67 reviews

KashFlow

Accounting and Payroll software for small businesses

4,2 /5 (67 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,2
/
5
Value for Money
4,1
Features
4,1
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,1
84% recommended this app
67 reviews
Stephen S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

I haven't time to learn PayRoll as well

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

Kashflow has been a life-saver for me and my business; I do not have the time to learn how to book keep properly or run a Payroll. It means I can focus on the aspects of my business that I need to develop and give less time to admin.

Pros

It does what it says on the tin. So, it will run your payroll for you, tracking Tax & NI, produce P45s/P60s and submit data to the Government. It basically does everything you'd expect a payroll software to do. Payroll is complicated and KashFlow Payroll does its best to simplify this fr you; actually, I could not run my business without it.

Cons

The biggest annoyance is that you have to login to it separately from the main KashFlow program. Whilst it integrates the two at a data level really well, I don't understand why I cannot click seamlessly between the two.

Also, I think it lacks some features:
- I'd like it to handle and submit P11D forms
- It'd be nice if it integrated more tightly with Government so as well as submitting it also, showed me my tax balance owed. That would be a nice feature.
- Fixing a payroll mistake is a bit cumbersome as you have to roll back any intervening weeks. It'd nice if there was a simple tool for this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Will G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services

Fine software and fine service

Reviewed on 2014/07/14
Review Source: GetApp

I am very happy with Kashflow. Easy to set up and use but sophisticated enough to cope with everything a typical small business might want. I particularly like the PayPal integration and the more integration that happens, the better as far as I am concerned. Being able to access accounting data from anywhere and even better allowing your accountant to access it has been a tremendous timesaver. I also like the automated back-ups and the ability to switch easily between the accounts of multiple businesses. They even reduced the price to a level where it could not become an issue.

Pros

Ease of set-up and use
Your accountant and you can easily get access to the original data from anywhere
Good handling of multiple sets of accounts
OK Reports
Integration with other systems
Reasonably priced

Cons

Does not automatically integrate with everything I want it to (yet!)
Standard reporting is adequate rather than extensive
Can't think of anything else

Sudhir S.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Kashflow works

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It was easy to set up and get started. The reporting functionality meets all my business needs such as VAT return, Profit & loss and Balance sheet to satisfy end of year accounting.

Cons

On the rare occasion it's good to speak to customer services although most of my queries have been dealt with through email customer support

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jason L.

Better than SAGE by a mile

Reviewed on 2011/08/17
Review Source: GetApp

After wrestling with Sage for a few years, too complicated for the sole trader etc, KashFlow is ideal as long as one realises it is not a final accounts package. It is a very simple and easy to use book keeping programme. A business will still need to employ an accountant for end of year purposes, but at least the information is presented in the correct format, ultimately saving one's hard earn cash ending up in the hands of the accountancy profession....

Pros

Very easy to learn and use. Data is stored on their own secure servers. Mistakes can be easily corrected unlike on most accountancy packages.

Cons

Changing between screens can be slow on some occcassions as the programme is not on personal computer.

Karen E.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2016/11/07
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Brett W.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2016/05/14
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Harpreet K.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 201-500 Employees

good

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

everything is good about the software...it is easy to use and I like the point conversion.

Cons

All good no complains. Please do not make this section mandatory.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dan S.

Really good product, easy to use.

Reviewed on 2015/08/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros: Easy to raise invoices and integrate with paypal.

Cons: They sent a few too many emails in the trial period

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kabiru O.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Review Source: GetApp
Taqi M.
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 2-10 Employees

PAYROLL

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Good experience with Kashflow

Pros

We like the product and easy to use functions

Cons

Sometime support is weak but overall is ok

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Justin H.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use, does everything I need

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Kashflow is a great package for my small business. It captures everything I need, produces great reports and even allows me to submit my VAT at the touch of a button!

Cons

Nothing right now, it really does manage to tick all the boxes

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Photography
Company size: 2-10 Employees

They charge for their tutorials

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/28
Review Source: GetApp

I find Kashflow a mixed bag. In some ways, it's a good system and works well when everything is perfect. If you suddenly need to change something, however, prepare to get frustrated (no doubt you will at some point and good luck not messing your accounts up!).

Charging for their basic tutorials on how to use the software to avoid messing things up will cost you on top of the monthly subscription you're paying. This reason alone, I feel their not customer centric and am personally moving to another system due to this.

Pros

Kashflow can generate some nice reports and it looks fairly appealing.
Straight forward to set up in some ways.
Support is ok, can be a mixed bag.

Cons

A bit un-intuitive, unable to open links in new windows for some things which mean you have to keep re-running a report to work through each item in a list rather than quickly skip forwards and backward (Kashflow also forgets which dates you had selected so you have to re-select both dates every time!).

Unclear in places

Tutorials to learn the software are paid for those who are already subscribed, this is unforgivable. What kind of company charges their subscription paying customers to learn the software they pay for??

Kashflow feels like a strange mix between last gen software (and the frustrations that came with it) along with new gen (clean-ish interface). The whole package doesn't feel polished or finished.

Things like importing bank files will lead to duplicates without warning, Kashflow won't bother to check if any items are dupes. There goes the rest of your month manually removing all the duplicate items! Support will say it can only be done manually, can you tell it happened to me?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Kirsty H.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great software for Small Business

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/14
Review Source: Capterra

I learnt how to use Kashflow without training and it was easy to navigate. It’s great software for small businesses as good value for money.

Pros

Easy to use and value for money. Reminders about processing payments, you can link to your bank. Was easy to navigate without training.

Cons

I haven’t experienced any cons in the years I have used this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Darryl S.
Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Ease of Use... excellent system

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent, ease of use, automation and speed mean more complex processes are easy

Pros

I have been using Kashflow for some time and having used other in the market, the ease of use and adaptability of Kashflow, for me, put it ahead of its competitors. Easy to personalise, the bank links and automation both with banks and HMRC mean half the work is done, for ease of mind this is a real plus. Excellent system would highly recommend

Cons

Old historical automation can sometimes slow the process down, but that's more of a personal problem

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Neil B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The easiest way to manage business accounts large and small

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the automatic VAT, Pay Roll RTI updates and self assessment filing, these features make it simple to make the correct submissions the the HMRC first time.

Cons

The mobile app could be more fully featured as it only offers a small portion of the websites functionality.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Gareth R.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Ideal timesaver for a small business

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

It has allowed me to complete the payroll demands of HMRC and monthly reporting with a minimum of work

Pros

It ties easily in with Kashflow. It is relatively easy to set up for a company and for individuals on the payroll. it records data and produces detailed reports on demand, thus providing a useful check. The monthly reports to HMRC occur easily and possible incomplete information or problems are flagged up.

Cons

I found the integration with NEST more difficult- but it could well have been NEST's end that caused difficulties. It is obviously designed for those who use English for their administration. I use both English and Welsh and the spellcheck feature changed the Welsh spellings!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ollie M.
Industry: Events Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Good software, slow development

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, useful and valuable software. However now becoming too expensive and deviating from the founder's original game plan

Pros

Easy to use
Good functionality
Quick to transition from more traditional software such as Sage

Cons

Slow to develop new features
API upgrade been in development for 4 years and no progress
Subscriptions increase frequently for no clear obvious benefit

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Mary B.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Smooth payroll operation

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using Kashflow for three years from the start of our business.
KashFlow Payroll is easy to use after initial training and makes monthly payroll an easy and smooth process.
Year end processes are easy to follow.

Pros

Easy to set up and use after initial training.
Very beneficial for communication to government tax agency and pension provider

Cons

Initial navigation around the reports process but becomes easier with use and familiarity.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Andy B.
Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use and suitable for small businesses

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Allows for easier payroll system and creation of payslips. Sending info straight to HMRC is great too

Pros

Easy to use and integrate with my account software. Keeps in loop with any changes, simple to add / make changes and then send directly to HMRC.

Cons

Only slight negative is lots of different pages but ultimately useful to capture all required info

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Elizabeth S.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Kashflow Payroll

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Payroll is a lot quicker and easier to do.

Pros

It's relatively easy to use and set up and has made payroll a lot quicker experience.

Cons

A better set up guide and absence calendar. In regards to calculating SSP my staff do not earn the same money each week so having something more fluid to help with such a problems would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jesse S.
Industry: Sports
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great for small businesses

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Using both Kashlow Payroll and Accounting has helped us massively in reducing time spent on these.

Pros

This software is perfect for small businesses without a dedicated finance team. Easy to use and set up, and also links to Kashflow Accounting seamlessly. Makes payroll a breeze.

Cons

We haven't had any drawbacks from using it so far.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Peter D.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising

Brilliant kit!

Reviewed on 2014/07/16
Review Source: GetApp

We have used Kashflow for our business for many years and will continue to do so, simply because there is nothing that touches it for ease of use, stability and reliability.

Pros

Integrates with all of our other software and can be automated saving valuable time all round. Updates keep the program current and there is you can tell a concerted effort to improve on what is already a great piece of kit.

Cons

We have yet to find any negative points to using this software - hey even our accountant likes it!

Graham C.

Made for a small business!!

Reviewed on 2011/08/17
Review Source: GetApp

KashFlow is definitely for the small business owner that has no accountancy knowledge.
Everything is so straight foward, and when you do have a problem all you do is raise a support ticket, which then gets answered in no time at all (I got mine answered in 6 minutes).
It also allows me to track all customers and the cost of sales along with producing invoices. You can also email the invoice with a PayPal or Credit Card button so you can get paid quicker.

Pros

Quick and easy to pick up
Support are friendly and quick

Cons

Getting your head around the Stock feature was a bit tricky - but maybe thats just me!

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Accounting

KashFlow may waist a lot of your time.

Reviewed on 2014/08/03
Review Source: GetApp

Their support is only by e-mail. The problem is when they don't know the solution. They simply cut and paste the same standard reply back. Even though it's incorrect. They will not admit if they don't know. So it waists so much time. I’m 4 days into a simply request and still not solution. So it may be cheap, but it’s false economy as it’s waists so much time. Data also take more time to enter than any other package we’ve used. You can’t steam in bank data etiher.

Pros

It's inexpensive.
It's in the cloud.

Cons

E-amil support can take up a lot of time.
Slow at entering data.
No Bank streaming.
KashFlow have a habbit of stringing you along.

Response from KashFlow Software

Hi there! So sorry you didn't have a good support experience. The team is definitely not only email based, and if this has been your experience then we'd love a chance to rectify it. Some goods news for you is that we are in the advanced stage of developing a bank feed service, which will save a lot of time in data entry and much more!

Alex C.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Kashflow

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

The p and l document is great.

Pros

It’s a decent piece of accounting software. Has lots of good business analysis reports.

Cons

The user face could be made more user friendly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10