Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement Reviews

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

4.1 (648)
Write a Review!
Salesforce B2B marketing automation for marketing & sales

Overall rating

4.1 /5
(648)
Value for Money
3.8/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
3.8/5
Customer Support
3.9/5
Sort by

648 Reviews

Leon
Leon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing tools.

Reviewed on 2018/09/27

My experience was for the most part positive. Pardot is powerful and reliable, I found it to be...

My experience was for the most part positive. Pardot is powerful and reliable, I found it to be useful for the most part, they just need to revise the e-mail marketing tools and it will surely become a market standard.

Pros

Even though it might seem a little bit complex to use, Pardot gets easier as you learn how to use it, it has a very intuitive structure that anyone can learn on the fly, with a clean dashboard and well -labeled banners/icons combined with a sleek graphic interface.

The automation efectiveness is impressive and compelling, and its multi-platforms capabilites are beyond any other competing alternative, specially how it connects with Social Media and Salesforce.

You can instinctively customize how it manages the data feed, giving away a set of rules that Pardot follows beautifully, filtering everything at your command with great results.

It is probably the most complete and fully integrated Marketing Automation software in the market, with the nicest set of tools necessary to supply all your necessities and more.

Cons

Pardot is rather expensive and probably not suitable for small enterprises.

The e-mail managing/creation/customization interface needs to be worked out, even though it works great most of the times, it tends to have issues with Gmail servers. Sending e-mail templates gets complicated, specially because it has a tendency to crash when some custom coding is involved; this usually forces you to adapt to something that does not bug the system instead of doing what you are actually adapted to.

Even though mostly everything is user friendly, the e-mail marketing tools are over complicated, it might deliver the results you're looking for but it will cost you a lot of toggling.

Saurabh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best Marketing Automation tool out there!

Reviewed on 2020/07/25

The experience so far has been nothing short of exceptional. We have been using Pardot since the...

The experience so far has been nothing short of exceptional. We have been using Pardot since the last 5 years and have been able to facilitate amazing co-ordination with the Sales and Marketing teams. The automation Pardot provides also helps generate reports to measure Campaign ROI and overall lead generation.

Pros

Pardot is unmatched in its ability to automate your marketing activities. The Engagement Program features it offers is probably the best in the market and allows you to design Customer journeys with customization based on the customer attributes as well as engagement. The WYSIWYG builder allows you to build beautiful email templates and Landing pages for Lead generation and Lead nurturing. It also integrates seamlessly with Salesforce CRM and a wide variety of 3rd party applications.

Cons

Pardot allows you to create multiple leads with the same email address. This is a compulsory feature and causes issues with duplicate and bad data. You need to make sure the data is cleansed regularly.

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub and Mailchimp

Reasons for Switching to Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

We were already using Salesforce CRM so it made sense to use Pardot as it would be easier to integrate with our CRM. Also, Pardot had many features that Mailchimp and Hubspot lacked (Engagement Studio, Grading etc.)
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Gets the job done

Reviewed on 2021/12/21

Pardot gets the job done, but it could definitely be better. I would recommend Pardot for smaller...

Pardot gets the job done, but it could definitely be better. I would recommend Pardot for smaller businesses that may just be starting out. If you are a larger company, I recommend either Marketo or Pardot.

Pros

Creating emails and landing pages are easy once you have templates that are built out. If you are not familiar with how to build templates, it may be difficult for you to use Pardot, as there is no drag and drop feature. The automation rules make it really easy for us to integrate into Salesforce, which we love. It's also very simple to create custom fields, which was important for us.

Cons

The reporting feature in Pardot is subpar. It is extremely difficult to report on our marketing activities with their current reporting structure. There is no way to create a custom report, making it very difficult for our team to track ROI. Probably the biggest downside to using this platform.

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub and Marketo Engage
Ethan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Salesforce

Reviewed on 2024/04/10

Pros

The contacts and customer database personally is a very valuable tool for us for client outreach and pipeline management.

Cons

Requires a decent level f training for new starters as some parts of the system are not the most intuitive to use.

Tiju
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Strong Marketing Automation Tool! Highly recommended for SME and Mid Range Businesses

Reviewed on 2021/11/02

Overall I loved it. It's easier to use and the LIGHTNING EXPERIENCE IS AMAZING!!! It has the modern...

Overall I loved it. It's easier to use and the LIGHTNING EXPERIENCE IS AMAZING!!! It has the modern look and feel. I am going to stay with Pardot for a long time. Truly recommend it!

Pros

In-house integration with SFDC. Easier to manage. Not complicated. It has similar functionality as the other major peers like Hubspot and Marketo and it was easier to learn and start working on it.

Cons

Lead routing is not available. I am looking for in-built round-robin routing functionality.

Alternatives Considered

Marketo Engage

Reasons for Choosing Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Price and getting in-house integration with our current CRM SFDC.

Reasons for Switching to Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Pardot is already owned by SFDC and our CRM is SFDC. We wanted a seamless and in-house integration which makes process management easier. Customers using SFDC as CRM can really benefit with Pardot as a Marketing automation tool.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Not the easiest to implement or maintain for startups, not worth the high cost

Reviewed on 2022/08/09

Overall, we didn't get the most use out of it mainly because its ease-of-use didn't turn out to be...

Overall, we didn't get the most use out of it mainly because its ease-of-use didn't turn out to be as advertised and sold. When you buy salesforce and pardot together, you're sold on the premise that it's 'one system', but at the end of the day they're still two separate systems that sync back and forth just like any other marketing automation tool. It just didn't turn out to be worth the heavy cost.

Pros

Form handlers, automation/workflow builder, not much else.

Cons

The need to pay extra for detailed add-ons, particularly a dedicated IP (a basic need for email marketing), is really annoying (only available in their higher tiers). We didn't like not being able to relate marketing email activity to einstein activity sync. User interface could use some work as well; just not there yet overall.

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub

Reasons for Switching to Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Because we were sold on the premise that Salesforce and Pardot are essentially one system, which would be easier for a small startup like us to implement and maintain.
JOHN
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Pardot is perfect for marketing from Salesforce CRM

Reviewed on 2019/12/13

Overall its been a good experience (if you / your client doesnt mind the cost of using it). If...

Overall its been a good experience (if you / your client doesnt mind the cost of using it). If choosing to use Pardot, ALL Salesforce CRM licences need to upgraded to the highest cost level (Enterprise), even if its only small teams / individual groups that require the Pardot element. This seems a bit unfair.

Pros

It's a perfect 'marketing output' tool for Salesforce, which has been adapted to natively fit without having to use 3rd party marketplace plugins for marketing output. Pardot has been a gamechanger for outputting Marketing directly from Salesforce.

Cons

It doesnt integrate Social Media management (scheduling, Ads, etc.) - so you still need to use a Social Media tool such as hootsuite. So, while it's the most 'integrated marketing tool' for Salesforce, it's not a complete integrated marketing solution.

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub

Reasons for Switching to Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

The environment we deployed Pardot was a Salesforce client, thus it didn't make sense to use any other 'marketing tool', as it would have meant lots of integration patches / glue.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Pardot for some things, not quite all

Reviewed on 2019/12/16

Pardot helps us stay on top of automating as much marketing as we can. The main things that keep us...

Pardot helps us stay on top of automating as much marketing as we can. The main things that keep us from doing that are the design needs - it's always easier just to do things in the HTML - and figuring out campaign tracking for non-email analytics.

Pros

Pardot makes automating marketing activities simple, whether you're setting up lead gen forms and responder emails or just creating email campaigns. It connects with Salesforce and helps keep lead owners and other information updated that prior to had been a pain.

Cons

Its campaign tracking really only tracks . It can only track social if the posts are scheduled in Pardot. Email and landing page editors aren't as full-featured for simple design edits.

Reasons for Choosing Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Strategy shift, cost and contact list size

Reasons for Switching to Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Using Salesforce CRM in conjunction with Pardot was the main reason we went with Pardot
Joshua
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Integrates well with Salesforce but lacks features of competitors

Reviewed on 2022/04/26

Pros

The fact that it integrates natively with Salesforce is Pardot's best feature. The engagement studio automation product is great as well, making it really easy to create drip campaigns and other conditional flows.

Cons

The email builder is 10 years behind competitor's builders. To get things to behave, you have to code emails in html. The WYSIWG builder is poor, but asset management of images and files is even worse. Competitors like MailChimp and ActiveCampaign have much better platforms for designing beautiful, responsive emails.

Christopher
Christopher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

If you are using Salesforce then this tool is great!!

Reviewed on 2018/10/23

Pardot has fit our needs especially in working with Salesforce. However, if I had an option I would...

Pardot has fit our needs especially in working with Salesforce. However, if I had an option I would use a different tool (such as Hubspot).

It feels like a dated product that needs some updates to the user experience.

Keep in mind it is VERY powerful (a ton of features) but finding them is irritating. For example, you have email templates and email drafts. The differentiation is not clear and you have to look through their knowledge base to figure that out.

Pros

Pardot has a huge number of features that allow you to control, split and quickly view your customer lists. It is also awesome being able to get this information into Salesforce.

Another feature I love is the customer behavior tracking. It makes it simple to get an understanding of what a prospect is interested in. We can then tailor our message to this prospect. For example, if we identify someone is from a specific State (in the U.S.A) then we can share a link in an email that is information only about that State.

The scoring feature is also great because you can quickly see the interest of a current prospect and then notify the correct sales agent to reach out.

Cons

There are 2 things that frustrate me about Pardot. The learning curve and intuitiveness is very poor. It takes a long time to figure out what pieces are where. On top of that, I have used Pardot for almost 2 years and I still figuring stuff out.

It has a ton of features but figuring them all out is mind-boggling.

The other thing that is irritating is the email builder. It just isn't intuitive. You have a tiny screen to make any edits and adding things (like custom information) is hard to find most times.

Then you have to sync this email to the HTML version. Every time I have clicked that button the email syncs but I have to spend 5-10 extra minutes fixing the syntax issues that come about from the sync. I feel that process should work much more seamlessly.

Neil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Marketing Automation for price conscious organizations

Reviewed on 2017/03/30

Pardot has a lot of base functionality that sets it apart from email platforms like Mailchimp and...

Pardot has a lot of base functionality that sets it apart from email platforms like Mailchimp and the like. It also provides better integration with Salesforce than hubspot and other less expensive CRMs to give your organization with a complete picture of the sales funnel.

Pardot provides email templates upon sign-up that are easily customizable for specific needs. You can test this emails to internal lists and with its integration with Litmus you can view how different clients and platforms will render you email before sends.

Landing pages and form are an easy way to collect leads, track conversion points, and keep the source of a lead. Forms enable you to send auto-response emails, notify teams or sales reps, and assign leads to the correct person. The can also send leads to a Salesforce campaign with detailed member statuses to provide for multi-touch attribution. Landing pages are easy to build, add Google analytics or any other tracking code and deploy.

Automation rules allow you to keep your database clean and ensure that all prospects are going to the right place, tagged correctly, and scored appropriately. Dynamic content is an excellent investment as an add on to allow you to use one template but change messaging based on known prospect information. No need to create 5 different emails or landing pages for industry segments, just create on template and use the dynamic content feature to show messaging that applies to them.

Pros

Intuitive UI, great functionality for the price, native integration with Salesforce, dynamic content add-on. Automation rules that can help keep the system clean and prospects updated.

Cons

Limitations within automation rules for mutli-variable updates. For example - Loading a tradeshow list with campaign member statuses in SFDC. I would like to upload in one automation rule to say if X campaign status, update to this campaign in SFDC for X status, within the same rule I would like to add all of the other statuses with specific completion actions instead of having to run 1 rule for each status.
Dynamic content should be able to trigger via a URL parameter and not just a known prospect field.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Pardot is somewhat sophisticated

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

Great tool - has more sophisticated features than less expensive tools, but is more complex to use.

Great tool - has more sophisticated features than less expensive tools, but is more complex to use.

Pros

Easy to build and send emails, manage contacts, track lists/segmentation, and built automation. You can also setup scoring/grading to see your interest/lead interest.

Cons

The integration with Salesforce is a bit confusing, and they change the way it's implemented with every release. This causes issues with clients trying to launch all users at once on Pardot, and ensuring they have the right licensing.

Alternatives Considered

Salesforce Marketing Cloud

Reasons for Choosing Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

More functionality

Switched From

Mailchimp

Reasons for Switching to Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

better tool
Alabhya
Alabhya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to start, harder to master

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

Great to up your inbound marketing game through strong prospect tracking and seamless sync with...

Great to up your inbound marketing game through strong prospect tracking and seamless sync with Salesforce CRM. It's easy to get started with the basics of what Pardot offers but there are more powerful features which can be harder to understand and use.

Pros

Great integration with Salesforce CRM as expected. Lots of guides, resources are available along with an active community.

Cons

Multiple ways of accomplishing the same results make it a tad bit confusing. Also, in-built connectors are limited as compared to some of the other alternatives.

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub and Marketo Engage

Reasons for Choosing Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

To move to the Salesforce ecosystem

Reasons for Switching to Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Integration with SFDC, pricing structure.
Randy
Randy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Horrible product, customer support, and contract.

Reviewed on 2017/06/12

None

None

Pros

We have fully implemented Pardot into our sales and marketing teams. We use everything from landing pages, forms, custom redirects, email templates, email automation, and their gmail plugin. It does't meet our sales and marketing requirements.

Cons

In less than one year we have opened 42 support tickets with Pardot. Many with no resolution. After determining that the product simply doesn't work we are transitioning to their competitors. Pardot is still forcing us to pay licensing fees even though their product failed to function. Do not use.

Stand Out Issues:
- The Gmail plugin simply doesn't work. Activity is not consistently logged in SalesForce. We have reported the technical issue many times to their support.
- They cap uploaded assets (Ex: images) at 100 MB storage. This is ridiculous. When we hit the cap they wanted to charge us 4K to increase storage.
- Poor reporting on emails:
* Missing data on 1:1 emails. Direct emails sent via the Gmail plug-in.
* CTR doesn't show for under 1% in engagement studio > Requires us to click down into each email template to pull report and export details to do a side by side comparison
* There are no reports generated for engagement studio (only drip programs - old feature now retired)
- Can't track replies on emails > can't gauge performance
- Recurring issues with Engage in Gmail and Engage Alerts (holds up the sales team from their day-to-day tasks)
- Poor UX in Engage via gmail for sales team (cannot organize 1:1 templates by folder)
- Limited on engage logic, can only use prospect fields. We can't use opportunity or account data in automation.

Colleen
Colleen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Pardot was a real life nightmare

Reviewed on 2019/11/19

I spent hundreds of hours in their knowledge base trying to figure out what I didn't know. I...

I spent hundreds of hours in their knowledge base trying to figure out what I didn't know. I watched videos, did trailheads galore, paid for the top tier level of support only to be handed off to various Pardot support agents who were based out of other countries never getting any of my issues resolved or my questions answered. After getting one aspect of the technical side set up I was informed I had to pay additional monthly fees due to an API issue. I had advised the salesperson of my challenges and concerns with implementing myself which he downplayed and disregarded. It was a complete waste of time and resources for our organization.

Pros

I loved the demo given to me by an expert who sold me on the ease of the technical set up and use of Pardot.

Cons

The technical setup was far too technical for me. The cost was over SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN a month and we never got it up and running after 7 months of trying. They later recommended using a third party company for technical implementation as it was too technical for a somewhat technical person. Our developer and technical team members did not have the time to implement themselves as it was a full time position to setup technically.

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

It gets the job done...but requires a ton of workarounds

Reviewed on 2019/05/09

It feels like Pardot isnt getting nearly the amount of attention from Salesforce as it should. I...

It feels like Pardot isnt getting nearly the amount of attention from Salesforce as it should. I used it over the course of a year and noticed that it would take months to roll-out incredibly important features.

Pros

Once you've thoroughly understood all the features in Pardot, it can be quite easy to use for simple things. Their Engagement Studio, in particular, is incredibly built-out. It's also nice to have that sync with SFDC across fields. Lastly, the dynamic content was super helpful when we needed to update email templates across the board.

Cons

- The email wizard takes a LONG time to load, even if you want to change something small, like preheader text. Additionally, it can take HOURS to render samples from their built-in litmus integration. For a company as advanced as Salesforce, you'd think this would be an easy feature to use.
- From the day they linked Pardot and SFDC campaigns, there were severe bugs with email stats. I think they have solved the issue, but the fact that it took months meant we weren't able to capture that data easily.
-To the point above...email stats are not easy to find in Pardot. There is a page that gives you the basics for email templates, but as for one-off email sends, forget about it. The reporting tab is just not good compared to any other email automation product on the market.

Dan
Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool, especially for B2b Marketers

Reviewed on 2019/12/13

I am Pardot certified and it has been an extremely helpful tool in my Marketing career. It can do...

I am Pardot certified and it has been an extremely helpful tool in my Marketing career. It can do very complex marketing tasks but is a great entry point.

Pros

Powerful marketing automation tool that integrates extremely well with the Salesforce platform. Easy to learn, hard to master.

Cons

Things have improved, but considering it's under the same roof as Salesforce, the integration is clearly an afterthought. I think it does it better than other tools, but not as well as it could have been.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy to use CRM

Reviewed on 2023/03/28

We used it for lead management snd monitoring and Salesforce's easy UI and short learni g curve...

We used it for lead management snd monitoring and Salesforce's easy UI and short learni g curve made that convenient

Pros

User friendly interfaceMultiple lead management optionsReports were easily generated and saved without any issues

Cons

If the information was captured wrong due to some reason, debugging took timeInitially learning curve difficult

Lisa
Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Has potential but very complex to set up and manage

Reviewed on 2017/10/13

Pros

This can be a good tool to use for automation as you can import contacts and add them to lists and drips fairly easily. It's also good for integrating with custom forms and landing pages and you can create custom campaigns, links etc. High level, it really helps connect everything together from the first visit (including the pages they viewed) and every subsequent touchpoint from then on (but reporting on this falls into the "Cons").

Cons

Pardot is a difficult tool to set up and manage and their support through the process is quite limited. Their chat seems to fill up by 9 am, and although they offer courses to train you how to use their product, they charge for it. Although it is a powerful tool, their reporting capabilities are very behind, and while they capture every touchpoint, there is no way to roll up that data to gather insights or report on it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Helpful for sales but not for marketers

Reviewed on 2019/08/19

Pros

Wonderful tracking for leads and creation of drip campaigns. Any company who’s expanding their lead generation efforts and looking to hasten the velocity of closing prospects will definitely find this useful, especially since it is connected to Salesforce.

Cons

Interface and usability needs a lot of improvement. Functionalities for creatives and marketers can become too time-consuming and limiting, especially in terms of customisation of drip emails.

Alternatives Considered

Intercom

Reasons for Choosing Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Administrative decision.

Switched From

Mailchimp

Reasons for Switching to Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Administrative decision.
Matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

100% YOY Increase in Leads with Pardot and Salesforce Intergration

Reviewed on 2017/07/20

We've been using Pardot for years to manage emails and landing pages, but once we added Salesforce,...

We've been using Pardot for years to manage emails and landing pages, but once we added Salesforce, we saw a dramatic increase in Pardot's usefulness. Having the ability to score prospects' interactions on the web and easily hand off warmed up leads has made a real impact.

Pros

- Once you have solid templates built, creating new emails and landing pages is very fast
- Integration with Salesforce is solid, no issues with data sync in either direction
- Automation rules (especially b/t Salesforce and Pardot) can take care of a lot of mundane tasks without needing to remember to do them

Cons

- Getting started with the Program can be tough because there is so much it can do
- Reporting on data can be difficult to figure out. Not on a per-email basis, but rather on Campaign-level performance. There seem to be multiple places to get information and they don't always match up.
- Landing page templates are not responsive. Seriously! You have to have a web designer built and import them to be useful

Cody
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Standard Marketing Automation with Advanced Email and Content Tools

Reviewed on 2016/03/17

Pros

From its Exact Target roots, the email marketing capabilities are what I like the best about Pardot. I have full HTML control and can easily create my own templates, A/B test, use variable tags, view reports, and more. The use of Litmus email previews is awesome too.

I've been using the new SF Lighting UI for a while now and I like it a lot better. There were a few bugs at the beginning, but I thin they are all cleaned up now.

The folder organization is probably a feature that doesn't get talked about much, but it helps a lot. We were told to try to use them and much as possible during the initial Pardot setup, and I'm so glad we did because you'll notice content and files start piling up immediately and having a solid folder structure makes life a lot easier.

I've used a few other Marketing Automation tools before and Pardot is my favorite. It's simple, but robust enough to handle advanced needs.

Cons

The automation and "Drip" functionality is pretty simple and doesn't offer any real advanced options. For example, you can't create drip automation based on if a prospect clicks a certain link in an email, but I think there are working on that.

There are a few other little things, but nothing major. One item that Pardot could improve upon is Basic Chat Support. They only offer basic support through their Olark chat, and more than half the time I check, it shows them offline which means they are full. It can get a little annoying at times if you need something urgent. However, their case management is very good and if you have a case get escalated to a higher team, the support is very good. I've had the team spend a lot of time working on some advanced form functionality for me that helped a lot. Their knowledge base is strong too, so that usually a good place to start.

Geoff
Geoff
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Does the job but don't expect custom reporting

Reviewed on 2018/09/27

I think Pardot gets you 2/3rds of the way their with Marketing automation and you have to augment...

I think Pardot gets you 2/3rds of the way their with Marketing automation and you have to augment with other tools to get the rest of the way. If you use SalesForce connected to Pardot then you really have to do all of your reporting in SalesForce or it gets really confusing trying to sync the two together.

Pros

I like that they have a landing page builder but their user interface for building landing pages should be more competitive with what's in the market.

I like their email campaign builder interface and the drip marketing tool.

Cons

Their reporting is lacking because you can't customize it. It's hard to really know track leads through the pipeline and recycle them when they aren't ready to buy. The tagging and folder structure isn't intuitive and takes a bit to get used to.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for enterpries

Reviewed on 2019/08/16

Great tool that speaks very well with Salesforce and an essential tool in our marketing department.

Great tool that speaks very well with Salesforce and an essential tool in our marketing department.

Pros

Easy to set up and use. Many customization options and high quality.

Cons

Suppot is a bit cumbersome and takes too long.

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub

Reasons for Switching to Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Better Salesforce integration
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Expensive and UI left much to be desired

Reviewed on 2022/04/26

The only reason we've stayed with Pardot this long is because of its connectivity with Salesforce....

The only reason we've stayed with Pardot this long is because of its connectivity with Salesforce. It helps to have visibility into a prospect's engagement from both platforms. It plays a critical role in our email marketing initiatives and capturing and managing MQLs that come through our website forms. Building and segmenting our audience lists.

Pros

Creating customized email templates and nurture campaigns. Easily setup A/B testing for any email send. The ability to slice and dice your segments so you can get more granular with contact lists. Integrated well with many of the other platforms (GoToWebinar) and social media accounts (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn) we used. Obviously with Salesforce too.

Cons

Compared to other email management tools, Pardot is expensive and the UI feels outdated. Unless you spend a lot of time reading their resources and tutorials, it isn't intuitive. The Pardot forms is also confusing. They have forms and form handlers and there should be a better way of combining the two to make things simple.