8 reviews

BricsCAD

The modern CAD software alternative

4,8 /5 (8 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,8
/
5
Value for Money
4,8
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,9
Customer Support
4,3
100% recommended this app
8 reviews
Jose l B.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best CAD/BIM program I have found

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/03
Review Source: Capterra

Full featured, great program, great performance, great value, small footprint
Excelent compatibility with our historical base of DWG and with other programs we use like SAP2000 and ETABS
For an equivalent civil3d solution look at Civil Site Design by Civil Survey Solutions running as an App on Bricscad
There are hundreds of third party applications to accomodate just about every task you can imagine, there are people that want a single solution provider but reality is that you can not get the best of all trades in a single company, Bricscad seems to promote the creation of an Ecosystem where many great minds of each trade develop their own solutions with BricsCAD as the core drafting engine and I have found that really novel solutions do come from some of this providers that know better their trade than a company that knows how to make a drawing program, being able to create a great drawing engine is not sinonimous of being able to create a great structural or surveying program, they might be able to make it nicer looking but not necessarily have the expertise to make it a great application for the trade
A typical Autocad Operator is at full capacity withing a couple of hours and BIM proficient withing a week + because he is just improving on what he already knows

Pros

Full Featured program -basic level is more than Autocad LT, mid version is more than full Autocad and Platinum is a lot more than Autocad- , Light Weight, only about 500mb installed including CAD and BIM. Blazing Fast (We did a large clash detection run in Autocad and Bricscad and what BricsCAD did in minutes took Autocad days), BIM and CAD in the same solution, no need to convert files from one format to another, no need to train staff for 2 separate solutions for CAD and BIM, just additional commands to the same workflows we devised for CAD over the past 21 years, high mathematical precision

Cons

It is hard to find issues to report.
Every time we encountered a shortcomming since 2005 we have placed a support request to BricsCAD, and withing days, weeks and sometimes months, depending on the dificulty, it gets fixed, added or improved so after 13 years using the program I can not thing of anything I do not like
In 2005 I found the program lacking many features, but the development rate is so fast that every day that goes by I find it harder to find something missing that I would need, hundreds of new things get added in every release

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 2-10 Employees

BricsCAD is a very good tool for Design Electrica and Plumbing Installation

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/03
Review Source: Capterra

We work with electrical and plumbing design and we discover BricsCAD with a local dealer that help us a lot to adapt LISP routines and other own standards from Autodesk AutoCAD to BricsCAD. The generation of PDF interface is cool and easy to use. Other tools from developers (e.g. plumbing) migrated to BricsCAD too, making our daily use easier. The software runs lighter and fast !

Pros

It is fully compatible with .dwg files;
Easy to migrate LISP routines to BricsCAD;
Customer support is good in Brazil;
Lots of applications for electric and plumbing design;
It has suitable kind of license according your necessity (and it´s perpetual !);

Cons

The customer support has a delay to respond;
Some commands are diferent from Autodesk AutoCAD (need to study a little and adapt some routines)

Response from Bricsys

Hi,
Nice to hear you have a positive experience using BricsCAD for electrical and plumbing design.
Thanks a lot for sharing this with your peers!
Kind regards,
The Bricsys-team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Reliable and fast

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/12
Review Source: Capterra

I prefer BricsCAD as a 2D modelling and basic bluprint drawing tool. I can count on it to work flawlessly and it is compatible with every OS I tried.

Pros

It has a really clean interface, ideal for all and any engineering 2D engineering drawings. Even though simple, it has all features similar and more popular softwares use. It is also quite inexpensive and the customer support is fantastic.

Cons

Some features in DWG files made with other similar softwares don't always open correctly with BricsCAD.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Vinay R.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

One of the best software's i have been using since 2005 till date. Updated and perfect Tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/12
Review Source: Capterra

A lot of skill on designing and user friendly product to use. 100% a buy.

Pros

The easy to use it and the simplicity in the commands makes it so user friendly to use. Its at par with any CAD software , in-fact better and faster.

Cons

Not much which i dont like. Still if we can make it more colorful in appearance , it would look better.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Todor K.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very good value for the buck

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

Very very good

Pros

Functionality and interface are very similar to much more expensive Cad programs

Cons

Sometimes it freezes on bigger drawings (could be related with my configuration?)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nermin H.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

AutoC*D twin brother

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

During the design, this software was my right hand; With bricsCAD, I worked perfectly with all the problems I encountered. Drawing 3D shape is surprisingly well-functioning.

Pros

A well-known interface that is close to everyone, new and old CAD users. All tools work flawlessly

Cons

Honestly, and I have no specific objection. I had no unexpected bad situations during my work

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mato T.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

BricsCad price ratio and obtained excellent

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Sofware can do everything it can to compete for a much lower price, ease of interface

Cons

The personal biggest problem me is right-clicking on the mouse because it's not the same as AutoCAD, the problem if you used to work in AutoCad is hard to get used to BricsCAD

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Orlando L.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent AutoCAD alternative

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It has 95%+ of the features in AutoCAD, and has a couple that AutoCAD doesn't have!

Cons

Depending on the software version, there are still a few bugs. They are not bugs that affect the functionality of the program, but tend to irritate the perfectionist.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10