Tableau

4.5 (2,280)
Write a Review!
Business intelligence & analytics

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(2,280)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

2280 Reviews

Federico
Federico
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best Visualization Solution

Reviewed on 2022/06/01

Really impressed on the way this tools works, as easy as drag and drop fields in an Excel pivot...

Really impressed on the way this tools works, as easy as drag and drop fields in an Excel pivot table, in addition, Tableau won't allow yo to develop wrongful charts.

Pros

We really like the easiness to upload and prepare data visualizations, charts, graphics and dashboards. It works with the mains data files such as text crv, xls and google sheet documents. They have a free version which present the main functionalities, perfect for a small business, then if you need to upgrade to a paid version the process is very simple. Their forums and community really support, and help to improve, learn and develop great visualizations.

Cons

As any other solution, it takes some investigation and learning to understand the way it works and how to prepare robust presentations in Tableau. Some older versions do not allow roll back. Some sharing and analytic challenges are presented and really wish they develop additional features.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Choosing Tableau

Tableau is a better product for the easiness and the complete customer service experience.

Reasons for Switching to Tableau

Once we started working with Tableau, we would not change to another solution because the way we work with the tool fits our opertive needs.
Dhrumil
Dhrumil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Product, great integration options!

Reviewed on 2022/07/13

It's got a whole lot of benefits and the look and feel of the software is better than any other...

It's got a whole lot of benefits and the look and feel of the software is better than any other software.

Pros

I love amount of features they have as compared to it's competitors. It just makes it so easy to integrate data within the software.

Cons

I don't like the fact that it has lesser functionalities when I comes to coding, preferably Python.

Alternatives Considered

Qlik Sense

Reasons for Choosing Tableau

It's just a lot better when it comes to the features.

Switched From

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Switching to Tableau

Sheerly due to the features offered.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Amazing for data analysis and exploration, not great for dashboards

Reviewed on 2022/09/14

At my team we use Tableau as a data exploration tool for data practitioners, and not for dashboards...

At my team we use Tableau as a data exploration tool for data practitioners, and not for dashboards and data reporting to the company. This setup takes advantage of what Tableau does best and don't use it for what it doesn't.
Tableau as a data reporting and dashboard tool may be suited for more traditional organizations, with a lot of experienced BI personnel who can take the time to build good dashboards with it.

Pros

Tableau allows for very good exploratory data analysis, and one can build amazing visualizations with it. Once you learn how to work with it, it becomes very easy to explore data and get insights from it.

Cons

Tableau is very expensive compared to its competitors, and if you want to get the whole company using it for dashboards, the pricing is certainly prohibitive for startups.
I also don't Tableau for Dashboards, as the discovery and navigation interface is not very inviting to business users and dashboards are hard do discover. At the same time, building dashboards on Tableau is a lot less straightforward than in other tools. One can build very advanced dashboards, but that requires a lot of time and expertise, which not all Data users in a company will be.

Alternatives Considered

Looker
Henrietta
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tableau for data analysis, data visualization

Reviewed on 2024/03/05

Amazing, seamless visualizations that can be created easily

Amazing, seamless visualizations that can be created easily

Pros

Tableau is one of the best data visualization tools out in the market, it allows you to produce highly customizable, appealing visualizations and dashboards. I have used plenty of data visualization tools, but Tableau takes the cake.

Cons

Nothing I can think of, Tableau is a great tool, very easy to use and share with teams

Paul
Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best looking data analyst tool

Reviewed on 2021/02/09

Extremely happy with Tableau. Compared to other tools like PowerBI or Qlik, Tableau is far ahead,...

Extremely happy with Tableau. Compared to other tools like PowerBI or Qlik, Tableau is far ahead, and improving all the time. Going forward, as the products are now, I can't imagine choosing any other.

Pros

Tableau Desktop absolutely produces the cleanest and most intuitive reports of any software like it. The learning curve for basic functionality is short and the online resources for deeper dives are plentiful.

Cons

Reports distribution in Tableau Desktop is clunky and connecting to SharePoint or similar distribution tools are too difficult to setup without professional IT assistance.
Tableau Prep is still in early stages of development. Some Flows take much too long for what shouldn't be so challenging an operation.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Choosing Tableau

Better, more intuitive functionality. Cleaner aesthetic.

Switched From

Microsoft Power BI
Katie
Katie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Longtime User

Reviewed on 2021/05/11

great.

great.

Pros

Tableau is just way easier to use. Ive used a lot of others. Yes many have features that Tableau does not. But when it comes down to ease of use and fast turn around Tableau is probably the best

Cons

Tableau is not great when it comes to time series data. Its ok. But the amount of contortion that is necessary to show meaningful data in a time series is a real pain in the neck. Also Tableau data blending is nonsense. Better than Alteryx? probably. But still.

Akshila
Akshila
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good data visualization software

Reviewed on 2022/07/07

Overall this is a good tool that can use to do data visualization really fast and easily.

Overall this is a good tool that can use to do data visualization really fast and easily.

Pros

Connecting and creating dashboards are really good and this is a top solution in the market for data visualization. this contains cloud-based solutions and On-prem solutions. This works with many data files like txt, CSV, xls, as well as this has a free version with really good features than other paid tools.

Cons

Sometimes tableau is getting hung while processing large data files and consume more RAM and CPU power to operate.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A software for your business.

Reviewed on 2023/08/13

Overall, I think Tableau is a great software that provides a beautiful interface to users, and it...

Overall, I think Tableau is a great software that provides a beautiful interface to users, and it can be used in various domains and industries.

Pros

I love the application because it is widely used by many businesses for analysis, and I especially love the dashboard feature that provides a user-friendly interface.

Cons

What I dislike is the data exploration and analysis, which, in my opinion, are a bit slow and disproportionate.

Munavvar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exceptional Data Visualization Tool & Dashboard

Reviewed on 2023/08/30

Still Learning to create the dashboard & integrating BigData like Google's Big Query and its fun...

Still Learning to create the dashboard & integrating BigData like Google's Big Query and its fun while building visualization. I enjoyed creating Visualization for one of the Clothing Brands in Surat, India.

Pros

It supports Python, so customized visualization is possible (for Python programmers, it's easy) to create their own custom dashboard and visualization.

Cons

It's a bit costly, where PowerBI is free.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Choosing Tableau

Using both PowerBI and Tableau.

Switched From

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Switching to Tableau

In-depth customization and data cleaning is possible and easy in Tableau, which is why I liked this.
Carlos
Carlos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Tableau for Data Analytics

Reviewed on 2022/07/08

Tableau allows me to generate data analytics reports of my work, to show progress of certain...

Tableau allows me to generate data analytics reports of my work, to show progress of certain projects and even to generate reports for customers with specific needs, I really like that it allows integration with programming languages such as R to extend the possibilities of use.

Pros

What I like the most is the amount of tools it has to be able to work on the whole process of a data analytics project.

Cons

The Tableau cloud version could be improved, since the current version is not at the same level as the desktop one.

Nadezhda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Comprehensive Review of Tableau

Reviewed on 2023/02/22

Overall, Tableau is an excellent data visualization tool that is incredibly powerful and easy to...

Overall, Tableau is an excellent data visualization tool that is incredibly powerful and easy to use. It is a great tool for both novice and experienced users due to its drag-and-drop interface and wide range of features. However, it can be quite pricey and lack some of the advanced analytics capabilities of its competitors.

Pros

Tableau is an incredibly powerful and user-friendly data visualization tool. It is incredibly easy to use and provides incredibly powerful visualizations that can help users better understand their data. The drag-and-drop interface makes it incredibly easy to build complex visualizations with minimal effort. Additionally, Tableau has a wide variety of features that give users the ability to customize their visualizations to their needs.

Cons

One of the drawbacks of Tableau is that it can be quite expensive for larger organizations. Additionally, the user interface is not as intuitive as some of its competitors, which can make it difficult for new users to learn. Finally, Tableau does not have the ability to perform advanced analytics, which can be a limitation for some users.

Sergio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for dashboards, but training is required

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

I generally use tableau to show sales data on dashboards to executives. Overall experience is great...

I generally use tableau to show sales data on dashboards to executives. Overall experience is great now that I have enough skill to operate and manipulate the data to generate what I want.

Pros

I like that you can merge different data sources to generate new views of data. for example, overlay a census report above your sales data and have a demographic profile of sales for the country. Also the hundred different graphs and charts to choose from. this scores me high points with the executives when I show them a fancy graphic in meetings.

Cons

We had some trouble with tableau speaking to our servers and applications which took longer that we wanted before we could start using live data to run reports. You must clean your data before you upload to tableau. the data scrubbing system on tableau needs work. This makes it difficult when using live data. I usually just use and extract, clean and upload.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Switching to Tableau

Power Bi interface did not look appealing. it looked like it was running on dos.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tableau Lets You Become Productive in Minutes

Reviewed on 2019/01/24

Tableau and especially Tableau server has helped our business share data much more efficiently and...

Tableau and especially Tableau server has helped our business share data much more efficiently and accurately than the old method of emailing spreadsheets and presentations around. The ability for anyone to manipulate the data and answer their own questions allows analysts to concentrate on the truly difficult and unique problems instead of cranking out a never-ending series of custom reports. Having the data connected to live source or warehoused data means everyone is up to date all the time.

Pros

Tableau is exceptionally easy to pick up and be productive, and has the ability to connect to almost any data source you can imagine, including REST APIs (though this is a pretty advanced process).

Cross database joins are an amazing feature that allow you to mix data from Excel, Oracle, MySQL and others on a single dashboard.

There are a ton of online resources available from Tableau, and the broader user community which help you in the event that you get stuck on a thorny issue.

Tableau also supports the Tableau Public desktop software which allows anyone to create and share visualizations for free on the web (though data sources are severely limited with Tableau Public).

Cons

Price is an issue, particularly if you're an individual or a small business. Woe be unto you if you're a small business and you'd like to set up a Tableau server.

There are some functions which we've all grown accustomed to in Excel which new users will expect to be in Tableau but just aren't--robust Conditional Formatting, for instance. However, in most cases there are workarounds and other ways of accomplishing the same task.

While it's easy to become quickly productive, most users will outgrow the easy stuff pretty quickly as they attempt join new data sources, or produce more complicated visualizations.

Monish
Monish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to Perform Complex Data Analysis and Visualisation from any type of Datasource

Reviewed on 2020/04/26

Using Tableau has been a great learning, discovering and analytical experience, the tool has been...

Using Tableau has been a great learning, discovering and analytical experience, the tool has been easy to use and effective

Pros

Tableau has a good community support, almost any question that you get has been already answered,

Tableau supports any type of datasources, it supports data from a simple spread sheet to any modern time Databases (such as Snowflake , AWS Redshift , psql, mysql etc...)
Dataset can also be a query or joining multiple tables etc, which gives us a flexibility to compute required datas in the initial stage itself so that worksheet creation becomes simpler,

Tableau has a wide set of functions and operator that can be used for data processing and has verity of visualisation options from a simple table to complex charts, histograms, etc ..

We have a option to use live datasource or schedule the data refresh on the extracted datasource to improve the performance of the dashboard,

has good verity of filter support using which data can be drilled down slice and diced, supports column level sorting etc ..,

the dashboard can be created using set of worksheet, worksheets are easy to create with the help of drag and droop support, most of the things here is drag and drop which makes it more easier to use

Tableau server maintains all versions of the dashboard, it kind of ensures version control

Cons

Tableau desktop application can perform slow when we are dealing with large data set, especially when dragging and dropping KPI's on switching from one worksheet to another, can reduce the development speed, so to avoid this use a small data set for development.

When we are using Extracted Datasource the publishing to server and importing to desktop works really slow, since it is transferring the extracted data along with the tableau logic,

Editing the alias of table columns are quit tricky not flexible,

In filters the Dropdown listing are hard coded strings, it wold have been better if we could us a dimensions or values and and also if it supported chain filtering

use of functions like TP90, Average etc , require the data set to be extracted , will not work with live data.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tableau is the best data visualization tool on the market and offers great value for money.

Reviewed on 2021/06/13

Tableau has allowed me to present complex data in a very simple and easily understandable way...

Tableau has allowed me to present complex data in a very simple and easily understandable way thanks to the many visualisations available. This has made presenting findings and reporting to senior management as well as clients very easy. Tableau has been very reliable and has been a one stop solution for all my company's data analytics needs mainly due to the fact that it allows us to combine all our data across various tools and work on them together.

Pros

My company heavily relies on Microsoft Excel to initially record and store data so I like the fact that Tableau easily allows you to import spreadsheets from Excel as raw data which can be transformed into great visualisations using Tableau's powerful features. I also like the fact that Tableau allows you to combine data from different sources and work on them together. One feature I find most helpful is report scheduling which updates reports automatically each day. This allows me to automate a repetitive task which I would have had to devote time to doing each day and allows me to easily monitor key metrics.

Cons

Tableau can be quite slow when working with larger datasets. Also, although Tableau has great visualisations for data, I feel there needs to be more statistical functionalities to be able to derive better and more in depth insights from data.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI
Kelli
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Product but Poor Support

Reviewed on 2020/07/31

I've been using the software for about five years and it has been able to provide insight into our...

I've been using the software for about five years and it has been able to provide insight into our data in a way that no other tool has been able to. However, support is terrible for this product and some of the versions are released with a few bugs. We will likely continue to this but it is imperfect.

Pros

The software is very powerful tool and excellent visualization tool. It is easy to get started and there is a ton of free training available. The pool of users is great and the community is very helpful to new and existing users.

Cons

The support we pay for is almost worthless. We frequently solve the problem ourselves and it is time consuming to submit everything via their helpdesk with nothing to show for it. Providing logs and files and emailing with someone on the west coast outside of normal east coast business hours is frustrating. Tickets get "escalated" to the engineering team and that ends up being code for "we don't know and this won't be fixed by us". Turnover for their sales representatives indicates it isn't a great company to work for either.

Alternatives Considered

Highcharts and Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Switching to Tableau

Pricing, features and flexibility
Cassidy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best data analysis and visualization tool ever reviewed

Reviewed on 2023/03/25

Tableau has slashed the time it takes to connect to data sources, run sophisticated analyses, and...

Tableau has slashed the time it takes to connect to data sources, run sophisticated analyses, and design insightful visualizations for use across the company. Our company's decision-making is aided by the fact that it integrates a plethora of tools for efficiently exploring, analyzing, and visualizing massive datasets. It has worked wonderfully with my company, and we couldn't be happier with the outcomes. Data experts and analytics teams seeking a robust yet user-friendly BI solution will find it an ideal alternative.

Pros

Tableau is a robust and intuitive program for analyzing and visualizing data. The easy-to-navigate interface facilitates rapid data exploration and analysis. I like how quickly and easily it allows me to integrate and analyze massive amounts of data from many sources, all while making visually appealing and insightful visualizations. It also incorporates sophisticated analytics tools like complicated aggregations and predictive models. Users may find answers fast because of Tableau's broad online community and resources. The implementation of Tableau within my company has been smooth sailing.

Cons

Tableau can be pricey, especially for startups or single users, and there is a learning curve to getting the most out of all its advanced features and capabilities.

MANAS
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Analysis has become effective with tableau, its a analysis with computation tool

Reviewed on 2020/10/10

Tableau is a great tool , its designed for complex data analysis, it works wonderfully , especially...

Tableau is a great tool , its designed for complex data analysis, it works wonderfully , especially with databases as datasource

Pros

Tableau is a great tool for analysing data, unlike XL sheets the data is stored and we can analyse only the stored data, in tableau data can reside any ware it can be in any database or even in files , we can analyse them, (it supports many type of data sources), the data source can even be a complex query and can join multiple sources in different ways,

Tableau can compute the data further for analysis, data is segregated into dimension and values and this value can be computing , assume it as in xl sheet there a cell value can be computation of other and this chain can continue,

Can add interactive filters in the analysis screen,
host these dashboards on server, the server maintains the history of uploaded changes , kind of a version control , can revert back and forth , can also download the versions,

It has data refresh options , like live and scheduled , the like always queries the datasources and shows the data, ware as the scheduled runs the refresh on scheduled times, we can write the schedule logic in the server,

have a good community support and documentations,

it dose provide a 30days free trial on the tableau application, after which we need a product key

Cons

Don't have proper version control in tableau, could have a feature like integrating with git, since there is no such feature parallel development cant be done, this is like a single developer works on a dashboard at a time, i think we can copy one sheet from different dashboard to another its a good thing thow sort of can archive parallel development but its not a clear way

Fernando
Fernando
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A flexible and powerful tool

Reviewed on 2018/07/12

I am an analytics consultant and used to work mostly with SAP BW (Business Objects, Business...

I am an analytics consultant and used to work mostly with SAP BW (Business Objects, Business Explorer, etc), Lumira, and Qlik Sense. My first contact with Tableau was very good, I've learned many things in a few days, it's very easy to use and also very powerful. I'm happy in working with this project because Tableau makes my experience much better, I'm liking it.

Pros

The easiness on creating simple reports don't obfuscate its power on creating complex dashboards. If you want to create a simple bar graph that shows your sales amount, you can do it easily and quickly, but it doesn't take out the tools and mechanisms that allows advanced users and consultants to do more, like creating complex non-existent (not ready-available in the tool, but possible) charts like exploded bar charts. It supports formulas and also have a very good engine for it, as you can define one and reference it by its name wherever you need.
As an analytics consultant, I've seen many other reporting tools, like Qlik View (and Sense), Power BI, SAP Lumira and so on, so I can tell that Tableau is a major competitor in segment.

Cons

A common problem that takes place inside large companies lies on the difference between how we think Tableau looks for data and how it actually does. At one of the cases we have SAP Hana as a database with its views as data source and Tableau as the reporting tool. Some of our dashboards have been stated as "slow", but we figured out that the problem was not on the columns that was available and being used by Tableau, but in the other columns. The Tableau doesn't ever create the same SQL as we are expecting for a situation, it has a complex way to determine the better SQL for the best user experience.
This slowness is known wherever you ask for "Tableau main problems".
So the problem was not entirely on Tableau, but in the way we created the views.
This is a very light con that has the main purpose to aware software buyers instead of saying "don't buy".
In short, the slowness may lie on data source instead of Tableau's engine. You should care about how data is delivered to it.

Rhea
Rhea
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Data Visualization Tool

Reviewed on 2020/05/27

Tableau by far is the best visualization tool I have worked with and there is no comparison with...

Tableau by far is the best visualization tool I have worked with and there is no comparison with other tools. I have never felt that Tableau lacked anything and have discovered things I wouldn't normally do with the data if not for its Tableau functionality. This has helped me create robust dashboards and stories with a lot of unstructured and confusing data. I have been using Tableau for more than 2 years now and never get tired of its interesting interface and ease of use and the best part is that the developers of the software keep updating it to new versions with new functionalities and features.

Pros

I love each and everything about working with Tableau . It is by far the best tool for visualization and none of the other tools is a match for its versatile uses. I like the ease of use and step by step guidelines. What I like most about Tableau is its integration with a vast number of Softwares, platforms, and databases which I do not think are offered by a lot of other visualization Softwares. Tableaus ability to handle customized calculated fields, create stories and dashboards and animations are some of its strongest points that make it a market competitor in Viz

Cons

There are a lot of features on one single interface as Tableau wants to maximize the user experience. But because there is so much on the one single interface that tableau has, a lot of features go unnoticed and unused. Also since there are so many features and functionalities, it sometimes is difficult to locate a particular functionality. Being an avid user, I have noticed that sometimes, arranging pills in a particular order on rows and columns, changes and undoes the entire visualization to a backtracked point which undoes important steps at times and leads to rework.

Debarpan
Debarpan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Complete data visualization solution tool

Reviewed on 2022/04/18

I have used Tableau to ingest data from multiple data sources. Following this, we joined the data...

I have used Tableau to ingest data from multiple data sources. Following this, we joined the data and calculated a number of aggregations with LoDs and measures. We developed a number of reports with multiple graphs and charts. Next, we did a statistical analysis to understand the trend and seasonality of the data. We handle data from multiple domains such as finance, healthcare and retail. On top of these, we extracted valuable insights from the data and provided a consolidated view of the ground operations to the stakeholders. A number of man-hours were saved and the efficiency of business processes was improved by avoiding manual creation of reports and automated scheduled data refresh.

Pros

Intuitive and user-friendly UI similar to a canvas for dashboards
Multiple data sources
Automated dashboard refresh and functionality to publish to stakeholders
Administrative privilege to provide access role wise and rule wise
Customised dashboards and ad hoc reporting are possible
The scope of calculations and aggregations is huge
Statistical and predictive analysis can be performed to uncover insights from the data

Cons

Price: Pricing could be an obstacle for small-time independent developers
Better memory allocation for large datasets to optimally refresh the data

Kristin
Kristin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Features, Integrations but steep learning curve

Reviewed on 2022/10/25

I've been using Tableau for years. When I started at a new company, I knew I wanted to implement...

I've been using Tableau for years. When I started at a new company, I knew I wanted to implement Tableau at my new organization. Tableau has so many capabilities and presents data and visualizations clearly with a friendly end-user interface.

Pros

The Cloud version is great and allows for easier management of updates! Community Resources are abundant and help solve most questions. Visualization capabilities are abundant.

Cons

Tableau focuses on Visualizations and comes up short in Data Reporting for users who also need Excel type views. Functions and calculations are not easy to learn or understand and Tableau does not handle certain scenarios well. Support from the actual Tableau team is minimal - but the community comes to the rescue. Subscriptions are PRICEY!

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and maintian data visualization.

Reviewed on 2022/12/01

Excellent overall - prior to implementing tableau most of our enrollment data was tracked in...

Excellent overall - prior to implementing tableau most of our enrollment data was tracked in exports to Excel or csv files. Today we provide our board level reports in real time, via dashboard, to our board members directly. No back end work, no data manipulation - we just provide them a link and they and see and play with the data as they see fit.

Pros

Tableau is easy to use, easy to learn, and is an immensely powerful visualization tool. On a single dashboard our student services team can monitor anything from enrollment to advising to course loads in particular classrooms. There is a curve to set it up, but once you navigate the curve and get your data sets in place the software is very much fire and forget. Modifying reports or dashboards is very simple.

Cons

I'd love for there to be a lower cost enterprise license or a way for us to disperse dashboards to end users who only need to see but not manipulate the data. We hesitate to host these on a page internally or externally due to data protection requirements at the federal and state levels.

Tess
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for Data Discovery

Reviewed on 2021/06/03

Overall its helped our business leaders to understand their data and make actionable insights.

Overall its helped our business leaders to understand their data and make actionable insights.

Pros

Tableau is great for discovering interesting parts of our data. We use it to supplement Excel analysis and its super easy to use.

Cons

The dashboards can be a bit clunky sometimes for our end users as the UI is a little old fashioned. This is a minor thing but does make it a bit harder to use.

Alternatives Considered

Google Analytics 360

Switched From

Mode
Thomas
Thomas
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tableau is my go-to tools for quick, nicely looking dashboards and data visualization

Reviewed on 2018/04/26

I get real-time data visualization from Tableau Software and a platform for posting cool and useful...

I get real-time data visualization from Tableau Software and a platform for posting cool and useful data visualizations without having to purchase a server.

Pros

Tableau is the software I use most (outside of Excel). The software's visualization tools are nice, at times amazing. Tableau connects with every data source I've ever needed (with the exception of one problem). The interactive capabilities and Tableau Public make for a perfect fit for a beginner to intermediate data visualizer. Advanced data visualizers probably find the functionality somewhat constraining, but that's one of the benefits of the software. Tableau is more than just a supped-up Excel graphics system. The analytical capabilities, although not best in class, offer all the basic calculations that most users will ever need.

Cons

Tableau is limited in its analytical capabilities. Tableau is working on making its use of R script more user friendly, although this requires the user to know R. Tableau's graphs are also somewhat limited at times, and Tableau for some reason takes pride in limiting its options (it apparently knows better than the user on what graphs are useful).