36 reviews

DonorDrive

Fundraising campaign management solution for nonprofits

4,2 /5 (36 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
83%
recommended this app
36 reviews
Linda S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Donor Drive is somewhat confusing at times on the back end, but very much so on the front end.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

It did the job. It allowed people to register and fundraise for this event, but not without problems along the way.

Pros

It does what it needs to do, but not always without a struggle.
Like the ability for participants to customize their page, albeit limited.
Like the fact that we can ask for fees.

Cons

Limited ability to change the templates.
I don't care for the way the dollar amounts are displayed for fundraisers. I've gotten countless calls asking why it shows zero dollars because of the breakdown of team/individual reporting. Maybe have two thermometers or gauges running side by side.
It's also behind in the fact that it cannot accept newer means of donations including venmo and text to donate.
Limits to fonts are also a negative.
It is truly a negative that it sometimes takes days for a minor correction to be made by the developers.
The fact that I can no longer send emails out is a problem.
The one day delay in sending notifications is not good.
When entering an Organization, I don't think a name should be a required field, especially when inputting a donation
Need a way to track if incentive items have been received by a participant.
Would like a better way for returning participants to register. It's always a point of confusion, and if they miss that one link, they're registering as a new participant and they get mad because the system tells them their email is already in use. If using another one, they lose their history.
Reporting is weak and limited, especially when I have to create more than one report because of a lack of choices.

Beau K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good Service When Not Crashing

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

We are able to outsource our philanthropic websites instead of creating and managing one ourselves. The websites are surprisingly attractive and easy to use/manage. It saves our company a lot of time and money to use their services. However, it seems as if they have no cyber security for DDoS attacks. Our customers were getting double and triple charged for a week from the attack. Also, they do not automate certain functions that should be automated, like platinum upgrades for Extra-Life.

Pros

My favorite part of DonorDrive as a user is that all of their websites are similar formats (on the admin side). We source a couple websites with them and if you know how to work one website from DonorDrive, you can work with the other ones as well. DonorDrive makes websites that are very easy to control on the admin side. I am not an IT professional but I can answer almost any troubleshooting inquiries that I receive.

Cons

I dislike how hard it is to help our customers that are trying to donate in Canadian Dollars. On our website, Canadian donors can choose CAD to pay with; however, many of them send us tickets that show they paid in United States dollars, which means they paid more money in CAD then they originally wanted and usually need refunds of a few bucks here and there. There are many issues for Canadian donors. On top of that, DonorDrive usually takes a while to respond to bugs - I would like quicker customer service.

Rebecca B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

What's Not To Love

Reviewed on 2018/11/13

DonorDrive is a game changer in the peer to peer fundraising world.

Pros

The ease of use and the functionality of the software. The amount of money we have been able to fundraise has skyrocketed over the years due to peer to peer fundraising and the use of DonorDrive.

Cons

Sometimes this software can be confusing for older generations to use, if they click off a fundraisers page they do not know how to get back to it.

Cody B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I've been using Donor Drive for 3 years and it's been a pretty good experience.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

Simple to learn and it does what the company needs it to. The support team is always helpful and quick to respond to issues.

Cons

You are pretty limited when it comes to customization options sometimes. It would be nice to have more themes and layouts to choose from.

Ted G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great design capabilities. Required some arounds for unique events, but lots of functionality.

Reviewed on 2018/04/23

Great looking site with modern, dynamic feel. Simple integration of donor data into display results.

Pros

Good design, modern feel, nice responsive optimization. The integration of data throughout the various parts of the platform is excellent, offering some good cross-reference and dynamic display with donors/participants, goals reached, etc.

Cons

Although there is much functionality and variety within the platform, there are alos many constraints. There were few ways to truly customize the event structure, the ticket sales, or the display of some data/information throughout.

Colleen V.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Moving to DonorDrive made my work easier, faster, and more efficient.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

The event and constituent management features are intuitive and easy to learn. The reports are easy to customize and schedule, which allows me to automate much of my work.

Cons

The email functionality is difficult to use, and the scheduled messages must be written and loaded in at least one day before you want to send.

Megan D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Makes managing fundraising so much easier

Reviewed on 2017/05/23

Pros

I like how easy it is to navigate the backend and the control I have managing my constituents and participants

Cons

The email system needs some work and there are a few limitations in regards to reporting and promo code use

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fantastic in helping with personalization

Reviewed on 2018/06/28

Pros

Personalization and ease of use for user and admin
Customer service was always immediate and extremely helpful

Cons

Design options are limited
Offline donations are tough for clients to use
Using DD profile for different events

Angelica J.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

When we our organization decided on DonorDrive it was at the forefront of peer to peer...

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

There is definitely an ease of use for event participants. It is easy for them to use the system, send emails and other updates. The donation process is also streamlined which is important. We definitely want as few barriers as possible between our donors and their ability to give.

Cons

There are limitations to the design aesthetic for our our Affiliates. The initial set up for Affiliates, our back end users can be a bit difficult at times. The cost for DonorDrive is definitely higher than some of their competitors.

Laura H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Working with DonorDrive has been a dream!

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

DonorDrive gave use incredibly flexible and customizable fundraising software at an amazing price. Additionally, their customer service is world-class!

Pros

I love the user-friendliness of this software, but what I love the most is the incredible amount of patience and support I get from the uber-wise customer service team.

Cons

In an ideal world, I would like the ability to have human-readable URLs in place. I also think that it would be really helpful if the administrator knows a bit of coding -- sometimes that seems to be the quickest route to solving a problem, and I am not skilled in that area at all.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

DonorDrive is a great platform for our end users (donors & participants) and for admins too.

Reviewed on 2018/04/09

We are able to facilitate nearly 300 P2P fundraising events (and ticketed events) with the DonorDrive platform. We utilize it to pull reports on fundraising and donor data, communicate with participants, and provide landing pages/personal fundraising pages to nearly 300k participants.

My industry is not correct below - it says Accounting but it should say Nonprofit management.

Pros

What I like most about DonorDrive is their responsiveness and willingness to improve the donor and participant experience on the platform. I have used the platform in different capacities since 2011 and the experience has continued to improve. Where there are challenges (transitioning to mobile, or support needed for a landing page not working for whatever reason) the team is *VERY* responsive. The admin side has also had a lot of improvements to increase the ease of pulling reports, viewing data, and setting up automated communication.

Cons

What I like least about DonorDrive is that the mobile experience could improve. The pages are optimized for mobile but could be better and the payment process could be shorter for users that are not signed in. The mobile admin experience would be improved by the use of an app vs. utilizing safari.

DonorDrive has partnered with Charity Dynamics to offer a mobile experience to participants where they can ask for donations and thank their donors - which we have seen increase our participant fundraising. Our events do wish that they could have a similar mobile app where they see reporting/admin features from mobile. We know our audience is mobile first, so we hope this experience continues to improve.

Derek L.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

DonorDrive is a great tool for peer-to-peer fundraising

Reviewed on 2018/05/01

DonorDrive is a great resource for my students. I love many of the functions DonorDrive has available and I'm not sure if any other peer-to-peer fundraising sites can really compare. The benefits of using DonorDrive outweigh of the negatives.

Pros

Ability to schedule messages to participants and set up trigger notifications
Email campaigns make it easy to reach out and connect with all participants and donors
Insights for communication sent to participants and donors via email campaigns is great - looking forward to insights for scheduled messages and triggered notifications!

Cons

Information for custom registration questions lives in a different space than custom reports. I wish i could pull a custom report that includes custom questions.
There is no ability to schedule what time notifications go out.
There is no check-in option for events. I have to run a report, export it, then either print it or have it on a shared drive for check in.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

We have been working with Donor Drive for Peer to Peer fundraisers for 5+ years.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

All in all, we have had a good experience with Donor Drive. We have had the ability to support many different types of Peer to Peer fundraising on the platform. They have always been great about helping us to understand the roadmap that they are building against and see where are needs can fit into that roadmap.

Pros

As we have worked with them over the years they have steadily improved the technology and options that are a part of their platform. There is a lot of flexibility in the platform.

Cons

One of the challenges that we have had is that ability to identify a user over multiple instances of Donor Drive. We also have not had any luck working with them to consume data from an API we have created to remove a manual process

Andrew V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

DonorDrive is a great tool to manage multiple custom events in one place.

Reviewed on 2018/05/01

Pros

The best part of DonorDrive is the ability to segment administrative controls to various stakeholders. This allows you to give people just the right amount of control to accomplish what they need to, but not enough to mess anything up.

Cons

DonorDrive isn't as intuitive as it can be, or as much as some similar products. The ability to customize things is great, but there's a learning curve on how to accomplish that.

Kristi W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Helps save time, streamline communications within a user-friendly interface

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Saves time by automating communications and making most necessary reports easily accessible.

Pros

Most features are user-friendly on the back-end, and it saves a significant amount of time to be able to automate retention/reminder emails to current and past participants. Customer support is generally quick to help resolve any trouble.

Cons

Certain features cannot be modified and while basic features are user-friendly, some more advanced features are complicated to access and require many steps to integrate.

Shelby M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

From ease of use, to the multitude of features - DonorDrive is a phenomenal product

Reviewed on 2018/04/18

Pros

The DonorDrive team truly listens to its consumers and is constantly rolling out product updates and adding features that they have created in direct response to consumer feedback.

Cons

The email campaigns vs. notifications can sometimes be confusing. Sometimes unsure which one to use in each situation.

Darrin O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

impossible to get their dev team to do anything

Reviewed on 2018/04/18

They process the money for us.

Pros

easy to create api end points to pull data from, i can go in and create a list of the data i want and have access to it.

Cons

Getting api's to pull efficiently is like pulling teeth. The support team often takes months to figure out how to fix an issue.

Kendall N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Has potential to be great!

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Helps us utilize and execute events from our regular website. Tracking and data are available when you figure out how to even get to the information. Could be a great program with a little work on mainstreaming things.

Pros

Love that we can utilize our pages for specific events and add characters like a thermometer, recreate events from the previous year to mainstream things, data tracking and clientele information.

Cons

The software is very difficult and confusing to use - especially when starting out or using it for minimal events. Could be simplified and tabs made more clear. Would love to see an email function to send notifications about our events. It is very pricey for what we use it for.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall, the platform serves the purpose our organization is looking for.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

The data analytics are the most useful feature of this software. Specifically, the updates that allow you to compare info from year to year has become extremely helpful. Also, having access to years of donor data which I can download in a very clean way is invaluable.

Cons

The communication features really need to be reevaluated and updated. It is difficult to make any email from the software look attractive. Furthermore, it would be helpful if as a user, we were able to update who the email was "sent from".

Patrick C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The software is very versatile and is more than just a fundraising platform.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Without this software, I'd probably need 2-3 different platforms to do my daily job.

Pros

The reporting functionality of the back end is very extensive and very customizable. The data and records kept over years of use comes in handy for email campaigns, demographic research, and so much more.

Cons

The user interface from a fundraiser's perspective seems a little behind as far as integration with Gmail, social media etc.

Jennifer D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use software with great tech support to back up the product

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

I appreciate the reports that compare this year's events to previous years events. It's especially helpful when you are trying to reengage previous participants.

Cons

Occasionally the search feature for a constituent does not work properly. In this case if you do the extra step and go to advanced search the information is found.

Jaden W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Software!

Reviewed on 2019/03/18

I use this software on a daily basis. My experience with DD has been approximately 98% positive. This is a superior program and I would not hesitate recommending this program to anyone.

Pros

This software is very user-friendly and accessible, both administratively via the back end and publicly via the front end. One of the features I enjoy most, is to be able to login as one of the participants (without knowing their password) and make any requested changes. I also love the ability to with-hold tax receipts for ticketed events. Also, I love the new livestreaming option for DIY events! Also, the customer service is excellent. I love having a support team, who usually is able to help with my requests same day or next day. Finally, I like that it has the ability to assign a generic email address to participants who do not have one (e.g. children).

Cons

One of the cons with this software is that we are unable to create multiple pages for an FYI event, without creating a separate event all together. It would also be great if we could create a photo album for these events. In addition, I wish that the email was not the identifying factor and so that multiple constituents could use the same email address.

Rebecca B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wonderful Experience, Awesome Fundraising Tool!

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

We have increased our fundraising efforts significantly over the past 7 years.

Pros

DonorDrive is so versatile and user friendly, for the administrators and for the users and donors. It allows you to reach donors across the globe very easily using social media platforms.

Cons

This is not specific to me as a user, but I do get a lot of complaints from grandparents that the program is hard to use. I don't feel it is a DonorDrive problem, more of a generation gap.

Jenna B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DonorDrive is almost the total package!

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

The front end user experience is great and easy to use. Our constituents don't have many issues navigating and using the platform.

Cons

The reporting and the ability to customize back end things is still lacking. Our web developers have trouble with making changes that only DonorDrive staff can do. The reporting is also still lack luster and leaves a lot to be desired.

Wayne B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We had to move from one platform to another within 6 mos. Donor Drive was there for us!

Reviewed on 2017/05/23

Improved from end interface for users, quicker registration process, improved data and flexibility for reporting.

Pros

The management features for admins, the data and support are top notch. Some of the upcoming features like YOY and participant recruitment are going to be super.

Cons

We have had to have a couple of "work around" situations which I can live with but not my field so much.