OnBase Reviews

OnBase

Enterprise content management solution

4.4/5 (45 reviews)
Stephen B.

OnBase

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with OnBase has been excellent. I don't know what I would do without it as far as keeping me organized. I recommend this software to anyone that has countless PDFs they need to keep a record of and have the option of retrieving at any given moment.

Pros

OnBase is excellent for keeping copies of all my client's purchase orders in one place. The layout is user friendly and very simple to use. I mainly use it to keep track of countless numbers of PDFs I have on file. Once imported in to OnBase, I am able to retrieve those files with a simple search. It's been a lifesaver for keeping me organized.

Cons

The only issue I have with OnBase is a minor annoyance. When I am importing documents, I am not able to drag and drop multiple files at a time. If I have 10 files to import, then I have to do 10 separate imports for each. Other than that, I do not have any complaints.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Best ECM software on the market with great workflow capability

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/13
Review Source: Capterra

Drastically improved workflow processes and document management/retention.

Pros

Best workflow engine I have ever seen, allows point and click configurable workflows with almost no need for custom scripting (though that is an option). The way it organizes document types is the best I have seen and has a LOT of capabilities for integrating with other line of business systems. The interface is very modern looking as long as you are using the desktop Unity Client or the Web based client. They also offer mobile applications that work very well.

Cons

Though the scanning features are very good and getting better the forms recognition still isn't as good as most dedicated scanning applications. Also the cost of OnBase tends to be higher than many others but I do find that you get what you pay for.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Onbase is extremely versatile, but it takes time to learn the software and what it is capable of.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

I use Onbase daily for my job, so I see benefits in streamlining and automating process through workflow which save me thousands of hours a year.

Pros

It's unique, extremely versatile, and has thousands of integration's. It's extremely useful for a lot of different purposes. Specifically I've used this for document management. It has numerous options for user administration, which is helpful. There are modules for just about everything you can think of, and most are well-made and do their job.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve to Onbase. The software licensing is not always cheap or ideal, and sometimes you can hit a brick wall due to unforeseen issues. Someone with a deep understanding of the software is an invaluable asset to any implementation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

OnBase

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I enjoy OnBase for its straightforward easy to use setup. I am able to import my customer's purchase orders and bill of materials in OnBase in seconds. This then gives me the ability to pull them up at any given time by the purchase order or sales order. When talking to my clients, I am able to refer back to their documents quickly by using OnBase.

Cons

My biggest issue with OnBase is when importing PDF files, you are not able to drag and drop more than one file at a time. Sometime I am needing to import several related documents at the same time but have to take the time to import each file one by one. Having the option to import an entire folder or more that file at a time would be a huge time saver.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Our organization utilizes OnBase for our invoicing, approvals, and T/E, which serves us very well.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/19
Review Source: Capterra

OnBase allows our organization to swiftly process invoices, approvals, T/E reimbursements, and house all backup data for transactions. The software is very user friendly and would be an asset to any organization looking to upgrade their Accounts Payable department.

Pros

OnBase is a great software to utilize when wanting a virtual database that can easily be accessed and used by users of all experience levels. The software does an excellent job in communicating with other programs, which allows our organization to have the peace of mind our financial system is correct.

Cons

The only con I have at this time is a few options, such as the print option, are not as easily accessible as previous options. It would be great to have the CNTRL-P option to print again.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Denny S.

Using OnBase in Higher Education

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/01
Review Source: Capterra

Within the Registrar's Office, we utilize OnBase and it's ability to use OCR functionality to capture information from students' transcripts for input into our student information system. This alone eliminates dozens of hours of manual labor each week. On top of that, it is a reliable, quick, enterprise imaging solution.

Pros

OnBase provides a feature-rich imaging solution that is beloved on our campus. In addition to being a solid imaging solution, OnBase features a powerful workflow engine that allows for easy automation of processes.

Cons

Depending upon how it is being used, the number of options can be somewhat intimidating. However, once a user is briefed on how to utilize the system and its tools, this is no longer an issue.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
William A.

Been working with this vendor and software for 3 years to develop solutions for customers at my job.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Onbase is truly an ECM software that can capture all of a companies business processes. From AP, and AR, to HR and even healthcare solutions, Onbase has features and functionality that allows for a wide array of solutions and configurations. Simple back-end for managers and administrators, as well as a good UI for end-users.

Cons

The wide range of configuration options and features means it takes years to learn all the capabilities of the software. Onbase support is often times unhelpful for more complicated configurations and network dependencies, often taking days/weeks to resolve more complicated issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Bonnie M.

OnBase

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/05
Review Source: Capterra

We were lucky to have been using OnBase for our document storage system, not every school in the district chose to use OnBase like we did. Being able to transfer the scanned documents from OnBase into our previous database system was different at first, but we quickly caught on how to use it. Recently the district switched to a new application system only to find that they can't upload documents directly into it. When it was announced that all schools would need to use OnBase we are happy, as we are already ahead of everyone else! Our transition to the new software has been almost seamless.

Pros

OnBase allows us to securely store and safely access student records easily.

Cons

When I first started using OnBase i had the older version (looked like an old DOS or mainframe system), and it was hard to sometimes locate student records, and/or see if there were more levels (additional documents) for the same student. But once I switched to the newer version I was able to easily see much more and drill down when a single student had more than one document scanned into OnBase.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

OnBase is a versatile, robust electronic document management system. I have been continually pleased

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/22
Review Source: Capterra

It doesn't seem obvious, but implementing this software helped us standardize our business processes. Obvious benefits are that we were able to streamline processes and keep our business documentation in one place.

Pros

OnBase is very versatile, so it can be configured to work within you environment, whatever it looks like.

Cons

Because it is so versatile, trying to figure out exactly how to build it out can be a bit confounding. Sometimes it's simpler to take a canned version of a thing and implement it, but that isn't usually the best bet.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Solange C.

Versatile system, but still has a few limitations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

Centralized document retention and management cloud based system

Pros

The ability to be Green and scan emails, word docs, excel spreadsheets directly into onbase without having to print the items first

Cons

The user unfriendliness of generating statistical reports from the system requires the assistance of an administrator. Everyday users are not able to easily configure reports. Also administrators are sometimes unable to generate adhoc reports

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Randy Z.

OnBase has gone downhill

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

all in one document and workflow management software, but the pros end there.
OnBase 13 was great, OnBase 17 not so much

Cons

we upgraded from OnBase 13 to OnBase 17 and let me tell you it is a disaster. OnBase 17 is slower substantially in every category. We are using a click once install, now it has to check the server every time you open, word, or excel, outlook or even OnBase itself for a new version, which sounds great, but this can take 30-45 seconds EVERYTIME you want to open a document. Switching from inbox to related items is very slow, 6-10 seconds, which doesn't seem like a lot, but over the course of a day where you do this 70 times, well you do the math for wasted productivity. And then there is the Random errors that constantly come up on a users system that has worked just fine for months, but there is no solution to that either. Hyland support is virtually non existent, their only solutions are run this software utility that they have. Nothing is ever resolved, they just keep "kicking the can down the road", or tell us to update to version 18. sorry after this disaster our next upgrade will be to something else. Our business users are screaming to go back to version 13.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Sonya B.

Great software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

First when I was learning about this software, I learned that so much can be done just in this system. Its so flexible that it can be used for accounting, hr, etc. The main page of this software is build-able and can be used to keep track of employees progress.

Cons

Sometimes this software freezes when you scroll around through multiple thing. You have to restart the program many times.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

LOVE THIS SOFTWARE

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I used this software while working for a credit union and we were really working about the implementation/switch but honestly it was so smooth besides a few system bugs. That's where their awesome customer service comes in.

Cons

I really don't have much to report that I didn't like. Maybe just the speed of the system, but that can always be because of network connectivity issues.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Good Paperless Option

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/18
Review Source: Capterra

OnBase made the conversion to paperless relatively seamless for my office.

Pros

OnBase offers a lot of great features that make it easy for users to adapt to working with scans of the documents, rather than the documents themselves. It offers several options for organizing, searching, and file managing.

Cons

At times it can be difficult to navigate - and can be rather intimidating without proper training. But with proper training, it's pretty easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Marishia Q.

My A/P program

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

I am a vendor analyst in accounts payable, and this is one of our main programs.

Pros

This is an effective program for accounts payable and is easy to learn and manipulate data for entry.

Cons

This program is easy to problem shoot should an issue occur, and I see nothing difficult about it's performance.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Phillip V.

Complex and Complete. Quick ROI

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/12/11
Review Source: Capterra

I am an application administrator, working to improve business functions and reduce process costs with OnBase.

Pros

This software is complex!! It allows you to do a myriad of things all in the name of streamline your workflow.

Cons

This software is complex! It takes time to grow comfortable in managing it. There are so many companion apps necessary to be successful that it can be costly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Krysti L.

Easy to Use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like how you have all documents link together so when you search a name, everything pulls up.

Cons

I don’t like that we don’t have the ability to have a workflow or a way to send documents to other departments. If there is that ability , it should be standard for universities.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Erica T.

OnBase is used in my daily tasks to view documents

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/05/29
Review Source: Capterra

Being able to see student documents on site and off site when needed to evaluate and assess their files appropriately.

Pros

OnBase makes it easy to view student documents and files to evaluate student files and assess their transcripts. Saving and printing documents when needed is easy to do as well. This system makes my job easier.

Cons

The document not found area is a bit hard to understand, however once you learn the system it is easy to figure out.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Raul S.

Resold via Wausau IMS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very modular and customizeable. Very solid software. The IMS support is excellent and responsive.

Cons

I get the best support from Wausau. If there is an issue that is refererd to Hyland then it takes a while to get resolved

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

The Ferrari of content management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Excellent content manager, excellent as a bpm, you can get the Mix with other systems (dynamics, outlook, your core software) and it woks perfectly

Cons

It’s expensive! But every cents worth it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Brian F.

Reliable customer tracking software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

The support at Hyland is great and they can find workarounds for all issues.

Pros

Onbase is a front end for a database system that can track customers in unique industries where other software does not meet customer needs. The software interface is reliable and easy to navigate. Best of all it is highly customizable. Reporting off of the database tables can be tricky as they are not named logically but by codes/numbers.

Cons

Licensing per user is a expensive. Frequent updates/service patches that require vendor support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Simplify your life with Onbase

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/16
Review Source: Capterra

I use OnBase whenever a department needs to know if a check is cashed. I type the check number and immediately I can view an image of the check.

Pros

It is easy to use, great storage capability. We use to store images of checks and it can store the information for many years.

Cons

The new version of OnBase makes item more difficult to view.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great for document management

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

This is a great program for anyone trying to go green. It's a time saver for me which is key in my work area.

Pros

I use this everyday to access documents for credentialing, I really love the fact that everything is all in one place for me to find. Document management is key and saves me time.

Cons

Make sure you get the right training, this program can be a bit confusing until you know what your doing and where your going.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Tiffany O.

Great content management

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like how all our documents can be scanned and saved on the system which gives me access to pretty much any document at any time. It's easy to search for documents as well using the different filters.

Cons

Nothing. It works great and is desktop based so it's very reliable. I suppose if you have a lot of documents saved in the system it can take a bit longer to filter at times.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Joshua L.

Does a lot but takes some getting used to

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

It allowed us to save and keep documents in a central location.

Pros

The software does what it does well. Documents can be viewed and it allows complex hierarchies. It just work, doesn't seem to have bugs or problems.

Cons

It's a bit difficult to use, takes a bit of a learning curve. And this is nitpicky, but it's not really a beautiful piece of software. It looks kind of outdated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10