Showing 94 reviews of 79

Mixpanel

Powerful, self-serve product analytics.

4,4 /5 (79 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
91%
recommended this app
Showing 94 reviews of 79
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Analytics tool for Decision Making

Reviewed on 2020/09/26

It was a great product we use it on daily bases to track the user activity on our site and based on the research we plan our future goals.

Pros

1. It is highly useful for those products which are based on customer service over web like hotel bookings, resume creation, etc.
2. You can easily create your own events for evey page or action and track user experience on mixpanel that where are they mostly using and viewing on their site which helps in decision making to upgrade their products.
3. You can easily access the mixpanel data form anywhere just login to mixpanel site and you can see the realtime data.
4. It is also easy to implement on the source code of products . We just need to include one script and we are able to add events where ever we like to define.

Cons

Sometimes we face issue in profiling of the users.

Hasin A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best web analytics tools

Reviewed on 2018/04/04

- Web analytics
- Mobile Analytics
- Marketing Attribution

Pros

The best part about this app is that I able to track a mobile and web user of my application under the same umbrella.

Cons

The user interface is not the best for non-analytics or non-technical users but it is better over time with the new updates.

Fayssal J.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I use Mixpanel every single hour a day, 7 days a week and 365 days a year !

Reviewed on 2018/07/31

It's the simplest way to track app usage.

Pros

Sign-up was too easy and the free tier is very generous.
Installation was time consuming but this is mainly related to our codebase.
Segment integration is working like a charm.
The best app for setting up analytics for SaaS apps.

Cons

Emailing user experience should be reimagined and made much more intuitive to match the amazing user experience of the whole app.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Basic analytics software for simple companies

Reviewed on 2020/05/05

Overall this product was easy to integrate and use, but ultimately did not provide the level of detail needed to run a successful data-driven business.

Pros

This product provides easy-to-integrate code and some very basic metrics for your digital products. It is easy to use for beginners in data & analytics.

Cons

There are many better visualizations and analytics metrics that could exist, but do not for the sake of simplicity. If you want to be more advanced in your ability to measure your data, look at other analytics platforms.

Francesco B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Management of digital marketing

Reviewed on 2018/10/21

It helped us manage the push and the DEM allowing us to do a / b testing and improve the performance of our instruments.

Pros

The ability to send push notification and DEM directly from the same platform. The constantly improved features and support assistance.

Cons

The difficulty of implementation and the non-accuracy of data

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great functionalities but not for its pricing

Reviewed on 2020/04/29

Great overall experience on the setup and tracking of information. But the happiness lowed down when we started needing more complex things and the pricing went up skyrocketed based on our users database despite the fact that not all of them are qualified leads for us.

Pros

The easiness to track information and the possibility to analyse it based on segments teams was great. The customer support has always been active and answered fast.

Cons

When we started needing more complex features, we found out that the pricing was too high and couldn't afford it. For the functionalities provided, we found that competitors much better suited our needs.

Jose f. G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mixpanel helps track user behavior and measure success for your application

Reviewed on 2020/06/13

I recommend Mixpanel to anyone who needs to do tracking of user behavior in web applications in order to measure against goals.

Pros

It's easy to use yet can become a very powerful tool to help understand metrics of web applications and behaviors of users.

Cons

Can be perceived as a simple tool at first due to its ease of use and clean UI and for more customized or complex tracking.

Sapph L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful, comprehensive tool to track and analyze user actions and behavior patterns

Reviewed on 2019/12/25

It's a powerful analytics and marketing tool that helps you track and understand user behavior (who are your power users? which sources did you acquire them from? what's your churn rate? etc.) and make important business decisions about what you should do more of, what's working and what isn't.

Pros

Once you set it up properly, you can use Mixpanel to track every granular user action. You can save numerous details with each event that's important for you to know such as device, browser, country, campaign UTM, etc. Mixpanel provides you with several types of reports you can analyze data with such as Insights (break down user actions to show how many share X, Y or Z detail such as campaign UTM) and Funnels (conversions between user actions). You can also use Mixpanel to send notifications (email, push, in-app) to users based on their actions. It's a very powerful analytic and marketing tool.

Cons

Lately, Mixpanel has made quite a few UI changes. Some have been helpful, others less so. Example with a recent funnels UI change: if you add a breakdown (which breaks down each of the funnel steps by a specific detail like country), Mixpanel adds several different colored bars to the funnel, which makes it very difficult to visually see the conversions between each step. I'm not sure if they do any testing with users before launching new features or UI but their user experience would benefit a lot from it.

Mixpanel also does get expensive as you track more user actions (events), but it's only powerful and useful when you track every user action, big and small. Otherwise, your analysis would be based on an incomplete picture and cause incorrect findings.

Viktor G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazing platform perfect for data needs(specifically for eCommerce and phone applications)

Reviewed on 2018/05/15

Incredibly strong application for assessing data and customer behaviour - perfect for serving notifications and emails to customers and this is often overlooked to Mailchimp and other strictly-email marketing competitors

Pros

-Incredible ability to send messages and emails with relatively no limitation
-Very robust reporting on success and outcome of particular events coded into platform
-AI and alerts activate on irregular activity
-Very, very secure in keeping data safe
-Many variables available to store and to track

Cons

-Somewhat difficult for new users and for trainees to use
-Very difficult to maintain parity between users and their account on other software through any changes(ie. wrong email address gets fixed)
-Reports are a bit tricky to create

Tiago O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Event tracking platform

Reviewed on 2018/08/05

My product team is heavy user. Being in the Marketing team, I appreciate the reports we get from it, they really provide a deeper understanding of what our customers actually do with our product

Pros

It allows my product team to track the use and outcomes from each part of our platform. It's a must have for our product owners.

Cons

I can't really tell, as I'm not involved in the implementation, but my team says it could be made easier with a more intuitive set of features

Magnus O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Better than Google Analytics

Reviewed on 2019/02/03

Unlike Google Analytics, Mixpanel tracks everything and can help you understand your customers better

Pros

I know a company that uses Mixpanel to track everything a customer does on their platform, including where they left off and also encountered an error. Mixpanel also shows you a customer's location.
You can also send targetted customer messages with Mixpanel

Cons

You will need a software developer to implement Mixpanel on your app or website. It's not something you can set up easily.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Valuable Tool for Understanding Your Customer's Behaviours in Depth

Reviewed on 2017/12/23

Pros

Mixpanel is an invaluable tool for every marketing & product team. We were able to learn very useful insights about how our customers using our product which helped us identify areas for product improvement.

Cons

To get the maximum value from Mixpanel, it pays off to have a data analyst on your team. This can be hard for early / growing stage startups as they typically rely on few people executing multiple jobs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tracked our usage data effectively

Reviewed on 2019/12/09

Mixpanel is recommended but I would review your requirements to see that it's the right tool for your business needs.

Pros

Mixpanel provided us with a wide range of product data that helped guide our business decisions. We could also export this data and provide to customers.

Cons

We had a lot of issues with the reliability of the data based on how MixPanel captured it. It's also a very difficult product to use and requires extensive training to get the most out of it - even for a user that wants to access basic reports.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Powerful tool if you can figure out how to use it

Reviewed on 2018/01/17

See conversion through my site, visually.

Pros

It lets me see funnel conversion. Once funnels and events are set up, they're pretty easy to create and edit.

Cons

It's harder to use that it should be, should be easily used by non technical roles. Adding events to the site should be easily done without having to ask an engineer. Some simple things are hard i.e. "show me a a list of events that exist in our product"

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review for Mixpanel

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

Best analytic tool which can be used in enterprise level applications.

Pros

one of the best product which allow tracking user interaction with the application. Easy integration with frontend and backend (nodeJS) projects

Cons

UIs of applying filtering on data is not very user friendly. Better if it can improve user friendlyness of the analytics dashboard.

Evgeny A.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Feature-heavy analytics tool

Reviewed on 2018/03/28

Pros

A lot of features/options/possibilities to track users and setup campaigns. Documentation is pretty good and support is very quick to response and resolve any issues.

Cons

May be too advanced and complex for simple tasks. If you don't need to track individual behaviour of users and make complex funnels - stick with basic Google Analytics.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Advanced analytical tool, yo can measure the most important KPIs

Reviewed on 2018/12/12

Pros

If you need to measure something in your website, sure it will be possible with Mixpanel. We implemented in a customer where we needed to track user behaviour to show KPIs to their investor and, although at first it was a bit difficult to understand and handle, once you get used to the tool and the documentation, you will be quite surprise about the huge possibilities. Metrics like retention, acquisition, conversion or lifetime value are not a problem anymore with Mixpanel.

Cons

As commented in the Pros box, it is a bit complex to use. If you only need to track simple KPIs like visits, journey, conversions and so on... maybe it is better you start with another tool like Google Analytics. Mixpanel is a bit expensive and it is only worth it ir you need very advanced dashboards.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Our First Product Analytics tool

Reviewed on 2020/05/10

Pros

it's feature-rich software, funnel analytics specially designed form mobile application is very good.

Cons

it's very costly softaware , not suitable for low margin business.

Stefano M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Excellent value for money for notifications to users

Reviewed on 2018/07/30

Pros

We found in Mixpanel a reliable source for what concerns email and push notification all in one place. We are satisfied with the results so far

Cons

Email features (eg templates) are not as complete as other tools that do emails only. It would be nice if the company could integrate to incorporate those improvements

Susanna D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

We use Mixpanel to track mobile users and have been satisfied

Reviewed on 2018/09/14

Pros

Nice tool with lot of features integrated in one place (push notification, email marketing, analytics)

Cons

Would be nice if the tool could help to define more clearly the ideal next steps to target different users (eg better to send email to user A and push notification to user B)

Joe S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Would like to see more features

Reviewed on 2018/12/16

Pros

It's a place where we can store and view important data points.

Cons

It's not easy to see what you need to from the data. Lacks a lot of features and functions.

Yoann T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Mix Panel is a very interesting app !

Reviewed on 2017/09/20

Pros

Creating and following mailing campagn and in app.
Dashboards are simple and easy to use .
The possibility of activate campagns is very great.

Lorenzo F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great customer service, helpful in several occasions

Reviewed on 2019/01/30

Pros

We had some issues with duplicate contacts and need to decrease the number of registered users in order to fit our package payment. The customer service was always extremely reactive in helping us to find a quick solution to our problems

Cons

The don’t provide strong inside on the user actions after you sent email or push campaigns, thus you need additional software to develop strong analytics for that part

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mixpanel does the job

Reviewed on 2018/06/05

Worth testing out

Pros

There are many features that are really cool and useful in this software. I really liked the functionality of these features.

Cons

I feel like there were a lot of features, which is great but it is also kind of difficult to use. If it was easier to use, I would like it a lot more.