GitHub

4.8 (6,042)
Write a Review!
Social coding & collaborative development platform

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(6,042)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

6042 Reviews

Omar Eduardo
Omar Eduardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for teaching coding classes!

Reviewed on 2021/05/15

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more...

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more efficient. It is an industry standard, and I would consider it a step above all of its other competitors.

Pros

I work as a software engineer for a large consulting company, but as a side job, I teach a programming class. I use GitHub to share with my students all of the sample code and slides that we work on during our classes.

To me, one of the most important features is being able to work on my projects on multiple devices, than span across different operating systems. I have a two laptops (one of which is a Mac!) and a desktop computer. With GitHub, I can quickly sync my code and documents between devices and seamlessly pick up were I left off.

If I ever make a mistake and need to go back to previous versions of my slides or code, I can quickly restore them with the excellent versioning features.

For my students, it is very freeing knowing that every project or problem that we solve during class will be immediately available to them right after class. I helps them concentrate on learning and understanding the programs instead of having to copy everything to their computers.

Cons

The initial learning curve is high... specially if you are new to code collaboration tools. Newcomers usually spend a long time learning the git commands, and how they can solve problems.

For newcomers, I would recommend the GitHub Desktop client (even if it is frowned upon by more experienced devs), to get a hang of how the branches, commits, push, pull and operations work.

Alternatives Considered

Dropbox Business, Apache Subversion and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is the most reputable repository tool on the market. It uses industry standards and it is very secure. Also, it supports a wide range of programming languages, so it is ideal to host any type of open source software.
Tsitsi Hazel
Tsitsi Hazel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub Collaboration Review

Reviewed on 2022/04/04

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any...

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any software, ideal for various types of code. GitHub has a wide range of capabilities and security measures.

Pros

Users can manage their time more efficiently by doing code versioning and code review.

Multiple developers can stay in sync with each other and can develop their software products in collaboration with one another.

Open Source software products can be created, accessed and improved publicly and developers can contribute to the Open Source project from anywhere in the world.

GitHub can be used as a resume as it helps with visibility and reputation building for developers by allowing recruiters to view their interesting projects when applying for job opportunities.

Cons

The intial learning curve can be tricky for new users. Onboarding requires a bit of detail and practise with regards to cloning repositories, creating a fork/ branch, pushing changes to code and raising pull requests when getting started, but once this process is well understood, the product is easy to use.

Alternatives Considered

Slack

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is more widely preferred and used by software developers globally, uses less bandwidth and provides visibility of projects for future version improvements and for recruitment.
Abisola
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub for project management

Reviewed on 2024/04/29

From a project management point, GitHub has been quite okay, although it would be a very great...

From a project management point, GitHub has been quite okay, although it would be a very great experience if it has more project management features.

Pros

Although GitHub is originally for software development, as project manager I use GitHub to keep up to date with developers work as well as communicate with them.

Cons

It has limited project management features.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good for Developers, not so good for Marketing and Newbies

Reviewed on 2022/01/21

As a marketer I found it hard to navigate and understand all features of Github. We were asked by...

As a marketer I found it hard to navigate and understand all features of Github. We were asked by our devs to report all our issues through this tool. However we simultaneously were using Notion for our Marketing Sprints and to track all tasks. So it was rather a really exhausting task to copy issues from one tool to another and link them. In the end our Marketing Team decided to not use Github anymore and track everything through Notion, as it was the main platform for our daily to-dos

I know from our devs and my colleagues who actually continue working in Github, that they really love this tool. I just find it really confusing.
We still use it in our company for IT-issues with our IT-admin, which is totally fine. But I don't recommend it for Marketing unless you know your way around this tool.

Pros

It was a great tool for our Devs. They are still working with it on a daily basis to track their issues and bugs etc.

Cons

I found it hard to navigate and understand the full functionality of this tool. I don't think it is easy to use, for someone without experience and any guidance.

Logan
Logan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Absolute Best Place To Build Software As a Team!

Reviewed on 2024/04/02

Excellent experience and I really cannot imagine a modern software development world without GitHub...

Excellent experience and I really cannot imagine a modern software development world without GitHub at this point. This is a the gold standard right here.

Pros

I love the wide array of features and the usage simplicity. Everything works well and meets pretty much all of our needs as a team. GitHub is very dependable and does a great job at constantly improving and responding to feedback.

Cons

CI/CD is a bit of a rabbit hole that I wish the barrier to entry was a little lower on, but all the right tools are there if you spend the time to learn them.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

More polished website experience and more features, tools, and customization.
Somadina
Somadina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

An Amazing Software for Coding

Reviewed on 2024/05/02

Generally, the software is okay and is a nice app for coding and collaborative development.

Generally, the software is okay and is a nice app for coding and collaborative development.

Pros

The software provides the opportunity to download a lot of other software and that it has an interesting interface.

Cons

The only downside I found with github is that it had certain dependency supports which make the software kinda vague.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub: The project Deployment platform

Reviewed on 2024/04/24

Github is good for projects management for company and students, you can take it subscriptions for...

Github is good for projects management for company and students, you can take it subscriptions for better productivity.

Pros

GitHub is a source code and project management software for Programmer and companies, it is easy to manage and deploy the project you just need to upload the project source code and relevant details.

Cons

Github is difficult for beginners to operate

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very good platform for students to learn and try out new things.

Reviewed on 2024/04/15

Experience was very very good with GitHub and would recommend to every Technical student.

Experience was very very good with GitHub and would recommend to every Technical student.

Pros

I joined GitHub Pro when I was 2nd year student and my experience was very good with this platform. It was helpful when I first launched my domain and website, when I shared my project with world.

Cons

Even though it is very helpful for students and provide free premium for students initially it is very expensive for them to by after Pro expiration.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Repository for Code

Reviewed on 2024/04/22

Pros

I like how many open source projects I am able to see and how much I can get accomplished by finding projects on GitHub.

Cons

Sometimes I find compiled programs a bit difficult to find and they usually require linking to an external site.

Paweł
Paweł
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Make your code development better control

Reviewed on 2024/05/02

Pros

I can have better Control of applications code and feel more comfort about my work with customers.

Cons

It wasn't easy to understand system first time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Code Repository Host

Reviewed on 2019/05/22

My overall expererience is pleasant and satisfying. I have no issues with Github and always liked...

My overall expererience is pleasant and satisfying. I have no issues with Github and always liked it. Since almost a year ago they made it so you could have unlimited free private repo's, it's been amazing.

Pros

Github is amazing. I used to utilize Bitbucket a lot but Github was more robust and before the free tier for both was kind of equal. Now Github free offers unlimited private and public repo's where bitbucket only offers like 5. Github also seems to be a lot faster when dealing with branches and commits. Like the connection feels snappier. I can say the same for the website. Now where Bitbucket, the website used to be fast but ever so since the re-design it's a little more on the heavy side. I honestly like Github and I've moved all my code there to be hosted, since it's super secure and super reliable. For as long as I have used it (around 4 years now) I haven't had issues with accessing or uploading my code changes.

Cons

Please, link issue tracking with branches so you can see the branches that you made or the commits that you made for specific issues. Bitbucket/JIRA has this and is a god send for project management

Also integrate it with the boards, for instance, a linked issue when closed, it can auto-merge the branch. JIRA/Bitbucket also has this.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Teams and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Honestly because of how good the free tier is now.
Ankush
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Github Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/11

I use it almost every hour every day and so far I'm glad I've switched from bitbucket to this.

I use it almost every hour every day and so far I'm glad I've switched from bitbucket to this.

Pros

Usage is well documented like cloning repository using ssh, create a branch, create a repository, etc. Reviewing PR interface is great. You've option to mark the files you've reviewed which is really helpful for gigantic pull requests. Easy integration with IDE like Intellij/Eclipse and you can push your changes directly from the IDEs.
Features like squash/merge from UI are really great and saves a lot of time. Jira integration of pull requests is awesome.

Cons

Very limited private repositories for free users, it should give an option like this number of lines of code for the private repository as a limit rather than not providing or limited private repositories.
It sometime might get complicated for new users while working on same codebase at the same time like stuck between merge conflicts, rebase issues etc.

Dilanka
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A universal level source code management system

Reviewed on 2019/12/06

Implementation was very organized. It was not easy without proper guidance, but the instructions...

Implementation was very organized. It was not easy without proper guidance, but the instructions were generally available over the community and problem solving was also very smooth. Availability over a number of platforms made the choice more strongly recognized. Developers/Programmers could easily adapt to use GitHub as the only version control and source code managing platform with no time.

Pros

The important features available to manage the source code within the Application Development IDE itself made the work more efficient and convenient. GitHub was efficient enough to link the entire platform-based solutions right within the IDE, so the version management, source code control including comments and documentation was made the productivity increased rapidly within the organization.

Cons

The free and generally available version did not secure the source code managed over the platform by allowing users to create private repositories, which is not available in public. However, the paid version managed to provide that facility but it could have been better if the free version at least provides a limited number (at least one) private repository available.

Alternatives Considered

Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

General availability and a free offering made the choice more strong since the organization was not ready to budget a version management system at first glance.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in class, world-known service

Reviewed on 2020/02/20

Great! I'd choose them again in a heartbeat. They're easy to use, integrate with almost every tool...

Great! I'd choose them again in a heartbeat. They're easy to use, integrate with almost every tool I can think of and have great customer support. The keep delivering new features lately, and I'm excited for what's coming next!

Pros

This is probably the best hosted Git solution out there. GitHub is the de-facto standard platform for hosting OSS projects, which makes a TON of services integrate with it, and therefore a good solution for private repositories as well.
Now with GitHub Actions, the GPR and more coming soon, I think it's the best platform around.

Cons

Pricing is _a bit_ pricey, compared to the alternatives such as Bitbucket (less than half the price per user) or GitLab, which provide various pricing tiers, including a free self-hosted one.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Bitbucket is very slow, especially when doing code reviews (Pull Requests), and has lousy integration with other tools.

Switched From

Bitbucket
Ankit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reduced deployment time by a large extent

Reviewed on 2020/10/07

Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require...

Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require collaboration should definitely use this product. After the acquisition by Microsoft, I am very hopeful of increasing the developer community globally. For my organization, this has been the best decision that we took close to 6 years back when we started using this and since then we don't have to worry about the deployments to production servers.

Pros

From the day, my team has started using GitHub for pushing code to production environment, we have reduced our deployment times by nearly 65%. I was introduced to the concept of GitHub few years back but was not sure whether the team will be able to work with it or not, so we started on a trial basis for one project and then my team came back to me and asked me if we can use it for all projects in the company. This had really helped us in version control, control over who pushes what to the production and access control

Cons

Limitations on the number of users in a particular project is one of the cons for the product. Also, one needs to have a Git account to get access to the code is according to me another limitation

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Various features offered by the product which provides collaboration, version control, access control etc
Avash
Avash
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Essential Tool for Every Developer

Reviewed on 2021/06/04

Github is absolutely essential for every developer like me. I have been using Github daily for more...

Github is absolutely essential for every developer like me. I have been using Github daily for more than 2 years and it is one of the most polished tools I have ever used. After we spend some time learning about it, Github can be very intuitive. It's small features like directly copying code from files just by dragging it to its interface, or that it renders CSV, STL explains how polished it is.

Pros

Github is the most famous git services available online - I personally don't know any developers who don't use Github. This in turn makes Github essential to any developers as many people share codes and stuff through Github.

I don't know exactly why but developers nowadays seem to prefer to just put their work in Github. Thus GitHub hosts almost all kind of open source projects which I love to fork and play around with. I personally think it is very productive. It has a good and intuitive User Interface which makes viewing information and reading code easier.

I also feel Github is stable than other alternatives available.

Cons

I don't think there is much to dislike about Github but I think it isn't very easy to use for a beginner. I spent a long time learning about Git commands and stuff. Other than this, I can't think of any cons.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I am not sure but I think Github is faster than Gitlab. Github is more popular among developers which made us use Github too.
Jorge
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best choice for version control for small and large projects

Reviewed on 2021/11/20

It has been great software to be honest I will highly suggest it since it's very accessible to...

It has been great software to be honest I will highly suggest it since it's very accessible to anyone, they offer a lot of plans and pricings.

Pros

There are some key features that makes GitHub a great tool for version control. In the first place all the process of having control over branches setting permissions and the vast options for configuration in the repository you have are great. It has one of the best pull request section, it allows for commenting more than one line which is great for making comments. As well GitHub have integrated great tools like the pipelines we can create to have continuos integration.

Cons

Some time for me GitHub has been built without an intuitive UI and checking even the smallest and easiest thing like a date you need to hover over another date to tell you the complete hour and time of a commit per say. So this kind of stuff makes GitHub sometimes difficult for new joiners of the software but as you get to use it more.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

GitHub is more widely used around the software development. It has made giant leaps to catch up to Atlassian integrations like creating tickets inside of github and stuff like that.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It provided the overall best experience and pricing.
Amitava
Amitava
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Goto Source control for software developers

Reviewed on 2022/02/16

Pros

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Cons

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I find GitHub much better product, better offerings in terms of features and user experience.

Switched From

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Better offerings, free plan is less limiting and better and faster UI.
Santosh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Developer Tool - GitHub

Reviewed on 2022/05/13

- The overall experience with GitHub is excellent and very satisfactory. The tool has many good...

- The overall experience with GitHub is excellent and very satisfactory. The tool has many good features provided OOB for many customers to get go from the initial setup itself.

Pros

- The most important feature that we use at a very critical phase is the version control, creating pull requests for the developers to review the code base continuously, for continuous integration and continuous deployments for merging code and deploying code to production
- The tool is very easy to use and navigate without any prior experience
- The tool has very good support team to resolve any issues in the process
- The tool is very widely used by enterprise companies in the market to manage the code base

Cons

- The pricing could be more reasonable as compared to the other tools in the market
- The UI can be more intuitive for the users to work with
- The tool can include more features in the tool that could be used by many customers instead of building custom API's and having issues in the workflows.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

- The pricing was less when compared to the other tool we choose. It did not had other integrations we are looking for.
Ranu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The ultimate source code manager.

Reviewed on 2022/09/24

I am using this tool from 7 years and I have never found any issues with it. I have used it from...

I am using this tool from 7 years and I have never found any issues with it. I have used it from version controlling to setup my own CI/CDs for various products on multiple cloud service providers and I really like their UI.

Pros

First of all it got very simple, easy to understand and user friendly user interface tool that can be user by anyone within hours of it deployment. Most of the functions can be accessed with both command line and through dashboard too. Also CI/CD is one of the best feature that it provides and reduces manual efforts of code deployments. It provide supports for almost all languages and even it raises mail for some security vulnerabilities found by it. Best part you can have both public and private repos.

Cons

There is no any such issues I have found. Just few features are there for which you need to pay.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

The UI was bit complicated to understand for team.

Switched From

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It is very user friendly tool and there are lot of open source features provided by it.
Jerome
Jerome
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub - The standard for Git repos in the Cloud

Reviewed on 2022/11/07

I started with GitHub's free option as a trial and it went so well, we just kept using it.

I started with GitHub's free option as a trial and it went so well, we just kept using it.

Pros

GitHub continues to improve with tools focused on helping developers. The base account that is free offers tons of features. When you are ready to test out the paid features, the value is there as well. I like that it is an optional upgrade since not every organization needs them.

Cons

When someone says 'GitHub can do it', it is getting harder to know if it is GitHub Free or one of the paid options. If you aren't following GitHub's releases, you can get left behind quite quickly.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Switched From

Apache Subversion

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub's free option satisfied the need and nailed the features we were using. Once trying it, we didn't look any further.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why use GitHub in 2022?

Reviewed on 2022/08/12

As the CPO at the company, I am always under pressure to produce good results on time. Through...

As the CPO at the company, I am always under pressure to produce good results on time. Through using GitHub, this goal has come to fruition. The developers can collaborate remotely, bugs get quickly resolved, and products are seamlessly deployed on GitHub.

Pros

I find the whole GitHub model quite refreshing. In a matter of seconds, I am able to create an account, create a repository and get instructions on how to set it up on my computer. The introduction of the GitHub desktop made things even simpler. Project tracking, graphical progress representation (commits, issues, pull requests and the timeline), project boards, automated deployment, seamless integration, webhooks, bespoke security keys and CI/CD are among the many functions that GitHub is able to perform. All major IDEs nowadays have the option to integrate with GitHub accounts directly and initialize Git for every new project you start making source control a seamless process. I love the immense collaboration tools and the fact that it works with many existing workspaces such as Notion, therefore, making product development quick and effective.

Cons

GitHub needs to add more integrations to ensure new users have a smooth transition from other products so that work done before onboarding is not lost.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket
Ahmed
Ahmed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Unlocking the Power of GitHub

Reviewed on 2023/01/15

My experience with GitHub has been extremely positive. As a data scientist and machine learning...

My experience with GitHub has been extremely positive. As a data scientist and machine learning engineer, I have found it to be an invaluable tool for managing and organizing my projects. The version control system allows for easy collaboration and tracking of changes made to the codebase, which is particularly useful for machine learning projects, where multiple team members may be working on different aspects of the code at the same time.I also appreciate the integration with other tools and services, such as continuous integration and continuous deployment (CICD) systems, which allows for seamless integration of my machine learning models into production environments. This is crucial for ensuring that they are reliable and accurate.The community features of GitHub such as finding and sharing code snippets and libraries also make it easy to find and share code snippets and libraries, which can be incredibly useful for data scientists and machine learning engineers. This can save a lot of time and effort when working on a new project, as you can often find existing code that can be adapted to your needs.The access controls and permissions feature is a great addition as it allows for granular control over who can access and make changes to a project, which helps to ensure that only authorized users are able to make changes to the codebase.

Pros

- I liked the version control system in GitHub, which allows for easy collaboration and tracking of changes made to the codebase.- I liked the integration with other tools and services, such as continuous integration and continuous deployment (CICD) systems, which allows for seamless integration of machine learning models into production environments.- I liked the community features such as finding and sharing code snippets and libraries, which can be incredibly useful for data scientists and machine learning engineers.- I found the software easy to use and navigate.- Integration with existing business processes was seamless.- The Access controls and Permissions feature was impactful as it allows for granular control over who can access and make changes to a project, which helps to ensure that only authorized users are able to make changes to the codebase.- The debugging feature was also impactful as it allows to see the history of changes and allows to revert back to previous versions if needed.- The task and project management features were also impactful as it allows developers to easily manage and track tasks and issues associated with a project, which can help to improve productivity and collaboration.

Cons

- One potential downside of GitHub is that it may have a steep learning curve for new users who are not familiar with version control systems.- Some users may find that the UI can be cluttered and overwhelming, making it difficult to find the specific features or options they need.- Some users may find that certain features or integrations are missing or could be improved, such as more advanced collaboration tools or better support for certain programming languages.- Some users may find that the cost of using GitHub's advanced features or integrations can be prohibitive for smaller or less well-funded projects.- There could be more customization options for the dashboard and reporting/project tracking feature.- For non-technical users, the interface may be challenging to understand.- The SSL security feature could be improved to provide better protection for private projects and data.- Some users may find that the bug tracking feature is not as robust as other issue tracking systems.

Hossein
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub is a powerful tool that has revolutionized the way developers collaborate on software...

Reviewed on 2023/03/14

Overall, GitHub is an essential tool for developers of all levels. Its intuitive interface,...

Overall, GitHub is an essential tool for developers of all levels. Its intuitive interface, powerful features, and vibrant community make it the go-to platform for collaborative software development.

Pros

As a platform for version control, it offers an intuitive and user-friendly interface that makes it easy for developers to collaborate on code, track changes, and manage multiple versions of a project.One of the important strengths of GitHub is its vast community of developers. GitHub provides a wealth of resources for developers looking to learn from others or share their own work with the world. This community also provides a platform for collaboration, allowing developers to contribute to open source projects, participate in discussions, and learn from one another.In addition to its powerful version control features, GitHub also offers a range of tools to help developers manage their projects. These include project management tools like Kanban boards and issue tracking, as well as integrations with other popular development tools like JIRA and Trello.Perhaps the greatest strength of GitHub, however, is its commitment to open source development. By providing a platform for developers to share their work with the world, GitHub has helped to democratize software development and empower developers of all skill levels to contribute to the larger community.

Cons

One of the biggest issues with GitHub is that it is very hard to learn how to use it at first. No novice developers, the tool can be overwhelming. A lot of features in GitHub requires a thorough understanding of coding and software development. Another disadvantage of GitHub is that for technical users, the free version is limited. The paid version is definitely recommended; however, small groups might find it on the expensive side.

Ava
Ava
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wireless
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful tool for developers and to be able to carry out a wide variety of projects as a team.

Reviewed on 2022/05/30

It has been a great step for the development of my personal and commercial projects, because I can...

It has been a great step for the development of my personal and commercial projects, because I can work hand in hand with my colleagues, being able to carry out projects from scratch either in private or public repositories, assigning tasks, being able to follow them, exchange ideas and even solve problems in the code in a short period of time. In addition, when working together with other colleagues, it is much easier to complete projects on time and deliver successful projects.

Pros

There are several aspects that I like about GitHub as a software developer, having this high potential tool at hand makes it much easier to carry out projects of great value, since in one place it is possible to carry out the entire process necessary for a clean code.I like that it allows to be able to manage in a more reasonable way the time of development of versions and the time that is needed for the review of the code, because by being able to allow access to whoever you want to be able to solve any problem in the code, it makes it easier for them to solved in the shortest possible time. Not only does it guarantee a clean code but it also allows synchronizing the development of the code, that is, different tasks can be assigned to several members so that the progress of the project is rapid. A valuable feature of this tool is that it makes it possible to get the original code and even make changes without having to worry that the other team members will not have the updated version, this saves time and avoids overwriting the code which can be a great benefit error. In addition, assigning tasks allows the project to be much more fluid and that the workflow does not fall on a single person and the best thing is that it is simple to track progress. For example, assigning tasks gives me and my team to have better coordination and be able to advance in each task quickly.

Cons

GitHub is an ideal tool for developers and programmers and even students since it allows you to work in private or public repositories, being able to interact with other developers, however, before being able to use each of its functions smoothly, you need time to fully understand it said software, this is because its learning curve can be somewhat high and more so if you are a beginner.