3 342 reviews

GitHub

Social coding & collaborative development platform

4,8 /5 (3342 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
3 342 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The standard in repo management

Reviewed on 2021/02/14

We now have a good distributed code repository that is easy to collaborate with.

Pros

Github provides our team with an effective platform to collaborate on code and also gives us additional security insights into our repos with Dependabot. As it's based on Git we also have portability should we wish to move platform. We can enforce MFA across our organisation which is a minimum product requirement for us, and we also have superb role based controls available.

Cons

There was some concern over how Microsoft would handle the Github acquisition when they originally purchased Github but these concerns around privacy didn't actually surface into anything of concern. Unfortunately in the early days some outages also followed but these too seem to be in the past now.

Emiliano P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It's one of the first and also one of the best code management tools

Reviewed on 2020/09/22

I like it very much, I have used it for professional, freelance and code learning projects.

Pros

- World renowned
- Easy to use if you know git
- It has student/education plans
- They now offer free private repositories
- Github actions offer a free tier
- Github actions have a repository of ready-to-use code snippets

Cons

- The teams and corporate versions can get quite expensive when your team increases
- It doesn't have code indexing / search, only "jump to file"

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great code versioning platform

Reviewed on 2021/01/06

Pros

Awesome features, safe and robust repository for versioning software source codes. Nice Devops pipelines with Github Actions.

Cons

None to complain. So far the experience has been pretty good.

Jonathan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best git hosting

Reviewed on 2019/11/15

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

Pros

Very easy to host a repository and to fork other repositories. It is easy to search other repositories.

Cons

None that I found. My only request would be to be easier to download single files without having to view the file first. If there were checkboxes and a download option that would be great.

Sven B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The #1 code hosting solution

Reviewed on 2019/09/18

We have been using it for code hosting for both private and public projects for several years, issue tracking etc not so much (mainly because the tracker is quite basic). As GitHub is using git underlying it can be accessed via any git compatible client out in the wild - so there are tons of ways to choose from suiting every developers needs.

Github provides many hooks for third party tools, so pushes can trigger all sorts of things like CI builds or posts in your company Slack. Automation and integration is dead simple and super flexible.

The company itself is really developer friendly, and you can sense that they are using GitHub themselves. Hosting of open source projects is free and their support and documentation are very helpful.

Availability is high - one of the most important reasons when choosing a code hosting service.

Pros

- high availability
- built-in code review, wiki, issue tracker, artifact hosting (private beta)
- great third-party tool integration
- automate everything
- uses git
- developer friendly company
- free for open source projects
- mature

Cons

- issue tracker could be more sophisticated
- new features could be developed more rapidly (although this has improved recently)
- native apps are not up-to-par with competitors, but luckily there are many free alternatives
- was bought by Microsoft, I personally would have liked to see them stay independent

Si M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Convenience just a pull away: GitHub, a game-changing tool for developers

Reviewed on 2019/06/18

Overall, learning Git and GitHub made life as a developer convenient. We transitioned from manually merging our code to using GitHub. Although it required some practice, it was well worth the time. We realized that we were missing out and how our older projects would have been a breeze if we learned about GitHub sooner.

Pros

Knowing git and GitHub boosted the productivity of my team members and I. We were able to cutback on the times we were doing manual version control work rather than actual software development. It has been very useful to the point that it has been integrated into our project work pipeline. It has been very reliable and our team has never encountered problems in uploading and retrieving the code of others. We are able to document any changes to our code and fix conflicting code which made working in a team much more convenient.

Our team of 3 uses the free version which allows us to collaborate with each other, set up a public or private repository, document our bugs, and manage our workflow which already is a lot for a free service. Paid options allow for collaboration of bigger teams, analytics, and other advanced features.

Aside from that, a GUI version of the application allows you to visually see the changes in the project and simplifies the workflow. Tutorials and documentations on how to use GitHub, for both the GUI and command line versions are available. Most source code editors now even have GitHub integrated and allows you to do the commands without leaving the editor.

Cons

As great as GitHub is, it really takes some time in getting used to, especially for beginners. It has a steep learning curve and you are most likely going to have to use a search engine for the tasks you want to do. GitHub also has an application with a GUI which is relatively beginner friendly, but even then, the Git workflow is really something that requires practice. I personally use the Command Line Interface and the difficult part is knowing the commands to use in which I solved by printing out a cheat sheet.

Sébastien L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Secure, Reputable and Scalable Solution for All Your Developer's Needs

Reviewed on 2019/04/14

Because GitHub is a reputable service used by millions of developers, it serves as a great tool to show off your skills to potential employers. I personally got the privilege of getting access to more work opportunities as my experience using the service was taken into account when working remotely with a team. Being uselessly paranoid about potentially losing my files and projects, I feel reassured knowing that my code is being hosted on GitHub while being seamlessly synchronized on a third-party storage service, allowing for a painless retrieval of anything of importance in the worst case scenario. It also serves as a useful backup in case the code base gets messed up locally: it suffices to delete everything and start from scratch by pulling all the data from GitHub. The reverse is also true: if for some reasons a project has diverged too much from local changes being made, it is very simple to rewrite the history of a project by reusing only local references and discarding anything on the other side. Since Git isn't particularly easy to approach for beginners, having all those safeguards and the ability to undo most actions brings peace of mind to the user.

Pros

Since GitHub relies on Git underneath, one can be assured that it uses a strong, open source system behind the scenes. It integrates so well with the command-line that it's the main way I interact with GitHub on a daily basis. All essential actions you may need to perform are also available in the graphical interface on GitHub, making for a convenient experience when on the move as all necessary tools can be accessed either way. It offers security features such as the ability to link SSH and GPG keys, allowing users to verify their commits and secure their identity. The two-factor authentication system is also impressively well thought-out, having various recovery options including security keys, SMS number, recovery tokens, recovery codes and even fallback SMS number. If you often write the same content in form of comments, there is even a feature to have "saved replies", speeding up the interaction process for recurring matters. GitHub is also extremely accessible, offering unlimited private repositories for personal use. Even open source organizations can benefit tremendously without having to spend a dime as it includes by default everything one can need. GitHub is also perfect for students, giving you access to pro features and discounts through their "Student Developer Pack". GitHub Pages is another fantastic aspect of the platform, allowing you to host a website without any hassle, with really quick build time while also ranking very high on search engines.

Cons

Even though all members in a specific organization on GitHub may prove they are all verified students, there is still the need for the educational institution to set up a few steps on their own to approve changes being made, which slows down considerably the initial setup. The search options, although they are powerful, aren't very intuitive and many useful functions are well hidden in the documentation pages. As a regular user, there is no option to freely start collaborating in private repositories before scaling up, which is a feature that's often available on other similar platforms. On that note, the price tag for GitHub is relatively high for the added benefits compared to other solutions. There is a restriction on file size, which cannot exceed 100 Mb. In most instances, this is not an inconvenient, but it will not be an appropriate platform to handle sharing large files when rendering 3D models for example.

Chamath N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us

Reviewed on 2018/12/27

The ability that is seen on the GitHub and once the account was created for our project it was all fun for the team members. The future of the big and small projects now point directly to the new development on GitHub. From one point of control, you can supervise the progress and changes made by the team members. It has a friendly cost of operation and can be implemented at any stage of the project.

Pros

My first interaction with GitHub has never been changed and made different following the impact it had on my project. The fact that I was leading a big team that needed to share and update file frequently, GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us. When asked to use the software for any project any time, I would settle for this with confidence following the following facts

I went against the norm to compare the ability of the software and here are some of the reasons it remained on top for me.

-Very easy to get started use.
-Compatible with many other devices that are needed.
-Can be shared in a team simultaneously seamlessly.
-Organizes the work depending on the latest changes.
-Offers central view of the project leading to easy supervision.
-Requires simple device to host and integrates perfectly with the internet.
-Has a great collection library to edit your work.
-Offers pocket-friendly cost to all users.

Cons

Not all our needs were met with ease following the great expectation that we had. Here are some points to have in mind even after the great ability has been demonstrated.

-It works with predefined command.
-Requires strict monitoring as changes can be compromised to interfere with the meaning.
-Fast and stable internet is a must have for success.
-You need technical know-how to manipulate and make changes on the platform.

Binujaya P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

New developers looking to improve

Reviewed on 2019/10/28

To conclude, this is great software that connects people, mostly developers to work together and improve their selves and their skills by working as a group on a specific code. Plus your code may or may not be visible to others, that is up to you. Overall, this is one of the best or maybe the best developer tools.

Pros

GitHub is a great place for developers and their projects. You can easily save your code privately or publically. The great thing here is that every developer can see your work and vice versa. That means you can help other people and they can help you if you mess something up or if your code is not working. This is a place where you can improve your skills as a developer which is an amazing thing because there are few to no software that offers you something like this. Also, you can work with your friends and colleagues and help each other out.

Cons

I don’t like that it’s not easy to use. It is complicated and if you are new to this job you will probably need a lot of time and education to the software to learn how it works. Another small thing that I don’t like is that if one person in our group doesn’t have the paid version of the software he won’t be able to see the changes that have been done, nor he will have access to the file which means that in order for him to work with us he will need to have the paid version of the software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best way to collaborate on code

Reviewed on 2018/03/26

Pros

GitHub offers to host projects that rely on the Git version control system. While mainly aimed at developers, it works very well for any text-based work.
GitHub offers free hosting for all open source repositories (i.e. your code will be visible to the public). The website is extremely easy to use, and has a beautiful, clean interface.

When working in teams, the concept of pull request comes in very handy: one developer can "branch off" the main version of the project to work on a new feature. Once the feature is ready, the developper proposes a "pull request", to re-integrate the new feature into the main branch. Contributors to the project can review the code, giving precise feedback on the new feature.
I have used this workflow with great success in the context of small teams.

Finally, GitHub scores major points in the academic sector by providing Student and Institution accounts with unlimited private repositories, for free ("Student Pack").

Cons

Outside of the free student accounts, the GitHub subscription could be slightly pricy, especially for a small developer.

As we come to rely more and more on GitHub to host code, any downtime becomes very critical. In the past few years, there were a couple of instances of GitHub downtime which affected my productivity.

Emily S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Basic Utility

Reviewed on 2020/02/25

I honestly, like GitHub. I used it a while, the Microsoft bought them out and I had an ethical issue so I switched to GitLab, but I came back. GitHub is simply too universal and easy to use, despite the new owners. As long as they don't implement any additional features behind a pay wall, I will probably continue to use it.

Pros

I really like the collaboration and discovery features for programs. It's nice to get input from others or be able to test your skills by helping out on other projects. It's also great that you can comment on every commit and sub comment, etc. It makes it easy and organized to talk about specific issues in a project. It's also great that it integrates with so many other software options (slack, trello, discord, etc.)

Cons

I wouldn't blame this on the software exactly, but I don't love the hoops you sometimes need to jump through just to submit a commit. Although, there's a good chance this is entirely user error on my part.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Great Source Code Collaboration Platform

Reviewed on 2019/03/10

My overall experience with Github is very satisfactory. I have been using Github from last 4 years and using it to the max potential. I applied for Student Education Pack and it helped me with the free package which helped me in my learning. Now, I can help Open Source Communities and and also publish my code for others to contribute to and also to improve upon. Some things can be improved but the overall experience is great.

Pros

Github is an easy to learn and easy to use development platform. It provides a platform to collaborate on other's code and also open our code for collaboration from others, thus helping us making our code/app better. Also, project management is built right into the ui of Github, all the code issues and projects are there right next to projects. Also, Open Source community is largely helped by Github, which lets developers discover new projects and use these new projects as dependencies in their next projects. Thus, helping the developers community to grow. Also, Github offers a great Education plan helping students learn things without the burden of subscriptions.

Cons

Ability to collaborate on private repositories. Only 3 collaborators are allowed in free private repositories (Microsoft made it free just months ago). Pull request UI can be improved to provide more information.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy and Effective

Reviewed on 2019/08/04

Pros

It gives an endless flexibility to create and delete branches.
Provides option for Developer to create his own branch, make changes, create pull request and tag his lead to review and its very easy to view changes made using pull request.
Lead/Reviewer has option to provide his review comments , approve or reject on pull request. Developer will incorporate those comment and resubmit pull request.
Closed pull requests also stay forever giving the team a flexibility to view them anytime and know the person who made the change.
On the whole GIT is very nice versioning tool that helps members to version, view and track changes.

Cons

Its not a very bad thing but the merging process with various branches sometime gets tedious.

Tigran H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Github the best.

Reviewed on 2020/03/08

Overall it's a great software for companies and for individuals for projects to save code in a safe place and get easily pulled from everywhere.

Pros

This is the most simple and wide used git software all around world. It has has the most popular repos inside it. It has simple ui usage, has a lot of useful features one of them that recently added are dependency bots that are opening PR's to your old repos ti fix security vilnerabilities.

Cons

There are few cons that I can mention here. One of them that GitHub still does not have mobile app or it can’t be downloaded from Play store. The second is that the github servers if falling down time to time.

Yasiru G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Convenient version controlling with GitHub

Reviewed on 2019/08/07

As a developer I use GitHub everyday. It saves so much time and effort and helps to keep the sources safe. And also the pricing is very reasonable.

Pros

GitHub is easy to use and simple while doing the job it is intended to do. Ability to use most of the GitHub features from command-line interface is a huge plus point. Web view of repositories is also very comprehensive and easy to use. And being able to have private repositories for free is very helping.

Cons

I didn't like the GitHub desktop app. Web version and GitHub command-line tools gives the best experience for me.

Zack P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Arguably the best tool for managing git repositories across an organization

Reviewed on 2019/07/23

Overall our team has been able to collaborate on code creation much easier using GH. Been using it for years, and was tentative about Microsoft's acquisition but they have been continually adding more features and fixes to the tool so no complaints so far.

Pros

Wide array of features and integrations, general ease of use if you have a basic understanding of git, simple and straightforward interface, continuous updates/fixes/features.

Cons

Search can use some work (hard to granularly search across many repos), integration of more features that native clients have, and better built-in tools for code editing/syntax selection/diffing across repositories. More features that IDE's have built in would be nice as well.

Vedarth K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best suited for small-mid sized companies

Reviewed on 2019/12/04

Overall Github has been a reliable code hosting service for us and they are improving, adding more features faster than before.

Pros

Github is a good and reliable code hosting service. It is fast that other services out there and has many pluggable features for different aspects of code.

Cons

Github needs to improve the "code review" feature, there are many ways the feature can be improved. Other than code reviews I think Github can improve upon is the PR reminders, some way to notify users about PRs which are open for long time.

Ozan T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

10 years and still rocking

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

I enjoy GitHub. I use GitLab for personal private projects because of it's stable and free CI. Anything open source and professional still goes to GitHub.

Pros

Great, stable product that is getting a lot of cool features after the Microsoft acquisition. It is the go-to product for open source software and one of the best Git solutions out there, if not the best.

Cons

Some other products have more features and are still free. Github is the industry leader and it's more limiting when comes to what you can do with private repositories. This might be a turn off for some people. For instance GitLab has a more stable CI/CD that is also free and open source.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub Review

Reviewed on 2019/07/03

Overall, Github has made my life as a developer more efficient. I am able to collaborate with more individuals and can contribute to open source projects easily. GitHub is a must for any software developer who wants to be successful within this field.

Pros

GitHub is a requirement for any team looking for version control software. It boosts productivity and efficiency within a team through code collaboration and accessible documentation. Our team uses the paid version which allows for private repositories, analytics, large team member counts, and a host of other advanced features. The software is easy to use based on the fact of how well documented the application is when looking at different references. Many editors nowadays have integrated Github within the IDE to push code quicker without having to leave the application that you're currently in.

Cons

The learning curve is definitely the biggest challenge with this software because of all the moving pieces when working in a team environment. It takes some understanding to grasp the commands, merging, branches, and other important features. After grasping the git concepts it makes using the software a cake walk.

Benjamín D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best code repositories with git very social and colaborative

Reviewed on 2018/07/11

Pros

It's a git repository whre you can store your code public (for free) or privately (paid). You can browse repositories from other people, it's very easy to navigate in the code and has a syntax highlight for almos every programming language.
If you see a interesting project you can link into your project as a library or if you want to contribute or create a personalization you can fork and create a "copy" of the original repository to start editing and change things you need, all of this is really easy to do.
You can see all the forks of a project and see what's the people doing and merge some functionality made for other people if you want. So it's very collaborative.
It has lot's of functionality like documentation webpages for your project, bug reporting and issue tracking, version control for releases, and all the thing included in git can be managed more visual (branches, tags, pull requests, etc)

Cons

It's really nice online service, the only thing I would like to improve is the code finder, that sometimes doesn't search all the results for a word or a symbol in the repository and you need to look by hand.

Shareque M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Github Is Dveloper's Magic Tool

Reviewed on 2020/03/06

GitHub helps me to back up my projects, its main aim is different which working with team in a collaborative manner and share your code or recourse and merge it without interfering with others code.

It allows us to create and maintain branches which is good option, it allows the freedom of doing your work on the development branch while the production branch is live and Testing branch is used by the QA team, so yes its a great option to work with ease.

Pros

Centralizing all the resources related to the same project becomes very easy is Github.
It allows us to work on the same project within the same room or remotely and then merge it properly.
Maintain old history with all the possible details who made that change with his id, time and all that which help to figure out how to fix the problem and who is responsible for this.

Cons

It forces use a command-based interface that's why some of my colleagues feel uncomfortable using it.
Maintaining project large team becomes very hectic if all are working on same module.
All the way it's a good option to maintain a backup of each and every change around the whole team.

Grant S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Github from a Designer and Product Managers Perspective

Reviewed on 2018/01/10

Pros

As a designer and product manager I mostly use Github to document software and manage projects. I love using the Wiki to document what needs to be built. Being able to use hyperlinks makes organizing my thoughts easy, and allows readers to get as many details that they need. I also use it to break projects down into tickets and communicate what needs to be built with my dev team. Project Boards are my favorite way to visualize tickets, and make it easy to see what needs to be done, what is in progress, needs to be tested, and approved for production.

Cons

I wish the workflow for creating tickets was more streamlined. I often create tickets directly from Boards, but this requires you to create a note and then convert it to a ticket. Also, when you convert a note to a ticket it gives you a pop-up modal that allows you to provide more information, but the modal doesn't have all the features that the new ticket page has. So typically I create a note, convert it to a ticket, and the click on the new ticket on the board to provide additional documentation and add the proper tags. This needs to be streamlined.

Vinoch S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good tool to use as your code repository

Reviewed on 2019/10/02

I have used Azure DevOps, compare to that Github makes it easy to maintain and manage your codes. Viewing the history and comparing the code is really easy in Github compare to Azure DevOps.

Pros

Github is easy to manage and maintain the codes in cloud. The best thing I like which others could not able to deliver that I can give comments each line of code in each pull requests. Github provides integration to Slack and other platforms where when a new pull request comes I will be notified via Slack.

Cons

I don't find anything least to like about Github. Sometimes I find bit confusing when I try to view my pull request via a branch in Github.

András P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Pretty much the go to location if it comes to code collaboration

Reviewed on 2020/10/01

It is almost like breathing, you usually do it without thinking about it but you better not stop doing it, GitHub works similarly most of the days you need it but barely notice it.

Pros

The UI is quite intuitive, the migration from SVN was well automated, the pricing and the free tier is actually fair.

Cons

Handling of the tags could be improved upon, adding/removing/editing them after the fact. GitHub pages should be included in the free version, bunch of projects had to find a new place for their project when it changed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very easy to use, and known by all

Reviewed on 2019/12/04

Github is at the centre of our project management, dev and CI/CD flow, and does the job really well

Pros

Everyone developer knows Github, so it's extremely easy to onboard new engineers.
The Github team keeps adding cool features and add-ons that make your life easier.

Cons

Our CICD flow is highly dependent on Github, which sometimes has downtimes that would completely block us. Strong SLAs are only accessible if you pay a very high price, which we are not ready to pay. But going for a self-hosted alternative would be a big change for the team