NetSuite SuiteCommerce Reviews

NetSuite SuiteCommerce

Web store and Ecommerce Software

2.6/5 (12 reviews)
Chad G.

Netsuite Suite Commerce Advanced - Financial Black Hole

Reviewed on 2015/11/10
Review Source

We have been with Netsuite for almost 9 Years. It is time to make a change. We are an ecommerce business. About 18 months ago we made the change to their Suite Commerce Advanced platform. It has been devastating to our business. The platform is a stand alone platform that is patched together with a clunky and complicated integration to netsuites backend. The SEO is horrible, Site speeds are much slower than promised, Simple processes like installing tracking and conversion codes is complicated. Exporting information for product feeds is requires custom programming. Content Management is crap. Managing Matrix items with parent and child relationships is tricky with out dumping duplicate content all over the site.

The worst part is that it does not get FREE bi annual upgrades like the rest of Netsuite. Or like the Sitebuilder version of netsuite ecommerce did. It is no longer the software as service that they boast about. Since it is its own platform you have to mange enhancements through Bundle Upgrades which are so dramatic they require a tremendous amount of labor expense to do them properly with out blowing up you existing site. They did do the first one for us for free but it took 3 months to get the site back to pre-upgrade functionality resulting another major hit to our sales volume. Now 6 months later there is another bundle upgrade and they have offered to migrate us to it for 45K. They said it would take 250 hours. at 180 per hour. This is just for an upgrade to the most recent version. So in 18 months our site would be rebuilt twice just to try and eliminate

Netsuite Suitecommerce Advanced is financial black hole! If you are considering netsuite to run you ecommerce business then I would strongly encourage you go with just about any alternative.

Pros

Netsuite ARP and CRM are excellent!
Pick, Pack and Ship -Excellent
Inventory Management -Excellent
Customer Support in these areas are great.

Cons

Suite Commerce Advance is horribly expensive.

The platform is patched together with a clunky and complicated integration to netsuites backend.
The SEO is horrible,
Site speeds are much slower than promised, Slower than other platforms that are this expensive.
Simple processes like installing tracking and conversion codes is complicated.
Exporting information for product feeds is requires custom programming.
Content Management is very complicated.
Managing Matrix items with parent and child relationships is tricky with out dumping duplicate content all over the site.

Overall for 13 user licenses you can expect spend about 50K a year. If you want ecommerce it is more expensive. Add at least 70k to get site developed and then be prepared to continue to flush money down the train to get it functional and to pay heavily for desperately needed upgrades every 6 months.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Joshua P.

SiteBuilder/Ecommerce is out of date with the latest trends

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/04/19
Review Source

Pros

All-in-One bundle; can handle payroll, employees, reporting, marketing campaigns, etc. I feel that it's idealistic if you don't want to have to use all sorts of third-party applications like quickbooks.

Cons

Ecommerce seems is out of date, and lacks features. There are features have been in queue for over three years and due to that, people have to resort to spending thousands of dollars on a developer when we're already spending enough on licenses for employees, websites, and other features.

no sitewide HTTPS - every page but the shopping cart will be unsecured.

no google/bing integrations - there's no integration for google/bing adwords and analytics - scripts have to be pasted onto certain pages

no microdata integration - you'll have to use custom scripting to pull values for these fields, and script the tags into every page

no customer support - you have to pay for support, and most times netsuite CSRs will direct you to their knowledge base. most of the time for me, I was given articles nowhere close to what I was calling about.

javscript based - chances are you're most likely going to be coding 3/4 of your site with javascript and suitescript. because of their limitations to pulling data for items, you have to resort to javascript for alot of things. Other ecommerce platforms will pull data simplistically with tags like {{{price}}}, in NetSuite you'll have to complicate things with tags like <%=getAttribute('itemid','itemdataitem','')%> every now and then, I'll run into scripting problems because of this but have been rare recently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Craig V.

Great ERP system. Suitecommerce advanced is not ready.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/14
Review Source

We have been working with Netsuite on this website for nearly 3 years now. At first we were weighing options for website platforms for two sites (one wholesale and one retail). We decided to go with another platform because the monthly fees for two suitecommerce sites were not in our budget and the platform provided more value for us. When we explained to our Netsuite rep why he lost the job he quickly offered to host both sites for the price of one site. We had a 30 day out on the contract with the other company so we decided to cancel based on the new offer and go with Netsuite.

We signed the new contract with Netsuite and the first website was completed 6 months after it was supposed to go live. We received a new sales rep from Netsuite and we told that the second website for the same price was now off the table and that the old rep had left. Shorty after launching the site we began talks with Netsuite to add additional features and we were told that the old platform was difficult to develop for and that we should change to the new site if we want a solid foundation for easy development and a faster website. We expressed our concerns over the first website development time and we were assured it would not happen again by the Netsuite salesperson.

We signed the new contract creating two websites. The first of which was basically the same site as the one we had just developed with some minor modifications on the account page and second site was a more complicated retail site additional functionality. Netsuite decided to develop the retail site first and we were given a timeline with an October launch followed by the wholesale site that was supposed to launch at the end of 2016. Several months later we were told the developers were going to put the retail site on hold and work to finish the wholesale site first. During this time we had weekly meetings with little or no progress and when we repeatedly asked about the launch date no information was given. Finally in January we we told by Pablo that the first site was going to be up in 2 weeks. When the 2 weeks had passed we were told that all of the hours had be used and we were not even close to launching the site.

That brings us to our current situation. We have spent 3 years and hundreds of thousands of dollars so far trying to get this site up.

Pros

Single database for ERP and ecommerce sites

Cons

The netsuite development team is from expensive. It is not the hourly rate but because they are outsourced to Uruguay and communication is difficult. It takes hours to understand basic concepts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10

You'll spend an extraordinary amount of time, money and effort on the simplest of things

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It integrates with inventory information on Netsuite ok. That's all. Even then, I've experienced some serious issues with this.

Cons

As the marketing coordinator, I have a lot of pressure on me to implement SEO campaigns, online tracking etc. Even working with an in-house developer I have experienced so many problems it is unbearable. The price is ridiculously expensive, the code is setup in such a way you're required to use their developer services (which cost an arm and leg) to make any basic changes, the CMS offers limited editability... I could go on and on.
Anyone who thinks this system is good is inexperienced and hasn't had any exposure to a well crafted user-friendly developers platform. Don't waste your time and life savings.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10

Buying this was THE worst business decision I have made

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/04/22
Review Source

Pros

It is integrated directly to netsuite but if you are moving from the older SiteBuilder it doesn't use all of the same config so you still need to redo a load of things e.g. all images and categories.

Cons

Poor support, everything that should be easy and out the box is difficult e.g. product feeds, micro data, analytics, seo, payment gateways, version upgrades. Chronic SEO issues.

There is not much of an echo system of developers so it's not easy to get help either.

Its sold for a first class price but you're get the experience of an alpha tester.

Use netsuite for ERP but don't buy their ecommerce, they have such a long way to go it seems unlikely they could ever catch up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Ben J.

Still new

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/03
Review Source: Capterra

Merging inventory and eCommerce are what I'm mostly using this for.

Pros

I'm liking the support from Netsuite as well as it's versatility. Our company is fairly new to it and from what it looks like right now, it's going to be a huge help in helping to centralize our operations.

Cons

It is very complex looking. That being said, in order to have the functionality it does, it kind of has to be that way.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Troy W.

Netsuite on the Go

Reviewed on 2012/12/14
Review Source: Capterra

I would highly recommened Netsuite to any company large or small as I work out of a home office and travel very often. With out Netsuite I could not do my job where ever I am. With the ease of use and the flexibility of Netsuite I can also do real time sales at tradeshows no matter where they are. Netsuite has been a valuable addition to the company that I work for that I don't think any other software could accomplish. It sure makes my life a lot eaisier.

Pros

Ease of use, Flexibility, Customizable, Ability to perform your work duties even when you are traveling outside the country, Professional.

Cons

Having to pay extra for the new Suite Commerce platform (that should come as an update that is included in your cost to begin with)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ryan S.

Run!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

Cons

Expensive, limited, terrible customer service...please use Shopify, switching increased our revenue x3 first year.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Great tool for ecommerce.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/10/07
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to create and list products for sale online.

Pros

This tool makes it easy to list and track products. You can create SKUs very easily and get products listed for sale.

Cons

It is a complicated tool, so there are lots of specific steps you have to follow or you could accidentally mess something up.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Morgan D.

Rating only

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/11/20
Review Source

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

2.0/10
Sue miller

sales increased 30% year-over-year

Reviewed on 2013/04/29
Review Source

Thanks to the powerful web tools delivered by NetSuite our web store traffic increased 40% and sales increased 30% year-over-year

Pros

Integration with Facebook and Twitter keeps customers and brand representatives connected

Fast and easy to design and maintain customer product information

It's getting there

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love how easy it is to catch on with this software. It's pretty intuitive.

Cons

I think it's got a way to go regarding sorting out its bugs/glitches.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10