FileHold Reviews

FileHold

Document management software for larger organizations

4.7/5 (42 reviews)
Chad H.

FileHold is a user friendly and powerful system!

Reviewed on 2016/05/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Software is user friendly but offers a wide range of features that makes it appropriate for a wide range of organizations. As a re-seller we have had great success in municipalities, health units, employment agencies, etc.. and each organization's requirements have been met. The support team is also very knowledgeable and responsive when needed.

Cons

There are some features that don't work perfectly for some of the processes that our customers try and complete, but that isn't a problem with the product, just a limitation. I don't have any negative opinions at this time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Fraser D.

A fantastic document management system

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/31
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

- the search options are extremely useful and save so much time finding documents
- FileHold is very well structured and we have made use of a lot of additional functionality such as sign off, review periods and acknowledgement

Cons

- it might be good to be able to customise your workflow a bit better, but the standard layout is perfect as is

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ramesh K.

Synergy Software Systems - FileHold DMS

Reviewed on 2016/05/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Easy to use functionality, Connector to add documents & excel files directly from Word/Excel. Content Search, Save Searches, Redaction, Sticky notes, and lots of other useful & effective features.
Supports both thick & thin clients.

Cons

Workflow designer in a graphical representation with drag & drop of the fields in the product is not available.

Vendor-wise no negative comments.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Rebecca S.

Document Control Specialist

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall I would recommend this product. If you are moving from a network type system to a DMS , this is the way to go. You do not need to be a programmer to get this thing going. All you need is a few hours of IT time and the rest you can do yourself. I implemented our program in 2 months time.

Pros

Easy to implement and easy to configure to my company's business requirements
The searching capability is wonderful and greatly reduces the time it takes to find a document - we are now getting structure out of mayhem!
The library structure makes using FileHold easy even for the most novice of users

Cons

Navigating through the workflows is cumbersome and clunky. I have to click here to find one thing...go back to another screen to find others.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Eric P.

FileHold DM Software - Great Value

Reviewed on 2016/05/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The product can be used in a basic configuration or an advanced configuration with many features for complicated environments.

Cons

The only challenge we face with implementation of this product is the shift from the normal PC file system to a DM system which is mostly a user issue

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Khalid A.

Solution Provider

Reviewed on 2016/05/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Ready to run out of the box.
Competitive price.
Great support.

Cons

Nothing. I really like the software and it meets all my (and my clients) needs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
John S.

Premium ECM solution with multitude of benefits

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Not just a document archive, FileHold, also offers a suite of content management modules that have helped us become paperless.

Cons

The workflow routing tools were a bit complex at first, but the documentation and support helped get us where we needed to be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Omarie P.

FREE & USEFUL! Like most Google Softwares :)

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This is a nice, simple solution for note-taking. Much better than having a million post-it notes scattered on your desk everywhere! I enjoy using the notes for to-do lists, websites, reminders, you name it. And it's great that it is free to use! I like to use it on my iPad as well with my apple pen because it really works like a sticky note, and you can change colors which is a bonus.

Cons

I would like their to be a feature to password protect a note for things like passwords. Other then that it's great!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Nicole P.

Easy Navigation and handful Menu options

Reviewed on 2016/05/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The app has easy to use navigation. There are a number of menu items with a few submenus as well. There is a number of features in this app to perform various operations. It’s a kind of app which has features for every other department

Cons

Great app with good functional features. No issue with any of the existing functionality here.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
George P.

A simple and powerful way to manage large document sets

Reviewed on 2016/05/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

FileHold is as intuitive as it is powerful. With its metadata-based architecture, FileHold allows me to find the exact documents I need faster and easier than any other document management platform.

Cons

I hope they release a Mac operating system version soon!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Merv R.

We actively recommend FileHold as a Document Management system and as an excellent companion product

Reviewed on 2009/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

We actively recommend FileHold as a Document Management system and as an excellent companion product with the Eloquent KM Suite. Together they manage the entire life cycle of all records from creation to permanent archives or destruction.

Pros

Eloquent Systems has a Web-based Knowledge Management software suite that does not have a Document Management component. Using the API's provided we were easily able to integrate the two products.

Our products could always link to digital content of most types. Now it can link directly to a FileHold folder for a seamless. A search into the Eloquent KM software will find documents stored in FileHold as well as the various Eloquent applications.

Cons

We have limited hand-on experience with the product, but understand the application well and do not find FileHold lacking in any way.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Charon L.

Professional file management system

Reviewed on 2016/05/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Life cycle Management, Advanced Search and used history log

Cons

Microsoft Office Integration and Optical Character Recognition (OCR) and Indexing

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Jeff H.

Improved Search functionality

Reviewed on 2016/05/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The app provides advanced search functionality. With advances search files and content can be searched quickly. Seems the database tables have good indexing configured on tables on main fields. Search too fast.

Cons

Collaboration functionality needs some improvement. Sharing with friends works but sometime does not send notifications which can be improved.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Matt D.

Easy deployment and Calendar support

Reviewed on 2016/05/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The software is very good and have great features. Can be deployed on the cloud with help from support team. It keeps me organized by sending reminders of my events overtime.

Cons

User interface is good but can be changed to have good color combinations. Colors will make good effect and will improve the UX.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Austin T.

Documents lifecycle can be streamlined

Reviewed on 2016/05/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

FileHold has functionality to streamline workflow for documents by creating a few rules. It helps to stay organized and access records as needed.
It is quick to access files as needed from servers, File uploading process is smooth as well.

Cons

Since it supports calendar. Would it be possible to sync my Gmail calendar events?

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Loreto M.

Great Job FileHold!!!

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Aside from FileHold is very easy to use, what I like about this system is that it really helped our company to become paperless. We can store different files with the help of Excel and or MS word..So great!

Cons

Great job with all of its functionality and modules. So far I do not have any issue with using FileHold.....

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Bob B.

Makes going paperless easy

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Provided multitude of plans to get our iron mountain files electronic. We are now managing retention of these documents through FileHold.

Cons

Unfortunately the scanning features a little limited. Indexing can be quite manual. Wish the had more of an advanced intelligent capture solution with in their module suite.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Michal K.

If you need a software you want to be intuitive from one hand and a powerfull tool from another.

Reviewed on 2009/03/24
Review Source: Capterra

If you need a software you want to be intuitive from one hand and a powerfull tool from another - choose FileHold. Rememeber, it is an electronic library - so whenever you change, add, delete or even delay something, your boss will know it ;)

Pros

As an electronic library, File Hold is a perfect solution. It has all the features such a software should have and even more! A proper use of the smart folder functionality gives you a tool for making a "soft" workflow. "Hot key" functionality integrates FH with other systems you are working with. And it is easy, really easy to use.

Cons

I use FH as an electronic library and it is perfect. I find no problems at all.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Marc D.

Image Advantage Solutions Inc. Experiences with FileHold

Reviewed on 2015/10/28
Review Source: Capterra

Image Advantage Solutions Inc. became a FileHold partner in 2005 specializing in offering FileHold to Municipalities and other government organizations along with private industry. We have installed many systems since that time and have been "FileHold Partner of the Year" in 2012 and again in 2014 and are the only Partner to have won this prestigious award twice. Every client that we have sold FileHold to is very happy with the system. The features, pricing and service have been excellent. The Workflow is powerful yet easy to understand. FileHold is one of the few systems where users may create their own workflows.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Chad H.

FileHold has a wide range of capabilities and functionality, but is easy to use and affordable!

Reviewed on 2015/10/27
Review Source: Capterra

I have been working with FileHold software for 5+ years and have experience implementing the software into 15+ municipal/government organizations. The software can offer significant improvements in business processes, workflow, records management and more. FileHold releases upgrades on a regular basis that keeps it current and continuously expanding to offer new/improved features. I would strongly recommend FileHold to any organization looking to improve business processes with a solution that is easy to use and easy to learn, but at the same time having a wide range of capabilities and functionality.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Eric P.

Great product that is stable, scalable, and well-tested.

Reviewed on 2008/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

Great product that is stable, scalable, and well-tested.

Pros

1. Very simple and straight-forward setup.

2. Licensing model allows smaller organizations enter into a document management solution and have it grow with their business.

3. Functionality available for the basic purchase exceeds that of competitors.

4. The use of web services allows for the ability to develop solid API's and access a repository from anywhere.

Cons

1. There is no import application that comes with the product for easy conversion from other storage software or scanning projects

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Reggie T.

An effective and practical solutions for businesses who.

Reviewed on 2009/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

An effective and practical solutions for businesses who want to embark on a Document Management solution and grow with it.

Pros

Very feature rich solution. Easy to use and practical. Incorporates all the basics in dealing with documents, captures, stores and enables effective and efficient retrieval of documents. Scalable solution that grows with the business. Cover the whole document lifecycle.

Cons

Client are a bit apprehensive of remote dialing in for support and maintenance although it significantly reduces the overall cost of implementation and support & maintenance.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Robyn S.

Solid!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/29
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We used this at a CPA office and it was very reliable! I felt like my files were being saved securely.

Cons

I don’t really know of any. It took a minute to figure out how to navigate through the interface but not long

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Michel M.

FileHold robust and user friendly plus excellent support

Reviewed on 2015/01/29
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The vendor is very supportive, and their customer support team always responds quickly. The product is very efficient and robust; no bugs encountered. It is a very user-friendly EDMS.

Cons

The customization and addition of metadata is very easy.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Eric P.

An application that just works!

Reviewed on 2012/03/14
Review Source: GetApp

We have been working with FileHold for over 4 years. During that time, we have not had a more stable, feature-rich and better supported application in our environment. The product is full of functionality that adds value to the platform and is not just "bells and whistles."

Pros

Stability
Compatibility/Integration
Ease of use
Accessibility to Data

Response from FileHold Document Management Software

The FileHold mission statement was to build a product that is feature rich and affordable for organizations of all sizes - that mission has been accomplished - Larry Oliver - President