23 reviews

AppDynamics

Application Performance Management (APM)

4,5 /5 (23 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
91%
recommended this app
23 reviews
Daniel P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2016/06/08

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My experience has been great. It is a one stop shop for many monitoring and analytical needs.

Reviewed on 2018/01/09

Monitoring and analytical

Pros

Appdynamics supports many platforms, and it's set up is relatively easy. It also supports customized monitoring, and allows you to build what you need.

Anuruddha R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great tool to analyze applications.

Reviewed on 2018/12/10

Pros

AppDynamics provides great reports to analyze performance of applications. Dashboards provide simple but effective data to get an idea of the application's behavior.

Cons

Price of the AppDynamics is high. But it has many valuable features. This is not for small businesses.

Sonal J.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This tool is amazing in terms of performance bottleneck analysis and user friendliness

Reviewed on 2017/10/17

Integration with load runner

Pros

The good thing about the tools is its integration with the load runner tool for performance testing
We can get the exact method and class names from the code which helps in finding the bottleneck

Cons

Some flex calls cannot be captured with the appdynamics so cannot be used for the flex coded developed applications. Extra license cost for the database monitoring can be more structured

Anuj S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best in class, Slowness in major concern

Reviewed on 2019/01/09

Pros

The functions of projects are great, drill to the issue to root level and this makes it easy to resolve issues.

Cons

Slowness, it takes time to respond and granularity of data reduces with time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

AppDynamics Review

Reviewed on 2020/10/10

Monitor applications to make sure they are in a good and healthy state.

Pros

Automatically discover and monitor applications that are deployed.
Get notified when there are health rules that are violated which you can setup yourself.
Capture errors automatically with certain error codes and error logs.

Cons

There are many different tabs and links to click on but most of the time you don't know what they do.
Only use a very small set of features in the overall app due to its complexity

Mayura N.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It waseasy earn this learn for new user.mapping of the loadrunner with this tool is easy

Reviewed on 2017/12/25

Pros

It is easy to monitor the server side and client side performance metric.Easy to identify the bottleneck at application and database level.

Cons

It adds licenses to be installed as well as the cost brings limitation for use.

Zachary W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

AppDynamics has saved us so much time!

Reviewed on 2017/02/10

It's not the easiest APM out there to use by far. And manually instrumenting non-web software is the pits. But it pays off in droves. We've cut support times by 80%+. Before when we had issues, it involved a lot of trial and error, randomly looking at diff server logs, and manual hunting for problems. Now we know right where to start, and most of the time, even know what exactly is causing the issue. Root cause analysis is quick and easy. Database traces, full cross-app traces, it's all there now and it works amazingly. Now they just need to make it easier to use, because anyone outside of IT is instantly lost.

Pros

Deep, useful analysis of performance of applications. Makes for quick troubleshooting.

Cons

It's not user friendly at all. And instrumentation of non-web apps is a slow painful process.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good admin tool for cloud foundry products

Reviewed on 2019/11/15

Software monitoring, event logging, overall status of applications.

Pros

I like that it is really easy to implement, add AppDynamics agent to your code manifest and it starts to monitor your application. Easy to set up triggers for events which should be monitored.

Cons

Sometimes for same url applications it tends to not find requests between multiple applications, but give it some time and it should work as expected.

Gavin L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Utilize AppDynamics to monitoring PROD Java applications

Reviewed on 2018/02/08

Able to see JVM memory usage, garbage collection, JVM error, and applications error per tier to associated systems.

Pros

Easy to install, configure, and manage. Just straight agent that you need to install on your systems and add it as part of your JVM process.

Cons

Nothing to do not like it. Sometimes could be difficult to troubleshoot it if they agent cannot start with JVM process.

Sophie b.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Free Lite Version covers many tasks

Reviewed on 2012/08/14

The freemium version of AppDynamics offers many useful tasks for smaller websites. I think to a certain extend it can also be useful for larger ones. Right now, I am using the free version and I think I can get along with that for some time. That´s great!!!
One negative point that I can see is that the Lite version records data from only the last two hours, that´s not enough.

Pankaj P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fantastic Tool

Reviewed on 2017/02/07

Pretty new to this tool, but its already impressed me with the auto detection of nodes.
still exploring for more options.. but this tool could be one stop for all monitoring

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Helpful tool to

Reviewed on 2019/08/23

Pros

Great monitoring into web applications and infrastructure and great analytics dashboards.

Cons

A bit pricey in comparison to its competitors

Shaun d S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Skeptical at first and now speechless and client ecstatic!

Reviewed on 2018/04/29

One platform that allows you to view key metrics of any "online store/service" in one pane. In a digital economy now and more people embracing the "cloud", which comes at a premium......it's great to be able to "see" in real time not only your infrastructure performance but the performance of the users and the apps and allows you know EXACTLY where the change is needed. Which gives organizations the option of freeing up staff, thus freeing up "salary" and putting it back in their bottom line.

Pros

Single pane viewing of what matters most. Simple click of a button and I can view infrastructure response, user "click thru" i.e. completes to weekly/monthly reporting taking only minutes instead of hours or days. We were able to view what percentage of users visited/clicked thru with device and time of day and able to see their drop point. Immediately saw a trend and got our app team on it and saw almost immediate uptick in customer completes/orders. What sold me was the agentless monitoring of the databases so we could actully see in real time what days/times we needed to apply additional CPU resources.

Cons

I guess I really can't state a "plausible" con......the software goes above and beyond what we had envisioned and actually made everyone's duties easier to complete which we were able to turn reports and analytics around quicker.......so if I had to complain about something.....maybe the price??? But isn't always about "price".

Arpan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An amazing tool to monitor an application's performance over an extended period of time.

Reviewed on 2018/11/26

I use it everyday to track down following on SQL server:
- SQL statements or stored procedures that are consuming most of the system resources.
- Statistics on procedures, SQL statements, and SQL query plans.

Pros

- Simple and easy to use interface.
- Provides complete visibility on the application's performance (Application Monitoring), database performance, and infrastructure performance ranging from 1 day - 1 year.
- Provides tons of information which can be used to resolve an issue quickly.

Cons

- Although the interface is easy to use, but still it is very hard to find the valuable information quickly many times.
It is highly recommended that a beginner must go through a training program before using this software.
- Some parts of the software still use flash.

David B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great application performance monitoring

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

Pros

The UI is fairly intuitive making it easy to find what your looking for. Integration is also fairly easy through the use of setup wizards for their agents.

Cons

I wish therer was better logging integration and corillation between logs and APM

Md muhibbul C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

AppDyanamics review from T-Mobile employee

Reviewed on 2019/02/11

Overall it's above average.

Pros

All app and machine agents can be viewed. We can create dashboards as well for all server performances that gives us overview of how quickly we can identify issues.

Cons

User Interface. Not very user friendly. In addition, sometimes user interface respond slowly.

Arnold F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 2019/03/07

Satish C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best Application performance monitoring tools

Reviewed on 2020/05/05

Awesome product to analyse transactions

Pros

Easy to drill down to ground zero, helps in faster triage of transaction failures.

Cons

A little complex for novice users. Too many steps to follow

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great insights into application performance in real world conditions

Reviewed on 2018/07/24

Proactive management of software performance/ issues in production

Pros

We started using AppDynamics in 2012 when we inherited code in production that was built by someone else. The level of insights it provided helped us address the production issues quickly and we started using it for all new development and deployment. It helped us move from being reactive to proactive in identifying and managing issues/ bottlenecks

Cons

Like any complex piece of software it requires some learning. However, given the amount of information it generates out of the box it is easy for people not to make changes to configurations. That might result in more noise than news

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

AppDynamics

Reviewed on 2019/05/23

We use AppDynamics to monitor the performance of our servers and applications. It helps us to find the reasons for the slowdown in servers. Monitoring current servers was not enough for us. Appdynamics made it very easy to find the problem.

Pros

The user interface so everyone can understand. Especially the graphics showing the flow of network traffic between our various monitored servers is great.

Cons

Learning all the features of the application can take time.

Patricia R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Tool For Monitoring My Applications

Reviewed on 2020/07/08

As I have started developing our own systems and web applications internally, it has become essential that I have consistently capable tools for monitoring the effectiveness and engagement of my apps. AppDynamics has provided that capability and much more.

Pros

Wide breadth of services and function coupled with firs class customer services. They've been in the market for a long time, so there's a firmly established user community.

Cons

Some of the data that I need gets lost on all of the functions. Curse of the blessing, I guess. Otherwise, I have no issues.

Pankaj P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Its a great tool to capture the performance

Reviewed on 2017/06/27

performance metrics, alerting and notifications

Pros

auto detection of environment connectivity, I don't have to do anything to configure my connection patterns which is amazing

Cons

none as of now, the only thing I could think is the cost, other than that we should check on integration with ticketing tools