Showing 68 reviews of 57

HiddenLevers

Portfolio stress testing software for advisory firms

4,3 /5 (57 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
93%
recommended this app
Showing 68 reviews of 57
Brian A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Great Tool for Advisors and Clients

Reviewed on 2020/08/09

I was I think a fairly early adopter of HL (2016). I have loved the software since day one. The service team is great as well and listens to the ideas provided by users.

Pros

Portfolio stress testing is excellent. It's a way for us to more easily explain potential risks and opportunities for clients and prospects, and to tell the story as to "why" we are doing what we are doing on behalf of our clients. The ability to generate an analysis to a full blown proposal and IPS in one tool is terrific.

The War Rooms are great and thought provoking. I love the sense of humor and imagery in constructing the presentations.

Cons

I think the hedging wizard seems to be lacking a bit. I believe there is a greater opportunity to incorporate more economic data and charting for users to maybe take business away from the Y charts of the world. If there were a better integration into core website design companies, there may be a way to provide a few selected stress tests to help clients and non-clients alike consider their exposure, and serve as a lead generation for advisors.

If you can bring back CE for the long form presentations, that would be awesome (

Michael H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Integral part of my wealth stack

Reviewed on 2020/07/30

I've really enjoyed working with the evolving software that supports our desire to provide smart decision-support that is advisor-centric and client-focused. The software is feature-rich when it comes to working with individual securities and custom-assets--some competitors take short-cuts that do not yield high quality outputs.

Pros

Ease of high quality analytics with easy to understand interface for clients.

Cons

As the company has ramped, it's harder to get turnaround on bugs, fixes, and desired features.

George J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HiddenLevers Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/11

It's by far the best risk tolerance software and great to show clients how they are allocated, risk exposure as well as potential gain and loss overtime

Pros

I mostly use the reports to show clients their current allocation and stress testing their portfolios to make sure they are invested in the correct allocation for their tolerance. I also use it to compare different portfolio's for clients and prospects and to look at the current holdings in each of our models, since they are updated in real time. We use HL for every client meeting we have. It's by far the best risk tolerance tool we've found!

Cons

Yes, we'd like to be able to easily add indexed annuities and other products like the ETFs with some downside protection.

Richard T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Building better Client Portfolios

Reviewed on 2020/08/07

I consider HL an excellent risk management tool. Staff support is great. Client facing presentations are easy to explain and understand. And the software is intuitive in usuer interface. High marks on all accounts.

Pros

The software provides a detailed analysis of the key drivers to a portfolio's risk and return. It allows the user to quickly understand portfolio strengths and weaknesses relative to a specific benchmark or custom portfolio. It's also highly intuitive and reasonably easy to use.

Cons

I think the market is beginning to trade increasingly off factors and less off Morningstar style boxes. I note [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] at JPM often dismisses style boxes but will entertain questions about how momentum is impacting performance. Therefore, an analysis of how much a portfolio's return is driven by momentum vs. dividends vs. Size vs Growth v Value (Fama/ French/ Cahart) relative to a standard benchmark such as the S&P500 would be a nice value add.

David Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The Good and The Bad

Reviewed on 2020/08/07

Very positive and an excellent method for documenting fiduciary recommendations.

Pros

Ease of use, integrations with Wealth Vision, and quick ability to add investments through customer support.

Cons

Portfolio comparison report requires ability to customize, or be improved. The report, specifically the large arrows front and center, are not conducive to client presentations and require skipping around. Furthermore, a rebalancing function would benefit the platform so we can show what rebalancing efforts add or detract from portfolio management over one, three, or five years.

Rick G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HL Power

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

This is a game changer for us as a firm. Many clients and prospects love to see stress tests and hypotheticals based son various external events.

Pros

I like the Stress Test Scenarios the most probably. helps with clients who are concerned about the markets or who have a lot of cash to deploy. We can show them the relatively sensitivity of their portfolio to many different potential outcomes. Extremely helpful.

Cons

Wish the quality of the reports was a little better. Maybe enhanced graphics, etc.

Logan T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Wealth Advisors Group - Hidden Levers

Reviewed on 2020/08/11

Pros

Easy to create portfolio, decent risk profile, good risk survey

Cons

Reports do not look professional!!, we do not feel like we can put in front of clients.

Dan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

My thoughts

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

Good

Pros

Proposal generation, economic indicators

Cons

The way risk is determined is more obtuse and complicated than riskalyze. That needs to be cleaned up. The stress tests show too extreme of examples

Andrew J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Unique tool, needs improved functionality

Reviewed on 2020/08/12

Overall good. Very appealing interface for clients that helps them understand their risk. Improvements in workflow would go a long way.

Pros

Very clean interface for clients. Scenario testing is unique and captures clients' attention.

Cons

Integration with firm models is clunky creating many duplicates (user should be able to screen only the models they want to see). Risk surveys can be difficult to track for multiple parties in one household or for multiple goals (each new survey replaces the previous one).

David L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Solid tool for generating client-facing reports

Reviewed on 2020/07/30

Overall, HL is a useful tool to have in the wheelhouse.

Pros

The hedging features are valuable when building client expectations and discussing risk. It's nice to be able use both pre-built and custom economic scenarios to demonstrate how various economic changes may affect outcomes.

Cons

The software is backward-looking when evaluating investments. It's tough to do forward-looking Tactical investing when all the data looks the other way.

Jon-paul B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hidden Levers Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/10

I use it to show the risk in a clients overall portfolio.

Pros

It outs out some very good information to talk with clients about. The upside downside risk graphic is particularly useful.

Cons

The lack of analysis on individual positions. It would be nice to have some risk stats on the individual positions as well as a one page fact sheet like a Morningstar Investment Detail report.

Nick T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Hidden Levers is vey helpful

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

Pros

I love the ability to stress test portfolios.

Cons

There isn't much to dislike other than the software being somewhat expensive.

Robert B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review of Hidden Levers

Reviewed on 2020/08/05

I can test the vulnerability of some investments in various circumstances

Pros

I like the ability to test the family portfolios in many scenarios

Cons

It is not easy for me to get automatic imports of our portfolios into Hidden Levers, so I need to do the imports manually. This is not entirely a Hidden Levers problem. Our custodian is part of the problem

Joel H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Capital Markets
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Proposal/Analysis tool

Reviewed on 2020/07/30

The overall experience has been positive. Chat support is very effective and the agents are very prompt to respond. While there is so many capabilities with HiddenLevers and a little intimidating to use in the beginning, it does provide the opportunity for very detailed and insightful analytics. This promotes a postive client experience when we are able to use the data to support our analysis and present it professionally to the client.

Pros

Stress testing, proposal tool and model portfolio comparisons

Cons

There are so many features /resources available that it takes a while getting used to navigating and creating portfolios/compares. Often to the point where it is easy to miss out on some of the value add. Perhaps a few tutorial enhancements would help with site/tool navigation.

Michael C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

HL Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

Happy with the service. Best visual graphics to tell the story I want to tell especially in proposals.

Pros

The proposal generator. It is scalable and slick.

Cons

The cash flows functionality was clunky out the gate but getting better.

Nick S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

New user review

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

Overall experience has been pretty decent. When I've had a question, I get a prompt response using the online chat feature.

Pros

Integration with Orion Advisor Systems, allocation optimization, simple client risk questionnaires and IPS generation were must-haves. Also, we liked that the detail of the risk comparisons (asset class info, sector exposure, etc.). Also, the risk/reward comparison can be looked at over multiple time periods.

Cons

We're still getting used to the system. Navigation can be a little difficult.
Model imports from Orion integration are not useful to us and not able to be suppressed.

Karen M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

HiddenLevers Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/07

Fairly easy to use and navigate.

Pros

Reporting Capabilities particularly charting/graphing.

Cons

Lack of calculated fields. Don't know if a function of application or a setup choice.

Kory F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful tool for facilitating discussions around risk

Reviewed on 2020/08/11

Overall, we have been pleased with using Hidden Levers for the risk conversation with clients and see much potential for expanded use in the future with other pieces of the software (specifically the IPS functionality and proposal). The support team at Hidden Levers, specifically those handling the chat support, has been outstanding in their responsiveness to any questions we had about the software. If they don't have the answer right away, they always follow up with updates.

Pros

The most impactful components of Hidden Levers are the risk tolerance workflow, stress testing, and integrations with our other software. The risk tolerance questionnaire takes a simple questionnaire to see their risk tolerance next to the risk profile. The financial planning tool and the recommendation section allows the advisor to guide the conversation toward a solution that fits their risk tolerance but also addresses the risk required to reach their goals. Stress testing has been especially useful in putting clients at ease during these past turbulent months, allowing them to see potential scenarios and how their portfolio might perform in the best, bad, and worse cases. Integrations with our performance and financial planning software allows us to easily bring in live data in for clients, saving time and effort in maintaining consistency across platforms.

Cons

I feel that the financial planning piece in the risk tolerance workflow is the weakest piece. I am more likely to use my financial planning software for running Monte Carlo situations than Hidden Levers because of the limited functionality and inability to look at multiple scenarios easily. Most data entry is intuitive but there are still a few places where it takes quite a bit of time to get used to the layout of the system, specifically for entering holdings data and within the financial planning area.

Lauren W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

HiddenLevers helps me demonstrate value

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

It's been good! It's a built in part of our process. The risk tolerance questionnaire has to be turned in with each new account, but it goes above and beyond other RTQs by providing the analysis and crash testing scenarios.

Pros

Typically, I utilize HiddenLevers to analyze the existing portfolio vs. the proposed managed strategy. I like that it shows both risk and reward. These are two elements that I try to consistently teach clients about. I think HiddenLevers does a really good job illustrating that taking 10% more risk equates to 1-2% more reward with about the same difference on the downside.

Cons

Sometimes it's difficult to select households and show the breakdown of the allocation. I love using HL to show the allocation breakdown, because it gives me all the information I need to properly explain the portfolio and teach my clients about the overall and underlying investments.

Bob L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

HL Review

Reviewed on 2020/07/30

This provides us with a straightforward, portfolio stress-testing software that is easily understood by our advisors and their clients. No issues there. I want to see HL continue to push forward with development and functionality.

Pros

The product is quite intuitive and easy to explain to potential users with a clean and appealing UI. Layering the data allows for a simple, surface-level view for clients but provides the flexibility for advisors to drill down into the information much further. It provides a clear picture of what is happening/could potentially happen and allows for meaningful interaction with various levers on the scenarios screen.

Cons

I would say that the area in greatest need of growth is with integrations. Of all the feedback I get, that is perhaps the most frequent response. It integrates well with Orion, but needs to create more robust connections to other products (Redtail, Advizr, etc).

Anna E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to use and client friendly

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

Pros

HL is easy to use and easily customized to create client-friendly deliverables that look good every time.

Cons

The integration with our data management software can be slow, and occasionally securities are not recognized, but these are minimal issues.

Niels B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hiddenlevers Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

to be able to show how market conditions affect portfolio performance.

Pros

Being able to show market scenarios impact a client financial plan

Cons

The software is generally easy to use once you understand inputs.

David N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Enough to Buy

Reviewed on 2020/08/12

Good! We like it, we use it a lot, it's become a center piece to our practice.

Pros

Its attempt to measure risk tolerance and risk metrics is very helpful in customizing client portfolios.

Cons

It can be a steep learning curve, there's a lot there.

Nicole O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nicole - Hidden Levers

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

overall my experience has been very good - chat support is exceptional

Pros

The sofware is easy to use and fairly intuitive

Cons

I would like a feature that allows us to incorporate a manually taken survey into the system to print and send for signatre

Michael V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2020/07/30

Pros

Very easy to input information and integrate with emoney

Cons

Manipulating data can be difficult at times. Customizing the reports can also be a pain. Please add the ability to view in portrait and landscape