simple and easy use

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/17
Review Source: Capterra

This software is a tool that I have used and I would recommend it with confidence to my colleagues. Several types of questions can be made but what I like the most is the ease of delivering the survey and the immediacy with which we have the data already processed and graphed.

Pros

Its free version is very convenient or with a small investments of money, a very versatile tool is available for surveying. The response tabulations are made immediately and it is easy to send the interviews to the respondents.
The questions can be reordered in a simple way, after the questionnaire has been elaborated, facilitating the restructuring and design of the survey.

It does not occupy space on my hard drive, which makes it available anytime, anywhere.
The program tabulates and graphs the results, as it is answered (real time), which contributes to saving time in this activity.

The software highlights the highest values in each item, which contributes to the rapid interpretation of the results.

It indicates through the use of the highlighter who has answered the survey, which facilitates locating the missing persons by filling it out.

Cons

When questions are asked with multiple answers and require clarification in the order of the response, there may be a problem. Also when questions related to knowledge are asked and you want to discriminate the first mention (Top of mind) of the rest of the mentions.
There may also be problems with open questions, their quantity and how to analyze them

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Najmin A.

Absolutely Amazing for Research!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

SurveyMonkey is overall a great program to use for research purposes and I would highly recommend it to anyone who's looking for such a tool. However, when using this, I would highly suggest that users devise plans to be able to promote their surveys on their own so that they can get a high number of participants.

Pros

SurveyMonkey is absolutely a necessity for any professional in the research field and those not in it alike. It can serve a vital role for many organizations as it can be valuable in getting feedback or in conducting actual research itself. I have used this myself for research projects where I needed to get input from participants. I've had great success with each time that I've used it and I would highly reccomend it! What I liked the most about this software was how users can add gift card options so that SurveyMonkey can administer all of the reward aspects of projects.

Cons

SurveyMonkey is great but one thing that I did not like about it is that it does not do much to market user's surveys on its website. Unless I personally share the link to the survey myself and promote it to the people that I want to participate in it, I often myself with very few people who actually take the surveys. This can be detrimental to projects where I may not have the time or resources to promote it on my own.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

As the name states, this is an easy survey builder but it can be used for a lot more.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

It really couldn't be much faster or easier to build a simple form when ever you need one with SurveyMonkey. As long as you don't need to collect something like files or payment from the end user, you can and probably should use SurveyMonkey to build your forms. It's a big time saver when you can copy older but similar surveys you often use and the interface is more intuitive than anything else I've used when building from scratch.

Pros

This software has a very straight forward user interface both for the admin and the end users. It is very easy to build any kind of survey with many different question types using just a few logical clicks. Each question you make can be customized in any way you could need. Since this is basically a form builder, you can use it to make all kinds of forms that don't necessarily have to be considered "surveys". The reports it generates are well laid out and it is easy to get different graphs or details out of the data you collect.

Cons

It's almost too simple. Some more customization ability regarding the look would make it better to me. It's a little too obvious you are using a SurveyMonkey form when you see one and having more brand separation would give users a more non-generic feel. No document upload feature limits the abilities but most surveys probably don't need that feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Gisela W.

Functional surveying tool that gets good response rate due to its ease of use by the target group

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Setting up surveys is quick and they look good when you send them out there. If one has planned the survey well, the results can be very effective in motivating for changes in the business plan or strategy. Respondents find the surveys easy to complete quickly. The data sets that are gathered can be filtered and additional features are available for which one has to pay. Even so, when the results of the survey save the company money, one can easily justify the expenditure on R&D.

Cons

No real problems were experienced while using Survey Monkey. To stay ahead in the field, picture survey might need to be included, and also the possibility for updated feedback, or timed responses. For example if I want the respondent to be reminded to respond on a particular question again some time later, to measure a change in circumstances, it would be useful to tag a "sub survey" onto the main survey, without having to set up all the questions again in a second survey.
Setting Survey monkey up to be like a "Random Comments and Criticism Help Desk" is being tested by using the original survey and submitting it to a smaller weekly group of customers, but the amount of extra effort is being outweighed by the "norm" of currently "adequate" in-house customer support function.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Neffer K.

Survey Monkey has multiple benefits

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/25
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, using Survey Monkey has been a positive experience. I feel as though more places should use a similar model (going through Survey Monkey) to collect information for awards or nominations, maybe even proposal submissions because it was so easy to follow.

Pros

In the past, I used Survey monkey to conduct surveys and get information for projects, experiments, and research. However, most recently it was the platform I used to nominate someone for the American Red Cross Heroes Breakfast. I like that it made it easier to provide all the necessary information that was requested.

Cons

Once I got to the end and clicked 'done' and new survey popped up. There was no 'Thank you for your submission' or any type of confirmation that my information had been captured. I did not like that because it took me 30 minutes to do the nomination and I had type a great deal of content that I would not have been able to retrieve. I was left wondering if it had even gone through. So I went on the Survey Monkey customer service portion of the website (FAQ's) and learned that all entries are recorded and submitted once you click 'done'. That was reassuring, but it would have been nice to not have to go through all of that with simply a confirmation of receipt (and maybe a final preview sheet (of all that I had typed) before submitting).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Katherine F.

Excellent interface and composition.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

SurveyMonkey has benefited me a lot in conducting surveys for my company, previously the opinions we received were not to our liking and since we started using SurveyMonkey, we have noticed a reasonable and excellent change to our response statistics.

Pros

What I like most about SurveyMonkey is the excellent interface it has, for a while SurveyMonkey did not have the same interface, the previous one was ugly and very unpleasant, thus causing discontent for me when conducting surveys. Since the interface was changed, I have now made progress in the comfort of my work and the surveys I do are more appropriate to the opinions I seek.

Cons

Although SurveyMonkey is an excellent software and that helps a lot in the creation of surveys, I have not yet been able to afford the high prices it has in its last memberships, I would like SurveyMonkey to reduce prices considerably, would be a very accessible advance for all.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10