31 reviews

Nagios XI

IT infrastructure monitoring & alerting

4,6 /5 (31 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
31 reviews
Vandana G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A powerful monitoring solution

Reviewed on 2019/04/27

Nagios XI is a powerful server and network monitoring solution. The automation monitoring provides the continuous feedback about the product and infrastructure which help in enhancing the product quality. The advance user interface help in analysis and administration.

Pros

Nagios XI provide a complete monitoring solution for any kind of server, application, web-service or network. User interface is easy to understand and simple to customize the layout or design for each user's priority. Nagios XI monitoring host fetch the quick data from nodes and GUI interact the data into the useful information. Configuration wizards simplify the setup process for new nodes monitoring. Integrated nodes trigger the notification if it needs to increase the capacity of the system. Configuration snapshot helps in saving the day in case of new check-in messed it up and you need a immediate rollback to the last working stage.

Cons

Schedule Reports are limited to enterprise but in case of Standard edition we need to setup the jobs to generate the schedule reports. Advance reporting should have some bulk server options. Monitoring of sensitive data like certificate expiry should have some simple wizards as configuring the web-service and then monitoring the certificate is a long process such need to be simplified.

Sergey M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Entire network at your fingertips

Reviewed on 2018/08/22

Great product. Not only I learned something new, I was also able to impress the management with the results of this $0 product.

Pros

I implemented a free version of the application to monitor my complex network, spreadout across multiple locations. While it took me several attempts to get it right, once installed, I was pleasanty surprised with what I saw. Having my network distributed across multiple locations, it was hard to monitor the upstate / resources of my servers and other network devices. Once I configure Nagious to my liking, I had every network device that I wanted to monitor on the consolidated map. Very simple configuration of the config files, once you get an idea of how to work them. Really great result for a free product

Cons

Being a Linux newbie, it did take me some poking around, before I got it right. You really have to understand the structure of the product and Linux OS itself to get it right. Config files were confusing at first, but once I figured them out, it was a breeze to add / remove hosts.

Gurleen K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Nagios XI - The Open Source Enterprise level Network Monitoring Tool.

Reviewed on 2019/01/06

Nagios Xi web interface user friendly. It allows us to keep the eyes on the complete infrastructure run without any bug as it helps us to identify the failures and also identify the cause of the failure. Configuration snapshot is also helpful to clone the configuration monitoring settings.

Pros

Nagios XI is an Enterprise level monitoring tool as it helps in monitoring the service, infrastructure and network. Powerful dashboard provides all the information at the one place which helps us to monitor the infrastructure. Security can be set on the muti-level users, as it allows the client to view the required components for which they are authorized. The GUI is also very user friendly. Customization wizards is also easy and layout can be configured according to the need of the infrastructure.

Cons

Master Node is configurable on LINUX platform only. So this makes it necessary to learn LINUX for team that will setup and implement it. Once the slave nodes are 80+ it makes the Nagios XI interface slow. The Mobile interface also needs more enhancements in it. Upgrading the advance version is also complex and pre planning and backups are also required for the cases.

Jorge M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

allows us to monitor the network equipment and help us know in real time when a fault occurs

Reviewed on 2018/04/16

Pros

It allows you to monitor many network devices, such as switches, routers, servers, helping to monitor network performance and track traffic on the network interface. very easy to install on a server, the interface is very intuitive, and has a variety of customization options since Nagios is an open source software which makes it easy to add custom scripts to extend the available services.

Cons

It is a bit difficult to configure, but once configured works very well, it continues to use add-ons that in some cases work perfectly but others are painful to work, the interface is a bit slow when you have many clients on the network, and the Search is very precise and does not look for possible matches.

Jose V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A solid network monitor and more...

Reviewed on 2018/04/12

Consistent alerting of network outages and potential server and application problems.

Pros

We introduced Nagios XI into our network a few years ago to help monitor network performance as well as for usage alerts. It has been a great tool to keep track of just about everything such as network interface traffic, volume sizes and service and process alerts. The web interface is pretty snappy and easy to get around in. The product just does it's job. We were considering Solarwinds NPM at the same time but glad we choose Nagios instead.

Cons

You need to a know a little Linux and it's a little complicated at first to set up more advanced alerting. However, with a little time, you can become a pro.

Fermineduar Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wireless
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

excellent application for online equipment monitoring

Reviewed on 2017/11/14

It allows me to know at all times the status of the company's platform and know in real time when a failure occurs and where it is located to solve it in the shortest time possible is an excellent network tool

Pros

*Easy to use
*It has a lot of good documentation
*Has a variety of customization options
*Easy configuration
*Stability and scalability
*Nagios is open source software
* is easy to add a custom scripts to extend the services available

Cons

*It would be great if nagios could manage the network, not just monitor it
*Many useful functions are disabled in the free version
*It would be excellent if nagios could monitor the bandwidth used
*La version enterprise es un poco costosa, pero es una excelente aplicacion

Carlos R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is a very simple tool to use, and very complete ..

Reviewed on 2018/03/01

It allows me to monitor network equipment and be alert to any fall

Pros

Allows me to monitor many network devices, such as switch, router among others, even servers,
The web map interface is very intuitive

Cons

It is a bit difficult to configure, but once configured it works very well, the web interface on mobile phones is very incomplete

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

"Easy And Essential Tool For Monitoring Purpose. Easily Linked To Other Ticketing Tools"

Reviewed on 2020/02/07

Essential tool for monitoring purpose. All the required details for any particular alert is visible on the main screen itself. Not required to go into every alert and check for its complete details. sily linked to other ticketing tools to be tracked. Cost effective tool for monitoring purpose. Easily understandable

Pros

Complete information/details about the alerts are present without needed to click on every alert for check for its details. Cost effective tool which can be used in major companies

Cons

When bulk alerts are received, they do not arrive in sequence. thus it increases the work of taking actions on alerts

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Old Monitoring solution

Reviewed on 2019/09/30

Been using this to monitor our infrastructure​ but now we are looking for something new

Pros

We purchased this many years ago to monitor our infrastructure and it started off well

Cons

We found this solution very difficult to set up​ and their support was not much help.

Umair ali K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Complete Monitoring system

Reviewed on 2021/01/14

it has been a critical part of our organization and has never let us down.

Pros

Nagios XI is the only NMS being used in our infrastructure for monitoring LAN, WLAN, WAN, Virtual infrastructure and physical servers.
it supports almost all endpoint types and monitoring protocols.
it has built in templates for popular endpoints which makes it very easy to add them.

Cons

the reporting feature has limited templates and they cannot be edited.
you can create new templates but they also have limitations.
some reports cannot be run on groups of devices while others show very little information.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best infrastructure monitoring tool, helps a lot in managing any server for IT...

Reviewed on 2019/05/10

Nagios XI is a truly powerful system that offers enough to monitor the infrastructure and generate reports about what is being observed. The tool contains a variety of configuration preferences and is very easy to use. So far I have not found a solution that helps me just like Nagios.

Pros

The best infrastructure monitoring tool helps a lot in managing any server for IT infrastructure which Contains All Needed Features! First of all, the program has a very up-to-date and extremely user-friendly interface, which is highly flexible and scalable. Permits a user to customize almost everything according to the organization’s needs, as well as to streamline administrative procedures for alerts, reports, updates and the whole thing related to them. Second, it is possible to monitor the network even if it is implicit in numerous sites without major glitches, which would be more problematic without using this platform.

Cons

I like to be fixed rather than just dislike: it's not user-friendly with almost anything excluding Windows Operating System. A Linux version, for example, is visibly backward. This does not seem to be a serious issue for most people, but it is still considered a disadvantage. As I do not like the way the dashboards are supposed to be designed, I think it should be easier and take less time. The initial price is reasonable, but the policy at this point is doubtful.

Ivan R.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Adaptability to mixed networks

Reviewed on 2018/07/10

For small telecommunications companies it is very good, it allows to monitor networks simultaneously and control the statistics very well

Pros

we used nagios in some analysis tests of monitoring managers, we really liked its adaptability to monitoring of various cellular telecommunications networks. The management of statistics was very simple.

Cons

The only problem we encountered was licensing costs and support within Venezuela, specifically placing it below its competitors, but I believe that in a country without restrictions it can be an option.

Ishara M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Monitoring tool for severs

Reviewed on 2019/06/18

Use for server infrastructure like developments using three tier architecture.

Pros

I manage server infrastructure of my company using this.

Cons

It is free up to 7 nodes.Expand infrastructures get this issue.

Keren K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Monitoring Application

Reviewed on 2019/01/31

Pros

I really like the monitoring capabilities per network resources and hosts, the customization we can do we it is also amazing, and it is bring the product to higher levels along with it’s east of use

Cons

I lease liked in the product is the annoying bugs which occasionally prevents from working properly, combined with lack of response from the support I can’t say it perfect.

Pavan K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Product

Reviewed on 2020/06/10

Good product and value for money. ROI from day one.

Pros

Value for money, easily availablity of pluggins and more stable product

Cons

Improved UI and more user friendly console

Abhinav K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The IT monitoring tool for faults detection.

Reviewed on 2019/03/25

Nagios XI is helping us to do the monitoring completely automatic. The advance dashboard and admin dashboard designed so well and easy to configure as per each user need. The scheduled managed report help in to scaling up the capacity planning of the infrastructure. Nagios XI is providing the complete and comprehensive IT infrastructure monitoring to many of our projects and help us to deliver the project faster and more efficient way.

Pros

Nagios XI is a powerful monitoring tool for faults detection which provide the notification via push, email or SMS. Nagios XI allows us to rollback the configuration on the last working stage in case of fault detection. The new wizard is easy and provide multiple option at the time of setup. Nagios XI have an exclusive feature of bulk modification of attributes which help in to monitoring the same set on monitoring module on newly setup environment. Audit trails feature allow to scrutinize the modification or setup.

Cons

Mobile interface is newly develop and need more development, it should provide more option for audit log and add more detail for configuration rollback option. Scheduled report should be included in standard edition.

Pushkraj M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Nagios XI Tool

Reviewed on 2019/07/31

Pros

The UI and its functions are great ! Enjoy working on this tool.

Cons

Need to improve on its new features and get more features to enhance the tool

Ummar H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

No.1 NMS in industry

Reviewed on 2017/12/15

Pros

The email functionality is very great! admins can immediately find down the device and the best thing is host recovery and down bird eye view.

Cons

Sometimes but a bit when you turn off the system and again turn on the database crashes and can cause nagios unstable.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Biggest bang for the buck!

Reviewed on 2015/09/18

Nagios XI has the most flexibility on the market in an enterprise monitoring application.

I have tried them all, and finally settled on Nagios XI to give my organization the ability to customize what is monitored and alerted on down to the most minute detail

Pros

Extreme flexibility
Low cost
Perpetual license

Cons

You need to tell it what you want monitored and how, however this actually is a pro for us.

Michael R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 2018/10/12

Irfan A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Monitoring Large scale Network at a glance.

Reviewed on 2020/03/03

our large scale network and different network devices we are unable to monitor and resolve network based problems timely and devices are increase time by time. due to avoid network failure and need notifications of downtime we study and installed Nagios XI and other solution in our Infrastructure.

Pros

Open source and easy to configure
easy to customized
Notification/Alert in case of any failure.
work on SNMP Protocol
free add-ons to download and develop your customization

Cons

License cost is very high
Interface is create confusing ( in Free Version )
Issue in monitoring in network throughput (bandwidth user wise )
Only monitoring tool , configuration are not allowed.

Alejandro M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wireless
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

is easy for use, i use it every day in my work for monitoring a big network with a 1000 users.

Reviewed on 2017/11/13

i can monitor my network in seconds, and i can see the status of the nodes and the clients in the map mode, and if you install nagstamon is a very solid tools for any work in network monitoring.

Pros

it is very easy to install in a server, and very intuitive when using, the interface is really fantastic, and the map mode really show you how is the structure of your network, and the status of your client and your nodes.

Cons

the interface is a little slow when you have a many clients in the network, and the search engine is very precise and does not look for possible match.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Nagio XI makes Nagios SO much better

Reviewed on 2018/06/20

The best benefit is the ability to create a monitor in a GUI rather than a command line.

Pros

I really like the graphical user interface overlay on top of Nagios Core, it makes it so much easier to create monitors.

Cons

The only complaint I have with Nagios XI is not with the software but instead with the way that people do not take ownership for the monitors that they create. The software works great when done right.

Roberth C.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good Product

Reviewed on 2017/12/09

Pros

Have multiple configuration options. Nice graphs and reports. Dashboard help to keep an eye on important thing that require attention.

Cons

Plugins. After version and version Nagios is still using plugins that in some case works perfectly but other is painful get they working. May a change of way to setup them would be interesting.

Jesús noehi P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Reviewed on 2018/11/23