282 reviews

Minute7

QuickBooks Time and Expense Tracker for Professional Firms

4,4 /5 (282 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,4
/
5
Value for Money
4,5
Features
4,2
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,4
91% recommended this app
282 reviews
Annikki D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good value

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/07
Review Source: Capterra

Good experience with support and helping find issues. We use two instances for different companies and currency which adds a level of confusion for some users.
Like the security (approved/synced) and Activity log which is overlooked by other applications.

Pros

Best features: uploading receipts and having them link to QBO
Easy to use and teach others as users as well as approvers of time and expenses

Cons

Lack of connectivity to more than one application. When updates/upgrades are done, they often change the data so that any connections via CSV or Excel import/export are changed, accents missing from letters, extra space, order of fields exported.....
Customization, when a customer/job is chosen then only the correct service type should appear and class.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Matt K.
Industry: Public Relations & Communications
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Minute7 Is A Great Accountability Tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/20
Review Source: Capterra

Minute7 has been a fantastic timekeeping tool for our business. It integrates easily with Quickbooks, allows for ease of use when entering client time, has custom reports available, and the price point is right. We work with a lot of government clients that demand a high level of timekeeping accountability, and this product helps us keep more accountable to our clients.

Pros

Minute7 has an ease of use for users, unlike other products I've tested. Just plug in the client, the rate, and the description of work and you're good to go. The ability to run reports per user or per client is easy and saves time when billing clients.

Cons

Integration with existing business products was seamless, especially considering they are a partner of Quickbooks. Sometimes the date ranges on time entry are off, but a simple refresh of the browser window typically takes care of this, especially after being logged in for long periods of time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Douglas P.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Don't Forget to Send in Your Time Sheet!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/15
Review Source: Capterra

I love that Minute 7 makes the dreaded reminder from accounting that "you have not submitted your time sheets for this week yet". For me, it was a regular occurrence. I had to stop what I was working on to back track and try to recall what I was doing for the past week! Always a pain and, yep. an embarrassment. This is all the more annoying when the client needs specific details on what I was working on at the time!

I get a daily email reminder using Minute 7. No nagging calls from accounting! I can easily enter my time and work description right then! Easy and no pain!

Pros

Ease of use and peace of mind. The interface and overall design is excellent.

Cons

Synching with Quickbooks. I still have to think about jhow to do that. Its easy to do ,but also awkward

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tony B.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Long time Minute7 user

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

We improved our job/service setup time and transfer of information from QB to users and the return of user time entries to QB has been seamless and is a huge time saver over the previous method we had been using.

Pros

We first chose Minute7 based on our need for integrating with Quickbooks desktop. Prior to M7 we were using the QB Timer File program that was difficult to keep current and distribute to individual users. The M7 sync with QB lets us set up new customers, projects and service items very quickly and have it instantly available to our employees for charging time and for transferring time back to QB at the end of the week. We also like the options for having a running timer, direct entry of hours or setting start/finish times. The large data field for time entry notes is also very useful.

Cons

We miss the previous more columnar interface that was a bit easier to use when reviewing and approving time entries. The current interface is great for the individual employee but not quite as useful for the time reviewer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shana M.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to Use!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/21
Review Source: Capterra

Time entry; remote worker time entry and review

Pros

Syncs well with QuickBooks desktop and QuickBooks online. Prompt customer support. Very easy to use.

Cons

Would like more notifications, e.g. email notification if timer is kept running for a set amount of time based on customer's preference.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Angela B.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Administrative use of Minute7

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

I think the program basically works well for the daily user while using the it from the browser in the computer, but the Minute7 app has frequent temporary malfunction issues and is not as easy to make changes or adjustments to added time.

Pros

Ability to edit entries, time etc. Mostly it is an easy to use program.

Cons

Not very compatible with Quick books. When the information is synced into quick books, you have to manually go into quick books to change any edited entries after the information has already been synced to the quick books program. You should just be able to re sync from quick books and it will move over the edited or changes made in Minute7.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Lisa G.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Minute7

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

We had to find a system that was compatible with Quickbooks because when we upgraded our OS, the free QB timer went away. Minute7 was the most affordable and straightforward product we could find on the market.

Pros

User friendly and fairly intuitive, affordable

Cons

Having to change my entries from ready to sync to pending every time. I prefer my entries to be pending until I do a final review for approval.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Traci B.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Awesome Tool for Confirming Billing Time

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/15
Review Source: Capterra

The system has been great. We even have our vendors use it so we can pull status reports throughout a project.

Pros

Minute7 allows you to easily pull reports on all projects or one account. It has been a lifesaver for tracking hours and ensuring I'm billing the right amount.

Cons

It's not the greatest user experience, from a design and feature perspective. It is a fine, workhorse system but since I use it a lot throughout the day to immediately log my time, it would be better to have a more visually appealing and user-friendly set up. It would be nine to have some desktop interface that you could pull up or keep up for noting project time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Karen P.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 11-50 Employees

easy time-tracking

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Minute7 is easy time-tracking.

Pros

Min7 provides easy access for all employees with app or online options.

Cons

The reports are not customizable except for period; however, the information can be manipulated in Excel.

I do not use the full functionality of linking with QBO, because it doesn't appear to work with their payroll product. In addition, we reimburse expenses through payroll, so this doesn't work for us.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kym F.

I enter time, and edit all employees entries. I sync to Quickbooks.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/10
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to run payroll as well as invoice clients.

Pros

Both the website and app are simple for the employees to use. Easy to set up jobs. Decent character length for job names.

Cons

The top part of the screen does not freeze. It is hard to edit since it is hard to follow down to different days since the screen continues to move. When selecting jobs to write a report, why can I not select a group of jobs instead of one by one.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Elaine O.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A great tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using it for my staff of 9 for many years and have never had a problem with the software. The only times I have needed tech support were due to user error.

Pros

Easy to use for ALL users, quick to set up, easy sync to all Intuit products

Cons

I can't think of anything I would add or change

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

William W.
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: Self Employed

Excellent for the price but with a few warts

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Installs easily and mostly synchs well with Quickbooks. The timer and time keeping functions are generally great.

Cons

It worked great for two months, then stopped synching my billing rates from the Quickbooks client profiles. It keeps the time but is now unable to transfer the rate. There is a workaround but it is a clunky fix. Despite several contacts with customer service they are unable to fix it and appear to have given up.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Iona M.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: Self Employed

Easy to learn and use.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

Ease of use

Pros

I found this product easy to use, and gives a lot of flexibility in use. The format is easy to follow as well. It allows the user the ability to review past inputs and to have different accounts for the user.

Cons

When inputting a different day one has to double check to make sure input applies to right day. This is a very slight problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jim S.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Personal Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/14
Review Source: Capterra

Tracking time in projects has been my primary use.
RECOMMENDATION!! Add a total column to each row of entries. I find I need to add manually or I export into a report and let excel do it. Having Excel do the same would be cool too!!

Pros

1. Actually easy to use. Like the reports too.

Cons

Not that I can think of. I think providing totaling columns would help!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Niloufar A.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great for project management/Time Control

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience is great. It is easy to use and and the interface is user friendly. I have suggested Min7 to other companies in the past.

Pros

Monitoring Junior staff hours spent on different projects is one of the best features.

Cons

Sometimes viewing the hours over a week vs. the whole month gets confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anne R.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

M7 review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

Very integral part of our accounting function.

Pros

easy to use, cost effective, interfaces with Quickbooks Online easily. Great at tracking time for time and billing invoicing purposes

Cons

Difficult to use "time" tracking to transfer payroll entries to Quickbooks Online.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Huguette N.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Practical and Easy to use.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

I use minute 7 as part of my job responsibilities on a daily or weekly basis to enter the amount of time spent on each client. I find it very easy to use and quite practical. I can enter a whole weeks worth of work in less than 10 minutes because of the ease of the program.

Pros

I like that the date remains for different entries until you change it. It would be a pain to have to keep entering the same date. I also like that you can delete and entry on a date if it is incorrect. I also like the description box to indicate what the minutes were for.

Cons

I do not find any aspect of this product difficult to use with the new interface.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sylvia D.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

My experience..

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Capturing time accurately for our projects by all staff. User friendly.

Pros

Custom and job detail descriptions and service options
Use of edits before being synced

Cons

The need to sync all time instead of individually by job or detail.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Donna L.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Minute 7 Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Tool to keep track of the amount of time spent on projects is useful

Cons

Search tool could be made to find more specific and help narrow search.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kristian C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

LCG Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

So far, very good. Great integration, easy to use, easy to train, easy to set up user groups, etc.

Pros

Ease of use and integration with Quickbooks

Cons

Some glitches occasionally, but support seems to sort these out quickly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Barbara C.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Minute 7 Meets our Time Keeping Needs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

easy to instruct new users ; clear details for inputting time & detail

Cons

Report function sometimes lags and needs to be extended

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Christina M.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: Self Employed

Easy, accurate timekeeping software, works great with Quickbooks

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

Great.

Pros

Accuracy and easy to use with Quickbooks

Cons

I wish there was an iphone app so I could enter my hours on my phone.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matthew S.
Industry: Renewables & Environment
Company size: 2-10 Employees

First time user

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We recently won a federal grant which requires us to track time and expenses per task. Minute7 makes it very easy to accomplish this and the interface is easy to understand and use.

Cons

I wish there was a desktop app, or if there is one that it is easier to find.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Robin S.

Used Minute7 to fill out hours and have fast and easy records for my employer.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/06/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The program allows for a lot of space for details and information without the clutter and is perfect for filing invoices.

Cons

Sometimes it doesn't remember which project I'm working on. So I have to click the set up for every single submission.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Holly D.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very Pleased

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This is a seamless process with our Quickbooks and invoicing.

Cons

I wish there was a way to use the expense feature for employees

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10