Oracle Aconex

Construction Project Management Software

Overall rating

4,4 /5
(211)
Value for Money
4,1/5
Features
4,2/5
Ease of Use
4,2/5
Customer Support
4,3/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

211 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A recommended management tool for large scale construction projects

Reviewed on 2021/03/04

Keeping track of what happens in a major construction project where not only civil but other...

Keeping track of what happens in a major construction project where not only civil but other disciplines such as electrical and mechanical have to work together can be extremely difficult. This software has enabled everyone in this project to work with greater cohesion due to the ability to know what issues others are facing which makes problem solving much more efficient for the project as a whole.

Pros

I am currently using this software in an immense construction project known as "Cinnamon Life" in Sri Lanka. The project consists of 6 buildings. The ability to easily access drawings, reports and other documents from various disciplines such as architectural, electrical or civil truly helps my work. Furthermore, the ability to track approvals of site inspections, reports and drawings is crucial to keep up to date with project progress.

Cons

My biggest frustration comes from the rare occasion when the system crashes. This can be very disruptive especially if I am in the middle of completing a site inspection reply.

Kris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solid Project Management Platform

Reviewed on 2017/11/13

If you're an EPC company it'd be hard to go wrong with Aconex. We ended up selecting another...

If you're an EPC company it'd be hard to go wrong with Aconex. We ended up selecting another platform, but it was a fierce competition. In the end, we opted for one with more market-ready integrations with other tools that we currently have in place (to avoid more siloes) and that also had a UI/UX that was more intuitive for creating processes and finding files/records (viz. a modular-tool setup). There were other considerations, but bottom line, Aconex is a solid platform that really offers a wealth of value for standardizing and automating key processes. They'll definitely be around for a while.

Pros

- Clean UI/UX experience
- Configurable workflows created on front-end by user
- Metadata based system allows for rich tagging and organization of files (Document Register) and other types of correspondence (Mail Types)
- Views can be saved (and shared) for filtered searches that take place a lot (e.g. RFIs or Pending RFIs)
- Mail types offer extreme configurability to formalize/standardize certain types of exchanges between parties that require user input or approval (e.g. Daily Logs, Meeting Minutes, RFIs)
- Can pay per user or go with unlimited user option and pay a percentage/fee based on how much company commits to running through Aconex for set period of time; having options are nice though
- Reinvest 20% into R&D
- Support Central contains outstanding documentation
- Great mobile apps with wide-functionality

Cons

- Takes some mental training to know which Register to go look in, whether that's the Document or Mail Register. In my experience, this was because currently, our company stores RFIs as documents/files, whereas Aconex treats them as a Mail Type; so looking for an RFI requires searching in the Mail Register (since it's a type of correspondence) not the Document Register (note: Aconex can also handle RFI process as a document, I believe buy sending it around via Workflows, in which case it *would* be a file located in the Document Register)
- Meta data is the smartest way to organize big data however it *does* require a solid tagging system; some companies may not have this (but I'm sure Aconex would assist with this setup)
- A few Auzzy-isms are distracting to look over (e.g. Tender vs. Bid)
- Has technical potential to integrate with other software/tools through APIs but not many market-ready connections that can be demonstrated
- Almost handles entirety of project life-cycle, but a little weak on POs (i.e. not a P2P tool, Procure to Pay) and integrating the Connected Cost tool with other ERPs (note: see previous remark, it *is* technically feasible)

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

JV - Aconex Review

Reviewed on 2023/10/10

It is the main player in Oceania. Procore is not much better anyways.

It is the main player in Oceania. Procore is not much better anyways.

Pros

Record keeping of all historical project communications.

Cons

Platform is dated. Mobile access is bad. Web platform is not responsive and up to modern standards

Malek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

All the project management tools you'll ever need in one convenient location

Reviewed on 2022/07/19

Oracle Aconex has eliminated the need for us to switch between many programs in order to manage...

Oracle Aconex has eliminated the need for us to switch between many programs in order to manage projects effectively. Aconex helps us keep submission data up to date and easily locate the files we need. Aconex by Oracle Inc. Aside from saving time and money by eliminating the need for a plethora of paper forms, we've also seen an increase in the timeliness of responses to submissions from various project stakeholders. This has allowed us to stay ahead of schedule and avoid numerous delays that would have otherwise occurred due to slow approval processes.

Pros

Construction projects can benefit from Oracle Aconex's ability to bring together project owners, consultants, prime contractors, suppliers, and other stakeholders under a single platform that allows them to share and manage tasks and project documents effectively. This platform is ideal for managing construction projects. Oracle Aconex's direct link to Primavera makes it easy for me to view the authorized schedule and all submissions and records. I can also discuss updates with my coworkers. As for the RFI and delivery requests for works and materials, as well as the numerous old protocols involving all parties involved in the project, I enjoy how we minimize a lot of procedures and ensure quick approvals. Using Oracle Aconex, we can provide detailed data and manage project funds more effectively.

Cons

One of the most frustrating aspects of working in a team is that you have to teach every new member because not everyone has the same ability to learn how to work effectively in a short period of time.

Hans
Hans
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Successfully configured and implemented Aconex on several large programs.

Reviewed on 2018/01/15

Pros

It is the solid single-point-of-truth for large, complex programs. It integrates information flow (correspondence), documents, packaged deliverables, cost, field inspections and BIM together very well. It span from bid/tender phase all the way through design, construction, test/commissioning and close-out. If implemented properly with industry best practice processes, it can significantly reduce risk on large, complex programs, especially those with multiple contract and technical interfaces.

Cons

Some of the administration features are somewhat cumbersome on implementations with a large number of users, especially at the organizational administration level.

As with any software implementation, training and institutionalization is one of the hardest and most important aspects to be successful. There are a few features (like RFI closeout) that make it a little more difficult to institutionalize such that report data remains in tact.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Working with Aconex has made my work to run smoothly without any hindrance

Reviewed on 2018/01/14

The software benefited me in simplifying my work and making sure that all the data is secured and...

The software benefited me in simplifying my work and making sure that all the data is secured and available and easy to use.

Pros

The most interesting or I like most in this software is the Search engine. Whatever you are finding in the software is very easy to get by only using a specific word related to the item to be searched.

Cons

What I least like in Aconex is when you loose internet connection where you become stranded waiting or hold on what your are doing until the connection gets back. But this is common with all internet dependent software's.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We use Aconex on every major project in the office.

Reviewed on 2018/01/15

this software has allowed us to achieve better project outcomes by minimising the amount of admin...

this software has allowed us to achieve better project outcomes by minimising the amount of admin required to track and file project correspondence and coordination.

Pros

The ability to coordinate complex projects across multiple discipline is aided by the use of aconex. The accountability of each of the consultant team is critical in ensuring successful project delivery.

Cons

The most painful process that Aconex has is its document register and performing bulk supersedes through from pre-tender issues to tender documentation.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Aconex has cut our document processing time in half and provides easy access from anywhere.

Reviewed on 2018/03/19

Pros

Unlimited file size, the information/documents is always received and never lost. Easy to search for documents and able to track changes. Support Central is always available and provide excellent assistance. It is cloud based software which is accessible from any location.

Cons

Modules do not interact. Limitations to download multiple files at once. Mail Forms - characters are limited. Bulk Uploads - can't copy file names to Excel without the use of SharePoint.

Mohammed
Mohammed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good software

Reviewed on 2018/06/06

Pros

easy of finding information for any document or workflow I look for, zip download is easy too to download all files together.

Cons

- The relation between documents and workflows is not practical, you should copy the link or text from documents and go to workflows to find information, there should be a way to do that automatically.
- If I'm not in the workflow and want to download documents, there is no way except going to the original mail.

Domingo
Domingo
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Awesome and amazing

Reviewed on 2018/02/23

Pros

I like the most of this software, is the easiness accessibility. Easy to use. Exact details and Good Electronic Documentation Management System.

Cons

I have 1 suggestion on this software. To improve the design. Innovative design. The more innovative the design the more it capture the attention of the clients or the users.

Ana Luisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Aconex fully complies with internal needs and also allows the organization to be up-to-date...

Reviewed on 2018/03/20

The best practices in the documentary field for my daily job.

The best practices in the documentary field for my daily job.

Pros

Document management is a key aspect for the efficiency and productivity of organizations and ACONEX has been fundamental for the magnitude of the project in which I currently work.
Aconex fully complies with internal needs and also allows the organization to be up-to-date with ISO 30300 and the best practices in the documentary field.
Documentary management how "the strategies, tools and methods used to capture, organize, store, preserve and disseminate content and documents related to organizational processes, is much easier to achieve with the vital support generated by having Aconex with this tool .

Cons

It is difficult for me to trace - match the documents to each other for topics.
While there is a chance to download spredsheets, the is quite limit the report, could be better considering something like dashboard or something similar for all the categories of the documents.

Erac
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My experience in the document control field for oil and gas spans 12+ years.

Reviewed on 2018/03/22

Pros

What I like most about this software is how easy it is to use. I also like the quality standards it offers with recording every change that is made within the system. The dashboard has all the relevant information needed to make your daily tasks easy to manage. I also enjoy having the ability to process documentation en masse with the bulk upload function. The drag and drop feature for uploading multiple files is also appealing. Utilizing this software for our document control functions and repository has been the best experience in all my document management software experience.

Cons

I would like for org admins to have the capability to add their own projects into the software module. While I understand that to have the ease of use features on this software, it may be required for Aconex to create the projects in the module, it would be nice if org admins had that ability. But it has not been a real hindrance, since the projects were created fairly quickly once the request was made.

Emma
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Managements Project software

Reviewed on 2023/03/06

Aconex upholds development and designing undertakings across numerous industry fragments yet is...

Aconex upholds development and designing undertakings across numerous industry fragments yet is essentially intended for resource proprietors, engineers, modelers, engineers, general workers for hire, government project workers, weighty/interstate development firms and mining, power, and oil and gas organizations.

Pros

Aconex is an incredible cooperation device for work process, report and correspondence the board

Cons

Broad field reports with benefits and hindrances to highlights, ease of use, worth, and client care.

Marisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Sophisicated Software

Reviewed on 2021/12/25

The software links globally between the corporate office and the regional office. The workflow is...

The software links globally between the corporate office and the regional office. The workflow is easier.

Pros

Oracle is one of the international platforms which provides a web based applications. The Aconex Workflow function allows you to verify the document review hierarchy. The software provides a global platform that enables multiple users to collaborate. Adding new files to the system is simple. You will not lose any correspondence because all mail is saved in the Mail module and cannot be deleted. Workflow templates are simple to create. There is no file size limit.

Cons

The cost of software is extremely high if compare to the local software.

Ruzana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Aconex is easy to use due to unlimited upload and downloads file for official submission.

Reviewed on 2018/03/06

It helps to reduce times and make works easier.

It helps to reduce times and make works easier.

Pros

The workflow submission is very practical and suitable for project engineering. It reduce paper usage and helps to monitor the progress. The uploads and downloads file is unlimited which is very good for drawing submission in CAD format. It is also summarized the submission status because every submission is reviewed by many trades. Good job Aconex.

Cons

During workflow submission process, there is a bug which appear unidentified codes. It required to refresh page but it will return to the beginning and we have to start all over again. Aconex should fix these issues.

Ann
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Document Management System

Reviewed on 2018/07/24

I use it daily to upload documents that are transmitted to the Client and Vendor. It will also be...

I use it daily to upload documents that are transmitted to the Client and Vendor. It will also be used for auditing purposes, reporting and permanent document storage.

Pros

That most Clients and Vendors/Customers are beginning to see the value of this software and will use it making it an easy way to transmit and receive documents.

Another great thing about this software is I can log in from anywhere, not just my workplace.

Cons

I am not sure there is anything I don't like about this software. I guess if the system is down is what I may like least but it is usually back up and running in a short amount of time.

Luzviminda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Convenient and reliable

Reviewed on 2018/02/27

Aconex is one of the useful tool in document control. If used with full efficiency, we can trace...

Aconex is one of the useful tool in document control. If used with full efficiency, we can trace the history of not just the document but the project itself. It already has the workflow and its own transmittal

Pros

We can access anywhere. We can show traceability on the history of each document. We can conveniently create transmittal to transmi the document. The workflow is functional and worl well in the project.

Cons

Like the other software it is also has its downtime, sometimes it is slow, sometime some functionality is not working especially when doing the bulk upload.

Ashraf
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Its Graet Software

Reviewed on 2018/02/28

Saving a lot of paper works and old method of tracking any Engineering ,design documents, save much...

Saving a lot of paper works and old method of tracking any Engineering ,design documents, save much space, specially for Mega project like Riyadh metro project, tracking the previous Eng. Design , site , letters, much much documents , you canot track without this great and rich software., really I appreciate this software and strongly recommend, specially for Big /Mega projects like I did.

Pros

Actually Aconex Software is Easy to use , downloading speed is fast, search ability tool is rich,

Cons

Its Great software, but Some times goes out and other rear times get hanging, and goes out without saving .

Michael
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

worked on a number of large complex projects using Aconex and it was very useful.

Reviewed on 2018/03/01

Pros

I think the best thing about Aconex is the document registry. All drawings in one place and you can see previous versions of the same drawing and how it has progressed. Also being able to see emails on a specific subject and tracking RFIs is a very good option.

Cons

The automatic numbering system of documents is not very useful. I wonder if this option can be changed from within the system. In my company we have a very specific way of naming files so it's not very useful to have automatic naming.

Susan
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Aconex is intuitive and user friendly, fast and efficient.

Reviewed on 2018/02/26

Pros

Aconex is so intuitive that most people do not need formal training prior to using the application. Support Central is very helpful for those who need to use it extensively. From a Document Control perspective, the best feature is the ability to upload and send hundreds of files in a matter of minutes.

Cons

The main improvement I would like to see is that both a native file and pdf can be kept in the one record as opposed to requiring 2 separate records.

Vincent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Railroad Manufacture
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Daily transmittals.

Reviewed on 2018/03/26

Saves Time
flexible input methods
easy to understand
easy to train new users
unlimited uploads

Saves Time
flexible input methods
easy to understand
easy to train new users
unlimited uploads

Pros

Flexibility and convenient to use. I am using Aconex for over 8 years I found it is very flexible and convenient . when ever I faced issues I get immediate help and guidance from Customer Support

Cons

Initially I faced issues . I don't remember what kind of issues. I remember calling the customer support they mentioned there is limitation for that particular request I asked for.

Julie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Initial Project Set up is simple, and managing the metadata fields is quick and easy.

Reviewed on 2018/03/08

Pros

Aconex Helpdesk is Wonderful! 24-7 for all our needs. Our company has numerous projects all over the world, and it does not matter which project I am at, if I need help, Aconex Helpdesk is just a click or phone call away. They are fast and proficient in answering any and all my questions.

Cons

To be honest, I would like the Document Register screen to mimic the upload screen where the label fields are in sync with each other.

Zahra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Large international project with multiple specialties

Reviewed on 2018/01/16

Used Aconex on a project where the project team were located in multiple time zones and countries -...

Used Aconex on a project where the project team were located in multiple time zones and countries - made it easy to share information without worrying about the size of the files.

Pros

1) Internet based, Project material can be access by multiple teams simultaneously from anywhere in the world
2) Ability to upload, share and store large files

Cons

1) The search feature is very particular - could be improved
2) Takes multiple steps to upload and attach files/drawings

Will
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Generally a really great experience.

Reviewed on 2018/02/22

Quick and easy uploading, tracking and communicating documents and correspondence with team members.

Quick and easy uploading, tracking and communicating documents and correspondence with team members.

Pros

Ultimately the job it performs. It is a great way to track correspondence and documents. Mostly it is a good user interface with straight forward logical steps.

Cons

Some things are not so straight forward or clear, particularly with document superseding and some more "helpful tips" at each step would be good.

Tran
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It's easy to access the posted documents

Reviewed on 2018/02/26

Pros

I like this software because it illustrates well interact between Aconex and Outlook with attached link for easy accessibility. I always receive notification via outlook for posted document or announcement on Aconex.

Cons

Switching back from main dashboard and "my mail inbox" sometimes are not friendly, especially with searching a document. The software should integrate more tabs/folder to categorize different types of documentation so the user can go directly to particular folder to access the file instead of searching.