TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

TIBCO Jaspersoft

Business Intelligence solution

4.3/5 (16 reviews)
Román josué D.

The best Reporting Tool for Java Developers

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

Sometimes the most difficult part to create custom reports using Jaspersoft Studio, is actually to write the query that will fetch the data. After that, building the report is mainly drag-n-drop, write some Java code, setup properties and parameters, and make your report ready.

Pros

This software is one of the best choices to create reports if you are a Java developer. All you need to know about is Java and SQL for the queries. It integrates with many databases, and I personally have used it with PostgreSQL and it works well. The reports you create from scratch are fully customizable, and can include the elements you need: labels, tables, images, ... I like a lot the subreport element, as it allows to create even more complex / nested reports, in which you usually follow a master-detail model.
In addition, you can use the Java libraries to integrate Jasper reports into your Java application, either Desktop or Web, this will enable

Cons

Some features or properties are not too intuitive, which is understandable if we think this is a tool for developers. Even though, it would be nice to have a more intuitive GUI.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Tom S.

Best report layout designer on the market.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have been using Jasper Studio (iReport) and Jasper Server for the past 8 years and have really enjoyed the capabilities it offers and the ease of use. Continuous improvements have been made to both the designer side (iReport/Jasper Studio) and the report delivery side JasperServer. I would definately recommend you checking them out.

Pros

* Easy to use
* Flexible scenarios for report grouping
* No cost level available for simple deployment and use
* JasperServer has ability to automate delivery of reports.

Cons

* Hard to find support forums (as a community/free user)
* Custom data connectors present a challenge I haven't overcome for automated delivery (SQL reports are easy)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Robert M.

Jaspersoft - A well rounded contender in the BI market

Reviewed on 2015/03/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We've been using Jaspersoft in lieu of SSRS for several years now. The software is updated regularly, new features being added with every release. Jaspersoft supports a large number of data sources, including MongoDB. The support for their product is top-notch. We receive responses to our cases within minutes and most issues are solved shortly thereafter. On issues that we were not able to resolve, it was escalated to be fixed/included in the next software update.

Cons

Being a JAVA application, it was a bit tricky to embed into our .NET application. There's supposed to be easy ways to integrate, but none of those worked with our custom authentication. Unless you are using the approved and documented authentication methods, integration will be quite a bit of work, including custom JAVA classes, etc.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Nathan M.

Best Open Source Reporting Framework

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/01
Review Source: Capterra

I've found their reporting solutions to be reliable and versatile, I've integrated Jaspersoft into many projects over the years.

Pros

Ability to achieve highly customized reporting solutions without having to make concessions. Jaspersoft provides open source solutions for reporting and hosting of reports. (Along with premium versions with advanced analytics.)

Cons

It can be a bit quirky, and integration of the Java programming language is somewhat un-intuitive. It also has a fairly steep learning curve for new comers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Anthony E.

Simple yet powerful reporting tool.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

Jaspersoft help us to create reports which data source are come from different databases with ease and without worrying on display capabilities.

Pros

I like the most on this software is the ease of you. It is very easy to understand the user interface. With it you can easy understand the flow on how to use it especially when you have experience on using other reporting tool. Objects are dependable to display what you need. Filters is very flexible. it is also capable to connect to other many sql servers such as MSSQL, MySQL, posgres and many more as long you have a driver.

Cons

i don't like on this software is the looks. it is very corporate. This is because today's users are looking for fancy looking softwares.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Monica P.

Good tool compared with other tools in the market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/04
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The report designer is very easy to use
The tools provided in the GUI interface allows technicians to create in a fast way solutions end users analyze data.

Cons

In the version we use in our company (5.2) the Java usage is a con
Dashboard Designer is very limited.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Kate S.

Can be powerful, but still contains some sloppy bugs for being as old as it is

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

If you need a pixel perfect reporting engine, Jaspersoft is going to be one of your best options. For those kind of reports, there are a lot of great features and you can do a lot. That being said, I think they got lazy because they had significant market share and could charge an arm and a leg for it for a long time, and now there are other competing systems coming out that are slicker and cheaper. Hoping that Jaspersoft gets back into a growth phase and cleans up the system while making their prices more competitive.

Pros

Powerful features
Easy to jump between editing design or XML source
Preview within app works relatively well

Cons

Still finding sloppy bugs in designer years after release
Pricing is extremely high compared to more recently launched systems that are definitely stealing market share
Some long-requested features have gone unaddressed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Monica R.

Great quality right out of the box!

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/08/03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I really enjoyed my chance to work with Jaspersoft. I thought the software was robust with lots of possibilities.

Pros

A quick get up and go reporting solution right out of the box. If you're turn around time is quick - this is a great option.

Cons

Once you start tinkering with parts of the package and removing features. Its very difficult to get back to square one.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Arthur T.

Great and low cost reporting software

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/02
Review Source: Capterra

Helfup report generation.

Pros

I could build very complex reports quickly. There was a learning curve for sure but I integrated these with an application I was working on to produce reports used by the company.

Cons

Mostly the problem was the integration learning curve. I imagine this would happen with any software. I think their documentation could use improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Gloria S.

Latest solution with BI

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This software always used the best in the industry business intelligence with latest reporting and solutions package always.

Cons

The support from the service needs improvements as all will not have the same knowledge on BI so some basic training also required.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Fadzai Z.

good and manageable experience

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/05/19
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Generally it's a good tool to use for i reports

Pros

provides good reports with a good interface, works perfectly for cross tab reports, easy to implement graphs and pie charts, learning information is available on the internet

Cons

it requires experience and lines are difficult to adjust, sometimes when you edit the report it does not show exactly on the web

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Fadzai Z.

best experience ever

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/05/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

produce best result of reports.

Pros

its user friendly and smart and the user interface is neat,easy to learn and does not need too much experience,tutorials for it are easy to find on youtube

Cons

its too rigid,editing of lines and creation of cross tabs is difficult.it is also difficult to save work to folder of choice

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Thomson N.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2019/02/20
Review Source: GetApp
Blanca patricia C.

For academic purposes

Reviewed on 2014/05/23
Review Source: GetApp

This is an excellent product for implementing business solutions.

Kseniya M.

Using Jaspersoft BI free version

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I understand, that inconvenience of this program is most likely caused by the free version.

Pros

This product has a lot of usefull tools and quite extensive opportunities to create report and add data sourses.

Cons

Frankly speaking this product is highly uncomfortable, it is not intuitively clear how to perform some features or where this features located.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

3.0/10
Narayanaswamy H.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2017/01/31
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

1.0/10