101 reviews

Overall rating

4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
84%
recommended this app
101 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Test Management Service for Modern Ways of Working

Reviewed on 2020/09/21

It's a well-developed testing solution with a price model that beats many other product hands down. If you have testers who walk on to cover a project, then go back to their day jobs between testing cycles, give SpiraTest another look.

Pros

I like the fact that a cloud-hosted version of the software is available.

Cons

It can be a bit too rigid in the way it expects testing to be performed, which can be a barrier to getting things done. If you don't use the software the way they expect, it can be difficult to work around it.

Howard C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

SpiraTest compares very well to other well known project management applications.

Reviewed on 2008/10/29

SpiraTest compares very well to other well known project management applications.
SpiraTest beats Quality Center in the ability to create different workflows for multiple incident types, and workflow customization is based on a simple interface rather than on VBScript. The ability to link project artifacts together seems much easier and intuitive the Quality Center. Best of all, SpiraTest has a tool to communicate with Quality Center if you need to work in both applications.
SpiraTest also compares well with Pragmatic Software Planner. Information is much more accessible in SpiraTest, and everything actually works. Software Planner loses points for having a more rigid workflow, a non-intuitive interface, and for features that just don't work, like custom reports.

Pros

You can't beat SpiraTest without paying a lot more (and even then you might be disappointed).
- Surprisingly easy set up.
- Fantastic ease of use once you get used to the workflow paradigm (change status, verify newly required fields, then update).
- Traceability: We love how all project components can be linked together.
- Test case management: Create individual steps for each test case, and link steps from one test case to another to prevent step duplication. Create a test run, and send information to your automated testing software. Software testing heaven.
- Workflow management: custom workflows by project or even by incident type. Cusomtization is implemented by interface, not language.
- Support: Inflectra support has been fantastic in helping us migrate data into SpiraTest from our previous system.
- Meets our needs: Our consulting firm needed a one-stop app that would work for multiple long- and short-term projects. We found SpiraTest, we tried it, and we love it.

Cons

Enhancements to current features, rather than new features, seems to be the rule:
- ability to create and administer user groups on a project level instead of only at the application level.
- mass updating of multiple artifacts (change all incidents with this type to that type)
- update workflow transitions by user type instead of altering each transition.
- Workflow takes a little getting used to; transitions must be performed in the following order - 1. Select the desired status, 2. Fill out ALL the newly required fields (check all the tabs), and then 3. Update.
- Custom fields are hidden on their own tab in the lower half of the main pane. It would be nice to have the option to place some custom fields on the main pane.
- Would be nice to be able to hide fields that aren't desired for a certain project.
- Would like the ability to assign certain SysAdmin rights on a project level.
- Would like a few more report cusomization options.

Jeremy B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A nice little addition to a development team

Reviewed on 2019/03/29

It's nice, obviously could use some improvements but their team is always putting out updates and new content. Overall I think it's worth it to have.

Pros

Integrates well with Jira.
Easy to configure for your needs.
Nice reporting tools.
Good support team.

Cons

Reports can be really slow sometimes.
Reports take a lot of customizing before you get any useful results.
The UI is not very user friendly.

Response from Inflectra

Thanks for your review, it is very helpful, I will pass on your feedback to our development team. I know that they are working to improve the reports, we plan to have the improvements released in v6.1 later this year.

Peter H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent Support Reponses !

Reviewed on 2011/06/17

Great product for the 4-5 days I've worked with it.

Pros

Took a few days to get used to but decent interface and meets most our needs thus far, submitted questions to Support on details and got great rapid response. Thank you !

Cons

Can't link a Requirement# to a Test Step within a Test Case.(Support forwarded request to development). Adding screen shots to a Test Step doesn't look like it can be done - we have lots of screen shots per our existing test steps, would like to get them in somehow, not just listed at the bottom of the Test Case. Q: Is there a way to display multiple Test Cases at once down the screen ? Often, there is a need to reference other Test Cases content more easily than clicking back and forth to another Test Case, so another Test Case can be completed or edited. It would be nice to be able to see multiple Test Cases displayed on the screen somehow, in parallel, or cascaded format, like Windows does - for ease in scoping a bigger picture say for consolidating similar Test Cases already written, etc. Thanks.

Response from Inflectra

User was not aware of test step attachments tab, we provided guidance on how to use.

Regarding the display of multiple test case, the system supports the use of browser tabbed browsing so that each browser tab can contain a different test case.

Sr qa engineer Q.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent Product with Very Low Cost (ownership) backed by Top of the line Support.

Reviewed on 2012/06/12

Very highly recommend, especially to small teams (may be upto 50).

We are a small team and this product seem to top our evaluation of about 15 products. We wanted something that works with JIRA; then selenium and TCL scripts. And this does all of those with good QA test management. This may be our product of choice.

Pros

Has all the features we need to manage our SQA dept. Excellent integration to bug tracking tools. Great integration with automation testing for our needs - web, api as well as shell scripts.

Excellent product, superb customer support. Very easy to setup and use. Great documentation.

Excellent support - we are still evaluating this tool (along with bunch of other tools) and these guys respond to every question (even small) with very detailed explanation and very promptly. Customer service rating is 10 STAR not just 5 star.

Cons

None. Yes - none that are holding us back.

In this budget range their reporting features are more than what we could expect (very good), though few additional improvements may be made. Note, we have not tried to customize them yet.

Celeste C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy and intuitive to learn with helpful documentation and exceptionally prompt support

Reviewed on 2015/04/27

Quite different from Test Director that we had been using so obviously need to get used to it, but as it is so easy and intuitive to learn, and not too difficult to soon remember how to do things without having to refer to any documentation, it is hopefully going to be quite straightforward to use.

All the documentation provided has been very useful and easy to follow and I have found the support to be exceptional, with all of my queries being automatically logged pretty instantly and answers provided within 24 hours without exception, I believe.

I even found it easy to follow the instructions to install the Import/Export Excel add-on and successfully exported a test and test steps into SpiraTest on the first attempt!

No issues at all so far that I can think of! :-)

Kristiaan davies
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

SpiraTest Review.

Reviewed on 2013/10/29

I'll keep this short as i don't think i need to write paragraphs.

This is a fantastic piece of software, it was easy to put in place on our own server, has run faultlessly since its initial setup and any problems we encountered were taken care of by Inflectra's support very quickly.

Pros

allows multiple ways to setup tests to match different workflows.

provides a very good reporting overview to help clarify what is going on with testing.

Cons

integration with bug tracking systems could be easier to get working and provide a better feature set, but this is not the end of the world as for what we want it works fine.

Claus T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Highly adaptable and flexible solution that has lifted our test organization.

Reviewed on 2016/03/08

When we started out using SpiraTest nearly 4 years ago, we didn't have a structured process for mapping Requirements to Test Case coverage, or indeed test results.

We started out from scratch, and have since expanded the use of the tool inside our organization to our remote location also.
SpiraTest has enabled us to gain clear tracability and easy test case management, that makes regression test planning easy, and development of new test cases clear.

We look forward to the continued development of the Web interface for test execution, which is the only drawback I can see compared to other solutions on the market.

Shitalkumar C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Manage your tests with Spira test

Reviewed on 2018/11/20

Spira test is good test management tool. This gives good flexibility to manage your whole STLC at a place. You can link your defects to your tests. One can run test set multiple time for regression.

Pros

-Ease of use, easy to understand
-Manages whole STLC together
-Can be linked with requirements
-Managing of test suites is very easy
-Test run within tool

Cons

-Less possibilities of customization
-Support for upgrades can be improved

Bilge V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

SpiraTest

Reviewed on 2015/03/08

In our company we began using SpiraTest to run our automated tests and also getting the test run results both for manual and automated tests. It's quite powerful. Short time ago I had some difficulties on integrating selenium webdriver tests to SpiraTest. I wrote emails directly to Inflectra and in a very short time they answered with some advices. It didn't work at first sight, so I wrote back and they replied quite quickly. Customer Service is great, they don't stop till giving you the right answer. I advise everybody to use SpiraTest.

Sándor A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Try to test case design, test set, test execution, incident review

Reviewed on 2018/08/27

One of our clients uses this software as a test manager tool. I registered to practice. The user interface was a bit unusual. It functionally met my expectations.
++ cloud-based version did not have to be downloaded
++ more options for evaluation (not just one)
Thanks for the opportunity.

Pros

easy to use, same design entities, fast learning, immediately used

Cons

scrolling (entity data does not view one screen)

Shitalkumar C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Spira Test for Test Management

Reviewed on 2016/12/08

Spira Test is effective in Test Management. You can easily manage your test cases for any product with this tool.

Pros

Easy to use
Trace ability of requirements to test
Test case run and reporting
Bug reporting and management

Cons

Limited features for defect management
Too many formatting possibilities for text inputs

Amanda F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The product is quick and easy to use right out of the box.

Reviewed on 2009/06/10

The product is quick and easy to use right out of the box. It is a great answer to our QA Management needs, especially for a smaller company like ours.

Pros

The support team has been excellent. I really appreciate their prompt, courteous responses!

Very affordable.

Cons

My only compaint is the lack of integration with Axosoft Ontime. Although it is my understanding that is coming very soon.

Response from Inflectra

We have released integration with AxoSoft OnTime since this review was written.

Philippe P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

spiratest review

Reviewed on 2009/10/21

- Matches exactly our requirements
- excellent functional/technical solution
- excellent commercial follow-up

Pros

- Flexible implementation capabilities (top-down or bottom-up)
- Easy migration from our old bug tracking system
- Excellent ocverage of all needs (from requirements to incidents)
- Excellent documentation and easy installation

Cons

- displays not always readable (too many formatting options)

Lorie K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent Customer Service

Reviewed on 2016/12/19

I've had difficulty modifying SpiraTest Version 5.0 to meet the testing needs of our organization. The Support Desk has been a tremendous help and assisted in developing the workflows. I'm grateful for the assistance and patience they offered.

Response from Inflectra

Thanks Lorie with your patience during the transition...

Chetan shah
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Easy to use test management software

Reviewed on 2013/12/07

SpiraTest is an easy to use application and offers complete end-to-end software QA lifeccycle management capabilities.

Pros

Easy to install. Self-explanatory and quick to learn. Good value proposition considering the breath of functionality and integration capabilities.

Cons

UI has room for improvement.

Steven Q.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Too many requirements

Reviewed on 2012/05/15

i can't make a recommendation as this was never installed. .NET 4.0 was installed and then it showed me the other requirements so the install was cancelled.

Pros

Unkown - Never installed

Cons

There were way too many software requirements to install this software: .Net, MS Visual Studio, and IIS. The QA machines here are not development environments, and certainly not web servers. There should be no need to require all of those to install testing software.

Response from Inflectra

We're sorry that the user didn't contact us first. There is actually a SaaS hosted demo option as well which is provisioned within minutes and only requires a web browser.

Christian K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good alternative to HP Quality Center

Reviewed on 2011/11/17

Very good alternative for HP Quality Center

Pros

Many testmanagement features.
German as language
full web application

Cons

usability:
deselect many testcases from a release
static textboxes during testexecution

James E.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Testing simplicity

Reviewed on 2013/02/27

Worth the small effort of an evaluation. It will not dissapoint.

Pros

Formalises a test strategy keeping uniformity across business units and organisations.

Cons

On screen help could be improved.

Rafael M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

the best lightweight version of TestDirector out their.

Reviewed on 2009/05/04

the best lightweight version of TestDirector out their.

Pros

cover all you needs from requirement through tests test set, test runs and defects, all associated together.

Cons

server on windows.

Arun
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Assingment for reviewing a software testing management tool

Reviewed on 2013/06/23

overall it was fine

Pros

has different functions which i feel good like uploading documents ,test version.

Cons

slow
hard to make new test projects and edit them.
i made a new project but later couldn't find it.

Tejaswi B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Probably the best test management software available!

Reviewed on 2018/07/03

Pros

Creating and and reusing test case is very simple. It helps teams communicate regarding test cases while performing QA duties. Integration are great and also you can undo deleting.

Cons

UI can be imporved. The customization is not that great. Tracking modules can be improved, all these can be improved to make this good tool a great tool.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SpiraTest for effective Test Management

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

Pros

Our team reviewed the free trial of SpiraTest as a test management tool for our organization. It was very easy to use and setup. Now, we are looking at purchasing it.

It integrates easily with Jira as a project management tool and it is a cheaper option to other test management tools .

Cons

I realize that once a user is created there is no way of deleting them, you can only disable the user. Some things like the auto-mail content and workflow names are not customizable.

Xavier E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

You don't need to spend a lot of money in a Test Management Tool - Use SpiraTest

Reviewed on 2019/02/01

Pros

Great usability. It has a lot of features, easy to configure and customize. We need to migrate our projects from HP QC/ALM to SpiraTest and it has a great tool to migrate everything (releases, traceability, requirements, test cases, executions, ...). We've tested in some projects and works great.

Cons

It needs only more BI or reporting customization, but I think is enough now for most projects. Some other integrations will be great, like some tools for exploratory or acceptance testing (Microfocus Sprinter, ...).

Evelyn G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

SPIRA

Reviewed on 2016/06/21

I have used several testing softwares, and SPIRA works very well at organizing test cases and test steps. Love the Excel tie-in for easy import/export of test cases. Allows a great deal of functionality at a decent price point.

Ev

Pros

Excel Add-In allows authoring and exporting test cases/steps in Excel.
Provides a great deal of metrics.
We're using it for requirements and the requirements to components to test case structure is highly flexible.

Cons

Test Case Execution doesn't show pictures in full for the expected result, but works awesomely for the actual result.