45 reviews

WorkBook

Project & Resource Management for Advertising Agencies

4,1 /5 (45 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,1 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
78%
recommended this app
45 reviews
Tomasz W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Extraordinary tool with good support

Reviewed on 2015/05/27

We've been running our consulting and accounting business for over 20 years. Most of the time we used various project management, time tracking and billing systems. Last year we decided to introduce WorkBook and replace the previous system we used.

As we knew what we needed, the implementation was fast (approx. 5 working days). The new solution was easily accepted by all people in our organization and we didn't experience any challenges in this area, opposite to previous systems.

Some features that were important for us:
- multi-language interface,
- invoicing in many currencies and languages,
- direct access to the database allowing easy creation of own reports and integration with other systems we use,
- easy administration,
- ticket system for quality management system,
- conversations that are very useful not only for communication, but also making reports of the minutes and tracking various project activities.

When we started using the Polish interface we found many translations inaccurate or even funny. We were not very happy about it, however the translation tool allows us not only to adjust the translations to the Polish language, whenever we find a mistake, but also to the nomenclature we use internally.

The only thing we miss is a wiki module that would allow to describe the internal processes and tracking their changes.

The customer service answers very fast, what is not to overestimate these days - 5 stars in each category.

Micaiah N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good, robust agency software

Reviewed on 2017/02/15

We are a full service marketing agency who started using WorkBook in the last year. The software has been great at addressing a lot of our project management needs such as resource scheduling and project timelines and management.
We started using the software in the midst of their transition from V8 to V9 which made implementation a little difficult, as we had to switch between two versions and ran into product bugs. However, since the release of V9 a lot of those initial issues have been addressed and we run into much fewer issues now. The software is very robust so implementation can be daunting, but our implementation specialist and the support team have been great throughout the whole process.
We've noticed a big difference in a lot of our internal processes since switching to WorkBook and I would recommend the product to other agencies and companies that are looking for a project management solution. The software has a lot of other capabilities beyond project management including a CRM, which is one of the key reasons we chose WorkBook over other project management platforms.

Jesse a. P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Top notch features. Perfect project management tool for agencies.

Reviewed on 2015/05/08

We have been using Workbook for years. Heavily used others in the past. Nothing like it. When we chose them, I looked at their client list and was impressed.. big agency names and there is a reason for it. Researched on the other side of the pond to find our tool. Investigated small and large agencies and the response was pretty much unanimous: Workbook.

Pros: Clean nice looking and elegant. Offer modular pricing and easy to adopt solution. VERY easy to implement as their team will actually spend time with you and do it for/with you to ensure that you are set from the get go. Really works from day one. Great Todo all customizable and easy project management tools for the agency folks.

Simple interface. Mobile apps. HTML5 looks great with kanban task view an mobile access. Simplified CRM (we got rid of SF), project management & accounting. A few weeks realistic to implement. Awesome team too and they developed custom features for us.

Cons: Occasional Danish word in the interface. Limited custom reporting. Dashboards and expense app not ready yet. No custom widgets.

Alex B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Complete but NOT complicated

Reviewed on 2012/10/11

I advice to use this system as a complete management platform for any services company (e.g. from 10 to 200 users).

You can reach me if you need any information!

Pros

1. Easy to use, very intuitive for the everyday use of any services organization.
2. Economical (pay just for the users needed every month)
3. Nice user interface
4. Does not force you to enter all the information, just the one you need
5. Fast to deploy in your organization (2-3 weeks)

Cons

1. If your people does not want to enter timesheet, it's not very useful.

Laszlo S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool to cover the whole business cycle of a project driven organization

Reviewed on 2015/05/27

We have just gone live following a lengthy implementation process so my experience is limited. What is clear from start is that this is a very complex and comprehensive platform that enables us to manage most of our processes around projects: pipeline, quoting, resource allocation and usage, time sheet recording, measuring effectiveness, recording expenses, purchase orders, invoicing, keep track of profitability in a granulated view - in short: a tool that gives you the valuable sense of being in control.

Raluca G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good PM tool, poor Sales and CRM

Reviewed on 2015/05/08

Pros - easy to use by basic users and project managers
Cons - inflexible reports; not enough focus on the sales tool - the sales people can't properly keep track of their sales (Pipeline); too many interdependencies that sometimes make working with it a hassle; the use of Silverlight on non-windows operating systems; not enough integration with all web browsers (on Firefox - the fan goes balistic, on Safari - I cannot scroll, on Chrome it doesn't work);

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Can be complicated without training

Reviewed on 2018/03/08

Time tracking at work

Pros

I enjoy how responsive the Workbook team is to assisting in custom builds to accommodate certain business structures

Cons

The software isn't as user friendly as I'd like, and the system can be fairly confusing (and not particularly intuitive) if you haven't received proper training.

Kim jong A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

BEST AGENCY SOFTWARE EVER!

Reviewed on 2015/06/22

I've been working with Workbook for a decade and implemented it at several agencies. It's by far the best end-to-end software in agency management today both in managing projects, resources and finances.

Daniel G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very good product! all in one place

Reviewed on 2015/06/14

After a long search in a sea of options we have found all we were looking for in one place.
Super convenient and allows full visibility and traceability.

Very good product, recommended!!!

Rashed H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

People can rely on this software.

Reviewed on 2015/05/29

It's user friendly. People can quickly rely on this software. It's dynamic but not complex that much. Its customer service is quick responding and reliable.

Graham F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall i believe Workbook has great potential, but we have not been able to harness it yet.

Reviewed on 2015/05/06

Workbook does a great job of collecting user data, but is weak on reporting. I feel there is a wealth of info, but unable to unlock it. We have struggled with the 'exceptions' - correcting user errors, subscriptions. Finance module is unusable in its current state.

Diana J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

The tool that best adapts to our needs, very difficult to implement

Reviewed on 2020/06/09

That the team is familiar with the infinity of options that it offers you is an impossible task, and although the consultants have been very friendly, we are not managing to integrate the tool into our daily life.

Pros

I looked for an ERP that could adapt to the needs of a service agency, and among a benchmark of more than 15 options we opted for a workbook for its price and proposal.

Cons

Its implementation has been very complicated, so much so that we are not yet at an optimal point in the process and not very satisfied with this.

Hubert R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Workbook: Project & Hours Tracking

Reviewed on 2019/07/30

Ultimately, the software was mostly used for tracking hours on tasks and assigning them to the right client. But it could get tedious depending on how many clients you have or if a client had subproject codes which necessitated using dozens of rows to track keep track of hours and billing. However, this would be more agency and client-specific issues. As a task and hour tracker, it gets the job done.

Pros

The program gives the ability to pin project codes for clients which means that if you have static clients you don't have to dig through codes week to week before beginning to insert hours. This removes a tedious part of hourly project tracking, unlike some other programs that require you to reinsert them week to week. The program also has a comment section that allows you to describe the tasks that were worked on, so it makes it easy to recall what exactly was being worked if you need to look back at your hours or track down projects.

Cons

The navigability of the software can be confusing at times. Especially if you are mostly just using the program for work task tracking. Often, I would have messages that I wasn't sure how to get rid of or messages in the inbox making you think there was something urgent that needed to be taken care of but was really for just something from the previous week like clicking on a button to resubmit approvals or things of that nature.

Anna B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Waiting for the promised UX / performance improvements

Reviewed on 2019/08/28

I still see the huge potential of this tool, but am not sure when in the future we will be able to realise the true potential

Pros

It is one central place for all data relating to managing projects, and has some good views in the JobsList and Costs tracking. It is also great to be able to tailor your view (to a point)

Cons

There are so many bugs / performance issues throughout the system, which means we don't use it to the full extent. I cannot wait for the promised UX improvements to come to reality, but we are still waiting.

There is so much great data in the system, but it is very difficult to get customised exports in one report so current analysis is still extreme admin heavy, downloading and collating multiple exports which is far from ideal.

Jeff B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I love WorkBook!

Reviewed on 2018/11/07

We have created more efficient business processes, reduced our dependence on emails and paper, and are now able to capture time entries for everyone in our company.

Pros

WorkBook is extremely easy to use, has all of the features we need to creative project management, and they provide us with amazing customer service!

Cons

That I didn't know about it 10 years ago.

Peter S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Simple and straight way of working with projects

Reviewed on 2015/05/27

In fact so simple that I begin to question my own business also is simple in the way we work/face our clients :-)

"Ease of use" rated as 3 due to a lot of new functions witch I have to be familiar with.
WorkBook 8 is browser-based and do not have the same speed/response time..It´s annoying to double-click in the fields all the time.

Customer Service is 1st class, but miss the old online WB-Support function witch have many topics as fx. "to do at year end", "Setting mileage rate" a.s.o. ...and it was written in Danish !

Dan E.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Using WorkBook is the only way to run a successful agency.

Reviewed on 2015/05/27

Having used dozens of different pieces of software, I am very grateful that I have finally found WorkBook. It is a fully integrated solution that includes CRM/Pipeline Management, Collaboration, File sharing, Client Portal, Project and Resource Management and built in Finance & Accounting module. All this in a very simple and intuitive user interface.

The key to running a successful agency is having the management information available in real time to make decisions. WorkBook achieves this brilliantly!

Jacob jensen
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Workbook - just works.

Reviewed on 2012/09/25

Right information, at your hand, enabling you to react to the good of the projects, your people and your bottom line.

Stephen W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent PM tool with all things integrated

Reviewed on 2015/05/13

WorkBook is a great all-in-one solution and there is nothing like it on the current market.
We used to have multiple systems for different departments, but WorkBook has everything integrated. We now have time tracking, project management, resource management, budgeting, forecasting (incl. pipelines), CRM and all finances in WorkBook. We are in the process of setting up the also-integrated support system.

The WorkBook implementation team helped us get started and customized everything for us. We were up and running in three weeks! They were also good to implement features that we need for our projects.

Cons are the limited reporting in finance, but you can export everything to Excel, so we just manage the data ourselves. It's also a bit hard to get started and get to know the system (even though training is part of implementation), but once you get the hang of it, it's all pretty straight-forward.

Tons of features - I would definitely recommend WorkBook to everybody! But the best part is that you only pay for what you need!

Veronick L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy workload planification

Reviewed on 2020/01/31

Easy overall visibility on the workload of a team. Easy modifications to the planning daily.

Pros

Good visibility on the workload of the team and easy changes regarding assigned hours. Création of projects.

Cons

Not easily adaptable to specific needs of a team, organisation. Problèm with our web server, Many delays during the day within the software. The interface could be improved for a better and more modern and fun user expérience.

Trevor T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Workbook is ideal too to manage the profitability of your services business

Reviewed on 2012/10/16

Workbook is a great product that will suit the needs for most sized marketing and communications companies. It is easy to use and easy to implement. A great tool for managing your business

Pros

Workbooks is centered on project/resource/task framework which makes it easy for agencies to manage their client workload and help control the profitability of their work. The ability to interact directly with clients thru the portal is a great feature. The integrated CRM and Accounting functionality provided make this a complete system for the small to medium sized agency, wanting to save time on administration and to manage their project more efficiently.

Cons

Requires Microsoft Silverlight which is not available in all browsers (Chrome for example)

Tine D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Flexible yet standardized system

Reviewed on 2015/05/27

We were looking for a system that could support our growing company, number of employees and costumers. It had to be easy to use, easy to maintain and easy to update.

Workbook gives us a system that gives us all that we need at a fixed price - and there's no hidden costs in expensive updates that takes days to set up.

At times we get great ideas for new functionality (at least we think so ourselves) and very often we get a quick reply that Workbook also finds it's great idea and develops a solution for all users of Workbook. We find that's one of Workbooks strongest advantages - it's not only Workbook who develops and improves the system but also the users.

Hanne T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Workbook is designed for my kind of job

Reviewed on 2015/05/27

As an account manager in the advertising-very-hectic-business it is perfect to work with Workbook - it gives me a complete overview and structure in my daily worklife. I have all information gatheret, because my server talks to Workbook and automatically creates maps etc.
And whenever I have a problem or a question the support always gives me speed of service.
My best recommendations for Workbook :-)

Alex L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Powerful yet simple project management office suite

Reviewed on 2015/05/27

I have used WorkBook v8 and I will share my opinion:

Pros:
+ Very intuitive and fast-to-use interface
+ Integrates nicely all the process: from registering a sales lead to controlling the delivery of a project
+ Powerful resource management (people availability & assignments)

Cons:
- Until now, the interface was Silverlight, now it is going to HTML5

Jens G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Indispensable software to use for an effective working day in the consulting industry

Reviewed on 2015/05/29

For many years WorkBook has been Peoplegroup's anchor to structure our work, and it have contributed to a thorough and valuable input about our company's current status and expectations for the future.
Specially the many types of profitability reports gives us an exact picture of all aspects of our business that allows us to keep our high standard.