Campaign Monitor by Marigold Reviews

Campaign Monitor by Marigold

Cross-channel marketing made simple and stress-free

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(492)
Value for Money
4,3/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,5/5
Customer Support
4,5/5
Sort by

492 Reviews

Christopher
Christopher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It just works !

Reviewed on 2017/06/30

Pros

Clear, clutter-free interface with the right tools for the job, everything is made to concentrate on your emailmarketing objectives and not how to use the tool :)
I've been using CM for close to 10 years and have witnessed their progressive and intelligent implementations : nothing is added that you won't *really* need and once it's added it's especially intuitive.
Add to that Campaign Monitor's daily tips, blog posts, ressources and especially their outstanding client support : you just can't go wrong.

Cons

Hard to fin anything really, maybe certain ways of implementing behavioral segments but then again maybe it's my Marketing objectives that aren't clear enough...

Asheton
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nice Email Automation Tool

Reviewed on 2020/02/04

It was a good platform for email marketing, but wasn't a CRM solution.

It was a good platform for email marketing, but wasn't a CRM solution.

Pros

I like how easy it was to set up email automation campaigns. We had a custom template and I thought Campaign Monitor worked pretty well with it. Organizing and segmenting our lists was also a breeze.

Cons

The main reason we left and switched to Hubspot was because Hubspot was an all-in-one CRM tool that connected to many of our other programs that we use.

Desirae
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Campaign Monitor

Reviewed on 2018/07/25

If you are a few mailings a month to a few lists or segments of contacts, then this should work...

If you are a few mailings a month to a few lists or segments of contacts, then this should work fine for you. If you have thousands of contacts that you need to reach in marketing campaigns several times a week with contact options to opt out of one or more segments while still being a part of the master list, look elsewhere.

Pros

Some pros for this app are the price point, campaign statistics reporting and integration with Salesforce.

Cons

This app appears to be geared towards smaller organizations that do not have a technical staff on board to manage the marketing. It has been so watered down to be user friendly that it not very robust or customizable. It does have a Salesforce connector to track some campaign data in Salesforce. The volume of data that often gets tracked, while important to companies, eats up Salesforce data storage very quickly. If you are not careful with how you manage lists and segments, costs can quickly creep up and become overwhelming.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Selling e-Mail Marketing

Reviewed on 2020/04/02

Support has been great when needed. Our emails are going out without being blocked and we are...

Support has been great when needed. Our emails are going out without being blocked and we are getting great information back on tracking for each email campaign we setup.

Pros

Not only is this platform very easy to use to create and build email newsletters and support emails it gives you the ability to white label and brand the software to sell as a service to your current clients. Adding revenue to support your sales and marketing clients through email marketing.

Cons

The template designer which is very easy to use and has quality templates is lacking in the customization aspect the designs are. How ever you can code and upload your own email designs.

Allison
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Campaign Monitor

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

We purchased Campaign Monitor to send personalized, relevant, and timely emails to our audience....

We purchased Campaign Monitor to send personalized, relevant, and timely emails to our audience. Our contacts at CM worked hard to ensure that this was the right fit for us and our needs.

Pros

Campaign Monitor has a lot of personalization options (conditional text, incorporating multiple data sources) that put you in control of your program.

Cons

Because we were a smaller client for CM, but had a lot of security and legal requirements, our sales process took quite a while (around six months).

Reasons for Choosing Campaign Monitor by Marigold

Aurea is in the process of deprecating Lyris - no additional upgrades were planned for the next two years.

Reasons for Switching to Campaign Monitor by Marigold

Campaign Monitor had the features we needed for the best price.
Imran
Imran
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Effective Email Marketing Solution - A Review of Campaign Monitor

Reviewed on 2023/03/30

Overall, I found that Campaign Monitor is a user-friendly email marketing platform that offers...

Overall, I found that Campaign Monitor is a user-friendly email marketing platform that offers effective automation features, such as personalized journeys and triggered emails. However, I did find that the pricing was higher compared to other options, and I wished there were more customization options for the email templates.

Pros

I love using Campaign Monitor's drag-and-drop email builder! It's so easy to use, and I can create visually appealing emails without any coding skills. Plus, the advanced automation features are a game-changer. I can send targeted messages to my subscribers based on their behavior, improving engagement and conversion rates. It's like having a personal assistant for my email campaigns!

Cons

I find that Campaign Monitor's pricing can be a bit high compared to other email marketing solutions. Additionally, I wish the platform had more customization options for email templates.

Alternatives Considered

ConvertKit, Klaviyo and AWeber

Switched From

Constant Contact
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A must have in the toolset of any marketeer

Reviewed on 2023/08/26

Pros

It is really easy to utilise, easy to setup your email (choosing from a list of high quality templates) select your recipients and send. It allows for ease of tracking and automation of emails, a must in the toolset of any marketeer.I have used this software for over 10 years and it has kept getting better and improving

Cons

I have not encountered any issues while using the software, which I have used for over 10 years!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Campaign Monitor Review

Reviewed on 2023/08/25

Pros

It’s straightforward to set up with templates and manage email lists. The automation feature is key for us.

Cons

The product somehow feels less intuitive than others I have used in the past.

Alternatives Considered

Mailchimp
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple and easy to use marketing tool

Reviewed on 2023/07/02

Overall a simple and easy to use tool. It can be customized with many templates.

Overall a simple and easy to use tool. It can be customized with many templates.

Pros

There are many templates to choose from and they are simple to alter with our own brand's requirements (fonts, colors). Market automations, testing, analytics, integrations, and personalization are all characteristics that help corporate communications produce the greatest outcomes.

Cons

It would be great if it had a freemium version

Rahul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quality review of Campaign monitor

Reviewed on 2023/09/20

Pros

- Great functionality for A/B testing- pre designed templates to use, which is great benefits always- well managed user Interface- Marketing automation to drive campaigns

Cons

- As usual most common issue out of Functionality is cost so get ready to pay with bunch of good functions.

Abbas
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best email marketing and automation solution i've used so far!

Reviewed on 2017/10/08

Pros

We've used other email marketing tools for different reasons over the years, but still always came back to read Campaign Monitor's excellent email marketing advice on their blogs and articles about best practices. Finally took the plunge a year ago and moved all our subscribers over. No regrets whatsoever!

Just the amazing email editor and template manager is enough to make me leave everything else and use Campaign Monitor. The extensive segmentation tools, super clear and well-formed APIs to connect with our CRM and outstanding customer journey setup is above and beyond what i've seen from other tools in the market. Oh and their brilliant responsive all-platform templates!!

Also, when they say 'award-winning' and round the clock support / success teams, they mean it! Definitely and whole-heartedly recommended!

Cons

I'm nit-picking, but how Campaign Monitor counts subscribers (in order to bill us) is different from some of the other tools out there. For e.g. if the same subscriber is in two mailing lists, it counts as two for billing purposes. If you have many lists, it tends to balloon your billing subscription out a bit.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Email Automation

Reviewed on 2023/05/25

Pros

Campaign Monitor offers a user-friendly interface that makes it easy for users, even those with limited technical expertise, to create and manage email campaigns.

Cons

While Campaign Monitor offers integrations with popular tools, the range of integrations may be more limited compared to other email marketing platforms.

Saad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

This is your best option if you don't have a good CRM or Marketing Automation (Premier Plan...

Reviewed on 2017/07/27

Non-Profit Discount, Volume Discount, Drip Automation, WYSIWYG editor (removing designer/developer...

Non-Profit Discount, Volume Discount, Drip Automation, WYSIWYG editor (removing designer/developer dependency), Web Form Integration

Pros

You get a:
> WYSIWYG email editor (making responsive email design & development a piece of cake).
> Conditional email blocks based on list segmentation or conditions.
> Easy to setup email drips to your list, based on when they joined, segmentation rules or custom conditions
> User management to limit access to the lists and control actual email deployment
> Ability to run unlimited basic Spam Filter, Firewall and Email Client tests
> New reporting tab makes monitoring email performance much easier

Cons

The transnational emails are great for basic requirements. Anything more needs custom development and support. I was disappointed when I found there's no way to limit Transactional Emails to run on specific lists out of the box.

Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Campaign Monitor is the best email marketing platform... period!

Reviewed on 2020/02/14

My over experience has been awesome! Once you go with CM you can't go back to any other platform...

My over experience has been awesome! Once you go with CM you can't go back to any other platform because it feels and looks like a joke compared to it.

Pros

I like how professional the website layout and features are. I feel that other platforms are too simplified and have a cheap feeling to them. Campaign monitor cares about the look and feel, as well as the performance of their platform. The way contacts/subscribers/lists are managed is one of my favorite features. The whole platform is intuitive in nature.

Cons

I have 0 complaints about this platform. I do however wish there were more pre-made layouts to choose from, even though the ones available are so awesome and easy to customize.

Abdul Hakim
Abdul Hakim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Campaign Monitor review

Reviewed on 2023/08/02

Pros

I am extremely thankful for the straightforward yet effective interface supplied by Campaign Monitor, through which we can conveniently set up custom campaigns and record performance metrics. Furthermore, the customer service provision, including the option for customized support plans, is incredibly beneficial and guarantees any difficulties can be fixed quickly.

Cons

Nothing. Campaign Monitor is an excellent platform for creating and managing effective email campaigns.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Easy to use with basic functionality

Reviewed on 2022/01/13

Pros

We've been using Campaign Monitor to send transactional and newsletter emails for over 7 years without any issues. Once things area set up, it's very easy to use.

Cons

It gets relatively expensive once your list size grows past a couple hundred thousand subscribers. Modern competitors (like Klaviyo) include the same basic functionality for similar price or cheaper, and then also include tons of additional features like abandoned shopping carts, realtime website integration for better segmentation, etc.

Alicia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Reliable Email Marketing Tool

Reviewed on 2023/01/06

Overall this is an easy-to-use campaign manager and has many tools that help you with automation. I...

Overall this is an easy-to-use campaign manager and has many tools that help you with automation. I think this is my favorite email marketing software available that I have tried.

Pros

API is easy to interact with and set up. It integrates well with WordPress, google analytics, salesforce, and Unbounce which was helpful for what I needed. It has fairly good customer service as well which makes me feel confident using the service.

Cons

There were some limitations and delays with the setup, which put me back a couple of days but now that it is set up it is easy to use.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great mid-level email marketing tool

Reviewed on 2019/05/07

Pros

Very easy to set up triggers and actions. You can get going in Campaign Monitor very quickly. Setting up email sequences based on complex user activities is a breeze. The live reporting feature...with a globe pinpointing exactly where the recipients of your email are opening your email...is super cool and valuable from a geo-marketing point of view. Basic personalization and transactional capabilities are decent as well.

Cons

The support was not the best. Hit and miss. Sometimes they answered questions/resolved issues in almost real-time...but other times it can take them up to 48 hours to get back to you.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

campaign monitor for email marketing

Reviewed on 2020/06/17

Managing your email marketing campaigns can be very hard if you don't have the right tools. We have...

Managing your email marketing campaigns can be very hard if you don't have the right tools. We have alot of target mails we have to constantly engage meaningful content with, that is why we use campaign monitor to make the work more efficient. It integrates well with most CRM platforms including the one we use.

Pros

The templates helps with customisation for different kinds of customers. Its easy to use in most cases

Cons

Campaign monitor is on the expensive side, there are other tools that can offer similar results at less price.

Alternatives Considered

Mailjet
Brendan
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Campaign Monitor makes email marketing easy with it's easy to use interface and a ton of...

Reviewed on 2018/02/12

The biggest benefit was that I was able to get up to speed and learn the software quickly. It...

The biggest benefit was that I was able to get up to speed and learn the software quickly. It wasn't overwhelming and I felt like I could build great looking emails right away.

Pros

I like that it enables you to create great looking email without any prior experience or knowledge coding or building emails. They have a drag and drop email builder that allows you to quickly create beautiful, responsive, mobile-friendly emails in an easy to use interface. Their marketing automation features are also much easier to learn than some of their competitors.

Cons

For advanced email marketers with coding and development knowledge, Campaign Monitor is a little too simple. It really is geared to marketers who don't have a lot of development knowledge and lacks some of the features of Salesforce's Marketing Cloud.

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Campaign Monitor Email Marketing Platform

Reviewed on 2022/01/28

Overall experience with campaign monitor is very good.

Overall experience with campaign monitor is very good.

Pros

What I like most about Campaign Monitor is it's ease of use. Very easy to put together emails to go out to our data base.

Cons

Some time we have issues with Campaign Monitor because it freezes and you have to start over. Just make sure you save alot while working on a campaign.

Thomas
Thomas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good email tool

Reviewed on 2019/07/29

Pros

The import function is pretty cool. Simply paste a list into a form and it figures it out by itself.

Cons

The workflow is not always intuitive. More choices should be available at any given time.

Alternatives Considered

Mailchimp

Reasons for Choosing Campaign Monitor by Marigold

ExactTarget was really horrible.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Creativity through email; a great way to personalize an email

Reviewed on 2018/10/11

Pros

I have been using Campaign Monitor to personalize my emails and it is more for my personal use. It provides me with a chance to create a customized email which showcases my creativity and my personality. The product is easy to set-up as well, it is not necessary to have an in-depth computer literacy to be able to learn and use Campaign Monitor. It is simple with an easy interface that can allow anyone to personally use this.

Cons

The fees associated are a little high for its features, especially when a huge batch of emails are sent, also, uploaded code does not look as great as you thought it would be before uploading it.

Dipali
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best email marketing campaign out there with its incredible features!

Reviewed on 2017/09/20

The main advantage of using Campaign Monitor over other email marketing software is ease of use....

The main advantage of using Campaign Monitor over other email marketing software is ease of use. It's a very well designed software that helps create, schedule and send emails to customers. I have never faced any glitches or downtime sessions with Campaign Monitor. It is easy to add tracking codes to personalize emails and the tracking reports are quite advanced. If you opt for the Premier option, you get access to all the great features along with a dedicated manager.

Pros

- Excellent tracking options
- Great user interface - one of the main reasons why I'd choose it over its competitors
- Multiple themes to choose from
- Flexible pricing options
- Great features include A/B testing, inbox previews, opportunity to grow your list and personalized emailing option

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Leading email marketing platform

Reviewed on 2019/08/14

Pros

The platform is extremely easy to use and manage. The automation features provide a level of sophistication which suits most client needs.

Cons

While powerful there is a level of learning as the interface is more difficult than other platforms