45 reviews

WorkBook

Project & Resource Management for Advertising Agencies

4,1 /5 (45 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,1
/
5
Value for Money
3,7
Features
3,5
Ease of Use
3,8
Customer Support
4,3
78% recommended this app
45 reviews
Martin C.

overall, very positive.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

excellent resource planning and project management, good summary information for PMs. easy to use. HTML interface is much better than Silverlight now.

Cons

a lot of the reports are unclear, where figures are derived from. There are too many of them to be of real use. It would be great if reports were tailored to company requirements as part of set up.

As an engineering firm and not an agency, we feel that sometimes our core requirements are disregarded, or overlooked.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Dolan H.

UK Agency Review

Reviewed on 2015/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

We were looking for an intergrated CRM / Pipeline / Job Costing and finance system. We had conducted intensive research on the options available on the market. Our challenge was to have realtime information that allowed us to react swiftly and in an accurately informed way to work in process, not only on the external spend but the recording of time and the financial impact it was having on the project and therefore the company.

Workbook was a last minute option and we decided to have a demo in order to confirm our original choice but that demo changed our opinion and workbook proved it had arrived at a place the other systems were looking to achieve.

It is intuitive and easy to use that the key component areas of timesheets and budgets that the majority of staff use have been adopted enthusiastically. The move from our old systems hasn;t been without teething problems but customer service has been great and they have responded to all the requests and challenges we have thrown at them. There are still some challenges around certain elements in the finance section, the replacement of Sage 100 in our case, but these are now under development as thier model is to constantly seek to improve the product.

Importantly we now have the data from projects at our fingertips and this has proved invaluable and will in the long term it will have a positive financial effect on our business.

I would recommend this to any business that is fast moving, needs to record time accurately and respond to clients changes and needs quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Anne sophie L.

All in one place and still manageable - and great support department!

Reviewed on 2015/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

We have chosen Workbook because it is tailored to advertising agencies, and because we want to have everything in one place. My impression is that Workbook can handle close to everything, even though we only use a part of the functions. It is manageable divided into tabs, so once you become familiar with the structure, it is easy to navigate. And when you encounter challenges Workbook's efficient support department is always ready to assist and guide you through. However, it would be really great if they offered regular meetings with one of their consultants, to show the new features etc. as part of the support deal. I am sure we could get a better outcome if we got some occasionally guidance. But all in all, I can highly recommend the Workbook as a tool to manage projects and finance.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Erika katalin M.

not userfriendly, extremely "heavy to use", confusing trainslation, confusing set-up

Reviewed on 2015/05/23
Review Source: Capterra

The pros for the software is that is includes both CRM, Pipeline, Finance, RM and PM modules.
The contras are unfortunately many. For everyday use and as working Tool, it is absolutely not user-friendly.
Finance people, the way they think and Work, might be useful. However, sales and project managers think and Work completely different. Therefore the current set-up of workbook is far from being the best available software on the market.
The customer service is not wokring smoothly, ( a kind of stiff - compeared to another customer service experines in business life) the ticket system is lacking the possibility of seeing WHO is included in the ticket correspondance, and also the possibility of adding/deleting participants from the list .
Because of the complexity of the software, customer customized solutions are unfortunately very limited.

Response from WorkBook Software

Hi Erika

We are sorry you are not completely satisfied. Please reach out to us at [email protected] with any requests you have for improvement.
Also, you can see who is included on a ticket by checking out the little icons of peoples faces, or by looking at the resources tab. You can also easily add people either by the "add user" button or by @mentioning them. You can remove participants by right-clicking on them and choosing to remove them.

I hope this helps.
Nikolai

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Georges A.

Great software and the minds behind it are even greater

Reviewed on 2015/05/29
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using the system for a couple of years now and frankly its really great in terms of capabilities and user friendly. We use it for project Management, client profitability, resource/task allocation and timesheet. I did quite a lot of research before I found Workbook and it is the best system. Workbook guys installed the system in our data center and did us an initial training then we carried on the training and implementation across the region.
The system is very stable and easy to understand, and the guys at workbook are very supportive and knowledgeable. As to Cons; I just wish they had media module.
Good Luck Guys

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

John Ø.

Quick to learn and master for admins and users. Ideal for small and medium sized business.

Reviewed on 2015/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

Having used the software over an 7 year period I believe it to be very intuitive and ever changing. It is easy for new users to get acquainted with the interface and master the basics.
Workbook fulfills all our basic need for an ERP system, and any other needs the customer support are usually able to accommodate in various custom-made reports.
There might be a lack of business intelligence, but the vast and flexible data dumps easily make up for this.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Hans-henrik K.

Have worked with Workbook for the past 5 years and in 3 different companies

Reviewed on 2015/06/08
Review Source: Capterra

With focus on project management and related issues Workbook is perfect. With regards to finance Workbook is more than sufficient keeping the structure of advertising agencies in mind.

I am pleased to work with Workbook and I hear the same from projectmanagement. Even the production- and creative staff can use it without complaining

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Greg C.

Workbook has been an integral tool in running our business. It is simply an excellent system.

Reviewed on 2015/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

Quick and easy implementation
Cost effective
PC and Mac Friendly
Excellent support
Well received by every level of user

I have no "cons" with Workbook

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Emiliano S.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2017/12/30
Review Source: GetApp
Anders H.

The best there is

Reviewed on 2015/05/06
Review Source: Capterra

But there is room to improve.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Diana J.
Industry: Design
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The tool that best adapts to our needs, very difficult to implement

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/06/09
Review Source: Capterra

That the team is familiar with the infinity of options that it offers you is an impossible task, and although the consultants have been very friendly, we are not managing to integrate the tool into our daily life.

Pros

I looked for an ERP that could adapt to the needs of a service agency, and among a benchmark of more than 15 options we opted for a workbook for its price and proposal.

Cons

Its implementation has been very complicated, so much so that we are not yet at an optimal point in the process and not very satisfied with this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Hubert R.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Workbook: Project & Hours Tracking

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/07/30
Review Source: Capterra

Ultimately, the software was mostly used for tracking hours on tasks and assigning them to the right client. But it could get tedious depending on how many clients you have or if a client had subproject codes which necessitated using dozens of rows to track keep track of hours and billing. However, this would be more agency and client-specific issues. As a task and hour tracker, it gets the job done.

Pros

The program gives the ability to pin project codes for clients which means that if you have static clients you don't have to dig through codes week to week before beginning to insert hours. This removes a tedious part of hourly project tracking, unlike some other programs that require you to reinsert them week to week. The program also has a comment section that allows you to describe the tasks that were worked on, so it makes it easy to recall what exactly was being worked if you need to look back at your hours or track down projects.

Cons

The navigability of the software can be confusing at times. Especially if you are mostly just using the program for work task tracking. Often, I would have messages that I wasn't sure how to get rid of or messages in the inbox making you think there was something urgent that needed to be taken care of but was really for just something from the previous week like clicking on a button to resubmit approvals or things of that nature.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Anna B.
Industry: Design
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Waiting for the promised UX / performance improvements

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

I still see the huge potential of this tool, but am not sure when in the future we will be able to realise the true potential

Pros

It is one central place for all data relating to managing projects, and has some good views in the JobsList and Costs tracking. It is also great to be able to tailor your view (to a point)

Cons

There are so many bugs / performance issues throughout the system, which means we don't use it to the full extent. I cannot wait for the promised UX improvements to come to reality, but we are still waiting.

There is so much great data in the system, but it is very difficult to get customised exports in one report so current analysis is still extreme admin heavy, downloading and collating multiple exports which is far from ideal.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Jeff B.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

I love WorkBook!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/07
Review Source: Capterra

We have created more efficient business processes, reduced our dependence on emails and paper, and are now able to capture time entries for everyone in our company.

Pros

WorkBook is extremely easy to use, has all of the features we need to creative project management, and they provide us with amazing customer service!

Cons

That I didn't know about it 10 years ago.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Peter S.

Simple and straight way of working with projects

Reviewed on 2015/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

In fact so simple that I begin to question my own business also is simple in the way we work/face our clients :-)

"Ease of use" rated as 3 due to a lot of new functions witch I have to be familiar with.
WorkBook 8 is browser-based and do not have the same speed/response time..It´s annoying to double-click in the fields all the time.

Customer Service is 1st class, but miss the old online WB-Support function witch have many topics as fx. "to do at year end", "Setting mileage rate" a.s.o. ...and it was written in Danish !

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Dan E.

Using WorkBook is the only way to run a successful agency.

Reviewed on 2015/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

Having used dozens of different pieces of software, I am very grateful that I have finally found WorkBook. It is a fully integrated solution that includes CRM/Pipeline Management, Collaboration, File sharing, Client Portal, Project and Resource Management and built in Finance & Accounting module. All this in a very simple and intuitive user interface.

The key to running a successful agency is having the management information available in real time to make decisions. WorkBook achieves this brilliantly!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jacob jensen

Workbook - just works.

Reviewed on 2012/09/25
Review Source: GetApp

Right information, at your hand, enabling you to react to the good of the projects, your people and your bottom line.

Erik T.

Workbook

Reviewed on 2015/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros:
We have used 3 different PM-tools previously and about 20 trial versions of different PM-tools previously before Workbook. No other tool keeps their promise like WorkBook when it comes of being the full solution. Most other tools can't even do half of the features that WorkBook handles. They really have an extensive solution for all parts of our business; from CRM, to Cost calculations, Quotation, resource planning, time reporting, flex-hour handling to billing and accounting and analysis all in the same interface. The platform also handles global multi-regional clients and billing in a good way. A need for us since we are handling clients with multiple debtors scattered across different countries. I know no other platform which handles that without being a very expensive custom made platform. WorkBook easily handles different regions with individual currency, payment cycles and VAT rules, making a lot of the process automated. Just set up your client sub debtors and it's all there.

Cons: WorkBook is very extensive, so I would not recommend this product to smaller companies. WorkBook suits companies where there's a resource available for handling Admin / Traffic of such a tool. So if you don't have that setup, then it is not a tool for you. In other words, probably a solution for minimum 10+ employee companies.

Summary: WorkBook is the only one out there we found that handles pretty much everything you need for Admin of an enterprise and at an attractive price. But it is not for micro-companies with 3-10 employees.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Fred P.
Industry: Design
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The right decision

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/17
Review Source: Capterra

Overall we are very pleased with the decision we made

Pros

Multiple functionality is streamlines a day-to-day workflow and allows us to analyse what’s going on from so many angles

Cons

Learning to use this software took far too long and was not well administered. People teaching uscdidn’t seem to have a grasp on our business. No this happened a year or two before Deltek took over, I was not administered by them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vladimir V.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Good planning software!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to schedule and manage time. Easy to create projects and tasks.

Cons

The software is not flexible in term of features. Hard to personnalize for specific needs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Andreas B.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Bilsing Automation GmbH

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/02/08
Review Source: Capterra

We are using workbook with nearly 150 users in 10 subsidiaries. The go live was 01.01.17 with our headquarter in Germany. At the moment we are using just the scheduling functionality. The next step will be to start with the booking of the needed time. Parallel we will start the rollout in all our subsidaries.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patrick V.

The software for the future available today.

Reviewed on 2015/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

Although the software at first side looks 'complex', after getting to know it better I do not find any other competitor in the segment of project management ERP which has the unique combination of all the project features and finance combined into an affordable cloud based offer.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Sverre E.

Good workflow. Everything in one place.

Reviewed on 2015/08/03
Review Source: Capterra

Visual Garden is very satisfied with using Workbook. Having all important data in one system gives us a good workflow and overview.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jacob E.

The best ERP and projekt tool ever

Reviewed on 2015/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

Mediegruppen has been working with similar systems for 18 years. Workbook is even better, and is a mayer part of our daily work, life and succes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Frants e. M.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2018/02/24
Review Source: GetApp