10 reviews

Shapr3D

3D CAD modeling application for iPad

4,8 /5 (10 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
10 reviews
Claas K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best mobile cad app for the ipad

Reviewed on 2019/11/01

We use shapr 3D to design furniture, products, as well as architecture / interior design modeling while on site and in the studio.

It can also import external mesh and cad files needed for your design approach and later export the design as mesh or cad format needed for 3D printing, rendering, or further cad modeling / documentation in other external cad applications.

Shapr3D paired with sketching applications such as sketchbook are a tremendous value combining both 2d and 3D designing on a mobile device but with desktop grade power.

Pros

Shapr3D has the power of industrial strength cad but providing this to a very designer friendly interface and workflow.

It provides all relevant modeling and sketching/drafting commands needed to create geometry on the go, while in the model making shop, or while ideating along or with a client.

Cons

Currently it mainly focuses on solid modeling.

Chris C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product. Amazing customer support

Reviewed on 2020/01/16

Shapr is fast and fun to use. With it, we are able to facilitate early decision making by providing accurate and understandable models, predict potential challenges in design, fabrication and installation. We have enhanced communication, collaboration, and transparency with all project stakeholders.

Pros

Very easy to use and to learn. Tech support is very responsive and the tutorials are great.

Cons

I don't really have any cons, but I would like to see a lot of features added. Things like CYMK, RGB color control, more import and export file types, an Autocad overkill type feature for dwg export, auto dimensioning, export to 3D Pdf and regular pdf and align and distribute objects.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It Will exceed your expectations

Reviewed on 2020/01/15

You can easily build up linear parts, like mechanical assemblies, very accurately; complementing the software with a 3D printer you can get ready to produce some parts in a working day.

Pros

Short curve of learning, professional features, up to date interaction with other softwares or devices

Cons

Missing structural and optimization features and rendering options

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most amazing mobile 3D design tool I've ever used

Reviewed on 2020/02/18

Pros

It's easy to use and has features that previously were only available on desktop applications.

Cons

It may have some limitations for analytical applications.

Artem T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Shapr3D is the most functional and reliable mobile app for 3D modeling

Reviewed on 2019/11/03

With Shapr3D you can literally go from idea to completed design in just a few minutes for 3D modeling.
If you are looking for an app for a semi-professional use case - look no further!

Pros

1) Easy to use and user-friendly interface
2) Good for beginners
3) A useful app for 3D printing design
4) It can be used on-the-go
5) Provisions for self learning tutorials
6) A great and quick technical support
7) The developers keep adding new features

Cons

1) Only available for iPad Pro
2) Lacks some features you can get on 3D CAD desktop software

Ville S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent and easy to use 3d modelling tool

Reviewed on 2019/11/06

We use Shapr3D to design escape rooms, puzzles and furniture. The software made our work easier, since we do our concept design as a group. The software gives us the opportunity to think in 3D and show immediately what we think would be the perfect mechanism or solution for a given implementation.

Pros

Easy to use and an intuitive ui. For me using the Apple Pencil to do my drawing is a lot better than a keyboard/mouse -combo. This obviously has its limitations, but for my use case and the ability to quickly sketch in 3d anywhere is a killer feature.

Cons

Being only on the iPad is the biggest downside. A viewer app for Mac would make my workflow a lot better than it is now. Being able to view and measure on a bigger screen would be great.
Otherwise with the recent addition of iPadOS there are very few cons.

Christian B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best choice of 3D design software in my opinion.

Reviewed on 2020/01/15

I use this program many hours a day, in each of the projects I am working on. I have been able to advance much faster in the development of my ideas since the way of drawing is very intuitive. I still do not handle 100% of the available functions, however I have been able to do each of the parts that I could imagine. It has a YouTube channel in which they publish useful examples to better understand how some parts can be drawn.

Pros

A complex system can be designed in much less time. When you write to technical support, they respond and solve! They also listen to user suggestions. Drawing with Apple Pencil is very convenient. It is very easy to export the files for 3D printing.

Cons

I have not yet been able to couple parts and simulate movements without the design being disarmed. If you want to align the center of two single cylinders for example, I don't know yet the tool to execute this action with ease.

Sai manideep B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The ultimate design tool for iPad

Reviewed on 2020/02/28

This is the best modelling software on an iPad, many people, including me, are buying an iPad just so that they can use this software.
It has the best integration with its counterparts such as Fusion 360, Rhino and various competitive solutions.

Pros

An iPad, an Apple Pencil, and you, that's all it takes to create production-ready models! It's a revolution in the industry.

It is a discreet reminder that we are living in the 21st century.
The cherry on top is that it comes with intuitive tutorials.

Cons

Shapr3D should have had an option where it does not require an Apple Pencil to be able to operate it, also, a one-time purchase plan would be much better than being freemium.
A version could be there where people could learn the software then decide whether to invest in it or not.

Michał M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very mighty and mobile tool

Reviewed on 2019/10/31

This is the best choice you can make when it comes to 3D modeling on iPad.

Pros

- very intuitive usage
- very mobile (work everywhere)
- quick (just two clicks and you start to design)
- great for showing off designs at clients site

Cons

- lack of material textures (carbon, alu, steel)
- lack of assembly tools for more complex designs done on the go

Antal D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best and only iPad CAD app

Reviewed on 2020/11/27

Pros

It's very easy to use, everything it's where you expect it. It can export in many file types and they are updating it very often and they are adding new ones. The use of the apple pencil makes everything easy and good to use.

Cons

Sometimes there is a bug, the app doesen't let you edit a shape, to extrude it and to make any changes on it. You have to restart it. You can't do so many things on this app like on an Inventor for example, but they are getting closer.