3 214 reviews

GitHub

Social coding & collaborative development platform

4,8 /5 (3214 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,8
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,6
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,4
98% recommended this app
3 214 reviews
Alex T.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Highly Intuitive GIT Hosting Solution with a Ridiculous Amount of Community Support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best part of this software, in my opinion, has to be the repository insights that comes with the pro version and above. These insights have proven to be extremely valuable when managing larger-scale projects with multiple developers working on the projects. Not only is our project management team able to get live updates on the progress of the project with each commit, but our team is also able to hold each other accountable by seeing their progress via the progress tracking feature and individual commits. Another notable mention for Github is their desktop GUI. This is such an incredibly easy tool to use and it makes the entire GIT experience much easier to understand and maneuver.

Cons

The one issue i had with this software is the repo search functionality. This part of the software can be confusing to learn to be effective with and it takes some time to be proficient with, which can be a hassle for some of our newer members of our project management team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ankit P.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Reduced deployment time by a large extent

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/07
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require collaboration should definitely use this product. After the acquisition by Microsoft, I am very hopeful of increasing the developer community globally. For my organization, this has been the best decision that we took close to 6 years back when we started using this and since then we don't have to worry about the deployments to production servers.

Pros

From the day, my team has started using GitHub for pushing code to production environment, we have reduced our deployment times by nearly 65%. I was introduced to the concept of GitHub few years back but was not sure whether the team will be able to work with it or not, so we started on a trial basis for one project and then my team came back to me and asked me if we can use it for all projects in the company. This had really helped us in version control, control over who pushes what to the production and access control

Cons

Limitations on the number of users in a particular project is one of the cons for the product. Also, one needs to have a Git account to get access to the code is according to me another limitation

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jasmeet S.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Review and Manage your Codes Without Any Hassle

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/07
Review Source: Capterra

It has various documentations, guides, help sections and articles which helps in providing information about anything related to Git. It is also providing a variety of helpful samples for your projects. It introduced a new feature named as Gists which helps in turning more than one file into a repository of Git and it helps in sharing and tracking changes more accurately and easily. User will be able to create static websites by using GitHub pages.

Pros

It is developed for managing open-source projects. If you are dealing with open source project which is including issue tracker and wiki, it is easy to get feedback and add more in-depth documentation in it. Community is also contributing to developing open-source projects through it. It has a markdown feature which is a text editor for writing various formatted documents so that the user will be able to track them easily.

Cons

It does not have improved security features to prevent merging. When you create new commits it automatically hides previous comments. After merging branches into repositories it is difficult to track them. Various controls should be provided for notifications. Limitations should be removed regarding file size.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Matthew P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

It's an industry standard tool for reason

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/04
Review Source: Capterra

Very simple to set up and use, and being an industry standard most onboarding developers and engineering teams already know how to use it.

Pros

Reliable and consistent version control and code collaboration platform. The team management, issue tracking, visibility/privacy control are all top of the line, and of course the underlying "git" hosting is perfect. Introduction of Github Actions only improves the value of the platform.

Cons

I'd like to see more for project management, e.g. ways to better organize issues by priority, themes ("epics") and create scrum, agile and/or kanban influenced views and planning tools. I've heard some folks express concern with Microsoft's acquisition of GitHub, but I don't understand the concern b/c Microsoft has a solid history of operating business-grade tools, and from the date of acquisition we've only seen more-for-your-money price changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jason L.
Industry: Graphic Design
Company size: Self Employed

As a designer who codes...

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/22
Review Source: Capterra

Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up & integrated well throughout our suite and comms internally. Personally, I have a repo set up for my personal sit and I wouldn’t ever choose another tool to host my code repository and handle deployments to production code.

Pros

GitHub has grown leap & bounds over the past few years. They have always offered really excellent tools for developers that is well built and very stable. More recently GitHub has put a lot of effort in creating a more intuitive user experience that makes it simpler to use for both beginners and experienced users. As a designer who isn’t the best with code and development but still knows how to setup and deploy code with GitHub there updates over recent years have been very helpful in day-to-day. Integrations & security settings are excellent as well.

Cons

Nothing much to say here. GitHub can be a bit overwhelming for a beginner but IMO they have been addressing this and making it much more comfortable to get started using. I’d like to see more of the same in other areas as well. Solving merge conflicts in GitHub was the only time I was ever frustrated with the tool.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Emiliano P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

It's one of the first and also one of the best code management tools

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/22
Review Source: Capterra

I like it very much, I have used it for professional, freelance and code learning projects.

Pros

- World renowned
- Easy to use if you know git
- It has student/education plans
- They now offer free private repositories
- Github actions offer a free tier
- Github actions have a repository of ready-to-use code snippets

Cons

- The teams and corporate versions can get quite expensive when your team increases
- It doesn't have code indexing / search, only "jump to file"

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

András P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Pretty much the go to location if it comes to code collaboration

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/01
Review Source: Capterra

It is almost like breathing, you usually do it without thinking about it but you better not stop doing it, GitHub works similarly most of the days you need it but barely notice it.

Pros

The UI is quite intuitive, the migration from SVN was well automated, the pricing and the free tier is actually fair.

Cons

Handling of the tags could be improved upon, adding/removing/editing them after the fact. GitHub pages should be included in the free version, bunch of projects had to find a new place for their project when it changed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Miloš B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

All you need for git + great UX

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/23
Review Source: Capterra

Github boosts our team collaboration on multiple levels and provides secure and reliable place for our source code.

Pros

Github is reliable and feature-rich service with clean UI and great UX. It offers broad range of integrations and productivity tools like Github actions.

Cons

I would welcome more options for branch rules and permissions. Notification system seems a bit useless.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tony S.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Github is a solid solution

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

We use it daily and we like how it integrates with our CI/CD. It makes it easy to commit code, create forks, merge PRs and all these things that we need and use on a daily basis

Pros

It was easy to integrate with Travis.
Multiple forks per repository allows us to work simultaneously on a project and PRs do some checks before merging.

Cons

Sometimes, there is downtime, but not a major issue as it does not happen so often - as much as is expected from any SaaS.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Abuzar H.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Github : social coding tool for very open source supporter and developer

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2020/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

It one of finest services based on tool git , where almost, all the open source project are hosted. One way or other way , if you are doing some kind of programming , you will end up using github service.

Pros

I feature I liked most is the freedom to host as many private repository I want , until the member contributing is 3 or less than 3. For the public repository , there is no restriction and all features are enabled.

The basic stats like number of star marked on project , count of the open issue, last commit in the timeline of open source library hosted , give a huge idea , whether library one is considering to be used , should be used or avoided.

Cons

Git has a learning curve. If one is developer , you have to go through this.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Naseeb B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

This is everything you need when you're on the track of being developer.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/02
Review Source: Capterra

It's been more than 2 years since i started using GitHub. Being a web developer i find it very useful for all the developers around the world and i'd highly recommend to all the upcoming beginners too. This is a great way of sharing, contributing and gaining knowledge. We can get lots of support from other developers too in case of their repositories. Another main thing is that, we can form a team and work together to contribute on Github. Anyone who are willing to start coding or codes can easily create a free account on GitHub and start contributing and playing around with code world. This is everything a developer needs! Overall, my experience is too good and still i've been contributing toward Github on daily basis.

Pros

Due to it's easiness for using, I think this helps to become Github's biggest strengths. It's super reliable, easy to contribute our projects and share among all. It also contains broad set of features and also provides a clean responsive UI for the interaction. Everything's on top regarding it UI. All out repository files are organized easily. Other user's or developers can simply get help from the existing repositories and can leave issues if they face any problems with their code. Here, developers together can contribute single repository which Github helps in keeping track of each by particular author.

Cons

May be conflict management could be more improved. Sometimes searching repositories becomes hard. Search feature is good but not that great. Notification feature is not good, keeps on displaying even if we click on it.[only if the notification is done as instructed, the notification gets removed]. All the projects are Quoted looking upon the maximum number of code used on certain language. [example: i'll be contributing nodejs project then, it doesnot shows the project is in JavaScript language, instead shows HTML] for such case we have to manually fix it all the time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Gabriel F.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Now it's cheaper & of course better than any competitors

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/23
Review Source: Capterra

Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great.
You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and code all-in-one place.

Pros

Code review is simply AWESOME.
- The editor works perfectly
- You can suggest changes
- You can co-author pull requests
- You have the codeowners option
- The discussions have clear UI and can be resolved
- It's possible to mark a file as read and check changes between commits!!
Other than that, it has the great Github Actions and the SLA is awesome.

Cons

- The option for Mac OS on Github Actions are too expensive
- There could be a better package for Github Actions to suits a large CI/CD business
- You have to spend credits everytime your branch is outdated with master (just a simple fast-forward), so you have to run all the tests again - even though 99% of the time it won't break, since it's just a head fast forward
- No default reviewers for repositories :(
- Some minor UIs issues

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris V.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Make development less time-consuming, with GitHub, so long you're experienced with it

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/06/09
Review Source: Capterra

GitHub helped us to reduce the hassle with bug identifying and is having good analytics to track the activity of our development team, and that's helping the project management. Collaboration is made a lot easier with GitHub, and the best problem we resolved with GitHub is the integration with automated testing and deploying platforms. The changelog can be managed very easily, which is providing benefits to locate code changes.

Pros

GitHub is a great Source Code Management platform for our company. We've been hassling with finding out where a specific bug occurred, and hassled with manually testing code, but with GitHub, we automated a huge part! Since GitHub is a known platform, there are many integrations, which helps us with testing and notifying, and as well finding at what commit a specific issue occurred! Since it provides a good UI, viewing information and reading code is easy to do from the website, and development can be done easily using the CLI or GitHub's GUI. Most CI/CD solutions are supporting GitHub, so deploying from GitHub isn't a hassle!

Cons

GitHub is pretty advanced. We have thought about letting our Customer Service use GitHub for reporting issues and letting them have conversations with engineers, but it ended up with lots of questions, since GitHub's design isn't that simple.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Works seamlessly - I've used it for 4+ years as a student!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/09
Review Source: Capterra

It's incredibly useful & seamless. Wouldn't use any other product over this.

Pros

It's incredibly easy to set up & use from a Mac. I store all of my projects in GitHub (I used to store them on Google Drive, but Cloud + Version Control is much better!)

Cons

It would be nice to be able to deploy Jupyter Notebooks to a Github Server where they could be interacted with. I suppose this could be done with the .github.io URL's - but a guide on how to do this would be awesome to advertise.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Andrei P.
Industry: Computer Games
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Popular and fast version control service but with less features than the competition

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/10
Review Source: Capterra

I am still currently working with GitHub due to the smooth Heroko and Netlify integrations that saved us a lot of hassle but for any projects which don't benefit from this I use GitLab (which is slower unfortunately).

Being such a popular service it was attacked a few times by hackers which lead to some downtime that luckily did not affect our studio.

Pros

GitHub is home to the majority of the web's open source projects. It was one of the first version control services and it aged pretty well.
The service's website speed is probably one of the best around when it comes to repository hosting services and this is very important as through the website all the information about projects can be found.
There is a lot of searching and navigating to be done within projects so the speed is a big plus.

GitHub also has it's own website hosting service called GitHub Pages which allows people to make their own website. This is great if you are the project owner and would like to link additional information within a look that looks less than a wiki page.

GitHub comes with a very easy to use desktop application which is used to manage repositories, both from GitHub as well as the competition's services.

Being so popular it has a great deal of integrations into other services, the most important one for me perosnally being the Heroku and the Netlify one. Whatever is pushed to the GitHub repo gets built and sent to Heroku and Netlify. saving up valuable time. These integrations are sometimes available for the competition services too but the steps are much steeper.

Another thing that GitHub done right was the monthly progress on the main page showing how many changes were made by the user. This helped with giving people an incentive to keep working every day to have the calendar-like frame green at all times (gamification).

Cons

When I started using GitHub a long time ago (~6 years) the services was very limited if you were a free user. The collaborators were limited and the space was very tiny and on top of everything your projects were not private. This is great for open source developers but for me, I could not allow myself to put game projects up for grabs so I mostly used GitHub for small prototypes.
Late came the option for free users to have private repositories and after that Microsoft bought GitHub extending the limitations.

Unfortunately even with their newest addition to the space of a repository using Large File Storage (LFS), the competition offers more space and a more streamlined workflow for big projects. Also a lot of features are behind a paywall for GitHub while the competition gives them for free, at a cost of slower website speed however.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best in class, world-known service

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/02/20
Review Source: Capterra

Great! I'd choose them again in a heartbeat. They're easy to use, integrate with almost every tool I can think of and have great customer support. The keep delivering new features lately, and I'm excited for what's coming next!

Pros

This is probably the best hosted Git solution out there. GitHub is the de-facto standard platform for hosting OSS projects, which makes a TON of services integrate with it, and therefore a good solution for private repositories as well.
Now with GitHub Actions, the GPR and more coming soon, I think it's the best platform around.

Cons

Pricing is _a bit_ pricey, compared to the alternatives such as Bitbucket (less than half the price per user) or GitLab, which provide various pricing tiers, including a free self-hosted one.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best source code management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/10
Review Source: Capterra

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has nice workflow for devops to keep the source code clean, unit tested and deployable.

Pros

Github requires no introduction. It is the most popular source code management among opensouce and enterprise customers. It has native integration with almost all cloud providers.

Cons

Charge per user. In our case we outsource 70% of our development to outside contractors. Every time we add them into our account, it is considered as additional collaborator and takes away one seat. It will be hard for us to keep monitoring both internal and external developers on our team to keep the cost under control.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Adrian C.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

GitHub is essential if you are a developer

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/06
Review Source: Capterra

Anything I write or code goes into GitHub, if it's a file I put it on Google Drive, if not it goes on GitHub, simple as that. It means I always have a backup, an up to date version, can roll back and share code very easily. Also, we collaborate daily as an organisation on GitHub and it is essential for us to function :)

Pros

It's very easy to use and fast. Previously I was using another version control software which became very slow. GitHub is super fast and much easier to use. I love the project management feature and KanBan cards and also the fact that it integrates with lots of other tools.

Cons

I think finding personal info could be made easier, e.g. all your comments, comments in a certain timeframe, interactions and conversations. I am a programmer and don't mind manually adding in the flags for searching, but feel a much more intuitive interface could be created to make life easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dilanka H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A universal level source code management system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/06
Review Source: Capterra

Implementation was very organized. It was not easy without proper guidance, but the instructions were generally available over the community and problem solving was also very smooth. Availability over a number of platforms made the choice more strongly recognized. Developers/Programmers could easily adapt to use GitHub as the only version control and source code managing platform with no time.

Pros

The important features available to manage the source code within the Application Development IDE itself made the work more efficient and convenient. GitHub was efficient enough to link the entire platform-based solutions right within the IDE, so the version management, source code control including comments and documentation was made the productivity increased rapidly within the organization.

Cons

The free and generally available version did not secure the source code managed over the platform by allowing users to create private repositories, which is not available in public. However, the paid version managed to provide that facility but it could have been better if the free version at least provides a limited number (at least one) private repository available.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jonathan B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

Best git hosting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/15
Review Source: Capterra

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

Pros

Very easy to host a repository and to fork other repositories. It is easy to search other repositories.

Cons

None that I found. My only request would be to be easier to download single files without having to view the file first. If there were checkboxes and a download option that would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sven B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The #1 code hosting solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/18
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using it for code hosting for both private and public projects for several years, issue tracking etc not so much (mainly because the tracker is quite basic). As GitHub is using git underlying it can be accessed via any git compatible client out in the wild - so there are tons of ways to choose from suiting every developers needs.

Github provides many hooks for third party tools, so pushes can trigger all sorts of things like CI builds or posts in your company Slack. Automation and integration is dead simple and super flexible.

The company itself is really developer friendly, and you can sense that they are using GitHub themselves. Hosting of open source projects is free and their support and documentation are very helpful.

Availability is high - one of the most important reasons when choosing a code hosting service.

Pros

- high availability
- built-in code review, wiki, issue tracker, artifact hosting (private beta)
- great third-party tool integration
- automate everything
- uses git
- developer friendly company
- free for open source projects
- mature

Cons

- issue tracker could be more sophisticated
- new features could be developed more rapidly (although this has improved recently)
- native apps are not up-to-par with competitors, but luckily there are many free alternatives
- was bought by Microsoft, I personally would have liked to see them stay independent

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ankush K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Github Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

I use it almost every hour every day and so far I'm glad I've switched from bitbucket to this.

Pros

Usage is well documented like cloning repository using ssh, create a branch, create a repository, etc. Reviewing PR interface is great. You've option to mark the files you've reviewed which is really helpful for gigantic pull requests. Easy integration with IDE like Intellij/Eclipse and you can push your changes directly from the IDEs.
Features like squash/merge from UI are really great and saves a lot of time. Jira integration of pull requests is awesome.

Cons

Very limited private repositories for free users, it should give an option like this number of lines of code for the private repository as a limit rather than not providing or limited private repositories.
It sometime might get complicated for new users while working on same codebase at the same time like stuck between merge conflicts, rebase issues etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Youness M.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Feedback about Github & Comparison with Gitlab

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/13
Review Source: Capterra

A great software !
Very useful, necessary, and i have been using it in our organization for many years, even that we are using Gitlab for most of our projects.

Pros

Very sofisticated, today it gives us more freedom and we are able to use private repositories.
Github is the reference of version controls, and we are using it every day ( in our organization, and as well with a couple of open source products ).

Cons

Sometimes it's confusing, I love the simplicity of Gitlab, but it's not really a full comparison, both softwares have their own pros and cons. But i find that Github is sometimes confusing, and the options and how to do simple things are hidden.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Trabelsi H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Best version control system

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/24
Review Source: Capterra

We have switched to GitHub enterprise and we realized how it was become easy to browse repository, share and contribute to projects things that wasn’t possible before.

Pros

As a web developer GitHub is built to work perfectly with web projects.it has a lot of features:
It’s easy to setup project and add contributors to it.
PR system is very complete and it’s easy to follow and request changes from contributors, you can also integrate third party tools to enhance the pull request validation mechanism.
GitHub pages make your life easier to deploy your application (mostly the app documentation) by just creating a doc folder in the repo without any extra server setup.

These are the features that l’m using daily but GitHub have much more than that (gists,issues tracker,wiki,..) I can spend days talking about it but if you’re looking for a git repository service GitHub is the best choice.

Cons

I didn’t notice any major cons except the learning curve especially if you come from other environment like Svn or TFS.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Si M.
Industry: Research
Company size: Self Employed

Convenience just a pull away: GitHub, a game-changing tool for developers

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/18
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, learning Git and GitHub made life as a developer convenient. We transitioned from manually merging our code to using GitHub. Although it required some practice, it was well worth the time. We realized that we were missing out and how our older projects would have been a breeze if we learned about GitHub sooner.

Pros

Knowing git and GitHub boosted the productivity of my team members and I. We were able to cutback on the times we were doing manual version control work rather than actual software development. It has been very useful to the point that it has been integrated into our project work pipeline. It has been very reliable and our team has never encountered problems in uploading and retrieving the code of others. We are able to document any changes to our code and fix conflicting code which made working in a team much more convenient.

Our team of 3 uses the free version which allows us to collaborate with each other, set up a public or private repository, document our bugs, and manage our workflow which already is a lot for a free service. Paid options allow for collaboration of bigger teams, analytics, and other advanced features.

Aside from that, a GUI version of the application allows you to visually see the changes in the project and simplifies the workflow. Tutorials and documentations on how to use GitHub, for both the GUI and command line versions are available. Most source code editors now even have GitHub integrated and allows you to do the commands without leaving the editor.

Cons

As great as GitHub is, it really takes some time in getting used to, especially for beginners. It has a steep learning curve and you are most likely going to have to use a search engine for the tasks you want to do. GitHub also has an application with a GUI which is relatively beginner friendly, but even then, the Git workflow is really something that requires practice. I personally use the Command Line Interface and the difficult part is knowing the commands to use in which I solved by printing out a cheat sheet.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10