33 reviews

Device Magic

Fast efficient data capture.

4,6 /5 (33 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,1
Features
4,3
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,6
91% recommended this app
33 reviews
Victor G.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Replaces Paper in any Industry

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/17
Review Source: Capterra

My clients in the food industry are finding it first rate for keeping records which are always complete, almost always accurate, and don't use any paper.
The more I use it the more I like it.

Pros

Easy to use.
Easy to train users.
Versatile.
Excellent traceability of entries.

Cons

Some of the field options require an in-depth knowledge of how they work - the on-line guidance is often not brilliant. This is a pity, because when you master them you realise what you have been missing.

Response from Device Magic

Victor,

We're glad to hear both you and your clients find Device Magic to be first-rate for your record keeping! We also appreciate your feedback around our online support documentation for field options. We want them to be of use to you and other customers looking to customize and automate their processes even further, so we'll take this as an opportunity to revisit and clarify some of our existing how-to guides. Thanks again for taking the time to review our solution!

Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jason M.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very Pleased with Device Magic!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/02/04
Review Source: Capterra

Device Magic has allowed us to implement a custom built in-house inventory management system, greatly enhancing our data on product flows, and saving us money and allowing greater flexibility than using a packaged software.

Pros

The flexiblity DeviceMagic provides in designing forms as well as "exporting" submissions to various other platforms is of great help to our Company!

Cons

An ability to access forms via web or on a laptop would be helpful.

Response from Device Magic

Hi Jason,

Thank you for the positive feedback! I'm delighted to hear how Device Magic's flexibility has allowed your team to tailor the product to your unique business needs. We look forward to helping you continue that enhanced workflow momentum! Regarding form access via the web, it looks like your current plan supports that feature. I'm having our customer success manager reach out to you shortly to chat more about how to accomplish this from your end.

Best,
Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris W.
Industry: Renewables & Environment
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to use, better reports from the field

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/20
Review Source: Capterra

Device Magic has made it easier for our subcontractors to understand and complete our survey forms. We are getting more complete form than with previous mobile form.

Pros

Easy to set up and edit a form. Simple and intuitive to use in the field. Good feature set

Cons

It has had some bugs recently that have impacted end users. Need to have a better computer / browser interface to manage and view reports from the field.

Response from Device Magic

Hi Chris,
Thanks for sharing how Device Magic has improved survey and report completion for your subcontractors.
We appreciate your feedback. We have relayed your message to our support and development teams, and are working to ensure you have the best experience possible.

For specific issues, or features you'd like to see in the future, please reach out to our support team.

Thanks for being a valued customer!
Your Device Magic Team

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Linnea N.
Industry: Wine & Spirits
Company size: 51-200 Employees

One program replacing potentially many apps

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Creating simple forms is so simple, anyone can do the basics. Because it is so customizable, we use it for all sorts of reporting. Its versatility is the key to this app.

Cons

Google "Live" resources. In the ~2 years we have been using this feature they have never consistently updated. At its best it took almost a full day to see the changes and most of the time I cannot even force a sync. Customer service has tried helping multiple times.

I do not like that you cannot edit something after its been sent (and it save in the system). I wish we could fill out forms on the computer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Dan W.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Timing Saving at its best

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

Awesome. It makes filling in checklists a breeze.

Pros

We fill in a lot of information for checking ratings of vehicles in excel and then send the information to device magic so that we don't run the risk of making mistakes because we are doing the same thing over and over.
I can also get my clients to sign up for a free account and add me as the email recipient so the data always comes in the same format.

Cons

The vba content in the help is very limited so for someone like myself who is self taught it can be a challenge.

Response from Device Magic

Hi Dan,

I loved reading how Device Magic has simplified your time spent on checklists while eliminating any duplicate entries. We appreciate your feedback around our expressions and formulas in the help center. We're constantly working on these documents to ensure they're reflected in a way that's simple and easy to digest for any user. If you're ever unsure of any content from our help documentation, you can always chat with our support team about any questions in the future. Thanks for allowing us the opportunity to improve!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Facilities Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent for Offline Data Collection

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

Our field service representatives have been able to use this within a variety of places. The offline data collection capabilities are very important in areas where wifi or cell coverage is limited. This includes within buildings, basements, and rural areas.

Pros

The offline data collection capabilities, and the variety of integrations available.

Cons

Some of the integrations are limited. It is a bit more difficult to use 'live' data as a source within the forms.

Response from Device Magic

Hello,

Thank you for your specific, invaluable feedback about our Live Resource options. Our developers follow the lead of your needs and allow these to pave the roadmap for future features, so this is good for us to know. It also sounds like leveraging our offline functionality has been a huge win for your field service representatives. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful review!

Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Greg F.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Needs More Enhancements

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

Very good just want more because they are that good. Great product and great programming of it.

Pros

Easy to use and setup. It opened the doors to fast and easy data collection from workers in the field that only use a tablet or phone for their jobs. Help adoption rate of other software.

Cons

Not fully developed with Salesforce. Multi select list do not work with Salesforce. Objects that have a one-to-many relationship (i.e. Subforms/Repeat Group do not work with sales force. For example I create a new account and have a Subform/Repeat Groups for contacts. Because it's only a one direction connection. The related data or sub data will not be created or connected to their parent.

Response from Device Magic

Hi Greg,

Thank you for your glowing review of Device Magic. I'm thrilled to hear that among the benefits of using our software you've cultivated even stronger adoption of additional software. Our developer team is currently working on refining our Salesforce integration to meet the needs of our users as you've described. We appreciate the specific feedback to help our product grow!

Best,
Miranda

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Media Production

Transformed our business, helped us create our own field app

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love the user interface for creating our own forms. We've created an incredibly complex form, where only certain sections even show based on the answers to previous questions. The interface on the field collection time is great too, and keeps getting better.

Cons

We would like the ability to add multiple images at the same time, instead of one at a time. We have to go outside the app to the google drive app to do this. They tell me it's on their roadmap however. Also the user interface for dispatching app is functional, but difficult to use versus the form building tools. Presumably improving the is on the road map as well.

Response from Device Magic

Hi there,

We're so glad to hear that our form builder is working great for you. Yes, we are in the early stages of creating a multiple image question type and updating our interface throughout the dashboard.

Be sure to check our monthly newsletters for updates of new product releases, timeframes, and access to beta features!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ben H.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Device Magic caters well for any bespoke requirements

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

Extremely usefull, painfree and intuitive.

Pros

The versatility of the product. It can be tailored to almost any operational processes and has been extremely easy to implemnt into our current process

Cons

There are a few higher level capabilities that dont exist. Nothing that impedes work but could make it faster. However Device Magic are happy to listen to recommendations and take on board suggestions

Response from Device Magic

Ben,
Thank you very much for the time you took to review our application. We appreciate your willingness to recommend Device Magic! It is good to hear that your experience has been useful and painless. As you mentioned, we are always willing to take recommendations and feedback from our customers and apply them into our product. We look forward to continue working with you and your company while we aim to enhance your experience with Device Magic even further.
Elliot Parrish, Digital Marketing Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kyle S.
Industry: Renewables & Environment
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Most Versatile signature software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/04
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

We used Device Magic for signing forms and contracts in the field in Kenya. For auditing purposes on loans we needed signatures, photos and GPS coordinates. Only Device magic can do this

Cons

You have to pay for each additional user which costs and can add up. Naming the app Forms and the company Device Magic confused our staff sometimes, too.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael C.
Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy to Use, Mostly Easy to Configure!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

DMMFs have been a bit of a godsend - we've been able to use them with multiple platforms and the product that DFFM has produced is always a usable, easily queried data set. Our drivers have substantially improved quality of service due to no longer having to use paper copies except in extenuating circumstances and our office and administration staff are much happier about being able to simply receive reports from drivers by E-Mail instead of having to wait for them to actually return from the road. It definitely allows us to quickly address customer needs far more efficiently than previous methods.

Pros

Setting up users and rolling it out to mobile devices is a snap. Once the forms are set up, actually getting users up and running is a job that takes barely minutes - and while that doesn't sound like a big deal, when you're in an industry where phones get damaged or lost or where there's any turn over or new hiring, the ability to get a user up and running in literal minutes is phenomenal. (It takes more time to set up a user's E-Mail than it does to get them on Device Magic!)

Cons

Some features aren't as intuitive as I wish they were - which is weird, considering how much of the software *is* intuitive.

Response from Device Magic

Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to share how positive your experience has been with Device Magic! We're delighted to hear how quickly you've been able to get your users up and running as well as implement your forms. Our developers make updates to the product based on feedback from customers like you. Please do let us know any specific feedback you might have on a certain feature so we may explore that a bit more, together. We appreciate your thorough, thoughtful review and look forward to our continued partnership!

Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Peter P.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Software for Capturing Remote Data

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

Have been using device magic for several years and have never found a better piece of software to manage our mobile data capture.

Pros

Very easy to configure new forms, adapt existing forms for new uses. Very easy to streamline workflows for capturing data from mobile users

Cons

Some of the best features require an enterprise license, this is worth the money but would be better if there was a lower tier with some of them included.

Response from Device Magic

Peter,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Device Magic platform! We're absolutely thrilled to hear about your experience and that you've found our software to be the best in class for capturing data remotely. I'm looking forward to sharing this with the rest of the team!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeff G.

Great product but more and more overpriced as other options have become available for less...

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great user friendly product but needs better reporting on the backend. Also has good customer support.

Cons

Way overpriced already and now you are raising the price. We will start looking for alternatives. Also needs alerts and reporting improved.

Response from Device Magic

Hi Jeff,

We understand the frustrations of price increases, but we are developing new features and a better, fast and more efficient product to make us more valuable to our customers and separate us from the alternatives.

The good news is we are in the process of developing a reporting and analytics tool. We will have a beta ready for testing in the next few weeks if you are interested in giving that a try, feel free to reach out to our support team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Starr L.
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great product for data capture from mobile

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/13
Review Source: Capterra

We have designed our entire data collection model around it

Pros

Power and flexibility in form design and functionality. Form Submission Distribution to backend databases and email notifications is excellent. Speed and reliability. Tech support always very responsive.

Cons

Only the licensing model. We have some devices that we only need to use a few times per year to submit data but need to pay for full license for every device.

Response from Device Magic

Hi Starr,
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad to hear we are improving your speed and reliability.
As for our licensing, we've recently made changes to our plan structure. Be sure to check in with us to see if there is a new plan that works better for you and your organization.

Thanks for being a valued customer!
Your Device Magic Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Claudio P.
Industry: Environmental Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Versatile tool that delivers fast results

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

I discovered this tool through a Google search. I had never heard of it or used anything similar. I quickly learned the essentials to get what I needed. Besides all the ease of use, the tech support team is wonderful. I really recommend using this tool.

Pros

Easy to use tables as a database to enhance the form. The form editor is easy to use.

Cons

So far there was nothing I couldn't do with this tool.

Response from Device Magic

Claudio,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Device Magic platform! We're thrilled you've found the form builder to be everything you need for your team to excel in their job. Thank you again for recommending us and especially for highlighting your positive experience with our support team!

Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Steve S.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Device Magic Forms

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

Experience has been good.
Increase in mobile data usage was significant and unexpected. Irrespective the increased cost, the app still represents a good value.

Pros

Flexibility of the program and the power of the program.

Cons

Per device pricing.
Desktop Forms is a separate item.
Form access without change causes a version number change and data is then recorded in a new tab.

Response from Device Magic

Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Device Magic. We're thrilled to hear your experience has been a good one and that our product is supporting your team's needs. We sincerely appreciate your partnership and look forward to growing with you!

Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sofia V.

Since I use of this application, it has been very easy to collect data in the field. The user

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/18
Review Source: Capterra

The facility to obtain data daily in your hands.

Pros

I really like the fact that the role of administrator is very easy to operate and edit, from the forms and catalogs that are added to the selection components.

Cons

I do not like that it does not support different languages, only English, and that is very limiting for users who do not master it. And I do not like at all that it is not possible to edit the data once it was sent to the server. I think that for the price that is being paid annually, the application should have that option.

Response from Device Magic

Hi Sofia,

We greatly appreciate your honest feedback. I've passed your list of features you'd like to see to our development team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer

The platform is very easy to use, flexible, and has great integration options for storing data.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best feature about the software is that you can have multiple submission data stores, which gives great flexibility for storing data as well as interpreting the submitted information. The mobile app has a great interface and is very useful in the field .

Cons

I least liked about the software was that pricing went up after the initial offer. I do understand that new features and updates were given commensurate with the price increase.

Response from Device Magic

Hi there,

Thank you for the great feedback! We understand the frustrations of price increases, but we are developing new features and a better, fast and more efficient product to make us more valuable to our customers and separate us from the alternatives.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kris B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Reliable, professionally designed Form App

Reviewed on 2016/02/19
Review Source: GetApp

We are using the platform to record our drivers' work and invoice accordingly.
The App allows to control remotely the forms that are dispatched to the users.
The receiving data is stored on the App's own platform, and can be perfectly audited and accessed.
The App has connections to Google Sheets, allowing us to apply query functions and prepare the invoicing process. Forms can be completed off line and load automatically when connected to the WiFi network

Pros

Reliable application, comprehensive Dashboard function to develop new Forms.
Working for IOS and Android.
Good direct customer support, small team, direct involvement.
Good FAQ and support pages.
Ongoing development, frequent improvements are released.

Cons

Pricing Scheme doesn't allow for a free admin user test account, should be nice to have one, especially for small user base.
Web Form interface was announced but never delivered.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Eden M.

The Device is user friendly, modern and customer service is exceptional!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/20
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to submit forms electronically.

Pros

It is stylish, modern and reliable. I am pleased with the customisation of the app and including the company's logo.

Cons

I think the system works very well. Sometimes the GPS can be slightly off but it is still reliable.

Response from Device Magic

Hi Eden,

We're so glad to hear you are loving the new app interface. We've been hard at work making our product the best it can be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Melissa M.

Easy to use and understand

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/04/17
Review Source: Capterra

I have gained a new knowledge on device magic.

Pros

I like how easy it is to use the software. I can explain it in a very simple form to any of the employees using the program.

Cons

It would be more efficient if there was a simple way to reformat a form in order to make the necessary changes that are needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Brian F.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great App

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Super easy to get up and running.
Easy to make modifications on the fly.
Fast customer service response.

Cons

Dispatch and computer entry only available at higher subscription $$

Response from Device Magic

Brian,

Thanks so much for your review of the Device Magic platform and for highlighting your experience with our customer support team! We're glad to hear implementation and usage has been a breeze for you and your team. Looking forward to our continued partnership!

Miranda Cheatham, Marketing Program Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rick B.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent Service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

We've been using Device Magic for almost three years. It has allowed us to deploy services for our customers that would have otherwise been a lot more difficult and/or more expensive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sonny S.

Just what I was looking for

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use, you don't have to be a programmer to create a simple solution that will save you many man hours each week. I can't wait to create more solutions for my business using Device Magic.

Cons

It is too early to really be constructively critical. The only con I have experienced so far is when inviting people to join a form, I get a lot of questions from them and I can't see what is going on. I would suggest an invitation to join that includes clear instructions on what to do.

Response from Device Magic

HI Sonny,

Thanks for the honest feedback. I've passed along your suggestions for inviting a device to our development team.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Johan M.
Industry: Packaging & Containers
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Mobile Forms by Device Magic_Review

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/24
Review Source: Capterra

Great, all staff very helpful

Pros

Easy to use - drag & drop to build forms

Cons

Reporting functionality , not as easy to customize as building forms

Response from Device Magic

Johan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review for our application. We are glad to hear that you've found it easy to create custom forms with our builder. We also appreciate you sharing your feedback and concerns regarding our analytics and reporting features - we are working to make those features as simple and intuitive as form building and other aspects of Device Magic. We look forward to improving your experience and continuing to work with you!

Elliot Parrish, Digital Marketing Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10