Anaplan Reviews

Anaplan

Planning & performance management platform

4.6/5 (14 reviews)
Verified Reviewer

Anaplan is a huge time saver

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Before Anaplan, we were on excel documents that required many versions and iterations. We started with financial planning as a model and have since expanded into other solutions for issues that have arisen. The goal is to continue to plug new models into this tool, like many power users I've seen at Anaplan conferences, in order to get all of our data on one platform.

Cons

Initial set up requires a lot of learning and time. Their training session is several days and still requires additional follow up work and communication with their implementation team. Graphs and data visualization is also far lacking compared with Tableau or even Excel.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Transform Your Business

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

I have nothing but good things to say about this software!

Pros

Cloud connected forecasting software that takes businesses to the next level by replacing their old Excel files and manual updating processes, and provides them with a window into the future. This tool can do (almost) anything when it comes to analyzing large data sets and providing fully transparency and connectedness in your business.

Cons

Some small functionality issues when you're in the tool, but so minor you hardly notice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Joe B.

Anaplan is a game changer, but not without flaws

Reviewed on 2015/10/14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Product - it's adaptability...you can build almost anything you want with the platform. Simple replacements of existing excel models take only hours to replicate.
Vendor - the constant upgrades to the system. 3-5 upgrades every year, and I have had a few of my personal requests added to the road map and eventually included in an upgrade, so they definitely listen to their customers on what to work on next.

Cons

Product - Metadata management. Within a single model it is great, but when you share the same metadata across models, it is really cumbersome to build the models to talk to each other constantly.
Vendor - the pricing model is bad, they get you in the door with a small workspace that quickly runs out due to not accurately estimating the size you would need, and then charge thousands of dollars per GB of extra space to fit what you wanted to do in the first place.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Anaplan for TMC

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/30
Review Source: Capterra

Our clients have shifted share due to our reporting being above our competitors.

Pros

I support a TMC team within the hospitality space. We use Anaplan for our performance metrics and to manage our programs. Anaplan lays the data out in a visually pleasing way and allows for graphs that can easily be exported for the client.

Cons

I have been overall very pleased with the product. From the administrator perspective it would be nice if the uploads worked a bit faster.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ken Y.

Easy to use Planning tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Cloud focused, Helps us connect data and plan across different teams. Allows us to custom tools. Information and changes are available instantly.

Cons

Not in love with the reporting tools. Hard to format different areas of the tool. It needs to copy some of the useful excel functions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Neeraj V.

Great planning tool

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/12/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

SaaS based model for hosting and pricing perspective great use cases for finance and supply chain planning

Cons

Some of the Enterprise features are limited but mostly required features are there.Web based so some user who are used to desktop based reporting may find it difficult to use initially.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Alex L.

New to Anaplan

Reviewed on 2016/10/25
Review Source: Capterra

Training and support were great as we got started using this new system. We are still trying to figure out all the capabilities for Anaplan and how it interacts with our other systems including Salesforce, Xactly, and EDWBI. Overall though this is a great way to organize and track our forecasting, actuals, and goal metrics in order to measure success at an aggregate level.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Alexis F.

Great product!

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is great for companies looking for what-if scenario planning, forecasting and budgeting, workforce planning and tracking competitor data. It really has the all in one functionality for companies looking for a clean overview of their business.

Cons

Dashboards sometimes are not as user-friendly as they should be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Grant W.

Surprisingly powerful, and if data scheme designed carefully very easy to use

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Once built - incredibly quick to model business scenarios. Allows shared access to central data -avoiding version conflicts and different business numbers being circulated

Cons

Might be argued that it is relatively costly for what might effectively be seen as a spreadsheet - though it is much more

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Sudar K.

Flexible tool

Reviewed on 2016/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use, learn and adapt. Fast applications and helps automate analytical decision making in supply chain with great partners with excellent industry knowledge.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Sarah S.

Impressed with Anaplan

Reviewed on 2016/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

I've been very impressed with the functionality and capabilities that Anaplan offers. It also seems to be very versatile.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Pradeep S.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2019/03/28
Review Source: GetApp
Ayush T.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2019/03/28
Review Source: GetApp
Dar D.

Easy to use if you build the model right

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/04
Review Source: Capterra

the software is billed as "as easy to use as a spreadsheet", but it does require a good implementer to get you to where you need to be. So my recommendation is to focus on the partner who can configure / build the tool to fit yoiur needs

Pros

UI is like a spreadsheet for sure

Cons

requires a very knowledgeable anaplan partner to set up hte model on which the "spreadsheet" will run. without that you will be one frustruated user

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support