Planview AdaptiveWork Reviews

Planview AdaptiveWork

Enterprise Work and Project Portfolio Management Solution

Overall rating

4,2 /5
(174)
Value for Money
4,1/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,0/5
Customer Support
4,3/5
Sort by

174 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This tool helps me to manage my workflow and plan my activities appropriately.

Reviewed on 2018/03/08

All in all, it is the best time-tracking solution that is quite scalable and flexible. If you're...

All in all, it is the best time-tracking solution that is quite scalable and flexible. If you're ready to work manually for the time being, it has flexible, scalable and can be implemented very quickly. If you are prepared to work with a few manual steps, for the time being (that hopefully will improve), it is a great value product.

Pros

It has a great interactive interphase and amazing functionality. Its easy to enter and track the time via this software. The planning tools allow me to plan and define my project, its functionality, its feasibility, and the resource available.

Cons

Bit expensive, the level of functionality for lower-amount licences is seemingly poor compared to advanced versions. Reports corresponding to calendar days require manual entry.

Garret
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Clarizen has been a solid tool for us when expanding our professional services organization.

Reviewed on 2017/09/04

Visibility into projects across the entire professional services portfolio. This gave us a better...

Visibility into projects across the entire professional services portfolio. This gave us a better understanding of our teams and how they were utilized.

Pros

The ability to customize Clarizen is one of it's strongest features. While not as advanced as some of the bigger SaaS players like Salesforce, it still provides a robust set of features to allow you to create custom business processes to accomplish your companies goals. They compete pretty well against other companies with much larger teams.

Another great feature we use a lot is the expansive and complex WBSs you can have for projects. This allowed us to have a better sense of project flow and visibility to where our projects are at.

Cons

Our biggest struggle comes with the idea that a PSA should be a three legged stool (projects/task management, time tracking/resource management, and project financial management). We can only seem to make two work at a time with Clarizen. Our PMs want some pretty detailed project plans to really understand where tasks are and who is responsible, but when you implement that with time tracking it becomes a nightmare for resources to know where to submit there time entries.

As our organization grew, the financials and resource management became more important that detailed project plans so we struggled to find a balance of how detailed our WBSs should be because everything within the project plan was tied to time entries and drove project cost. It has become pretty administrative for some of our PMs.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great tools

Reviewed on 2017/07/25

Pros

The way you can link all facets of a project from bugs to requests. I also like the searcability of the interface.

Cons

I would like to see the ability to add conditional logic to customized fields in order to create work flows.

Meline
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Definitely, one of the most comprehensive (in good way) system between alike frameworks!

Reviewed on 2017/11/29

Not only entering timesheets, but also do proper estimations for the project budgeting and resource...

Not only entering timesheets, but also do proper estimations for the project budgeting and resource planning!

Pros

The ability to automatically track the tasks start/end dates if there are dependencies set up as well as when there are vacations or holidays for a person. The automatic smart systems make huge help for any human mistake on those calcualtions and future possible changes. Thanks for this!

Cons

When someone creates a vacation request in Clarizen, it would be good to have a notification mechanism to inform the project manager about it, if the person is assigned to a task of this PM's project(s). Otherwise, only the direct manager of the person is being announced. And if there is no established manual process, the vacation request gets approved without the PM being informed about it. This is really serious problem.

Maria
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This is the best project management tool I've used

Reviewed on 2017/07/12

Great visibility into my projects.

Great visibility into my projects.

Pros

The tool offers A LOT of functionality. As I'm not a system administrator, I am not aware of everything that Clarizen can do, but whenever our admins unleash a new feature, I'm always excited by it. The new Android app is super nice/handy to have, especially for logging time. The support is great: we have logged bugs before, and these are generally resolved very fast. I am not blocked for long whenever something like that happens.

Cons

The fact that there are so many features also has a downside. I feel like there is a lot more to discover, and sometimes, things are no consistent. For example, in some views, I can hide the right-hand vertical "space" (or menu) and in others, I can't. I also find that column resizing is quite burdensome, and I have to resize columns in multiple views (it doesn't propagate.)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great SAAS tool to have for your Project Management teams

Reviewed on 2018/10/16

Pros

Extremely easy to use
Easily customizable
Price points make sense per user
Able to share information to all departments via email
High level overview with charts for executives that need to big pictures

Cons

There are instances of downtime, but they communicate quickly and level set expectations

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool with tons of potential. Is simple and flexible to meet needs, but room for...

Reviewed on 2017/12/13

Pros

Easy to use and manage. Using reports and dashboards to show major value and insight to senior leadership. End users are able to use the tool itself with little training. Interface is responsive, modern and clean.

Cons

Security model is strange at first, but can be made to work great with some patience and thinking differently.
Reporting has some limitations that feel frustrating but can be solved with export to an enterprise data warehouse.
Brought in external vendor as solution integrator, but has issues with them delivering over complicated customizations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

PM tool for any application

Reviewed on 2018/11/26

It makes us work collaboratively in a global organization.

It makes us work collaboratively in a global organization.

Pros

Its capability to be applied for wide applications and the customer support

Cons

The customizations are little tricky even though the syntax are not so complicated

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

3 stars for a very clunky tool

Reviewed on 2018/12/19

Pros

It's a great tool for project managers who are married to SLA times and making sure employees are not overworked or overloaded with assignments.

Cons

It's an incredibly clunky tool for the average user. I really don't like having to toggle back and forth between my task and the larger parent task. I also wish that the chat stream had better functionality and was easier to read.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Clarizen as a PMO tool

Reviewed on 2019/07/29

Overall a positive experience.

Overall a positive experience.

Pros

We use Clarizen for Task creation, Task execution , status tracking and reporting. We use this for customer case management especially when it is escalated. Great tool overall.

Cons

While this is a friendly tool, JIRA / Service now is much better with respect to issue tracking. Clarizen could improve there.

Jonathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Effective & Customisable Project Management Tool

Reviewed on 2016/09/30

Clarizen has moved us from spreadsheet based project management to collaborative, efficient...

Clarizen has moved us from spreadsheet based project management to collaborative, efficient portfolio management. Adopting Clarizen was straight-forward and it was quick to see the benefits. Managing many projects simultaneously across many customers and project types is now possible and manageable.

Our development team have a much easier time of knowing what they should be working on in disparate cross-company project teams. The accompanying iPhone and Android apps help ensuring time-sheets are kept updated and communications are not missed.

It is hugely customisable in regards to setting up simple forms, workflows with notifications and visual aids. We've been able to recreate our own methodologies in Clarizen.

The only issue we have had is reaching the limit of custom fields possible without moving to the unlimited license model.

Support has been excellent and dependable.

Leo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Enterprise grade PSA Solution

Reviewed on 2016/11/11

As our organization grew we knew need to migrate from our existing PM tool. We initiated an...

As our organization grew we knew need to migrate from our existing PM tool. We initiated an exhaustive search to find the best solution for our business. There are hundreds of "PM" tools out there of various shapes and sizes. We quickly narrowed this down to a handful of potential partners. We found Clarizen to be the best fit for our business. Clarizen accomplished 80% of our requirements out of the box. Because of the solutions extreme flexibility we were able to develop custom workflows to meet the rest of our requirements. Clarizen is scaleable to meet our growing business needs.

Pros

Extremely flexible in all aspects of the solution. The end user can customize the views to best fit his specific work requirements. Sys Admins can configure the system to provide custom functionality. Software updates occur regularly and they provide meaningful enhancements and bug fixes. Support has been great.

Cons

Honestly, not come to mind.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Recommended

Reviewed on 2016/07/21

We used Clarizen for our project management. It is easy to learn, user friendly and our employees...

We used Clarizen for our project management. It is easy to learn, user friendly and our employees love it.

Pros

The user friendliness of Clarizen can not be beat. Recently, our company moved to Clarizen for project tracking and the transition couldn't have been easier. Employees rave about the ease of the system.

Cons

If i had to choose, the disconnect between Projects and tasks on the same view.
It would be nice to have these without the need of workflows to integrate them.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Intuitive, Flexible, yet Powerful

Reviewed on 2016/02/05

Clarizen is a great solution, which is proving to be an invaluable tool within our business. ...

Clarizen is a great solution, which is proving to be an invaluable tool within our business. Despite having some very strictly defined processes that Clarizen were required to include, all of these were developed efficiently in full collaboration, even ensuring that developments were future proofed to ensure continued use with no requirement to pay out for additional development.

The layout and ‘look and feel’ is crisp and clean while virtually everything on the page can be configured to ensure that it best fits the user’s requirements. Before implementing Clarizen it was difficult to get true visibility of how the portfolio of projects sat, where potential conflict of resourcing would occur. With the powerful calendar and resource tools that come as standard in Clarizen it has become easy to see these potential issues earlier, allowing for a more planned response which ultimately benefits our customers and strengthens our brand.

Pros

Flexible and easy to use. Social interaction, with in-context discussion panels for all projects and tasks. Easy monitoring of time submissions. Great (and expanding) set of modules (Apps) that can be deployed to further enhance the solution.

Cons

Reporting tools are still lacking, but this is actively being addressed with regular updates and improvements released.

Liridona
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great help for projects of all sizes

Reviewed on 2021/08/01

Pros

You can track multiple projects at the same time and prioritize tasks as needed .The interface is easy to use and the Dashboard can be customized to accommodate the specific needs of your business

Cons

Configuring Clarizen at the beginning took time. It doesn't integrate with any of the other programs we use .

Todd
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Strong PPM with excellent customization

Reviewed on 2019/06/28

Pros

The core PPM capabilities of Clarizen are very strong, but the biggest game change for us has been the 'custom objects' capability. This feature has allowed us to completely replace a legacy product management tool, running it as an integrated component of our Clarizen setup. Product and Project objects are linked together within a single system so that many business processes (item set-up, pricing approvals, product portfolio management) are happening within the same space as project management for new products.

Cons

Generally speaking, more functionality drives complexity in the user interface, and Clarizen is no different. It results in steeper learning curves vs. less full-featured solutions. Our hope is that Clarizen Go will help us solve this challenge for ordinary collaborators.

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It Can Do Just About Anything...*

Reviewed on 2016/01/20

*...with the right knowledge of programming or significant investment in their custom programming...

*...with the right knowledge of programming or significant investment in their custom programming services.

If you can think it, Clarizen can probably do it. It's that flexible. That's my all-encompassing endorsement of the app. It's just that good!

On the downside, the app can be a little slow at times--mainly slow page loads or inconsistent page refreshing. There are minor oddities and head-scratchers here and there (like it won't load more than 50 items on a page at a time without waiting for a further page reload), but we've been willing to settle for those quirks in exchange for the system's incredible flexibility and powerful tools, configuration, filtering, reporting, etc.

One other thing that is of note... we have been using the app for 2 years and have had at least 4 different account reps. And they all have three things in common: they tend to want to only speak with you by appointment, they seem to be in a hurry when they do speak to you, and they are always ready and willing to sell you something without listening very well. So just be prepared for that and demand that they slow down.

Tech support is thorough, but slow and sometimes it takes a while to get resolution to issues that aren't life-threatening.

All-in-all, we've found Clarizen to be the most flexible, versatile, powerful tool out there. All of the people we've dealt with are likable and eager to help...just not on our terms, which is the place they could improve the most.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Clean interface, pretty easy to set up; social aspect excellent

Reviewed on 2016/12/06

I liked Clarizen's product. I've used other large PM software products and Clarizen's offering was...

I liked Clarizen's product. I've used other large PM software products and Clarizen's offering was easier to use overall.

Pros

The interface is very clean, it's very flexible and fits with many processes. It was pretty easy for us to customize to what we needed. The social functionality was great, it lead to improved team interaction and teamwork. I really liked that. The reports were good, and again pretty easy to set up. Creating custom fields to report on was easy. Support was good, I think our consultant was very flexible and helped us with things even he wasn't used to; he was very open to our processes and helped us make them happen in the tool. He was very responsive as well.

Cons

Seemed a bit expensive, and for our needs we found that any license except the most expensive was pretty useless. The levels of functionality in the lower licenses didn't help us at all. We ended up getting all licenses at the highest level.

Rich
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good tool with lots of features

Reviewed on 2016/12/28

Clarizen is a feature-rich tool that has lots of capabilities and customizability.

The negatives...

Clarizen is a feature-rich tool that has lots of capabilities and customizability.

The negatives I have observed are the omission of some fundamental features like Undo, and some quirks, particularly in adjusting predecessors, cascading updated dates and adding new tasks in the work plan.

Pros

Sharing, resource management, Very powerful reporting tools

Cons

No undo, Workplan can be quirky and often have to refresh the page for updated/correct info to show. Slow.

Rachel
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Clarizen - Work and Project Management

Reviewed on 2011/12/28

The best project management solution for team work!
Clarizen's cloud based SaaS software is easy...

The best project management solution for team work!
Clarizen's cloud based SaaS software is easy to use, without needing any technical support. It is the best choice for Project Managers who run multiple projects and/or have a team of people working from different locations.
Real time visibility means everyone can see exactly what the team is working on, ensuring that time and resources are not wasted.
Managers get a full picture of the project, while team members only see what they need to know. Communication is easy with built in email, chat and notes.
Everyone's tasks are clearly defined and deadlines are visible, via the Dashboard.
A project can be planned, with a time line and milestones, so it is easy to see where you are holding, and which tasks have been assigned to each team member.
In general, Clarizen's project management program can help you become more efficient by ensuring that all team members have the same information, and time and money are not being wasted.

Pros

Progress reports and reviews with real time data.
Easy collaboration and communication between team members.
Great online support team and webinars.
Easy to track budget, time and resources from the same home page.

Cons

Clarizen's features mean that if you have a small, simple project that only needs a team of 2 or 3, Clarizen is probably too powerful.

Sarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Powerful Suite Backed By an Excellent Team

Reviewed on 2018/03/12

Pros

The system allows you to create a project that is as complex or as simple as you desire. They have the capability for very complex projects.

Cons

Support for custom project hierarchies based on users or their groups. This would allow separate business units to see project categories without seeing the projects within those categories.

Avnish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Value for money and user friendly staff

Reviewed on 2017/07/13

Very good value for money and excellent product for medium to small enterprises

Very good value for money and excellent product for medium to small enterprises

Pros

Easy to configure and easy to use product. Staff can be trained quickly and product can be launched in short timeframes.

Cons

Interfaces development that is not standard take too long. So might need work around some times as required.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Wrap Clarizen Around Your Organizations Requirements!

Reviewed on 2015/07/08

I have had the pleasure of seeing Clarizen implemented in many different ways by many different...

I have had the pleasure of seeing Clarizen implemented in many different ways by many different organizations. I attended an event where we received presentations from a few organizations and I WAS blown away at the vast differences in implementations. Clarizen is not a one size fits all. Clarizen is a "How can we fit you" company. There is one key question to ask during a selection process. What are my requirements? Clarizen will meet them, will others?

Benefits for our organization:

Resource Utilization, Considering prior to using Clarizen resource utilization WAS guesswork on the part of the Project Manager I would have to say having any realistic visibility much less the excellent level Clarizen provides is only to be said as exceptional.

Clarizen API, We made heavy use of the API integrating Clarizen with two core systems already in use at TCiCT. We integrated actual effort with Service-Now and our homegrown time management software.

Project Reporting, Clarizen provides an excellent built in reporting tool that as of late is only getting better with the ability to create custom dashboards directly through the software.
Providing management with well laid out project metric data is as important as keeping your project on schedule.

Drithal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Clarizen PM Tool

Reviewed on 2016/11/07

Interesting experience, however the tool is too detailed and not easy to use if you are not a PM....

Interesting experience, however the tool is too detailed and not easy to use if you are not a PM. There are too many dependencies that need to be filled in before moving ahead. The timesheet feature is not very user friendly. No integration with QuickBooks online Canada. No customization allowed with this tool.

Pros

It captures the right areas required for project management, provides more detail that Microsoft project and allows for all projects to be captures in one place. Has great reporting and pictures of timelines and milestones

Cons

Timesheets are to complicated and difficult to complete. No option for capturing project expenses against a project. difficult to enter in dependencies, very repetitive task, rather than allowing for templates to be used.

Stephen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Yet to find a better work and project management app

Reviewed on 2016/07/14

Pros

It is the most complete and flexible solution I've used that allows me to collaborate with the teams and to get their progress updates.

Multi-location, multi-team, multi-currency and timezone. Cost, price and profitability are clear. Run it agile or waterfall or both. Portfolio views, loads of integrations and loads of apps...

Cons

My only gripe is not being able to pay in Australian dollars...