Viewpoint Spectrum

Construction Management Software

Overall rating

3,9 /5
(406)
Value for Money
3,5/5
Features
3,7/5
Ease of Use
3,7/5
Customer Support
3,5/5

75%
recommended this app
Sort by

406 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I am always learning something new with Spectrum!

Reviewed on 2018/07/26

I benefit daily from spectrum from payroll and certified payroll reports it really is helpful to...

I benefit daily from spectrum from payroll and certified payroll reports it really is helpful to get those reports from spectrum and every Contractor I have sent them to has excepted them. We also benefit from job costs and equipment costs management .

Pros

What I like most about spectrum is it really is an all in one program and is always improving, also being able to pull reports on jobs and costs is very convenient and easy.

Cons

Customer support be a bit time consuming. There is so much to spectrum that it can be a bit overwhelming if you are a smaller company.

Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

New Spectrum User

Reviewed on 2022/08/23

We are still developing our processes as we are still a relatively new user, but overall we have...

We are still developing our processes as we are still a relatively new user, but overall we have had a very good experience with Spectrum.

Pros

The software was relatively easy to implement and start using after going live. There are numerous canned reports that are very helpful and it is also easy to navigate the database when creating custom reports.

Cons

The cost projection entry screen desperately needs to be updated. It was so cumbersome to use that we had to hire an outside consultant to build us an Excel template that interfaced with the system. Also, we allocate overhead based on a rate per manhour and this turned out to be a manual weekly process (our old software actually did this automatically).

Alternatives Considered

CMiC and Acumatica Cloud ERP

Reasons for Choosing Viewpoint Spectrum

Our old ERP vendor increased costs (both annual subscription fees and support fees) without any justification. Also, our old ERP made it very difficult to create custom reports and any type of import/export of data was basically impossible.

Switched From

PENTA ERP

Reasons for Switching to Viewpoint Spectrum

Cost

Response from Trimble

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, Nick. We greatly appreciate your feedback!

Les
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Spectrum ERP is adequate for a majority of your needs

Reviewed on 2022/08/23

We have not had a great experience with Spectrum from the initial sale, where we were told its...

We have not had a great experience with Spectrum from the initial sale, where we were told its capabilities in multi-company interchange, and found out it was untrue, and wanted us to pay a huge amount for this capability.

Technical support is terrible where you have to sometimes wait for weeks to get an answer. I don't know when the last time I got an answer the same day, but with our other software we do.

Pros

The import data feature utilizing Excel is a really good system.

It does what an ERP system should do, so it gets the job done, not the most efficient but it works.

Cons

This system is very click heavy and not streamlined. You have to click multiple times to get anything done, even though there is not reason to have to have extra clicks. Screen displays from on area are not consistent in another (some you enter up front info to see the input/edit screen, others the input/edit is displayed and is allowable when you enter the required information).

It is not always intuitive for each module on where to go to get the information you are looking for.

Many of the standard reports are really not helpful or complete as our last ERP system. Payroll Tax reports for state and federal requirements are not available unless you pay for custom reports at a very high premium rate.

If you write reports using Crystal Reports or SQL, trying to find the correct fields and tables are difficult at best, I spend a lot of time in trial and error trying to find the right table and fields, other ERP systems I have used have an option that you can hover over any field in the display to see the table and field used.

Not every table has an option to import changed data into the system, if something was entered/imported incorrectly (for instance they use a 2 digit year for equipment model year, upon import if you used a 4 digit year, they do not fail the import or warn you, they take the first 2-digits of the year, and after the fact you cannot modify the data except by hand). There are quite a few tables like this that you cannot change after the fact.

Response from Trimble

Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to leave a review! We want to make sure you're aware of our customer resources including Viewpoint Academy, The Network, and more. Follow the link for more information on these resources.

https://info.viewpoint.com/rs/623-NDA-487/images/Customer-Success-Resources-2022-07.pdf

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Spectrum Review

Reviewed on 2022/08/19

Pros

Spectrum fit for us as we had outgrown Quickbooks. I love the document imaging and the cloud-based usage.

Cons

You need to be well versed in Crystal reports to create any custom report = more money.
Spectrum does not seem to review suggested features that users need despite having a place to put that.

Response from Trimble

Hi Lisa,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback!

Laura
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Spectrum by Viewpoint

Reviewed on 2022/08/17

Pros

The Job Costing/Tracking abilities are great!

Cons

The Project Managers do not know how to use the software and are not interested in learning as it spins them out trying to follow all of the different reports/areas I need to pull up just to find a couple of numbers.

Alternatives Considered

Sage 100 Contractor

Reasons for Choosing Viewpoint Spectrum

Sage50 is not set up well for Construction Accounting.

Reasons for Switching to Viewpoint Spectrum

Finance and Project Management agreed on this one as Viewpoint has TEAM for the project managing side which syncs well with Spectrum.
Raj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Poor Customer Service / Technical Support

Reviewed on 2023/07/17

Poor customer service and tech support and this happens over and over.

Poor customer service and tech support and this happens over and over.

Pros

value for moneyAvailability of APIs for time entry and project entry

Cons

The technical support is very poor.We were told that Spectrum can not find what went wrong with their system unless we tell them that exact time that the system has issues.We were also told that logs are deleted at 11pm everyday.How is that even acceptable for a software that is used by external vendors?On top of all this, the tech support person was quite rude

Shannon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

spectrum review

Reviewed on 2023/07/18

Pros

Security and I like the TC1 addition to Spectrum

Cons

The reports are hard to customize and not easy to read

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Reasons for Choosing Viewpoint Spectrum

Would not accommodate construction accounting

Switched From

SAP Crystal Reports

Reasons for Switching to Viewpoint Spectrum

Security
Nancy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Implementation Phase

Reviewed on 2022/09/19

We got off to a slow start. It took about 7 weeks to get started which is causing us to delay our...

We got off to a slow start. It took about 7 weeks to get started which is causing us to delay our go live date. The implementation plan is comprehensive. I think it will make the transition very manageable.

Pros

We are in the implementation stage. I like the integration between the field, project managers and accounting. It handles intercompany well. The SDX importer uploads most of the history and settings. I think it will be a great system when we get up and running.

Cons

I don't like the data entry screens. Many items that could be entered in a grid list open an data entry window. The system doesn't let you go to the next field until required fields are complete. Also, things like timesheets are not viewable in a grid. You can only print reports. The help menu search isn't very good. It references other items that would be nice to click into.

Gwyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Our perspective

Reviewed on 2023/07/14

The implementation of the software was frustrating at best. High costs to get basic training to...

The implementation of the software was frustrating at best. High costs to get basic training to implement the software that should have been included in the purchase price. The Service Tech application has been nothing but aggravating. Notes are lost, labor hours are lost. It has taken months to get the app working correctly, but still issues arise which cause payroll issues. Running payroll is over complicated and the minimal training we have received was not efficient to learn it properly. Now that things are settled, and our data is all inputted to Spectrum, we are running a lot smoother. The staff that uses the software is trained to be able to use 75% of the software. There are many features we do not use due to lack of training and the features not being user friendly or at an additional cost. On the positive side, invoices are going out smoothly, posting AP, payments, and cash receipts are going well.

Pros

The ease of invoicing. AP invoices are instantly attached to a job or work order and the labor and notes carry over from the Service Tech App. It's nice to have all the charges already ready to be reviewed and invoiced. We do appreciate the real-time availability of the data. We can leave one site map open with data already entered and then we can open a new site map to add or change information. This allows us to not have to delete and start over on the original site map. We like the ability to be able to attach documents.

Cons

The implementation of the software was frustrating at best. High costs to get basic training to implement the software. The Service Tech application has been nothing but aggravating. Notes are lost, labor hours are lost. It has taken months to get the app working correctly, but still issues arise which cause payroll issues. Access to the work order/reports/labor report is terrible. Once the data is pulled to payroll it is not possible to pull the technician's time. There is no other report we can pull to send the guys to verify their hours.

Michelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Construction Software

Reviewed on 2018/08/07

I am a project accountant and have been a Spectrum user since 1996 when it was called ForeFront and...

I am a project accountant and have been a Spectrum user since 1996 when it was called ForeFront and this is the only construction software I've used. Overall I find the software easy to use. I've participated in training led by Spectrum trainers and their help and advise is invaluable. The ability to export data in different file types for analysis - exporting to excel file, data only is one I use regularly. We're also lucky to have an IT software support specialist with extensive Spectrum background who is able to provide SQL reports for those times when the standard reports and exports don't give us enough flexibility with the data for analysis.

Pros

Most processes in Spectrum are intuitive for the user.

Cons

As a long time user of Spectrum, we have a heavily customized Job Cost Report. It's becoming more difficult to accommodate our custom needs as new versions are released.

Krystal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Accounting nightmare

Reviewed on 2023/07/12

Started at this company, where the system was set up incorrectly, and not a single module could...

Started at this company, where the system was set up incorrectly, and not a single module could pull proper reports due to the set up. I had paid for trainings that end up without being fully trained on the modules because the set up was so wrong it did not function and the spectrum accounting processes could not function and be completed. 6 months in, and over 15,000.00 in additional trainings and partial audit of our system and still cannot complete period end process, quarter end process, or be fully trained to a properly working system. Every time I contact support, I get a response of [sensitive content hidden]. Support just directs you to the "help" files which I have already read through and they don't help, which is why I contacted them.. Tickets are also closed before a resolution.I have been trying to fix mistakes and correct the past 2 years of accounting errors and spectrum is not user friendly when errors are made that need to be corrected. You also cannot just call the past the past and move on with a fresh start for a new year, since all the reporting ties together. You have to go back and try to find every single issue (which I stated before spectrum doesn't easily let you research and find errors, especially when you are not exactly sure how the system was set up and changed multiple times in the past)

Pros

Haven't found any pros of the system compared to other systems used.

Cons

Highly dislike all accounting functions as it is not user friendly and you have to do 10x more clicks and entries just to do one simple task. Cannot find reports easily, and cannot just search a transaction, or do a quick look up for something within the entire system. You have to physically do way more work and go through every single module to find what you are looking for, then typically it has vanished and not there.. Spent 8 hours trying to find one simple discrepancy and with help from the trainer, still cannot find the error. The system is not efficient and wastes company time and money.

Susan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Human Resources, Subcontracts and Purchase Orders

Reviewed on 2023/07/18

Spectrum is an excellent upgrade from our previous platform. While there are still improvements to...

Spectrum is an excellent upgrade from our previous platform. While there are still improvements to be made to the HR, Subcontract, and PO sections I use, the product as it stands is very user friendly allowing our entire administrative team to see all changes and updates in real time.

Pros

I love the search feature which allows partial word search of employee name, vendor name, or even addresses! Having all attachments digitally available through various access points is great too!

Cons

Some areas in the employee section and lower-tier subcontract section do not allow for attachments to be added, which is problematic and requires items to be saved where they do not necessarily make the most sense. Tracking for 1095 C forms is terrible, I do not use this at all because of the inefficient upload and download for each each employee needed to track monthly. There are many changes I would make in the employee area, making it easier to record and track employee benefit information. I use a separate Excel spreadsheet to track hires, terms, benefits, required mailings because Spectrum does not meet my needs. In the Subcontract area, the character limitations in the description of each phase code requires me to download the printed form into Adobe and add detail/make edits before sending to vendors.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Full featured software package

Reviewed on 2017/11/07

As with any large, complex and flexible software package like Spectrum, it can be rather complicated...

As with any large, complex and flexible software package like Spectrum, it can be rather complicated to set up and train users in operating it. We have been overall pleased in using it since we switched back in 2009. During this time our business has just about tripled in size and we do not feel as if we have out grown it.

Pros

Lots of modules available with a fairly robust implementation, continuing active additions of new features and improvements, document imaging allows easy access to attached documents, security rights for employees can be adjusted down to individual menu selections if necessary, customer support is very good and transparent (we are notified if something doesn't work as expected with suggested workarounds - even if we didn't report the issue), and the ability to create custom reports in Crystal.

Cons

While subscriptions for updated US and state income tax tables are available, local income tax tables are not. When a sales/use tax code is entered into the screen, it cannot be marked inactive if it is no longer used (there are some other setups with the same issue). If a report has been previewed or exported in one form (pdf, for example), it cannot be immediately exported in another (such as Excel) without re-running the report. While most reports run quickly, there are some that can take a while and having to wait the additional time for the same information can be frustrating.

Lori
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Viewpoint works well for us

Reviewed on 2022/08/18

Overall, we have had very good experiences with Viewpoint Spectrum. We have been on board since...

Overall, we have had very good experiences with Viewpoint Spectrum. We have been on board since 1996 and so we are very well versed in it.

Pros

Ease of use; job cost accounting; ability to have multiple companies

Cons

I do HR and payroll, so I do feel there are features in HR that could be improved; Viewpoint, in general, works very well for what we do. Since we have had the system since 1996, there have been many integrations since we purchased and I feel like some of our processes are older and support doesn't know as much about the older processes. For example...the way we set up union codes and wage codes....evidently our way go back many, many years and there is a more supported way of doing it now, but making the transition is tough.

Response from Trimble

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that Viewpoint Spectrum has been able to grow with your business throughout the years. That's amazing you've been using Spectrum since 1996 - Thank you for your business and support!

Elizabeth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Spectrum Reviewed

Reviewed on 2023/07/11

Pros

Spectrum does a great job of job cost management, record management, and the onboarding of employees directly to software with the help of HR Management.

Cons

The payroll features and reporting are more complicated than most software I have used in the past and their are a few ways that this should be made easier for a payroll specialist. It is missing or overcomplicates the pulling of employee data that causes issues when specific report information is needed for governmental entities. Customized reporting would be helpful.

JOAN
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A daily tool

Reviewed on 2021/03/26

Pros

Spectrum gives me an instant look at open POs or subcontracts, payment history, job and equipment costs, helps to manage compliance (licensing, current COI, etc.), time reports, timecards, vendors, phase/GL/job codes. I can instantly find out whether an invoice has been paid, when we invoiced a customer, whether new equipment has been added to inventory. We have nearly eliminated paper files using Spectrum and digital files. In the past couple of years, Viewpoint has created an outstanding suite of user support that ranges from daily updates, web-based free training, and a responsive staff that helps find learning resources or the right technician/trainer to answer questions. The Viewpoint Network was a game changer for me.

Cons

The reporting function is limited if you don't know Crystal Reports, and the reports aren't consistent. Some are available in comma delimited format, which makes it relatively easy to structure the information in Excel. Others download only as preformatted Excel reports, using an older version of Excel, which is awkward to use.

Lora
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

From an AR Perspective

Reviewed on 2018/12/04

Overall Spectrum is a time saver. It has helped bring project management into the loop of being...

Overall Spectrum is a time saver. It has helped bring project management into the loop of being able to resolve customer issues.
The best part is it has allowed me to be able to work from home two days a week for a year now!

Pros

The navigation make it so you can figure out what you need to do next with a minimum amount of training on how to use the system.
The customizable reports are a great asset.
Billing reports are easy to pull together.

Cons

Draw Request is my least favorite in this system. When you open draw request it shows you in the upper right in financials you have previous work. The total schedule of values is NOT showing. If you have amounts in both this period and materials stored the system will not give you a total of combined for the draw. Also when you are in the draw the entire line needs to highlight while scrolling down for the line you need. It gets very frustrating at times.
When something is entered into job cost under the wrong phase, there needs to be a way to change the phase and not have to do multiple entries for negative to to incorrect phase and a positive to the correct phase. That would be ha huge time saver.

Stephen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Viewpoint Spectrum Overview

Reviewed on 2022/08/22

We are improving our use of the software's many features and use Spectrum's reports to track,...

We are improving our use of the software's many features and use Spectrum's reports to track, report, and monitor financial and job performance on a weekly basis.

Pros

As a construction accounting software package Spectrum offers solutions for most of our essentials. With help from a knowledgeable consultant we've been able to to modify or create the reports we need.

Cons

Timesheet entry is missing mobile components and approval processes offered by third parties. Project and document management is not as robust as Procore. Scheduling for labor, tools, and equipment and comparing against estimate, budget, and actual doesn't functionally exist. We are spending a lot of time, money, and effort to research, source, purchase, and integrate third party applications.

Response from Trimble

Hello Stephen,
Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to leave a review! We want to make sure you're aware of our customer resources including Viewpoint Academy, The Network, and more. Follow the link for more information on these resources.

https://info.viewpoint.com/rs/623-NDA-487/images/Customer-Success-Resources-2022-07.pdf

Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

ERP ...Not that easy

Reviewed on 2023/07/11

I am disappointed in the product, we were over sold, over promised, and under delivered.

I am disappointed in the product, we were over sold, over promised, and under delivered.

Pros

It was a great sales job, but not a good fit after the fact, Should have gone with VISTA

Cons

The navigation, report development, interaction with other software.. very difficult

Jill
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2013/07/23

I am employed by a large, heavy civil construction contractor in Oregon. I was hired five years ago...

I am employed by a large, heavy civil construction contractor in Oregon. I was hired five years ago in the payroll department, and Spectrum was the software that this company was already using. In the past, I had used a construction software called Foundation which was exceptional at job costing materials by piece versus hourly wage. Spectrum's latest upgrade to the new version 14 has had some major changes in the payroll and human resource module, and has taken some time to get used to. I found that the basic data entry screens are easy to use but it's taken more time to locate where the functions are than I had hoped. If our company had invested in having on-site training prior to the upgrade, I believe these changes would've been easier on all of our employees. One of our employees did attend the Seattle conference but she was disappointed that there was not more hands-on learning and training, and thought that our company should have received a team training session prior to the upgrade, as well.

Our payroll, human resource, purchasing department, contract administration, and accounts payable departments have all requested additional training with this latest upgrade so that they can use Spectrum with confidence, and complete their daily tasks faster on a regular basis. I am awaiting several changes that our company has requested from Dexter and Chaney's support team via telephone and multiple emails. The human resource module needs some serious work in terms of versatility. I am still hoping to take a crystal reports training class in order to create reports in Spectrum, rather than exporting everything into an Excel spreadsheet and spending hours manipulating the reports to get the outcome that our company required for individual, specialized reports in payroll and human resources.

The project management module also has one grave error in changing the appearance, flexibility, and directory for creating and maintaining transmittals. This particular flaw has cost our company a minimum of 5 hours per week in additional office clerical hours just to keep up the creating, sending, and scanning of all documents through transmittals. That's very upsetting to a fast-passed construction company that processes between 75 and 100 transmittals per week! The largest advantage I've seen since this last upgrade is that the system works faster on the Internet and I am able to access Spectrum from home.

Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Spectrum for Construction

Reviewed on 2023/07/07

I've been very satisfied with Spectrum. I wish my company would train more on this.

I've been very satisfied with Spectrum. I wish my company would train more on this.

Pros

There are several different features in Spectrum that all work well together that make it a great solution. Being able to track all project financials in one place and having such versatile budget breakdowns are some of my favorite features.

Cons

I'd like to add that after a long arduous process you can become pretty good at sourcing all the information you need out of this app as well. It's still not as user friendly as it could be at least for non- accounting personnel. Maybe development of some more user-friendly ways to access information for the lay person would make this more powerful for day-to-day use.

Brad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Solid platform unless you have a support issue.

Reviewed on 2022/09/15

As mentioned in previous responses the overall system is fairly stable but can be hugely problematic...

As mentioned in previous responses the overall system is fairly stable but can be hugely problematic to get even small issues resolved if you have to go to support.

Pros

The product is fairly easy to use once set up and I like that you are able to access most data via the database for reporting.

Cons

By far the worst area of this product is their support. Years ago it was fantastic and like many other companies, as it has been acquired by larger and larger firms they provide less and less value via support. In most instances I am unable to even speak with a support rep on my first attempt, I am instead added to a call list and regularly do not receive a response sooner than a week even on cases that have been "escalated" or marked as critical.

Karen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Spectrum Billing

Reviewed on 2023/07/12

Pros

The thing I like most are the Job reports, they give me all the information I need in one view. My go to is the Job Analysis which gives me a quick view of the job. From there I can look at all aspects of the project.The invoicing is also a favorite, both standard invoices and pay applications are easy to create.

Cons

It would be beneficial to me to be able to create a report where I can select the information I want, such as the Billing summary which I use every month to organize the projects. I don't need all the information the report provides and some that it doesn't, so I create an excel sheet and work from that for the billing period.

Spencer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Viewpoint for roofing

Reviewed on 2023/07/17

The experience has been positive. The team is helpful and responsive, but the platform may not work...

The experience has been positive. The team is helpful and responsive, but the platform may not work for your business structure.

Pros

Viewpoint provides a strong accounting platform for the right contracting company.

Cons

The software segmentation will not work for all company types. We have run into issues attempting to implement across all businesses areas.

Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Spectrum 14.24

Reviewed on 2018/11/01

Like all programs that have a significant number of features, the more your staff learns about the...

Like all programs that have a significant number of features, the more your staff learns about the software the better the ROI.
The user interface has a lot going on and can be overwhelming at first. However, there is a logic to it and once learned a diverse array of features can be accessed quickly.

Pros

The ability to access many features from one screen.
The connectivity of features on screen. For example, if a job is displayed, all of the customer information is available as well.
No need to add software to each workstation, software runs within a browser (I've used Internet Explorer, Chrome, Firefox and my cell phone browser, I understand other browsers are supported as well)
All reports can be emailed right from the display screen.

Cons

Many of the reports must be customized to meet user needs.
Some features are not located in an intuitive place.
Financial statement writer is basic and pretty weak.