86 reviews

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central

Enterprise resource planning for SMBs, formerly Dynamics NAV

3,6 /5 (86 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3,6
/
5
Value for Money
3,3
Features
3,6
Ease of Use
3,4
Customer Support
3,5
64% recommended this app
86 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Accounting Intern

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

It is good

Pros

Categories of Account Receivable, Account Payable, and General Ledger

Cons

it has lot of information that I need to learn

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ashley R.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 11-50 Employees

The new way to do business

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/17
Review Source: Capterra

Our business is running smoother since changing but we are slowly getting everything in the new system. It is taking some time but it easy to find orders/invoices when you know what to look for. I use it daily to send invoices, correct price errors, correct PO numbers.

Pros

I like that we are able to have all of our stages in one program. From our quotes to our invoices, we can keep track of the progress of each transaction. You can search by customer, order number, PO number, amount and there are many more options. After some training and a better understanding of how accounting works, I have excelled at understanding what needs to be done to correct issues or fix errors. I appreciate the ability to put notes on each quote, order, and invoice.

Cons

I wish there was a little more features such as having automatic invoices from multiple vendors but I think they may be working on that. I also wish there was a creation date for invoices and not just a posting date. I also wish there was a way to link invoices after you have made a change/correction such as the PO number being incorrect. Once you change the PO number, you have no idea that it went to another invoice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Keeps everything in once place.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2021/01/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Dynamics allowed me to stay organised. as D-365 has many tools , with all the variety of plug-ins, setting up automation and communication takes some work but it is really easy to see how my pipeline is working and have a single view of the company in one single dashboard.

Cons

it would have been great if it had a bit more features . i think that the reporting is the Achilles heel of the platform, it's a time-consuming task and not very straight forward as done in other platforms

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Erin D.

Account and financial record needs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Accounting, G/L/ Receivables. Fairly straightforward and easy to use. Use from time it was GP 10. Standard reports were easy to use.

Cons

Glitches from time to time, we only had a certain amount of users accounts purchased and at times had more people trying to use so couldn't log in, but that isnt a software con. Just a con that you have to purchase a number of users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ajay G.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Microsoft Dynamics NAV - Re engineering software dimensions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use
Super customisable
Connectors to sync with other softwares

Cons

it should be available with other platforms like Mac etc

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Yessica R.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great software to support accounting processes!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/13
Review Source: Capterra

A great tool for everyday accounting processes: reports, invoices, and managing different outlets within the company.

Pros

It is easy to run reports, since all the data you might need is in there. We use it to make invoices, and pro-forma invoices. It is great to have and keep our customer's database updated. It's easy to add new data. Be able to customize the data you use it everyday is a big plus.

Cons

Managing this software requires a lot of practice. You have to get familiar with it before run important reports and invoices. If there are too many processes at once, it can run slow and even block you out, so you'll have to wait until the system get less busy.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Deepak B.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Our 18 month experience on MS Dynamics

Reviewed on 2015/07/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

MS Dynamics is pretty user-friendly considering the other CRM products in the market. It's got a pretty good coverage in terms of customer engagement process. Right from Presales interaction center to post sales Services, it covers most processes. Microsoft as a vendor is placed well to offer this as a cloud offering as its also owns Azzure

MS Dynamics does have a mobile app for Apple devices which is pretty useful and easy to use. That helps in user adoption on field.

The support provided by MS is good, but gets activated only when situation gets into emergency mode.

Cons

The comercials could have been more affordable. I would have loved more seamless integration between Dynamics and Navision as both are from the same family. Easy to deploy mobile applications for Andriod phone is something which would have been really useful

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Misbah S.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Ease of use

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/27
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have used the software for almost 9 months, and have found it to be very user friendly, with excellent presentation. It is normally quick, software does not crash often and it works well for many different type of industries.

Pros

Very user friendly
Good presentation
Excellent layout - easy to search for whatever you need
Good use of headings and sub-headings
Being able to import from Excel, and transfer any journals into Excel easily

Cons

Maybe not the best for reporting purposes, or hard to find a way straight away
Could be a more efficient way to import transactions from Excel

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Suman K.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

2nd Best Erp Software Available in Industry After SAP

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/05/24
Review Source: Capterra

It Helped our Company to Automate Essential Business Process With the help of Information Technology.

Pros

Its User Interface and Very Less Consumption of System Resources is one of the very best Features of this ERP Software.

Cons

Vey Bad Service Quality of The company Which Helped to Implement this ERP In our company.
They Took More than a Year to Implement This Software but Yet Its under Process.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Lacey H.

Clunky navigation! And the email integration is rough.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The dashboards and deal registration for our sales team works well. Advanced finds have been helpful.

Cons

ClickDimensions as a marketing tool is hard to navigate. And I don't feel like the modules make sense.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Viktoria A.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Easy system to use

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Microsoft NAV is easy to use and navigate, performs well and being in HR the functions I need are easy to get to

Cons

Not sure if this is a function selected in the implementation process but the only part I don't like is that payroll does not have access to the employee profiles and only HR can update their information

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Rebecca B.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It works fairly well, we are however a manufacturing company and this is made for product on the shelf. It provides all the information that I need.

Cons

At times I feel that I need to look in several spots to find the information that I need. I use the Query button the most so that I am not missing information.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Wholesaler

Great flexibility combined with easily projectable cost

Reviewed on 2012/08/28
Review Source: GetApp

Since our upgrade from NAV 4.0 to the cloud based NAV 2009 R2 solution our business changed a lot. Despite a relatively high fluctuation of employees and also sales our ERP solution has never been a concern. As we outsourced almost all our hardware to the cloud we didn't suffer from high fix cost when our business didn't go as expected and the Albrecht Solutions NAV 2009 in the cloud proves it's value again at the moment as our Business is picking up again. One phone call and a new virtualized work station is set up, including desktop, user rights and mobile access which allows most of our employees to work from home at least one day a week. Our employees love the clean and self explaining GUI of Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 which integrates into the Microsoft world perfectly. In case assistance is required we benefit from our single point of contact at Albrecht Solutions and our monthly flat rate support hours wich are included in our customized SLA. We are very much loocking forward to new business challenges then we know we have a flexible, powerful and state of the art IT solution in the back that lets us concentrate on our key competences.

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Accounting software

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

It is very user friendly and it keeps all the required data and is helpful to generate reports for the organisation.

Pros

It is a very systematic software which adds to the functionality of accounting.

Cons

It's outlook and the format can be improvised.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Brian B.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

I use this for manufacturing sales

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/11/01
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

very easy to navigate, most people can step in and be able to navigate this program. It certainly takes time off of my daily tasks!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Nitin C.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Worst Experience from Microsoft Partner !! Think ten times before selecting Microsoft Navision Product & Partner !!!

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/01/23
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Not a good Support from Microsoft. There is no control of Microsoft Regional Team on their Chanel Partners who is spoiling the reputation of Microsoft Products. They are only interested in selling the Numbers of Licenses. No monitoring from Microsoft even on cheating cases disputed cases by their Chanel partners.
Microsoft Navision Product would be Great through Proper implementation as all you required, Must have Microsoft Regional Team support for Monitoring partners implementation activities.

Pros

That NAV is customizable with good Features for Small Businesses. But Partner selection is Crucial!

Cons

Microsoft is not supportive of customers issues . There was no training materials Manuals provided, Even the customer Source Login do not provide the required information & control to customer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Novak H.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2018/10/02
Review Source: GetApp
Sazzadun nabi S.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2018/08/08
Review Source: GetApp
Scott M.

Reviewed on 2013/07/30
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have worked in the supply chain for 5 years now and have experience with 3 different ERP's. Our old ERP was limiting, though it was also fairly straight forward. The biggest issue seemed to be how incredibly date sensitive how ever without requiring dates at the same time. This pushed the change to a new ERP and Microsoft NAV was chosen through their partner company Just Foods.

A truly bizarre system, the flow of documentation through the program makes little sense and over complicates what would normally be easy transactions. For instance Purchase Orders follow this document flow - First the purchase order is created once you receive your order, a warehouse receipt document is created and received in. However, once it is received in the warehouse, the receipt document disappears and becomes a posted receipt document (both have completely different document numbers that don't connect to each other). At this point your original Purchase order has been changed to reflect what ever was received in, and you have to have a second column to view what you originally ordered. Otherwise, figuring out if you over or under received is difficult at best. Now once the invoice comes in and is posted against the posted warehouse document, your purchase order disappears. The only place your purchase order exists in its original form is the in Purchase order Archive, which was never mentioned to us during implementation, forcing us to call Just Foods later on and pay for their customer service.

This same, strange flow of documents, that are essentially intermediary documents only existing to complete a transaction, over complicate what should be a straight forward shipping and receiving process. There are some other basic functionality issues, like figuring out what day you actually shipped or received an item. The easiest way to figure that out seems to require access to the warehouse functionality, which you may or may not want people to have. We get a lot of errors where the tables are locked with other users, and you are just stuck until the report or other person finishes up. The Dimensions on lines can mysteriously disappear, even though the G/L Code and Department code show as filled out in the order. Our MRP has never worked correctly, so in general, we are forced to use Excel to put together our production schedule. All in all, its a sub-par program that you can tell is 5 or 6 different original programs that have been slapped together to try an resemble an ERP system.

Now having said all that, obviously I am looking at this from a supply chain perspective as it is what I do. Perhaps on the accounting end it has some ease of use, but due to how difficult it is to understand on the operations end, the accounting rarely comes out correct due to faulty information in the system. On the positive side there do seem to be a million different ways to do the same thing in NAV, and many of the built in reports are extremely useful assuming that the information in the system is correct.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Dynamics Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

It is really for basic use. If you are part of a manufacturing business or a large business, the software is not for you. In my experience, it is best used for small to mid size companies. The support is also terrible.

Pros

Pulling information out of the system in simple reporting isn't bad if you leave it in the same format. Basic reports are easy to read, and usually you can get the numbers in that you need by updating fields.

Cons

Entering information is extremely time consuming. You have to be very familiar with the software to be able to know what you can and cannot tab through. Pulling any information into excel is extremely time consuming and takes a lot of manipulation for it to look presentable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Ayass A.
Industry: Media Production

Best Modern ERP Solution

Reviewed on 2015/04/17
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I joined AL FANAR Electricals Co. KSA -in 2003, it has been decided to replace ERP system with NAV, Tec.Support was provided by AL FANAR IT an affiliate company who became golden partnership with Microsoft later and provided the system if Gulf Market, the implementation was very successful, early versions of NAV in 2003 was famous as (Navision Attain) at that time, the system provided a splendid AR, AP, and inventory reports and controls, was helpful in regional trading credit controls and manufacturing process, in 2006 the company upgraded the software to NAV5 and we learned a lot about setup requirements, Posting groups, general business posting groups, sales and system generated transactions setup accounts and matrix, Exr. Var and global dimensions etc..., in 2007 I joined Gulf Capital KSA the company management recommended NAV at that time tec. support provided by (NEWWAY) and I was assigned as a project manager, later in 2009 I joined ROTANA Media Group who recommended same ERP as well.
now new versions of NAV are available with business intelligence tools and some additional great features, I expect this fast positive evolvement of MS Dynamics will make them first Market Choice in a short time.
I used several softwares before and after NAV like (Dolphin, Oracle, Klipper, and others..) from my experience what I like most in NAV and make it remarkable are the following :
- SQL Server which provides flexible opened platform allow users to move to any information details and jump between templates they want from anywhere in the system to get information rather than closing screens and reopening another, other systems cannot provide this Dynamic feature.
- Reasonable and Logical controls of the system over transactions complying with exact financial requirements, other systems have nonsense controls in useless areas and gaps in other critical areas, and stand hopeless needing customization for an axiomatic small things.
- Easy and Smart setup requirements and users profiles access.
- Huge bank of ready reports provided by global MSD teams and partnership
- Friendly user = easy training
- Easy setup of financial reporting BS, Income statements , cash flow , Budgeting and variances any other because it leaves to user to choose , items lines name , tagging accounts, dimensions needed cost centers or business units , even user can add the equations of some financial statements lines !
- Easy customization and easy editing of all tables screens
- High Compatibility with Excel MS Office.
- Reasonable cost with complete business solutions package and including project management, Human resources, Cash Management etc..

Cons

No Disadvantages or defaults in my opinion if implementation requirements are clear and correct and finance knows exactly controls, processes outputs they need. everything is there in this system.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kelly B.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great software, if you're not afraid of customization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/27
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great software for small and midsize businesses.

Pros

One of NAV's biggest strengths is the fact that it's a Microsoft product, so the ease of use factor is high, given the fact that virtually all employees are familiar with MS ribbons, icons, etc. NAV is also customizable (with the help of a consultant). The fact that it is customizable, yet easy to up-gradable, is a huge factor.

Cons

There are some basic items that are only available through customization. I would like to see MS make these accessible as items that users can configure, vs. having to pay for customization.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Gary C.
Industry: Construction

Good experience as a system admin and end user

Reviewed on 2016/07/14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

1. Like the excel function on NAV screen where you can dump out any info onto excel for external reporting.
2. Like the ability to setup permissions on record level. for example, can setup permissions where a user can see Purchase invoices for a particular vendor.
3.

Cons

1. Doesn't have a good approval chain process for purchasing documents. Very linear approach based on amount.
2. Microsoft customer support comes at a price and even with that they dont touch any customized function and ask you to get back to partner for fix

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Shellyane B.

Functional and Precise

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great store for customer information and data, relatively simple to get to grips with, and an efficient search function.

Cons

Can run slowly if there are a high number of users, and missing some features like batch c and p. That would be useful and time-saving.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Beth O.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Used this daily for years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Navision has tons of options and features making it very easy to get specific reporting in almost any way imaginable.

Cons

It could take a while to learn how to use it. There are so many different ways to do things that it can become confusing at first.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10