1 454 reviews

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
1 454 reviews
Monish K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to Perform Complex Data Analysis and Visualisation from any type of Datasource

Reviewed on 2020/04/26

Using Tableau has been a great learning, discovering and analytical experience, the tool has been easy to use and effective

Pros

Tableau has a good community support, almost any question that you get has been already answered,

Tableau supports any type of datasources, it supports data from a simple spread sheet to any modern time Databases (such as Snowflake , AWS Redshift , psql, mysql etc...)
Dataset can also be a query or joining multiple tables etc, which gives us a flexibility to compute required datas in the initial stage itself so that worksheet creation becomes simpler,

Tableau has a wide set of functions and operator that can be used for data processing and has verity of visualisation options from a simple table to complex charts, histograms, etc ..

We have a option to use live datasource or schedule the data refresh on the extracted datasource to improve the performance of the dashboard,

has good verity of filter support using which data can be drilled down slice and diced, supports column level sorting etc ..,

the dashboard can be created using set of worksheet, worksheets are easy to create with the help of drag and droop support, most of the things here is drag and drop which makes it more easier to use

Tableau server maintains all versions of the dashboard, it kind of ensures version control

Cons

Tableau desktop application can perform slow when we are dealing with large data set, especially when dragging and dropping KPI's on switching from one worksheet to another, can reduce the development speed, so to avoid this use a small data set for development.

When we are using Extracted Datasource the publishing to server and importing to desktop works really slow, since it is transferring the extracted data along with the tableau logic,

Editing the alias of table columns are quit tricky not flexible,

In filters the Dropdown listing are hard coded strings, it wold have been better if we could us a dimensions or values and and also if it supported chain filtering

use of functions like TP90, Average etc , require the data set to be extracted , will not work with live data.

Raghavendar N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

On the fly BI tool with rich visualizations and Dashboard features

Reviewed on 2019/03/21

We used Tableau for Visualization BI apart from having Business Objects for reporting. We have created a story for a given subject with all the related information to present to the user. It gives a quick glance on what is happening on the sales of drug for a pharma company that I worked. Migration from non-prod to prod is very easy (unlike other BI tools). Cost of the project reduces a lot with Tableau for BI projects

Pros

Tableau has changed the BI world a lot. It has brought in a software, using with business user can create dashboard & reports on the fly and can check what is there inside. It allows the user to read through the data and derive the insights without much technical analysis. First it can connect to any database (I know about 44 database it connects) and you can set the data, slice the data needed for current analysis and then you can do quick reporting. It provide multiple features, like different charts, graphs and tables and mathematical and statistical functions for analysis. Once you have create multiple visuals you can put them onto one dashboard or multiple dashboards into a story and present the same to business

Cons

Even though it has rich features but it can support the Enterprise BI needs like business object or Cognos does. It does not provide all the feature for E L T (extraction, load and transform) which requires complex transactions. As data gets huge the graphs and charts become unreadable. also, this software is more useful to the business user for personal purpose than company wide reporting etc. The administration part of it needs a lot.

Margot K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tableau: all-in-one data visualization and organization software

Reviewed on 2018/08/21

Pros

I have tried many ways to organize my files, especially my data for work. I had tons of trial and errors with different software. I tried Tableau and I have been using it ever since. Tableau lets me store my files and so much more. Tableau allows me to view my data in a way that I wanted it to be shown, organized and sorted. I can access different files using cloud and data warehouses. No other software allows me to merge two different data and viewing them as one except for Tableau. And because my data are to be shared with most of my co-workers, it allows me to do just that. It is amazing how easily everyone in my team can access the files through online and server. Another great thing about Tableau is its availability on iOS, Mac and windows, which increases the ease of my team’s accessibility.
My work requires me to review different trends on different topics and with a simple drag and click; I am allowed to review what I need with Tableau. It seems that Tableau is really created for my needs; it is just amazing that this software can be of so much help.

Cons

Tableau is great but it really was confusing at first, especially without any help or tutorial, the software had too many functions that it can take time to be able to learn a single task in it. A helpful solution is that Tableau has a help area where frequently faced difficulties can be answered and since many has already been using it, asking for help from others was not that hard. It was not that difficult to learn the functions of Tableau.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Express you data in real time and powerful Tableau dashboards

Reviewed on 2021/01/09

We use Tableau to create all the reports/ dashboards for the senior management in our organisation. It includes daily/ weekly/ monthly reports. And since every report is an interactive report, senior leadership can find answers to their questions by exploring through the reports. We struggled in making the first versions of the reports but later on, we just need to use those templates to create the reports. Therefore, in the start it can become a little overwhelming, but once ready with the template, you'll find it very useful for your reporting procedures.

Pros

1. Tableau is one of the widely accepted software. It is being used by every 8/10 data-driven companies for managing and representing large amounts of data.
2. Ready to use tools which can produce Senior Leadership level reports/ dashboards.
3. Supports channels for real-time feeding data directly into the dashboards which removes the requirement of manual creating of reports.
4. Capable of producing interactive reports which are highly liked and appreciated by Senior Leaders of any organisation.
5. Supports multiple export methods - Tableau specific dashboards, Generic Dashboards, PDFs, Spreadsheets and even PowerPoint presentations. So this gives the user flexibility to share the reports/ dashboard in whatever form they would like to.

Cons

1. Starting to produce reports for Senior Management via Tableau would take quite an amount of effort in the start. You need to learn and then setup a lot of things in the start, but once done, you can use those blueprints for all the future reports.
2. A number of formulas are supported in Tableau, but you need to have a good grasp of how to use those and input the correct parameters, else Dashboards will show data which is not correct in nature.
3. The user interface is not that user-friendly, and for a new user, it can become overwhelming at times. The feature set is powerful, but since the usage is complex, it becomes challenging for the users to find correct options and use them correctly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software for data visualisation, not so great on data manipulation side

Reviewed on 2020/04/05

Really satisfied with Tableau, performed some great stuff over these 2 years of using it. Created over 100 workbooks with huge data sets, also created some extensions and never had a bad feeling about Tableau.

Pros

It's pretty easy to use Tableau, it's really intuitive, colourful and self explanatory. The overall design of this software comes in hand with charts and pretty neat visualisation tools. The charts are really user-friendly and have some default values that are subject to formatting, painting, resizing, etc. to fit your needs.
Has some great built in functions on Server that allow users to pull the raw data directly or in some form that they need the report. Subscription option on server is a great feature that allows you to get daily/weekly or monthly reports on your email address.
Also data source feature of this software is a fantastic part of this tool, as you'll able to connect almost anything on the market, from SQL queries and excel files on OneDrive to Tables on Azure or lists on SharePoint.

Cons

Performance is a little bit tricky, as in any other software. When you use big chunks of data, it can cause some troubles in speed and charts loading. If you add some joins, blends or multiple data source dashboards, and you have data sets of multiple million rows, that will cause some headaches, but just until you learn to manipulate the data and prepare the data for your charts.

Sunny B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great dashboard(-ing) tool

Reviewed on 2021/02/06

I have been using Tableau for more than 2 years now. The software offers a lot of flexibility with producing visuals.

Pros

Tableau has many great features but my favorite is its intuitive working which enables first-time users to quickly learn its basic functionality and gradually learn some tricks along the way.

Tableau's connectivity to Excel, sharepoint, APIs, google sheets, text/csv files, databases - SQL, oracle etc covers pretty much all bases for my organisation's needs. I have also been using Tableau Prep from the suite to scrub data while recording each step along the way which is a great feature that helps with reproducibility.
The Tableau online community has been a big help troubleshooting my issues and providing inspiration through showcased works.

Cons

Some of the API connections (e.g. with Safety culture) are not as seamless when compared to the competitor product - Microsoft PBI.

Fernando D.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A flexible and powerful tool

Reviewed on 2018/07/12

I am an analytics consultant and used to work mostly with SAP BW (Business Objects, Business Explorer, etc), Lumira, and Qlik Sense. My first contact with Tableau was very good, I've learned many things in a few days, it's very easy to use and also very powerful. I'm happy in working with this project because Tableau makes my experience much better, I'm liking it.

Pros

The easiness on creating simple reports don't obfuscate its power on creating complex dashboards. If you want to create a simple bar graph that shows your sales amount, you can do it easily and quickly, but it doesn't take out the tools and mechanisms that allows advanced users and consultants to do more, like creating complex non-existent (not ready-available in the tool, but possible) charts like exploded bar charts. It supports formulas and also have a very good engine for it, as you can define one and reference it by its name wherever you need.
As an analytics consultant, I've seen many other reporting tools, like Qlik View (and Sense), Power BI, SAP Lumira and so on, so I can tell that Tableau is a major competitor in segment.

Cons

A common problem that takes place inside large companies lies on the difference between how we think Tableau looks for data and how it actually does. At one of the cases we have SAP Hana as a database with its views as data source and Tableau as the reporting tool. Some of our dashboards have been stated as "slow", but we figured out that the problem was not on the columns that was available and being used by Tableau, but in the other columns. The Tableau doesn't ever create the same SQL as we are expecting for a situation, it has a complex way to determine the better SQL for the best user experience.
This slowness is known wherever you ask for "Tableau main problems".
So the problem was not entirely on Tableau, but in the way we created the views.
This is a very light con that has the main purpose to aware software buyers instead of saying "don't buy".
In short, the slowness may lie on data source instead of Tableau's engine. You should care about how data is delivered to it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data visualisation - with a learning curve

Reviewed on 2018/11/19

We did not have a proper BI tool previous to Tableau. We were extracting data to spreadsheets and cross-referencing multiple spreadsheets to generate our data.

While Tableau is initially harder to use than a simple spreadsheet, it is much easier to use in the long run.

Pros

Really, really powerful data visualisation tool. You can take data from virtually any source and join it together. Then you can make visualisations, dashboards, and stories from all of this data.

Sharing your data with non-technical people is a breeze. Package up the workbook, including the source data, and your users can open the file using free Tableau Reader. They can still filter the data, etc. They just can create new visualisations or refresh the data.

There is a huge amount of training available online to help you on your journey.

Another great feature is that you can pull from live data, or you can create a data extract to take a snapshot of the data at a point in time.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve to properly learn the software. If you have previous experience with BI software, it may not be as difficult. But it is definitely much more difficult that putting together a graph or pie chart in a spreadsheet.

That being said, once your data model is humming along and you've learned how to create some basic visualisations, the world really opens up to you and you can get lots of data insights very easily.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic reporting tool

Reviewed on 2020/05/14

Reporting on trends, data analysis and looking at performance indicators.

Pros

I use Tableau daily to check on my team's productivity and look at historical trends compared to this year's data/performance. You can report on almost anything in Tableau when it comes to performance/data analysis.

Cons

The more users you add, the slower the downloading can become. It sometimes takes a good deal of time to download reports, which can be frustrating at times when you need to look up data quickly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good data visualization tool

Reviewed on 2018/06/29

Pros

a) Easy to use and make data to tell stories about its insights
b) Visualization is very clear and with the help of dropdown its make your life easier to drill down the granularity of data and you can see the different metrics and KPI in the same chart.
c) The various chart especially the heat chart is very useful if you are dealing with the geographical data.
d) Apart from the data visualization, the transformation data with the help of SQL Queries is very useful in it.
e) Data shaping you can mold the data as per your need but to a certain extent.

Cons

a) Data bending is a major concern, sometimes the view get lost or the data you want to show isn't correct number
b) Location of Extracts, the extract get misplaced although the extract is at the location then also it is not showing the view.
c) When you try to make twbx file to twb file then views and data get misplaced or vanish from the report

Cynthia R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Let's view some data

Reviewed on 2019/02/05

Pros

We use Tableau to display data and stats to agents. It allows management and agents alike to quickly see how well they are doing or areas that need improvements. Tableau takes data you wish to measure and interpret the information and give individual scores. It is easy to read and understand. From the dashboard you can see a general overview that is fairly easy to understand but also with a few mouse clicks you can see more detailed data and tracking. Its a very effective means to use individual data and collective data to ensure we're hitting the targets for our customers.

Cons

The only issue I have is on behalf of our agents. There data is only updated once daily and because their scores are so important in terms of perks, Overtime, etc. they really want to know scores several times a day. I certainly understand the data update time frames. Honestly I don't know if this daily update is set by our IT dept. or within the software, but its not a deal breaker. It is very helpful software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tableau Another Dashboard Tool.

Reviewed on 2020/02/20

I am overall happy with its performance and the user friendly of this tools over other visualization tool.

Pros

I believe its having the most elegant look and feel for all the charts and graphs.Its flexibility to connect with any data source.It is very user friendly and can be used by non technical users to build the desired dashboards.

Cons

Cost for licenses are quit high compared to other tools. Technical support is not that efficient. Still work can be done to improve the interface.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The premiere Data Visualization software, for a reason

Reviewed on 2019/05/04

Pros

I don't even know where to begin with the multitude of positive things I have to say about Tableau, but I'll try to summarize without gushing for too long: It is the epitome of user-friendly. It takes an incredibly complex concept, data visualization, and streamlines the entire process, from start to finish. From linking your data source (from a HUGE multitude of options, from Excel, Access, Oracle, SQL, Salesforce, etc), to creating Measures and Dimensions to use in the vizzes, to applying color, tooltips and interactive legends to your visuals... the process is just so easy and seamless. With no formal experience or training, I taught myself around the program in a month or two and can spit out pretty decent visuals in less than 30 mins. Intuitive UI and wonderful ease-of-use.

Cons

Not many cons to note, really - I do wish that the Tableau corp would merge a lot of their platforms, like Tableau Prep, Tableau Desktop, Tableau Online, Tableau Mobile, and so on, into a way easier to digest package. The Desktop app itself is incredible powerful and straightforward - the other programs, while powerful, require a lot of explanation as to what benefit they provide. It's not that the programs are necessarily any easier or harder to use than Desktop - it's that there's no cheatsheet anywhere on Tableau's website into what each service/program provides, which I find to be a shame.

Allan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wine & Spirits
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Incredibly powerful software that does many things with ease, but still requires code writing...

Reviewed on 2015/12/23

This software is by far the easiest BI software I've used (tried Zoho, Excel Pivot tables, Microsoft BI, and many others). It's a slam dunk for drag-and-drop analysis of lots of things. But if you want to do more complicated analysis of what you're looking at beyond face-value graphs of plotting X and Y axis, you're going to need to learn how to perform some custom coding. Fortunately, there are LOTS of free guides available through community forums and online blogs. But it takes time to read those, and unless you're trying to do exactly what the examples show, it takes quite a bit more time to adapt said examples to whatever is specific about your scenario. The price isn't cheap at something like $1000/yr, so it's no small investment. But from every other software I've seen, I'd buy this over the others.

Pros

Super simple drag-and-drop interface for plotting out info.
Massive online community forums packed with information and examples
Huge amount of content produced by others on various sites (blogs and such).
Ability to quickly open someone else's example worksheet to get "hands on" with the data from their examples (as opposed to just reading about it).

Cons

Like every other software I've seen, there's no escaping the need to code custom functions for complex or deeper analysis
The price tag is fairly high - likely cost prohibitive for a small business who is just looking to try and analyze data that their POS software won't do for them, or that Excel Pivot tables just can't quite seem to cover.

Heather H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for pulling data from multiple sources

Reviewed on 2019/12/18

If you need standard reporting that's coming from one source, this isn't the tool for you. But if you need complex reports pulling from multiple platforms to make your business decisions, it's preferable to building complex excel reports - and the ability to limit access to who gets what report (and ensure people aren't accidentally changing your reports) is a good thing.

Pros

I like the tool's ability to pull data from multiple sources to build custom reports. The possibilities for how to view your data really are endless.

Cons

Navigation throughout the product could be smoother. Sometimes it's not intuitive - I used it for a year before I realized I had to click in the report before it would allow me to download more than a PDF or image. I currently have a report that's giving me bad data and I don't know enough to troubleshoot it - not sure if the fault lies with the tool or the people who built the report.

David K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Took our data visualizations and analytics to a whole new level!

Reviewed on 2018/02/07

Completely changed the way our company uses data. Increased visibility and ability of managers to accurately see what is happening in their areas. It makes it easy when business questions come up to quickly build a visualization to get at the answers.

Pros

One of the most powerful tools that I've used. It has helped us answer so many business questions. You will never go back to Excel. It does everything Excel does and 100 times more. The power of being able to connect directly to your database, live, and quickly build dashboards and trends is amazing.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve in understanding how calculations work, levels of detail, etc. But if you know database structure and are able to make charts in Excel, you'll quickly figure it out.

Will C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very efficient and fantastic for data visulatization

Reviewed on 2021/03/27

Tableau is a fantastically intuitive data analysis tool, it help to visualize your data in ways you never imagined and it helps you identify trends you would of never spotted. The software is so easy to use with its drag and drop interface that overall it has greatly improved my productivity.

Pros

A major plus for Tableau is how well it integrates with other applications such as Excel and Oracle. I've hardly faced any issues with adding the files from these applications and overall Tableau makes it a smooth and easy process. I also like the fact that the company is always striving to improve their software as it shows dedication to the field. With every update I find that the new features help with my job quite a lot.

Cons

Like most software, Tableau does lag a little when it comes to uploading large files, I also find that it is a steep learning curve if you are not someone who doesn't have previous experience with similar data analysis software, however once you do get the hang of it, Tableau is a great asset to have.

Eric L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Most powerful visualization tool but steep learning curve

Reviewed on 2016/05/17

Pros

Tableau is a powerful desktop analytics software which allows the most customizable and sophisticated analytics I've seen after having used Qliksense, Qlikview, and Domo. Almost anything you can image you can create, including sophisticated drill downs, color coding, correlated charts, and more. As I started learning Tableau I was consistently impressed by how deep the functionality of the product is and how I was able to create compelling, interactive visualizations to allow stakeholders to self-serve analytics.

Cons

Unfortunately the power of tableau brings a lot of complexity. It's not the type of software you can just click around and figure out so people who use it regularly do need to do a significant amount of training, and depending on their software proficiency the learning curve can be quite steep. The product, as a desktop software (I didn't use the online version), is starting to feel dated: you still have to save files and the software does crash every so often causing lost work, and you still have to deal with the annoyance of file management.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tableau Software Review - Desktop

Reviewed on 2020/04/05

In company such big as mine we are using Tableau to it's full extent and probably over the limits as stakeholders tend to be complicated, so far there was no thing that couldn't be done through Tableau.

Pros

Definitely ease of use is one of the best things regarding Tableau for less advanced users.For me, experienced user of Data Viz tools, numerous data connectors, limitless customization are probably the most likable things.

Cons

Nothing exceptional, maybe integration with some of the Microsoft features such as One Drive could be less complicated when we are talking about publishing dashboards and some automation(subscriptions won't work with One Drive).

Matthew Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Strong analytics, graphical representation and collaboration; Long learning curve

Reviewed on 2018/11/20

Definitely recommend this product as it has a very consistent support, feature and patching stream, but would recommend taking some kind of course that specifically works with this product to ensure fully functional capability.

Pros

The ability to generate graphical representations of almost any data set is much more intuitive than the standard office product can produce. Chart tracking and collaborative capabilities allow for even the most geographically diverse teams to remain on target with the appropriate tools at their disposal. Charting and workflow development is straight forward and easy to track. Great training and learning aids if you license the product.

Cons

Definitely for the true project management professional with an existing background in PMP. The standard text based product user, or beginning level professional would find some challenges with this tool do the precise nature of the application and its functionality. Can be bulky and resource intensive for the small organization hardware set.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing Visualization Tool

Reviewed on 2021/01/24

I have nothing but praise for the product. The support, stability, and quality of visualizations are all great.

Pros

Tableau has a steep learning curve, but there are Youtube videos and online classes to help. The bulk of the visualizations can be completed using Tableau's recommended guides. If one is really skilled with the tool, complex visualizations can be created.

I was thrilled to see a new feature that connects tables and was released in 2020, called noodles. It almost eliminates the need for level of detail calculations and makes it so much easier to create and support.

Cons

The size of your data file is dependent on the laptop/desktop computer. Most computers can handle 1+ million rows files but have trouble with 5+ million rows. Data files used by Tableau needs to have gone through a data cleaning tool like Prep, Alteryx, or something similar.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Breakthrough in visualization reports

Reviewed on 2019/02/05

In a developer perspective, Tableau is robust with its drill-down, Join and union between datasets features, it offers good product support and flexible to use with various databases.
In the end user perspective, its eye-catching with its interactive and colourful stories/dashboards and is currently in trend.

Pros

1. Ease of use
2. Can be integrated with all databases including SAP HANA.
3. Reports can be viewed in different landscapes ( mobile ,tablet ,desktop ,laptop)
4. Interactive reports and stories can be made ( heat maps etc).
5. Reports can be published on the server or made public.

Cons

1. A bit hard to understand for the technical novices.
2. Power BI is giving tough competition to tableau through its integration to Microsoft office 365.
3. Small business won't be able to afford this.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

need to show something? use Tableau

Reviewed on 2019/01/03

great experience, tableu helped me to solve global data visualizations

Pros

Id been Tableau user for long time, and I don't trade it for any other visualization tool, it helps me to show in a simple way the story behind the data, pretty much helps me to gather insights many times hidden in the data and present them in a simplistic way.
I can merge multiple data sources and elaborate dashboards that can be put in the tableau server to be shared globally.

Cons

costs of license / implementation, if you are not sure that you can afford the tool, it may be difficult to implement.

Mark G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Steep learning curve but worth the effort

Reviewed on 2019/07/15

It's my favorite BI tool, plain and simple. Powerful enough to use out of the box, and modular enough to make it into whatever your business needs.

Pros

Working in data daily, I find that Excel is often clunky or doesn't give me the level of granularity or processing power I need to easily pull insight out of large datasets. Tableau lets me go through my data and organize it in an effective and powerful way so I can spend less time fiddling with it and more time gleaning learnings.

Cons

Building dashboards is not for the faint of heart. While data ingestion is typically a seamless process, the work involved in getting your data organized enough for wide use definitely requires some serious planning and manpower.

Prabhat J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly pluggable with different data sources

Reviewed on 2019/11/23

Overall it's fun using tableau, lot's of feature
to explore and bring value from data

Pros

I am using tableau from very long,
specifically tableau desktop, Its highly
pluggable means, you can easily connect with
many different data sources, hive ,impala
,presto , cloudera hadoop and many other's.
Sometimes, it works very slow, that is one complain and
it is very costly, but I am willing to pay because of features.

Cons

It is very costly but analytics are very easy with tableau thus
I am willing to pay and I use it every day