22 reviews

Planio

Manage Sofware Projects in One Place

4,6 /5 (22 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
22 reviews
Daniel P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fantastic tool Say "hello" to the agile projects.

Reviewed on 2018/06/13

Pros

Planio is fast and responds to requests efficiently. I have been using the tool to carry all the processes in an agile way, I can not deny your valuable contribution. Agile projects benefit a lot with these products based on agile operations in scrum.

Cons

The notification of Planio by email is framed in the general standard of notices. I think it is a very powerful tool, but at the moment of notifying, we only assume that it marks the details of the cards and nothing else. They can improve in that aspect.

Yasser S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 2016/03/09

Lorna P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Brilliant Customer Service

Reviewed on 2015/07/21

I would just like to thank you so much for the excellent customer service I have received from your member of staff Louise Engel. She has been very helpful responding to queries efficiently and effectively and always with great courtesy. She is an asset to your organisation.

Arie B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Insanely fast and useful support

Reviewed on 2015/08/05

I've had multiple support emails to "Holger Just | Planio GmbH <[email protected]>",
Always received very fast and helpful responses.

Thanks!

Tobias K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Flawless

Reviewed on 2015/07/20

The communication between the costumer and the company is very good. If you have any questions or problems you will get an answer right away. They help you with anything, big or small, and take you seriously.

Matt F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A really easy project planning product

Reviewed on 2016/11/03

I liked it because it is simple, easy to use and has a lot of great features and even a free plan if you just need a personal management platform.

Pros

I'm using it for bug tracking and project management. Its simplicity is really great.

Cons

Sometimes there can be too many options or options that aren't explained well.

David C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent bug tracking project management system

Reviewed on 2015/09/04

Works really well with our small team. Very powerful. Technical support first rate.

Filippo S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reviewed on 2016/12/27

Matthew P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Simple, Powerful, Fast, great customer Service...

Reviewed on 2015/09/11

Was using my own redmine cloud server instance but wanted something more stable and easy to manage for a corporate envioronment. Looked at Planio and another company. Both good, but the Planio UI is a more familiar redmine look and feel. The price plans are good, they actually have a free bronze plan which they don't advertise - good for 1 person operations. The customer service was very good. They were able to pull in my tasks from my old instance into the new instance, overnight. Then I had a couple of questions, and they always answered within a few hours. Note that they are in Germany so a question in the morning (US) might be answered same day, but one in the afternoon not until the next day. Response times seem good, so far anyway. I really like that they give you the repository for free - install tortoise on your clients and you have a managed, versioned, cloud repository in no time. Awesome. Oh, and the agile boards are included as part of their standard plans, which are very useful.

All in all, extremely happy. Always liked redmine, but using planio to manage/host that is a no brainer. Have used redmine before in projects large and small, and once people understand what it is, productivity goes through the roof. I would say it doubles effective output. Many people don't understand what it is - they think that servicenow or MSProject or Sharepoint can do the same - and to some degree that's true. But redmine/planio takes all of that to the next level, makes it super easy and configurable, and provides an end to end solution all the way from Senior management right down to day to day team members.

Alexander T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Customer support and help with migration is great !

Reviewed on 2015/10/23

Actually I cannot say much about the tool yet, just started using it recently. I worked with redmine before and on the first impression plan.io looks like a very stable and cosistent setup with nice features like backup, agile board, timesheets and integrated repository. I chose it from many other redmine offerings.

What I'd like to mention is a really great customer support. Plan.io offers free migration services at start. We had Redbooth as our previour task tracker and we needed to migrate all tasks and history from there. The migration was done very quickly (~1,5 workdays) - thanks to Jens Krämer and his team. What's really impressive for me is that they didn't ask for the data in some special format, I just provided them data from Redbooth as I had it and they did all format/encoding conversions and such things. That was very impressive and helpful. Thanks a lot guys ! And good luck with the product ! +1 loyal client from now :)

Andy B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent customer support

Reviewed on 2015/11/17

I found a minor layout issue with the new look and feel for the PlanIo Redmine site. I raised a ticket and within an hour I had received an acknowledgement of them being able to reproduce the problem and that an engineer had been assigned the issue.

Louise Engel was the customer support person that I dealt with and she was very prompt and professional while handling this problem.

Matthew I.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great service with outstanding support.

Reviewed on 2015/08/06

Very pleased with the service - no performance problems and everything integrates and works nicely. Planio truly shines with support however: fast responses and always of a high and very professional quality. I'd be more than happy to recommend Planio to anyone who is looking for a project management platform.

Caroline C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

convenience

Reviewed on 2015/10/06

really satisfied with Louise Engel's customer service.

Daniel P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Useful tool for project management.

Reviewed on 2019/01/12

The obtaining of reports in relation to the hours worked, the assigned projects and the organizational structure is fantastic. We continue using Planio for all our projects. It allows us to optimize operations more and more.

Pros

It is an innovative application that has an intrinsic project management under an agile methodology.
This allows creating sections, timelines, letters, labels, time for each activity, incorporation of members to the work team, monitoring of activities, recording of hours worked.
It is a tool that has helped us a lot in the company, I always highlight its potential for the most precise planning of each reality in the provision of technological services.

Cons

Care must be taken when creating schedules, letters, tasks or tickets for any team member.
It can cost very expensive. Well, this application can generate reports with multiple filters. In addition, it is tedious to eliminate tasks once completed and transferred to the production line.
They have notifications by email, but they do it in excess.

Ana L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for our team

Reviewed on 2021/03/01

It's been a great experience so far, everything is working smoothly, many tools are available, user interface is clean and very easy to use and customer support is very responsive. In addition there is lots of flexibility in choosing the appropriate plan in terms of the number of projects and users.

Pros

Many tools are available, user interface is clean and very easy to use and customer support is very responsive. In addition there is lots of flexibility in choosing the appropriate plan in terms of the number of projects and users.

Cons

Not having the capability to import SVN .dump files into our new repositories on our own directly from the command line.

Pepe G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Planio review

Reviewed on 2020/11/04

Pros

As a whole is a fantastic product with neat hooks to help desk features. Easy to keep track of your ongoing projects. Repositories for your projects are also a plus being able to see an issue asociated revisions of your code.

Cons

Although depending on Redmine some APIs need more functionality specially regarding time tracking. Also need improvements in Gantts graphics presentations

James M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2016/02/01

Leandro M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

At the moment, I am happy with Planio

Reviewed on 2015/10/18

I started a Planio account almost a week ago and I was supported by a team with a high professional quality. All my requests are solved and within the agreed time.
In special, Jens Krämer, that has worked on my requests, did a good and professional job.

Bob A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall very positive.

Reviewed on 2015/07/28

The system is reasonably fast, and good at what it does. Problems are responded to promptly (very quickly in some cases!). Over a 6 month period we reported three relatively obscure bugs, and all three were fixed within 24 to 48 hours. The core functionality is strong and reliable.

If there is a negative, it's that the company makes assumptions about its user base which in our case do not apply, especially in the area of external task status change notification. Specifically, the system allows plain text email notifications, but these contain all the task data, which represent a serious potential leak of private information. To avoid that, one can activate encrypted email notifications, but then every member of the system MUST have encrypted email setup in their email client.

As anyone who has ever tried to configure that in Outlook or Thunderbird can tell you, the installation of a certificate and the configuration of the client to use it are fraught with difficulties. Many people just give up. An ideal solution would be for the system to support plain-text email notification of task status changes as it does now, but with the option to not include the details, just the task title and the statement "The status of this task has changed. It is now assigned to you with XXXX Priority. Please see the task for details [link]".

However, this is a relatively minor problem that does not detract significantly from our overall positive experience using the system. It's a strong solution.

Response from Planio

Hi Bob,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is highly appreciated.

Regarding our email update functionality, I completely agree with you that email is not a safe medium to transmit sensitive data. That's why we introduced OpenPGP encryption for all email notifications a while back. You can read my blog post about it here:

http://plan.io/blog/post/90456288938/closing-the-email-encryption-loophole-with

Unfortunately, setting up email encryption is still trickier than we wish it would be, depending on the email client you are using. However, we consider offering email notification encryption via OpenPGP to be the best of the options currently available to service providers like us.

I will forward your feedback regarding the removal of certain information from the notification emails to our product team, though.

Thanks again, please don't hesitate to get back to me at any time with any questions or feedback.

~ Jan Schulz-Hofen, Managing Director

Kai olav F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent PM-tool for small/medium projects

Reviewed on 2015/07/20

Excellent Redmine implementation, I really appreciate the Agile-plugins (burnup/burndown, Agile planning and Scrum board).

The only weakness as a project tool for me is the Gantt. It's ok to view, but is not interactive. Not enough to lose a star though, this product is real value for money

Ari T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great service, excellent support

Reviewed on 2015/11/17

I was familiar with Redmine, so when I moved to the cloud, Planio was a natural choice.
They were very accommodating in terms of tailoring a subscription that suited my needs and I am extremely satisfied with their support.

Edgar D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Git over HTTPS

Reviewed on 2015/07/20

Asked for support whether Git over HTTPS was supported. This seemed not to be the case, but they implemented it within 24 hours and it's running!