44 reviews

OpenProject

Open-source project management and collaboration software

4,3 /5 (44 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,3
Features
4,1
Ease of Use
4,1
Customer Support
4,1
86% recommended this app
44 reviews
Ely O.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Free but great for project management

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/31
Review Source: Capterra

I used this platform to manage a project from the office on restoration of public art monuments, involved a lot of staff located in different parts, we had very little time, we managed to complete the project coordinating all activities and tasks with this platform, so it was much easier for me to receive reports from managers and area coordinators, I could detect where there were delays and who were the most efficient in fulfilling their tasks, it is amazing the information you can get from a platform like this

Pros

One of its most emblematic features, is a free platform and open source, you can use it from any operating system, gives you the tools to have control and make the necessary follow-up until the end of the project.

Cons

It should take more advantage of its open-source feature and incorporate more tools and functions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Matthew F.
Industry: Wireless
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Project Software for Teams

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

I thoroughly enjoy OpenProject and hope it continues to grow. Others in my organization find it frustrating for scheduling and viewing overall status, but we are finding ways to work around issues with other tools. We don't need another Jira! OP is my MS Project alternative, and adds the benefit of integrating teams into project tracking. Keep up the good work!

Pros

OpenProject is a pleasure to use for projects from proposal/concept to closing. Creating a WBS and timeline with generic resources is a great way to generate documentation needed for proposals. Copying that proposal project to an active project is then a great way to jumpstart project planning with team awareness of timelines and requirements. Teams can interact with the project plan, adding their own features and tasks to complete deliverables. Creating custom WBS queries assists in focusing team members on items they are required to complete. And creating custom queries to the master Work Package list provides a way for executive members to view the active phases and status of milestones. Meetings can be logged in their own section, and wiki notes can be captured for reference. Very pleased with the community version of OpenProject.

Cons

Scheduling and resource management is a bit burdensome with OpenProject. There is so much value in scheduling with blocked-out weekends, holidays, and resource calendars. Resource loading reports have to be manually created in other tools (spreadsheets) to show whether resources are available or overbooked. The planned project overview page and executive/portfolio views can't come soon enough. Value is often communicated upwards, and there isn't much for executive management to view; these views and reports are still custom creations in other tools. Printing wiki pages, meetings, etc. are awkward. Budgeting is OK, but again awkward as the plugin appears to apply to all projects when within a single project. There is no baseline feature and no way to compare performance verses the baseline. For these reasons, users are still required to use more advanced resource management, project management and budgeting, and scheduling tools alongside OpenProject. It is great software, just not a complete replacement for other project management toolsets. At times, it would be good to have more condensed views, but reducing the screen rendering/size to less than 100% suffices for now.

Response from OpenProject

Thank you very much for your feedback. The good news is that we are working on a completely new resource management and scheduling module for OpenProject. If you are interested in sharing your expectations, just get in touch with us on [email protected]

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Muhammad ashhar H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Better than trello

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2021/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

Just for task management purposes it's good, but if you want other functionalities there are other better options.

Pros

Following are its top features:
- Gantt chart
- Task dependency creation
- Easy task assignment
- Costing

Cons

- Collaboration could be improved like trello in big teams it can cause problems
- No kanban view
- Task searching, it's detail and it's activity is better in trello.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Indika K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very good project managment tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/12
Review Source: Capterra

It help lot to manage number of scrum team for a single project and we could be able to manage over 100 staff on this product.

Pros

i was able to use this product over 4 years on my previouse company. It was a very good selection for those who looking for a free agile based project management software

Cons

less flexibility and hard to configure/install is major issue i realized with this tool. It too so long to fix certian slowness issue of the application.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Open project - customise it all.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/10/15
Review Source: Capterra

Open project has the flexibility for you to customise your projects to work just how you need them to work. If you take the time to set it up, it will fulfill your needs.

Pros

- Customisable
- Project, subprojects, sub sub projects
- Tasks, subtasks,
- many customisable work package types
- Cost that feels right
- Not loaded with extra features that you are paying for buy never use.

Cons

- needs basic refinement
- can be buggy
- steep learning curve

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jander S.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Great Tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

It has helped me a lot in project management. Task management and monitoring.
I would like a brief overview of the project portfolio.

Pros

Open source software, API, web based.
Constant feature and security updates.
Agile tools;
Gantt chart.

Cons

The integration of agile module with gantt chart does not work correctly. There is currently a need for manual updates to the Agile module and Gantt. It would be great if the Gantt chart showed the progress of Versions, User Stories, and Tasks automatically. Currently I have to create a Gantt Phase and link to the Version of the same name.

Response from OpenProject

Thanks you very much for your feedback. The integration of the Agile module with the Gantt chart is a known challenge which we will evaluate and improve.
For now, the new Boards module gives a first improvement so that all work packages are at first displayed in the Gantt chart.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Stefano M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

A great alternative to MS Project for collaboration

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/03
Review Source: Capterra

It's perfect to assign tasks and keep track of their progress. Many other free tools can do this but OpenProject adds customizable workflows and detailed dependencies between tasks - and even a Gantt view.
I use it for small and medium projects where live feedback from team members (progress, comments, etc.) is vital. Achieving the same result with MS Project Server would cost exorbitantly more.

Pros

I like the ease of use (I never had to explain how to use it to team members, only to project admins), the clean interface, the granularity of the configuration (most of all the possibility of activating only the needed modules for each project), the customization possibilities for categories/statuses/fact that workflows, the flexibility and ease of query design, the availability of a Gantt view
I appreciated also very much that most of the essential features can be used for free without limitations (other tools like Asana limit the number of projects, tasks or team members).
Setup was extremely easy (but I'm a skilled technician and tinkerer with over 10 years of sysadmin experience, so your mileage may vary).

Cons

It lacks some important features for project resources management like resource allocation (to spot overloads), resource leveling, resource calendars and resource availability percentage.
It also feels a bit skewed towards sw development teams and Agile methodology, so creating a classic waterfall WBS is not as easy as it should be and requires mental discipline; among other things, it does not allow for an easy reordering of tasks after their creation.
It does not allow for an easy nor complete import/export from/to MS Project (which IS arguably the industry standard).
The reports are not customizable and can only include task list and details (not the Gantt view).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jared W.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Solid Tool for Project Management

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

Overall this is a go-to program for my occasional project management needs. Very happy with the program in general.

Pros

The biggest draw for me was the price tag - free. I don't know who spent the time to design this program, but it has been an excellent resource for me during the few projects a year when I need a true project management tool. It has a wide variety of features available, and after a few minutes of trial and error, it was easy to pick up the basics. The GANTT chart feature is especially useful and is the component that I use the most.

Cons

Finding some features of the program can be tricky and aren't as user friendly as they could be. Export options seem a little limited.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Marcelo A.
Industry: E-Learning
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excelent project management software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/01
Review Source: Capterra

It is an efficient free project management software

Pros

It is open source. The software is used by a large community of developers. It has the support of large free software companies. Another positive point is that it comes very close to the paid products in relation to features.

Cons

I don't see any problems. This software serves me in everything I need. Sometimes, some limitations in the software are not a disadvantage. At OpenProject, we can do everything we need, because good project management is not software, it is the competence of project management professionals.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ronald P.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Ease of access in a MS365 world

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Let's you be free of microsoft while still being able to have all of the bells and whistles.

Cons

A little clunky at first but once you get used to it its fine.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Thameera N.
Industry: Food Production
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great Product for Proffesionals

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/29
Review Source: Capterra

I'm the admin for our company and it's really easy to install the software. Configuring is little bit confusing but you get great support from community. I use for my own project management. All users are really happy to use the software.

Pros

OpenProject is open source and free to use. Great tool if you are intermediate for project management. Web based and can use on modern browsers.

Cons

Need more customization on functionalities. For example it's better to have a customizable landing page.

Response from OpenProject

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jaylon S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Very User Friendly!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

This product has helped to organize and streamline the user acceptance testing process!

Pros

Open Project is very easy to navigate, with little-to-no training needed prior. It is easy to help organize project teams and help triage/direct issues found!

Cons

It would help if the amount/types of statuses for each defect were customizable at the project-level. Each project is organized differently, so this would be a huge win!

Response from OpenProject

Thank you very much for your great feedback. At a workaround to have different status on a project level, you can create different types with corresponding status and activate those in different projects according to the projects' needs. We will evaluate the other option as well. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Carlos R.
Industry: Computer Games
Company size: Self Employed

Very robust tool to manage projects of all types

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/02/18
Review Source: Capterra

Lightweight tool widely used in the market for project management.

Pros

It is open source. It has a free version to be installed on its own server. It has paid version with hosting and support. It has functionality for all stages of completing a project. Visual of the graphical interface is easy and intuitive.

Cons

technical knowledge is required to install. If you use it as a team (online) you will need to pay for a server where it will be installed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Thyago S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great for managing my projects!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

I am very easy to use the platform, I follow all the news by the community.
All my company activity today is in OpenProjetc

Pros

OpenProject is highly configurable for the processes of each department. I have complete control of everything being done.

Cons

I wish he had an area to manage each person's workloads.

Response from OpenProject

Thank you very much for your great feedback.
We will evaluate the requirement of managing the private workload. Soon we are implementing a better resource management and scheduling module. Also, private Board views will be developed in the future to manage private activities.
Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Arjen H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Project Planning has a name: OpenProject

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

We are going to move completely to OpenProject for our Project Planning needs.

Pros

Fantastic GANTT implementation.
Great ways to group / sort data while maintaining the GANTT view.

Cons

At first it was unclear how to make edits, until you discover you have to select rows first.

Response from OpenProject

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Andrew H.
Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Full featured reasonably priced Project Management & Wiki platform

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/03/31
Review Source: Capterra

When we were looking for a Project Management and Wiki platform, there were a ton of good choices. However our organization has just over 10 people and so none of the free trials would work for us. Also, not very many platforms support Project Management and Wiki functionality, so for most platforms, we'd need a two-headed solution which would cost just under $$$/month. Instead, we found OpenProject, which is perfect. It doesn't look quite as slick as some of the other offerings, but after testing we found it to be just as functional and still pretty easy to use. Best of all, we can keep our organization's Wiki documentation and project tracking in one place.

We're using Open Project's could hosting, which costs less... a much better price than anything else on the market that we were able to find. If you already have your own server and don't mind applying a few platform upgrades per year, then you can even get it for free since it's an opensource platform.

Pros

Good user interface, great feature set, better prices.

Cons

User interface doesn't look as slick as Asana's.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rene D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Though only working with this tool for a month, it has helped me a lot with project-planning.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/11/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The interface is really good, inline editing makes the creation and editing of tasks and other data really fast. The roles of different kinds of users are easily customizable. Most features I need for project-management are available in OpenProject.

I really like the fact I can host OpenProject on my own server, so I have my data in my own hands.

Cons

OpenProject misses a few features that I think should be available. For instance, it is now possible to export Cost Reports (for instance, Time Sheet logs). This is something I need a lot, to inform customers of the progress of a project. They seem to be working on this feature though.

I would like to link the tasks I planned to an external calendar. Maybe a CalDav interface would be a possibility.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Luisana S.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I support myself in openProject

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

The benefits of using OpenProject is that you can perform accurate project planning and resource utilization.

Pros

I really like OpenProject because it is a program that can be easily used to plan projects, load resources and define the dates of activities. Besides, it is a free license.

Cons

What I would like the program to do is to join several projects in one and be able to verify if time or resources that are already being used in another project overlap, to prevent this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dave G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Free Project Management Software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very easy to get up and running, and the interfaces are very intuitive. Nice way to get a snapshot of current project state. Multiple user accounts allows for associating tasks with users (who get notified via email when updates are pushed)

Cons

A 'server' (always on machine, running a web server and database) is required... would be nice if future iterations were remote browser based.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kim P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: Self Employed

Open it is not

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

A 'free trial' failed to provide (a) sufficient time to understand the product (b) sufficient guidance on the product before demanding I commit to signing up

Pros

This product looked to be a useful alternative to MS Project

Cons

Inadequate help.

Response from OpenProject

Dear Kim,
thank you for your review. Indeed, the help is quite weak at this point. We are currently developing a new help center with documentation and videos directly embedded in the system.
Also, we offer to prolong the trial for another 10 days to give users a change to test the system thoroughly before signing up. We also offer to give a personal demo. We are happy to prolong your trial if needed.
Kind regards
Birthe (OpenProject)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Rachelle K.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Great Product for Managing Projects

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love the ease of use of OpenProject and better than MS Project. Tracking tasks is simple and efficient.

Cons

I haven't found anything I dislike about OpenProject. In fact, I'm trying to talk more people into utilizing the software.

Response from OpenProject

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Please let us know if you have any more comments or feature requests.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Gustavo V.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Tool that helps the fulfillment of activities.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

My experience with this tool is to follow up on the implementations that the company in which I work.

Pros

One of the benefits is that this tool can be used On-Premise or Cloud.

Cons

One of the disadvantages that I observe is that it is not very intuitive and that it requires more study of the documentation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Andres B.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A great tool for managing projects

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/01
Review Source: Capterra

Smart and easy to use project managing tool

Pros

Excellent tool to organize activities, resources and time even if you don't have experience in project planning and control.

Cons

No complaints for basic projects control

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrea G.
Industry: Sports
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

The most competitive open source project manager

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/24
Review Source: Capterra

We used this platform on one occasion to rebuild our workflow and determine the monetary, human and technological resources needed to improve our way of communicating with our audience, it was very productive to use it to the maximum with our technicians and computer and to establish our structure of priorities in our communication area.

Pros

You solve communication and collaboration problems with the use of this platform. Break down the tasks of your projects and assign them according to the hierarchy of each, it is very useful if the projects involve the development of technologies and productive applications. In spite of being open source it works very well in window and iOS operating systems.

Cons

It is a project management platform that focuses more on the technical and the structure of projects. I would like to expand a little more that I have involved more technical and technological marketing and budgeting.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Kaushal A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent user interface

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/14
Review Source: Capterra

It helps me to manage complex projects

Pros

The best part is layout and the dashboard. On the dashboard they presenting all the information in a perfect manner. There is a settings section for project which is a very good feature.
It helps me to manage my projects efficiently.
This system has huge list of features which helps you to manage complex projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10