11 reviews

TestGorilla

Pre-employment testing software for HR professionals

5 /5 (11 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
5
/
5
Value for Money
4,9
Features
4,8
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4,9
100% recommended this app
11 reviews
Geert-jan W.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Used TestGorilla to hire external developers

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/20
Review Source: Capterra

Overall very good, we found the right developers who we hired for certain projects.
It made it much easier and for sure quicker when you have many candidates who are applying for one job add.

Pros

Easy to use and ability to choose the right tests from a wide verarity. With the ability to invite candidates in just a few clicks.
Once the candidates invited, it was super easy to track in which part of the process each individual was.
Not to forget to mention, the software makes it possible to request a video presentation from the candidates to fulfill where I could ask for a question or topic they can present themselves.

Cons

It would be good if we could benchmark the scores with an average done overall to better compare the results.

Response from TestGorilla

Thanks, Geert-Jan! Glad to hear you've found TestGorilla so easy to use. Benchmarks are on the way!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lennart H.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Hire with confidence

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/08/27
Review Source: Capterra

Taking job interviews while having the confidence of the candidates skillset

Pros

Instead of digging through 50+ resumes, you sort on candidates' test scores. Using testgorilla's assesment as an entry point for your selection procedure gives an amazing filter to only let smart, capable, candidates into your further procedure.

I've both selected and not selected candidates that we otherwise would have missed, or would have been an unproductive use of our and their time.

In the interviews we had with the top 5 test-takers we could focus solely on personality and culture fit, having the confidence already that a candidate can perform on a certain level.

Moving forward, we will never post a job offer again without using a pre-selection assessment to filter candicates.

Cons

When used in comination with a job board, we've found candidates that did the test but did not apply, did apply but forgot the test, or did both as meant to happen.

This lead to checking and comparing of both lists of people. This can be prevented by using Testgorilla as the main recruitment tool

Response from TestGorilla

Thanks for the review, Lennart! We love to hear stories about how our customers are using TestGorilla to avoid mishires and find the perfect fits for their roles. We're especially happy to hear that you've had so much success using assessments at the top of the hiring funnel!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jasper C.
Industry: Motion Pictures & Film
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I wish we had known about this sooner!

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/27
Review Source: Capterra

Awesome!

Pros

After running my own company for twelve i know how much my success hinges on hiring the right people, but also... how costly (to the point of destructive) it can be to hire the right people. We relied a lot on CVs, referrals and ‘gut feeling’ in picking someone. But this software really made us see the power of test results to help preselecting which candidates to interview. Excellent! We’ve hired a couple of great people since we started using TG, one of whom i would have probably never even invited in the first place, but we spotted her thanks to her great test results! Really gave an extra layer of professionalism and smartness to our whole hiring proces. So far we used a couple of available tests which were very useful, but right now were considering also creating our own specific test questions to upload to TG

Cons

Its a community platform on which members can also upload their own tests, but since it hasnt been around that long, i’m looking forward to seeing more test options come available. Still you’ll find more tests on there right now than you could probably take. We’ve found relevant ones (leadership, intelligence, creativity, sales, seo, social media etc) and we’re in a niche sector (advertising and film making)

Response from TestGorilla

Love to hear that you've made some great hires with TestGorilla! We use it internally and have noticed the same things you mentioned. We've been able to identify great candidates who we might otherwise have missed. And our Test Library is always growing, so keep an eye out for new tests. We're at over 100 tests now and growing fast!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nasia B.
Industry: Arts & Crafts
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A real timesafer!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/28
Review Source: Capterra

I am very happy with this invention and will definitely keep on using it!

Pros

I love this tool! We used it to find a Customer service agent for our company Sukhi: we had over 1200 applications! Can you imagine how much work it would have been if we had to go through their CVs and emails one-by-one?
The average test score is my favorite tool: a great way to distinguish between the candidates. Plus the option to ask the candidates to add a video: it gives a very good first impression combined with their test results.

Cons

The software is very clear and logical, no negative feedback.

Response from TestGorilla

1200 applications?! We're so glad you didn't have to pore over them one by one :)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christopher D.
Industry: Entertainment
Company size: 2-10 Employees

This is a game changer for hiring people!

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

Now that we are aware of TestGorilla, we won't be going through the traditional process of gathering and evaluating CVs ever again. Everything is easier, faster, well organized, and we have access to tests that can help us select the best applicant for each position. Very impressed with the overall quality!

Pros

I absolutely loved the simplicity of the whole process. Everything is clearly explained and it's so easy to set up. I especially loved the fact that it not only offers various evaluations we can use depending on the position, but it also takes into consideration the values that matter most to our company, therefore ensuring we get to hire people that fit well with our work environment and culture.
Honestly, TestGorilla has forever changed our hiring process and we will be using it for all our future hirings.

Cons

We have not encounted any cons so far. If anything we have learned a lot from using TestGorilla for all our hirings.

Response from TestGorilla

So happy to hear that you've been able to stop screening resumes! We've worked hard to make sure TestGorilla is easy to use for employers and candidates so that CV screening can be a thing of the past!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Teun P.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

A very helpful tool

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

What we noticed was that we now sometimes hire candidates that we wouldn't even have invited to an interview on the basis of their CV. It really made us realize how flawed CV screening is.

Pros

This product is incredibly helpful in assessing applicants before we interview them. We attract a lot of candidates for our positions and the screening tests from TestGorilla help us in filtering those applications and avoid time consuming interviews for candidates who do not possess the necessary skills.

Cons

A quality engineering test that is not about software would be helpful.

Response from TestGorilla

Thanks for the kind review, Teun! We're happy to hear that TestGorilla is helping you focus your interviews on the top candidates. Our test library is always growing. I'll submit your request to our team!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Aaron R.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

TestGorilla makes hiring fun

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

TestGorilla was super easy to set up and there are so many really good and comprehensive tests available to choose from for the roles we were looking to fill (mainly marketing related). I also liked that there are several personality-type tests which got me thinking about culture fit instead of just technical skills. Nice touch.

Cons

Haven't found many cons, honestly. There's not a huge learning curve and the product does what it's supposed to do.

Response from TestGorilla

Glad to here that TestGorilla has helped you, Aaron! Based on the research we've seen, we're big believers in multi-measure assessment tests. Sounds like they're working for you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jasper M.
Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
Company size: 11-50 Employees

TestGorilla saved me time and money

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the variety of tests that we have used to hire software developers and data scientists. The platform is easy to use and easily connects to other software (e.g. Zapier) that we are using.

Cons

I would like the idea if TestGorilla would also offer consulting services. I am curious to get their thoughts on how our product roadmap could look like for the next year.

Response from TestGorilla

Thanks for the kind words, Jasper! Glad to hear that our tests have helped you make great hires.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jenifer H.
Industry: Restaurants
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Intuitive Hiring System for Pre-Screening

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2020/07/27
Review Source: Capterra

Makes identifying best candidate easier.

Pros

The simplicity in filtering candidates.

Cons

Just tested the trial, so overall no issues.

Response from TestGorilla

Thanks, Jenifer! Glad you found it simple to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

What a relief!

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

Very good so far

Pros

We're making a concerted effort to avoid unconscious bias and this helps us do that by relying on data instead of listen to our collective gut.

Cons

I don't have anything else to compare it to, but I don't have any complaints so far

Response from TestGorilla

Thanks for sharing your experience! Reducing the impact of hiring bias is one of our top priorities. Glad to hear its helping you make better hires bias-free.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Iván G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Nice tool for the first stage of our hiring process

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/21
Review Source: Capterra

We can easily test hundreds of candidates to filter out candidates that don't really match the position. This save us a huge amount of time on interviews.

Pros

What I like the most is the ease of use and that with a single tool I can test candidates in culture fit, personality, coding skills, and knowledge.

Cons

It would be nice if they had a free tier. The test library could be bigger.

Response from TestGorilla

Thanks, Ivan! We're big believers in multi-measure tests, glad you're finding them to be effective. Our Test Library continues to grow every month, so keep your eyes peeled for new tests!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10