81 reviews

MYOB Essentials

Online accounting & payroll for every business

3,8 /5 (81 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3,8
/
5
Value for Money
3,3
Features
3,6
Ease of Use
3,8
Customer Support
3,3
69% recommended this app
81 reviews
Joe B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Manual System Converted into Digital

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/12/29
Review Source: Capterra

MYOB has changed the way we work, simplifies book keeping to take away so much pain

Pros

- Easy to signup and simple setup to get things started
- Pricing - Special offer for new start ups
- Invoice reminders
- Invoice templates look very professional
- Invoice shows when customer / vendor have viewed (SUPER HELPFUL)
- Intray for emailing receipts and tracking

Cons

- Not being able to invoice in multiple currencies, have to workarond this by invoicing in the charable foreign currency then after payment is recieved adjusting the template to the local amount that is received.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lee P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/22
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

For a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work Breakdown Structure requirements it comes up short and becomes a limiter for the company. I get very frustrated with the after sales support system. It is not customer focused and leaves you wondering why you pay for it.

Pros

Good basic internal controls so novice bookkeepers can run day to day.
Easy to install and set up.
Reasonably cheap for what you get.
Handles GST well.

Cons

Not the best for Job costings.
Payroll system ordinary serious reporting drawbacks as far as information flow to the General Ledger.
Tends to freeze in reporting production which can lock out users.
Support service is very poor, you get the feeling the staff could care less in resolving issues.
Interactive screen supports not used you have to send a file and wait for a response.
Wait time on the phone for support is very bad.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Matthew K.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Don't start your business accounting with a regrettable decision, look elsewhere!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/18
Review Source: Capterra

Underwhelming to say the least. I was partially sold on the fact that they have a customer service number to assist if need be, don't be fooled by this either, the call centre workers are rather unfamiliar with the MYOB product (unless I was unfortunate enough to speak with their newest member each time) and all my queries had to be looked up each time and they read answers from a screen which I could find on-line myself , they weren't able to elaborate nor answer any further questions I had outside of what was written in front of them.

Pros

Reasonably easy to use but have found Xero to be much better in almost every way.

Cons

Limited features and limited expandability compared to Xero. No was to have a back up of accounting file on your computer. If or once you decide Essentials ins't for you, they do not offer a way to transfer to their own Account Rite product nor do they off to export data to Xero. They will give you 1 month access as a read only before all data is deleted off their server unless you pay $25 Per month for the remaining 5 years you're required to keep the data

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Chris F.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

This is great accounting Software thank you

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/09
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well
Especially after it went to cloud based

Pros

And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds

Cons

The cons are that it is too expensive for what it is

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kate L.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Accounting software to begin with

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

Good for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version

Pros

Have most of the function and very stable software.

Cons

The platform looks a bit old fashion and payroll function is not easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Liam G.

I really like using MYOB for my Business as it makes everything very easy and carefree

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like MYOB for my business as it is intuitive and it combines many different softwares. It is a 'one stop shop' for all my business needs which is what I need when I am very busy

Cons

What i like least about MYOB is that other softwares are more competitive in price. I stay with MYOB as I am used to the functionality off it and dont wish to change.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jason P.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Ongoing extortion, third world support, buggy and terrible reporting

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/27
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

A can't imagine a business could do worse than this product, go elsewhere and save yourself the hassle.

Pros

It didn't fail on install... that's about it!

Cons

I paid for the full version of the software and not even 12 months in they are forcing me to pay for a subscription service as well! Having disabled single touch payroll for offline users they have made the software obsolete.

Support is terrible and slow, you'll quickly get sick of the on hold music. Doesn't matter once you've identified yourself as soon as you're transferred you'll have to do it again.

And the reporting is a waste of time (and paper), you can't even print a list of employees with their birthdays!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Mark R.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Absolutely disgraceful back up service.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/17
Review Source: Capterra

A very unprofessional company. I have been using MYOB for over 5 years and have found the service disgraceful. The service is the worst of any company I have ever used. They take forever to answer a phone call and quite often after waiting u to an hour for hepl, the phone is disconnectred. I need to call them agaion and try for help.
I did not leave hoping for MYOB to improve its service. Also the work to find an alternative. Just now i spent 3/4 hour and they hung up after the wait.

Pros

Nothing. Very bad service. No service. The software was very hard to use. I accepted and learned more. No ease of use.

Cons

The complete usability and back up service.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Andrew K.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Cloud based computing

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Could based software makes it easy to log into from any computer and phone to make changes or reconcile transactions. Really like MYOB Essentials

Cons

Moved from a once off payment for the desktop version to a monthly subscription based system which costs a lot more to maintain.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Martine H.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

MYOB Accounting and Payroll Software

Reviewed on 2016/06/07
Review Source: GetApp

Bookwiz Bookkeeping has been operating since 2000 and over the years we have used many accounting software products. MYOB is hands down the best Accounting & Payroll Software solution for our clients and we highly recommend it. We now have nearly all of our clients online and with features like Bank Feeds and Pay Super we have been able to really streamline the bookkeeping and payroll process for our clients which they love as it saves them money. We also love that MYOB caters for the very small business operators out there by have a very affordable and easy to use solution for them which is MYOB Essentials.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Janet G.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2017/01/05
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Zoe W.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Could be more functional

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

Overall is an asset

Pros

Does the job and can track incoming and outgoing accounts

Cons

Multiple windows and lack of auto-fill function for repetitive entries.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Les W.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A good accounting program for small business

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/19
Review Source: Capterra

running a small business is easier with this program.

Pros

Very traditional, easy to use accounting package that is easy for non-accountants to use.

Cons

It costs a lot, considering its simplicity.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Les V.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: Self Employed

Unmotivated by others

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great templates, works well and the logic seems functional.

Cons

It no longer supports submission to the ATO and is no longer used by the ATO for reporting.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Nigel B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Beginners and advances users both like MYOB

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Simple to generate a quote or invoice. Creating customers while creating quotes or invoices is good to keep you moving easily. Good integration features, such as cards.

Cons

When theres an error, sometimes its not clear what the source of the problem is. This can be frustrating and better error message text would be on the advice to developers list.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rani R.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great software. Does everything we need it to do and more.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

Great accounting, and always updating with new features. Our accountant could just log in and do our end of years immediately.

Pros

-Highly customisable for invoicing and parts inventories.
-Has great reports. We found if you knew what you wanted to keep an eye on in the business, then you could design a report for it. Not all accounting programs or workshop software can do that so easily.
-once it was set up for our workshop, it worked amazingly. Very intuitive

Cons

-We were new to this software, and it took a long time to set it up, (6 mnths), specifically for how we needed it to work. (automotive workshop), You almost needed to be a trained accountant i felt.
-Support used to take at least 1 day if not 2 to get back to you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Daz

Okay but . . . . .

Reviewed on 2013/08/07
Review Source: GetApp

We have been using MYOB accounting plus for over 10 years and recently upgraded to the new Accountright 2013.
The new version is very similar to the old and this makes it relatively easy to adjust to. There was a bit of dancing converting 10 years of accounting data to the new format and eventually we got that done and away we went.
The first thing that struck us was how slow it seems in comparison to the previous software. (MYOB Accounting plus v14). Data entry is not fluid and constant delays in processing. We contacted MYOB support regarding this and "they are working on the problem" so it appears it is a common problem.
It is updated with the latest reports and payroll taxes and supposedly compliant with the ATO.
There is a greater range of reports available but still the customisation options are limited. What you see is what yo get, give or take a field or two.
The "cloud" idea is novel, but due to the speed restrictions it is of little real benefit.
Payroll is the biggest change complying with the new regulations, and taxes, but unfortunately MYOB doesn't allow upgrading of the tax tables without paying for an endless subscription which equates to approximately $800 per year.
Overall if you like the early MYOB and can handle the speed reduction then its an okay upgrade. If it wasn't for the reliance on MYOB data for the previous 10+ years and the swift talking sales rep that convinced management to upgrade, I would personally be looking at alternatives.

Pros

Compatible with earlier versions.
Interface is very similar to previous versions.

Cons

Expensive for what it is!
Slow!!!!! For small or casual use it MAY be okay, but for any real data volume, its just too slow. (Even on the latest PC)
Relies heavily on the internet (could be cause of part of the speed problem)
Limited customisation

Kate W.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/14
Review Source: Capterra

Being in the cloud makes access to this program easy. It is user friendly and easy to navigate. The cost did increase quite a bit over the 6 years I was using it but it is pretty relative to other accounting software available.

Pros

This program is in the cloud so it can be accessed from anywhere that has internet.

Cons

You couldn't do a recurring transaction.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Peter M.
Industry: Publishing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

An industry standard, needs better support

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/12
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

This is one of the mainstream products available around and has a lot of users all over the globe. There is a great chance that your accountant is familiar with this and will be able to make great recommendations

Cons

Updates can be cumbersome and provided they work well they are easy to apply. I have had a couple of instances where we needed support and it has been very lacking. General technical support is poor with cancelled webinars and staff which appear not to know more than the most basic for troubleshooting.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Karen Z.
Industry: Arts & Crafts
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Mostly good

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using MYOB for many years, mainly to raise invoices and purchases, plus to track the P&L and balance sheet. It's a pretty robust product that doesn't need specialist instruction to use the basic functions, but it started getting pretty annoying when I upgraded late 2013 and now one has to be connected to the internet in order to use it. That means if your internet connection is down or you're out of WIFI reach on the road, you can't do anything with your company files. That's my biggest complaint.

Pros

Fairly easy to use; robust

Cons

You have to have internet connection to use your company files.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Nicola B.

Very Simple and easy to use, lacking in a few areas but good for a small business just starting out

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very easy to navigate and simple to use. Search function for invoices is good now that you can see POs.

Cons

Wish it would export data to excel!! Had to manually build a database of 300 invoices! Too easy to go back and delete stuff too which then doesn't stay on the audit trail, once it's gone it's gone! Would like to see some detail from the invoice when it searched for rather than having to go into it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Simon M.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Basic Accounting functions for the new staff to use. Very good graphical user interface. icons are very clear

Cons

Poor budgeting modules when trying to incorporate different departments. Relies on internet with cloud service.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Denise K.

Make life easier

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have been using the web-based MYOB since its launch back in 2012. The functionalities and the interface/look have been improved over the years. I like it because it is web-based, so I don't need to export the accounts and send it to our accountant, also be able to work on the same and updated info from anywhere.

Cons

The subscription price has been increased a lot over the years. I used to pay around monthly and now it costs around. So, for a light user, it's expensive. But well, I guess I pay for the convenience. The interface is not the most intuitive, but once it's learned, it's easy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Steve S.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good Alternative Cloud Accounting Package for the MYOB Faithful

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Cloud based and extremely speedy.
Bank feeds are easier to navigate and interpret than competitors.
Support is good.

Cons

Hard sell to clients who are aware of other market leaders in the cloud accounting space.
Practice level reporting and tools aren't up to par compared to competitors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dmitri I.

Works for us

Reviewed on 2017/04/12
Review Source: Capterra

As a small business, its got everything we need it in. The downside is that the mobile app is very limited. All you can do on it is view or create invoices and take payments, which is where it also comes in handy. We purchased PayDirect card reader for a one time payment. It doesnt have on-going chargers, like many others do, but just minimal fees for eftpos transaction and 1.95% for credit cards.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support