70 reviews

Crazy Egg

Make the Most of Every Website Visitor.

4,5 /5 (70 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
70 reviews
Chris C.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A great conversion optimization tool!

Reviewed on 2018/03/16

Pros

If you haven't used a tool like Crazy Egg in the past, you're about to be blown away. The data that you can get from this tool is crazy helpful and a little scary! You can use the heatmap data to adjust content, landing pages, conversion funnels, and so much more.

Cons

Price. It is more expensive than competing software tools (like Hotjar). I recommend that you compare the features and price before selecting one.

Response from Crazy Egg

Hi Chris, Thanks for your feedback. I appreciated all the details and thank you for your feedback on pricing. We pride ourselves on being the first and the most accessible and approachable -- but also, the most cost effective. I'd love to understand why you believe Crazy Egg is more expensive than our competitors (there are some differences on how folks in our peer group sample and communicate what they're actually capturing and tracking for you). If you're interested in discussing, we'd love to learn more (no pressure outside of learning your POV). I've shared my contact information with you if you're up for it. Thanks again!

Elaine S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A helpful tool but becoming buggy

Reviewed on 2018/06/21

We've learned a lot about how our visitors interact with different pages on our website - they tend to click on every image even if it doesn't appear to link to anything, so we've learned to link more images than we used to. Mobile visitors tend to scroll a ton and just stop a few key places to skim, so we've learned to push that most important content higher up on the page so they don't have to scroll and skim so much.

Pros

CrazyEgg provides all kinds of helpful insights about the particular pages you decide to track. You can see how far users are scrolling down your page - which gets really interesting on mobile, because you can see how they scroll right past certain sections and focus on others, which can help you improve page layout. You can also see where people are clicking - including "non-clickable" elements, like images, so you then know you should link not just text but also an image. There's also a spreadsheet of everywhere people have clicked, so you can view the data however it's most comfortable to you.

You can track both publicly accessible pages and password-protected ones; you just have to install a browser extension to capture initial screenshots of protected pages.

Cons

Over the past year I've noticed bugs creeping in. I set up snapshots and they just remain in "pending" status. It's happened so many time I now have to create a calendar reminder to check back in 6-8 hours and make sure my snapshots have all started. Customer support has not been able to determine why this happens or provide any resolution.

The other downside is you only get data on the specific pages you track, and they've now added the ability to split out mobile vs. tablet vs. desktop, so if you want to see how visitors on different devices act differently, that will eat up 3 snapshots for every URL. Nice data to have, it's just very limited, so you have to plan out which pages you're going to track and rotate to really make headway on your site.

John R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simple heat tracking made site usage easy to analyse

Reviewed on 2018/03/11

It was easy to work with non-technical colleagues to understand site engagement and work on practical redesigns.

With services like Google Analytics, you're looking at very dry (though useful) data. To discuss websites on a marketing and engagement level, and to assess "your message", it's great to collect real data overtime and instantly share with your colleagues.

Pros

There are a variety of heatmaps that you can you to easily demonstrate website engagement and take away a quick overview of information.

Cons

It's difficult to pin down some dynamic content on pages. Sliders and hidden objects DO appear in the detailed heatmaps and tables of links, but it takes some work to understand what is being clicked on depending on the complexity of the website.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great product, has all though it has a lot more potential

Reviewed on 2018/08/22

My overall experience with Crazy Egg has been great, they have definitely hit the nail on the head for heat mapping however there is a lot of room for improvement in other areas.

I have been using Crazy Egg for almost 3 years and haven't seen a huge amount of improvement.

Looking forward to seeing any future changes.

Pros

Simple heat mapping
Has the ability to export heat maps
Has a feature to add additional users to the project
Tracking code doesn't noticeably impact load time
Easy to use

Cons

It could be a bit cleaner on the system especially in the heat map pages
A WordPress plugin would be nice
Live tracking ( ability to track how long they were on the page for before clicking or exiting )

Micah C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Heat Mapping for Smaller Sites

Reviewed on 2020/04/10

Pros

Compared to some of the options for heat mapping, Crazy Egg is considerably more affordable. They do a good job of displaying the data captured as the heat map is running and making it easy to understand.

Cons

It seems to be designed for sites with less then 100k visits/mo, so if you have a bigger site or traffic you may want to consider another option.

Response from Crazy Egg

Hi Micah, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. With over 300,000 websites currently leveraging Crazy Egg, we work with clients of all sizes across all verticals. Our solution is built to scale and is a great fit for high traffic websites.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] Won't Let You Down

Reviewed on 2019/12/22

Very pleased and satisfied with data that Crazy Egg provides to give us a better understanding about our audience.

Pros

Been knowing Crazy Egg for years and I honestly think that this is a great tool to help you understand your customers through their behaviour when visiting your website. Not only provide you data in numbers, Crazy Egg also provide you with heatmap shows which part of your page mostly engaged with people.

Cons

I know it doesn't make sense, but come on, if only we can use it for free without have to joining the trial. Just like what Google did.

Gabriel C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love Crazy Egg

Reviewed on 2020/04/15

The main achievement is vizualization, easy see what works and what does not

Pros

I was able to see what was working on our lead generation pages and what did not work. Everything worked great from funnels to heat maps, the most that I used

Cons

I feeled it wased a little expensive, but well worth it, depending on your budget to acquire new customers.

Chris C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Crazy Easy

Reviewed on 2021/01/14

A brilliant set of out-of-the-box features makes Crazy Egg an absolute must-have in your user research arsenal. It's most useful on static pages, and doesn't perform quite as well on pages scattered with dynamic elements.

Pros

Super easy to set up, heatmapping/mouse tracking reports are straightforward to build and understand. The ability to split test pages puts Crazy Egg ahead of most competitors too.

Cons

Page speed tends to be impacted more so when using Crazy Egg over competitors like Hotjar - though the impact is generally small. The free version, as you might expect, is extremely limited.

Response from Crazy Egg

Hi Chris, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We have a very aggressive product roadmap and your feedback helps us with prioritization. Thank you.

Jordan M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Does what we want it to to - much better heat maps than the free tools out there

Reviewed on 2018/03/13

Pros

It's very easy to take snapshots of your web pages and capture where users are clicking. I like the ability to have multiple views -- I prefer the confetti view for precision.

Cons

I wish Crazy Egg could capture precise menu clicks. We have a global nav that Crazy Egg can't read -- and instead, it looks like the clicks are occurring in our header.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Reliable Heat Map Tools For Monitoring Web Behavior

Reviewed on 2017/12/23

Pros

CrazyEgg is well-known website heatmap that helped me improve a digital experience of our website properties.

Cons

Today, it does not offer is freemium version. Also, it would welcome to see new features that some of the other heatmap tools like Full Story offer. ( an approximate emotional sentiment of people behaviors etc..)

Brooke C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Crazy Egg Review

Reviewed on 2019/02/25

Pros

Crazy Egg is so easy to use! You can create interesting and dynamic heatmaps showing the areas of your site that users are visiting, as well as other user tests.

Cons

This software is pretty easy to use - I don't have any issues with it.

Response from Crazy Egg

Thanks Brooke! Appreciate the feedback and support here. You've also really captured some of the key points we try and do well when it comes to our software (simple yet dynamic, easy-to-use). We'd love the opportunity to talk to you more and share some of what we're working on and developing if you're interested. I've shared my email address with you directly so you have it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and for believing in Crazy Egg!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great features and easy of use

Reviewed on 2019/04/22

Pros

The way you can easily organize and filter your data, I like it much more than Lucky Orange in that regard.

Cons

It's really annoying that when you sign up they automatically put you on a yearly subscription, instead of a monthly subscription, and they don't make that clear.

Carlos eduardo D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

One of the first on the market

Reviewed on 2018/05/10

Pros

This tool is one of the most reliable tracking tools on the web. It shows how users interact with your website, enabling you to improve your product and get better engagement.

Cons

It could have a free plan (like some time ago), but now you have to choose a paid plan and can test it for 30 days.

Lukasz S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Most complex UX analytics

Reviewed on 2020/05/05

Pros

If you are interested in the flow of users through your site, then the traffic analysis tools included in crazyegg are the most advanced and complex on the market. It is worth to use to increase the interest of the site and keep the user for longer.

Cons

I didn't find any significant flaws. It is the most complete product on the market.

Kai onno H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Commercial Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best heatmap tracking tool

Reviewed on 2019/10/17

Pros

Setup and creation of new snapshots and A/B Tests is super easy.
Result view for A/B Tests is basic, but very meaningful.

Cons

Surveys should be an integrated feature and not outsourced to SurveyMonkey

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Not super accurate but I still haven't found a better alternative

Reviewed on 2021/02/08

It was easy to use to track scrolling, click rates, and recordings. It is much better than Lucky Orange, but I haven't tried any other competitors.

Pros

It's easy to see how far customers are scrolling down the page as well as what gets the most clicks.

Cons

Good luck if you haven't set up your page correctly. Even if you do set it up correctly, keep in mind that the numbers are not exact and are more an estimate.

Response from Crazy Egg

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We track by default every visits to a page, thus providing the most accurate data as possible. This is a unique aspect in our system as other solutions samples your data.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy to use, does what it does well

Reviewed on 2021/02/05

Great and easy tool to use - if you are only after what they offer, it is great. But you sort of end uo wanting more...

Pros

Really easy to set up and you are ready to go in minutes. The tools it does offer is easy to use, and gives great insights. The different heatmap overlays are great.

Cons

It lacks a few elements you would expect from a comprehensive CRO tool - theres no funnel analysis and setup that links to your recordings and heatmaps, and no form analysis. At the price point of the tool, you would have expected it

Response from Crazy Egg

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We have a very aggressive product roadmap and your feedback will help us with prioritization. Thank you.

Jason B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good Marketing Tool

Reviewed on 2018/05/30

Pros

This tool really does help you optimize your website if you know how to use it. I am a pretty experienced marketer and I use Crazy Egg for many of the businesses I work with to make sure customers are clicking on the things that I need them to.

Cons

Crazy Egg is a good tool but the one bad thing about it is the fact that you cannot just put their snippet in your header and then see a heat map on any page on your site. It only lets you choose a specific number of pages that you can set up. If they kept the price low and allowed you to see a heat map on every page then it would be much much better.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software and price - helps you uncover how to improve your website

Reviewed on 2019/05/31

Overall, this is essential software for anyone taking the UX of their website seriously.

If you want to provide great experiences for your online customers then Crazy Egg will help you uncover exactly where to do this on your website. You'll learn what areas need to change or be removed, and what areas/elements are working well.

Pros

The heatmap (snapshots) feature.

The heatmap shows where users lose interest in a page and drop off.

The clickmaps show when users click elements that aren't clickable, or when they don't click elements you want them to click.

These features have enabled a data-led approach to refining client web-pages and improving their performance.

Cons

There really isn't anything I dislike about this software. It's powerful and priced fairly. Customer Support was also very responsive.

Amit N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Affordable software for heatmaps and A/B testing for small businesses.

Reviewed on 2020/11/07

Overall I liked it, super simple to install and use. Good value for money.

Pros

I liked the simplicity of installation and use.

Cons

I didn't like that there is no free version of the software. Sometimes the 30 day trial is just not enough to evaluate appropriately.

Also, if you need complicated A/B testing functionalities, you won't find them here.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

The original heatmap tool

Reviewed on 2020/01/22

Great product which will nail your needs if heatmapping is the only thing you need done.

Pros

This has always been our go-to heat map software. Primarily because it was first to market and its now what our network and team are used to.

Cons

It doesn't do everything that the newer entrants offer now and prospects seem to like some of the alternative solutions for their data visualisation outputs.

Jorden B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Crazy Egg Is Like A Spy Camera For Your Website

Reviewed on 2018/12/31

Crazy Egg helps me make informed descions on what to have on my site and what's working or not. In my opinion this is really a ninja tool! I wish the setip was eaiser and they had a wordpress plugin though.

Pros

Obviously, I like the heat map feature the most. It gives you a visual perspective of where your visitors actually click. You are able to see where and the frequency of where people are going to your site. This allows you to make informed descions on what to have on your sales pages based on user experience.

Cons

I wish they would have a wordpress plugin.

Sometimes the software gets buggy and the snap shots don't work correctly. I have used other heat mapping tools but this one is probably the best you'll find.

Response from Crazy Egg

Jorden, Thanks for the review and the great summary of how we help. We do have a WordPress plugin (and have for some time). You can find it here: https://wordpress.org/plugins/tags/crazyegg/

If you have any other ideas or suggestions, or need any additional assistance, don't hesitate to contact our Success team ([email protected]). We're always here to listen and learn.

Cody J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product and customer support is fantastic

Reviewed on 2019/04/23

Pros

- great features
- reasonable pricing
- fantastic customer support

Cons

I honestly can't think of any. Since they have the free trial, you can always try it out and cancel if you don't like it within 30 days.

Adam S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Does what it does very well

Reviewed on 2018/11/08

Pros

It was very easy to get started with and we were able to learn valuable information in no time.

Cons

Customer support is not very timely in replying and varies in how helpful they are.

Response from Crazy Egg

Hi Adam,

We apologize for the delay in responding on the Customer Success side. We've very recently invested in expanding the CS Team and if you do give us another chance, we hope you find us more responsive. Thanks for taking the time to share this. It's noted and we'll continue to get better.

If you have any other ideas or suggestions, or need any additional assistance, don't hesitate to contact our Success team ([email protected]). We're always here to listen and learn.

Ryan O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Websites Need CrazyEgg

Reviewed on 2018/03/21

Pros

Getting the insight into what people are actually doing on the site is outstanding. The recording feature is one of my favorite things to use since it shows you behavior of someone using the site.

Cons

There is a lot to get into with CrazyEgg, it can feel overwhelming at first to distill what data matters to you.