Tableau

4,5 (2 245)
Business intelligence & analytics

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(2 245)
Value for Money
4,2/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,1/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

2245 Reviews

Paul
Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best looking data analyst tool

Reviewed on 2021/02/09

Extremely happy with Tableau. Compared to other tools like PowerBI or Qlik, Tableau is far ahead,...

Extremely happy with Tableau. Compared to other tools like PowerBI or Qlik, Tableau is far ahead, and improving all the time. Going forward, as the products are now, I can't imagine choosing any other.

Pros

Tableau Desktop absolutely produces the cleanest and most intuitive reports of any software like it. The learning curve for basic functionality is short and the online resources for deeper dives are plentiful.

Cons

Reports distribution in Tableau Desktop is clunky and connecting to SharePoint or similar distribution tools are too difficult to setup without professional IT assistance.
Tableau Prep is still in early stages of development. Some Flows take much too long for what shouldn't be so challenging an operation.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Choosing Tableau

Better, more intuitive functionality. Cleaner aesthetic.

Switched From

Microsoft Power BI
Katie
Katie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Longtime User

Reviewed on 2021/05/11

great.

great.

Pros

Tableau is just way easier to use. Ive used a lot of others. Yes many have features that Tableau does not. But when it comes down to ease of use and fast turn around Tableau is probably the best

Cons

Tableau is not great when it comes to time series data. Its ok. But the amount of contortion that is necessary to show meaningful data in a time series is a real pain in the neck. Also Tableau data blending is nonsense. Better than Alteryx? probably. But still.

Aurel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Aggressive onboarding, false statements. Not customer-oriented.

Reviewed on 2020/08/31

We were on 30 days trial. The trial was about to expire but things didn't work correctly. Tableaus...

We were on 30 days trial. The trial was about to expire but things didn't work correctly. Tableaus aggressive onboarding team made me sign for a one-year contract anyway. They promised to support us until everything works. But that did not happen. So I talked to them. Someone seemed to understand and said, he'd cancel the invoice and give us another trial and hopes, thins will work. After a few months, it worked indeed. So we purchased again. But: we never got a license even we already paid. Statement: the old invoice needs to be paid. So although we have a written confirmation, that the invoice is cancelled, tableau didn't cancel and now we have no money and no license. Very sad company. The product might be great but the philosophy horrible.

Pros

Once you have your data ready in a way, tableau is able to connect, it's an easy to use tool.

Cons

There's supposed to be a web data connector between Filemaker and tableau. This is not working. Tableau sales representative do not care about it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tableau user review

Reviewed on 2023/11/29

My overall experience with Tableau remain good in terms of gaining a lot of knowledge on creating...

My overall experience with Tableau remain good in terms of gaining a lot of knowledge on creating visualisations, making various types of charts for different types of data dimensions etc. Tableau gave me a start to my journey into data analyst and has enabled me to dive into huge datasets and create useful and meaningful charts on the data according to the requirements and also to improve my visualisations with time. In other words I learnt what type of chart is suitable for what type of data, how to show performance, efficiency as concept and also tableau provides a huge online community, resources and tools for supporting and developing various types of dashboards through tableau community.

Pros

Pro:
A) Data Visualisation Capabilities - great tool for data visualisation
B) self explanatory and intuitive
C) advanced tools provides
D) huge variety of visualisations can be created
E) ease of using large excel file and Combining them to use for visualisation
F) drag and drop features
G) story

Cons

Does not have much of cons but listing them as much as I know:
A) bit tricky when it come to work with date and time functions
B) some specific charts not available
C) cannot write sql queries directly into tableau
No statistical analysis possible
Sometime it is difficult to operate and navigate through calculated fields

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tableau- Excellent for analyzing data and making decisions

Reviewed on 2022/06/09

Tableau is one of the best reporting tools I have used to analyze large amounts of data, it is...

Tableau is one of the best reporting tools I have used to analyze large amounts of data, it is popular in data industry BI and analytics platforms. Its ability to manage large amounts of data and display it in the simplest way has had a good adoption in the last years.

Pros

Tableau is an easy-to-use, scalable data analytics solution that interfaces with a variety of applications to extract insights from data. Databases can be easily evaluated as it provides graphs for better understanding and success with E2E data blending, data preparation, data modeling, data visualization and data distribution. In my company we use it to analyze large databases and generate possible predictions in decision making,

Its learning curve is average, and it supports a wide range of visualizations, such as tables, graphs, among others, importing data is simple when using Excel. To transfer information.

Cons

the only thing I don't like about tableau is that it is too expensive for small business users.

Nives-Marie
Nives-Marie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tableau - Best BI Software

Reviewed on 2021/06/11

The ability to use multiple data sources and live data from server to build a dashboard is amazing....

The ability to use multiple data sources and live data from server to build a dashboard is amazing. The final result is organized, professional and implementing changes on different sheets is simple and easy.

Pros

The interactive feature
lots of visualization option
Easy data prep process
Easy to use interface
Drag and drop feature

Cons

Steep learning curve for non experts
No pop up messages to help new users
Reporting does require knowledge of advanced SQL operations

Marlyn
Marlyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

All data in one place

Reviewed on 2022/05/31

Tableau is a powerful tool for data analysis, it unifies data from different sources for a better...

Tableau is a powerful tool for data analysis, it unifies data from different sources for a better view of the information and thus being able to make decisions that best suit the projects, it works very well with other platforms such as Salesforce.

Pros

I like Tableau for its user interface, it's easy to use. You can quickly visualize large amounts of data and connect to a variety of data sources, including Excel, text, and Google Drive files. One thing I'd like to point out is that data visualization is simple: simply drag and drop dimensions and metrics onto different templates to see your data come to life in colorful and impressive charts of all shapes and sizes. Dashboard visualizations look well organized.

Cons

what I don't like is that the license is somewhat expensive for the work it does.

Vinod
Vinod
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing to process data from multiple sources

Reviewed on 2022/08/24

The tool is must and Tableau prep is more effective as it reduce the data cleaning work drastically....

The tool is must and Tableau prep is more effective as it reduce the data cleaning work drastically. Even you can use processed data to Python or some other analytics rather than Tableau Dashboard itself.

Pros

Tableau has a tool called Prep which is quite handy for data import from multiple sources be it excel, relational table, plain text. You can easily refine the data and further use it for analytics.

Cons

Selecting features during preparation of visual analytics is quite cumbersome. Also chart selection and fitting the data require so much of training.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Revolutionary software in the field of data

Reviewed on 2023/06/30

Tableau is faster than other business intelligence tools. I'm sure Tableau can bring revolution in...

Tableau is faster than other business intelligence tools. I'm sure Tableau can bring revolution in the field data. I recommend it.

Pros

Superb software for those who work with data. If you are data engineer, data analyst , data scientist, teacher, student or business own you should try it once.

Cons

Tableau has nothing dislike thing. It's amazing software. It can solve almost all problems related with data. Whether you want reporting or data processing. It can handle very easily.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A software for your business.

Reviewed on 2023/08/13

Overall, I think Tableau is a great software that provides a beautiful interface to users, and it...

Overall, I think Tableau is a great software that provides a beautiful interface to users, and it can be used in various domains and industries.

Pros

I love the application because it is widely used by many businesses for analysis, and I especially love the dashboard feature that provides a user-friendly interface.

Cons

What I dislike is the data exploration and analysis, which, in my opinion, are a bit slow and disproportionate.

Nadezhda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Comprehensive Review of Tableau

Reviewed on 2023/02/22

Overall, Tableau is an excellent data visualization tool that is incredibly powerful and easy to...

Overall, Tableau is an excellent data visualization tool that is incredibly powerful and easy to use. It is a great tool for both novice and experienced users due to its drag-and-drop interface and wide range of features. However, it can be quite pricey and lack some of the advanced analytics capabilities of its competitors.

Pros

Tableau is an incredibly powerful and user-friendly data visualization tool. It is incredibly easy to use and provides incredibly powerful visualizations that can help users better understand their data. The drag-and-drop interface makes it incredibly easy to build complex visualizations with minimal effort. Additionally, Tableau has a wide variety of features that give users the ability to customize their visualizations to their needs.

Cons

One of the drawbacks of Tableau is that it can be quite expensive for larger organizations. Additionally, the user interface is not as intuitive as some of its competitors, which can make it difficult for new users to learn. Finally, Tableau does not have the ability to perform advanced analytics, which can be a limitation for some users.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tableau Lets You Become Productive in Minutes

Reviewed on 2019/01/24

Tableau and especially Tableau server has helped our business share data much more efficiently and...

Tableau and especially Tableau server has helped our business share data much more efficiently and accurately than the old method of emailing spreadsheets and presentations around. The ability for anyone to manipulate the data and answer their own questions allows analysts to concentrate on the truly difficult and unique problems instead of cranking out a never-ending series of custom reports. Having the data connected to live source or warehoused data means everyone is up to date all the time.

Pros

Tableau is exceptionally easy to pick up and be productive, and has the ability to connect to almost any data source you can imagine, including REST APIs (though this is a pretty advanced process).

Cross database joins are an amazing feature that allow you to mix data from Excel, Oracle, MySQL and others on a single dashboard.

There are a ton of online resources available from Tableau, and the broader user community which help you in the event that you get stuck on a thorny issue.

Tableau also supports the Tableau Public desktop software which allows anyone to create and share visualizations for free on the web (though data sources are severely limited with Tableau Public).

Cons

Price is an issue, particularly if you're an individual or a small business. Woe be unto you if you're a small business and you'd like to set up a Tableau server.

There are some functions which we've all grown accustomed to in Excel which new users will expect to be in Tableau but just aren't--robust Conditional Formatting, for instance. However, in most cases there are workarounds and other ways of accomplishing the same task.

While it's easy to become quickly productive, most users will outgrow the easy stuff pretty quickly as they attempt join new data sources, or produce more complicated visualizations.

Monish
Monish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to Perform Complex Data Analysis and Visualisation from any type of Datasource

Reviewed on 2020/04/26

Using Tableau has been a great learning, discovering and analytical experience, the tool has been...

Using Tableau has been a great learning, discovering and analytical experience, the tool has been easy to use and effective

Pros

Tableau has a good community support, almost any question that you get has been already answered,

Tableau supports any type of datasources, it supports data from a simple spread sheet to any modern time Databases (such as Snowflake , AWS Redshift , psql, mysql etc...)
Dataset can also be a query or joining multiple tables etc, which gives us a flexibility to compute required datas in the initial stage itself so that worksheet creation becomes simpler,

Tableau has a wide set of functions and operator that can be used for data processing and has verity of visualisation options from a simple table to complex charts, histograms, etc ..

We have a option to use live datasource or schedule the data refresh on the extracted datasource to improve the performance of the dashboard,

has good verity of filter support using which data can be drilled down slice and diced, supports column level sorting etc ..,

the dashboard can be created using set of worksheet, worksheets are easy to create with the help of drag and droop support, most of the things here is drag and drop which makes it more easier to use

Tableau server maintains all versions of the dashboard, it kind of ensures version control

Cons

Tableau desktop application can perform slow when we are dealing with large data set, especially when dragging and dropping KPI's on switching from one worksheet to another, can reduce the development speed, so to avoid this use a small data set for development.

When we are using Extracted Datasource the publishing to server and importing to desktop works really slow, since it is transferring the extracted data along with the tableau logic,

Editing the alias of table columns are quit tricky not flexible,

In filters the Dropdown listing are hard coded strings, it wold have been better if we could us a dimensions or values and and also if it supported chain filtering

use of functions like TP90, Average etc , require the data set to be extracted , will not work with live data.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tableau is the best data visualization tool on the market and offers great value for money.

Reviewed on 2021/06/13

Tableau has allowed me to present complex data in a very simple and easily understandable way...

Tableau has allowed me to present complex data in a very simple and easily understandable way thanks to the many visualisations available. This has made presenting findings and reporting to senior management as well as clients very easy. Tableau has been very reliable and has been a one stop solution for all my company's data analytics needs mainly due to the fact that it allows us to combine all our data across various tools and work on them together.

Pros

My company heavily relies on Microsoft Excel to initially record and store data so I like the fact that Tableau easily allows you to import spreadsheets from Excel as raw data which can be transformed into great visualisations using Tableau's powerful features. I also like the fact that Tableau allows you to combine data from different sources and work on them together. One feature I find most helpful is report scheduling which updates reports automatically each day. This allows me to automate a repetitive task which I would have had to devote time to doing each day and allows me to easily monitor key metrics.

Cons

Tableau can be quite slow when working with larger datasets. Also, although Tableau has great visualisations for data, I feel there needs to be more statistical functionalities to be able to derive better and more in depth insights from data.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI
Kelli
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Product but Poor Support

Reviewed on 2020/07/31

I've been using the software for about five years and it has been able to provide insight into our...

I've been using the software for about five years and it has been able to provide insight into our data in a way that no other tool has been able to. However, support is terrible for this product and some of the versions are released with a few bugs. We will likely continue to this but it is imperfect.

Pros

The software is very powerful tool and excellent visualization tool. It is easy to get started and there is a ton of free training available. The pool of users is great and the community is very helpful to new and existing users.

Cons

The support we pay for is almost worthless. We frequently solve the problem ourselves and it is time consuming to submit everything via their helpdesk with nothing to show for it. Providing logs and files and emailing with someone on the west coast outside of normal east coast business hours is frustrating. Tickets get "escalated" to the engineering team and that ends up being code for "we don't know and this won't be fixed by us". Turnover for their sales representatives indicates it isn't a great company to work for either.

Alternatives Considered

Highcharts and Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Switching to Tableau

Pricing, features and flexibility
Surya
Surya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Visualization tool in the market

Reviewed on 2022/03/22

Overall Tableau has made our daily to daily work much easier be it data collection from different...

Overall Tableau has made our daily to daily work much easier be it data collection from different sources or creating custom reports and dashboards or analyzing large set of data to gain impactful insights.

Pros

It has amazing data visualization capabilities. Working for an organization where mostly reporting and visualization done on excel, When Tableau was introduced to our team and has been so much beneficial for us. You can create a scintillating and self-explanatory dashboard using this which is easily understandable by higher management even if they don't have any technical knowledge.

Tableau can handle a large number of datasets also very easily and that dataset can be easily visualized without facing any performance issue. One thing which I like the most about tableau is report scheduling where your reports can be updated automatically every day.

Another thing which i love about tableau is that multiple and different kind of data sources can be easily connected at one place.

Cons

Till now nothing that hinders me while working on this tool as its meeting all my expectations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Express you data in real time and powerful Tableau dashboards

Reviewed on 2021/01/09

We use Tableau to create all the reports/ dashboards for the senior management in our organisation....

We use Tableau to create all the reports/ dashboards for the senior management in our organisation. It includes daily/ weekly/ monthly reports. And since every report is an interactive report, senior leadership can find answers to their questions by exploring through the reports. We struggled in making the first versions of the reports but later on, we just need to use those templates to create the reports. Therefore, in the start it can become a little overwhelming, but once ready with the template, you'll find it very useful for your reporting procedures.

Pros

1. Tableau is one of the widely accepted software. It is being used by every 8/10 data-driven companies for managing and representing large amounts of data.
2. Ready to use tools which can produce Senior Leadership level reports/ dashboards.
3. Supports channels for real-time feeding data directly into the dashboards which removes the requirement of manual creating of reports.
4. Capable of producing interactive reports which are highly liked and appreciated by Senior Leaders of any organisation.
5. Supports multiple export methods - Tableau specific dashboards, Generic Dashboards, PDFs, Spreadsheets and even PowerPoint presentations. So this gives the user flexibility to share the reports/ dashboard in whatever form they would like to.

Cons

1. Starting to produce reports for Senior Management via Tableau would take quite an amount of effort in the start. You need to learn and then setup a lot of things in the start, but once done, you can use those blueprints for all the future reports.
2. A number of formulas are supported in Tableau, but you need to have a good grasp of how to use those and input the correct parameters, else Dashboards will show data which is not correct in nature.
3. The user interface is not that user-friendly, and for a new user, it can become overwhelming at times. The feature set is powerful, but since the usage is complex, it becomes challenging for the users to find correct options and use them correctly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software for data visualisation, not so great on data manipulation side

Reviewed on 2020/04/05

Really satisfied with Tableau, performed some great stuff over these 2 years of using it. Created...

Really satisfied with Tableau, performed some great stuff over these 2 years of using it. Created over 100 workbooks with huge data sets, also created some extensions and never had a bad feeling about Tableau.

Pros

It's pretty easy to use Tableau, it's really intuitive, colourful and self explanatory. The overall design of this software comes in hand with charts and pretty neat visualisation tools. The charts are really user-friendly and have some default values that are subject to formatting, painting, resizing, etc. to fit your needs.
Has some great built in functions on Server that allow users to pull the raw data directly or in some form that they need the report. Subscription option on server is a great feature that allows you to get daily/weekly or monthly reports on your email address.
Also data source feature of this software is a fantastic part of this tool, as you'll able to connect almost anything on the market, from SQL queries and excel files on OneDrive to Tables on Azure or lists on SharePoint.

Cons

Performance is a little bit tricky, as in any other software. When you use big chunks of data, it can cause some troubles in speed and charts loading. If you add some joins, blends or multiple data source dashboards, and you have data sets of multiple million rows, that will cause some headaches, but just until you learn to manipulate the data and prepare the data for your charts.

Fernando
Fernando
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A flexible and powerful tool

Reviewed on 2018/07/12

I am an analytics consultant and used to work mostly with SAP BW (Business Objects, Business...

I am an analytics consultant and used to work mostly with SAP BW (Business Objects, Business Explorer, etc), Lumira, and Qlik Sense. My first contact with Tableau was very good, I've learned many things in a few days, it's very easy to use and also very powerful. I'm happy in working with this project because Tableau makes my experience much better, I'm liking it.

Pros

The easiness on creating simple reports don't obfuscate its power on creating complex dashboards. If you want to create a simple bar graph that shows your sales amount, you can do it easily and quickly, but it doesn't take out the tools and mechanisms that allows advanced users and consultants to do more, like creating complex non-existent (not ready-available in the tool, but possible) charts like exploded bar charts. It supports formulas and also have a very good engine for it, as you can define one and reference it by its name wherever you need.
As an analytics consultant, I've seen many other reporting tools, like Qlik View (and Sense), Power BI, SAP Lumira and so on, so I can tell that Tableau is a major competitor in segment.

Cons

A common problem that takes place inside large companies lies on the difference between how we think Tableau looks for data and how it actually does. At one of the cases we have SAP Hana as a database with its views as data source and Tableau as the reporting tool. Some of our dashboards have been stated as "slow", but we figured out that the problem was not on the columns that was available and being used by Tableau, but in the other columns. The Tableau doesn't ever create the same SQL as we are expecting for a situation, it has a complex way to determine the better SQL for the best user experience.
This slowness is known wherever you ask for "Tableau main problems".
So the problem was not entirely on Tableau, but in the way we created the views.
This is a very light con that has the main purpose to aware software buyers instead of saying "don't buy".
In short, the slowness may lie on data source instead of Tableau's engine. You should care about how data is delivered to it.

Rhea
Rhea
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Data Visualization Tool

Reviewed on 2020/05/27

Tableau by far is the best visualization tool I have worked with and there is no comparison with...

Tableau by far is the best visualization tool I have worked with and there is no comparison with other tools. I have never felt that Tableau lacked anything and have discovered things I wouldn't normally do with the data if not for its Tableau functionality. This has helped me create robust dashboards and stories with a lot of unstructured and confusing data. I have been using Tableau for more than 2 years now and never get tired of its interesting interface and ease of use and the best part is that the developers of the software keep updating it to new versions with new functionalities and features.

Pros

I love each and everything about working with Tableau . It is by far the best tool for visualization and none of the other tools is a match for its versatile uses. I like the ease of use and step by step guidelines. What I like most about Tableau is its integration with a vast number of Softwares, platforms, and databases which I do not think are offered by a lot of other visualization Softwares. Tableaus ability to handle customized calculated fields, create stories and dashboards and animations are some of its strongest points that make it a market competitor in Viz

Cons

There are a lot of features on one single interface as Tableau wants to maximize the user experience. But because there is so much on the one single interface that tableau has, a lot of features go unnoticed and unused. Also since there are so many features and functionalities, it sometimes is difficult to locate a particular functionality. Being an avid user, I have noticed that sometimes, arranging pills in a particular order on rows and columns, changes and undoes the entire visualization to a backtracked point which undoes important steps at times and leads to rework.

Santosh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Visualization Tool - Tableau

Reviewed on 2022/07/07

- The overall experience with Tableau is excellent as this tool is used for visualization,...

- The overall experience with Tableau is excellent as this tool is used for visualization, reporting and intelligence purposes for the sales rep to analyze the accounts and leads. We are extremely happy with the application and its capabilities that are available OOB to integrate with other applications to perform a end-to-end data flow.

Pros

- The most critical feature in Tableau that we use on daily cadence is visualization of leads and sales pipeline
- The integrations we have with Datawarehouse to Tableau and to Salesforce is most critical as the data flow will be continuously flowing through the systems for better visibility
- We integrate Tableau dashboards inside Salesforce for users to quickly view and get the visualization for intelligence and reporting purposes.

Cons

- The pricing for Tableau can be less when compared to other alternate solutions in the market
- There could be more OOB integrations provided in Tableau to avoid overhead for the customers to implement them in-house based on business requirements
- The support can be more responsive for critical issues at all times

Kristin
Kristin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Features, Integrations but steep learning curve

Reviewed on 2022/10/25

I've been using Tableau for years. When I started at a new company, I knew I wanted to implement...

I've been using Tableau for years. When I started at a new company, I knew I wanted to implement Tableau at my new organization. Tableau has so many capabilities and presents data and visualizations clearly with a friendly end-user interface.

Pros

The Cloud version is great and allows for easier management of updates! Community Resources are abundant and help solve most questions. Visualization capabilities are abundant.

Cons

Tableau focuses on Visualizations and comes up short in Data Reporting for users who also need Excel type views. Functions and calculations are not easy to learn or understand and Tableau does not handle certain scenarios well. Support from the actual Tableau team is minimal - but the community comes to the rescue. Subscriptions are PRICEY!

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and maintian data visualization.

Reviewed on 2022/12/01

Excellent overall - prior to implementing tableau most of our enrollment data was tracked in...

Excellent overall - prior to implementing tableau most of our enrollment data was tracked in exports to Excel or csv files. Today we provide our board level reports in real time, via dashboard, to our board members directly. No back end work, no data manipulation - we just provide them a link and they and see and play with the data as they see fit.

Pros

Tableau is easy to use, easy to learn, and is an immensely powerful visualization tool. On a single dashboard our student services team can monitor anything from enrollment to advising to course loads in particular classrooms. There is a curve to set it up, but once you navigate the curve and get your data sets in place the software is very much fire and forget. Modifying reports or dashboards is very simple.

Cons

I'd love for there to be a lower cost enterprise license or a way for us to disperse dashboards to end users who only need to see but not manipulate the data. We hesitate to host these on a page internally or externally due to data protection requirements at the federal and state levels.

Vikas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellence in Data Visualization using Tableau

Reviewed on 2023/06/08

Tableau is a premier tool for data visualization that enables users to produce powerful visual...

Tableau is a premier tool for data visualization that enables users to produce powerful visual representations of their data. The overall Tableau experience is very excellent, despite a learning curve for new users and potential performance issues with huge datasets. The platform is a go-to choice for professionals and organizations looking to maximize the value of their data because of its user-friendly interface, wide range of visualization options, and strong analytics capabilities. Because of Tableau's dedication to superior data visualization, users can share insights with others and make wise decisions.

Pros

Using Tableau, a top tool for data visualization, users can easily produce eye-catching visual representations of their data. Without extensive coding skills, interactive dashboards, charts, and graphs may be created using its user-friendly interface and drag-and-drop features. Tableau's vast visualization options library enables innovative and interesting data displays. Users are able to connect to a variety of data sources on-premises and in the cloud thanks to the platform's strong data connectivity features. Tableau's robust analytics features assist customers in finding insightful information and making fact-based decisions.

Cons

The learning process for Tableau can be challenging for new users or those with little background in data visualization. To effectively utilize some sophisticated capabilities, you might need more education or experience. Smaller companies or individuals with tighter budgets may want to take the licensing charges of the program into account. Performance concerns can occasionally be caused by managing very large datasets or advanced data structures.

Thomas
Thomas
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tableau is my go-to tools for quick, nicely looking dashboards and data visualization

Reviewed on 2018/04/26

I get real-time data visualization from Tableau Software and a platform for posting cool and useful...

I get real-time data visualization from Tableau Software and a platform for posting cool and useful data visualizations without having to purchase a server.

Pros

Tableau is the software I use most (outside of Excel). The software's visualization tools are nice, at times amazing. Tableau connects with every data source I've ever needed (with the exception of one problem). The interactive capabilities and Tableau Public make for a perfect fit for a beginner to intermediate data visualizer. Advanced data visualizers probably find the functionality somewhat constraining, but that's one of the benefits of the software. Tableau is more than just a supped-up Excel graphics system. The analytical capabilities, although not best in class, offer all the basic calculations that most users will ever need.

Cons

Tableau is limited in its analytical capabilities. Tableau is working on making its use of R script more user friendly, although this requires the user to know R. Tableau's graphs are also somewhat limited at times, and Tableau for some reason takes pride in limiting its options (it apparently knows better than the user on what graphs are useful).