Microsoft Dynamics GP

3,9 (115)
ERP Software Package

Overall rating

3,9 /5
(115)
Value for Money
3,5/5
Features
3,8/5
Ease of Use
3,5/5
Customer Support
3,6/5

115 Reviews

Stacy-ann B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics GP - " Achieveing all of your Accounting needs"

Reviewed on 2021/11/16

Microsoft Dynamics GP has allowed me to perform several accounting tasks efficiently in my previous role as an Accounts Clerk. Therefore, I was able to prepare and process payments and journals, and track costs.

Pros

The software is relatively easing to use and it has a variety of features, which allow users to carry out tasks related to Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable and Bank Reconciliation.

Cons

The product is a bit expensive. Additionally, if the software crashes or stops working, it may take some time for the issue to be resolved.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Not quite caught up to newer software

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

I have used Microsoft Dynamics GP for over 20 years for various companies. The distribution modules are pretty strong and I have used those in many industries. There are a lot of options available now for automation and workflows which save time as well as missed opportunities. I have also been able to connect Dynamics GP to many external industry specific programs, saving data entry and errors.

Pros

It has a very strong financial backbone. Users are forced to view and verify accounting data during transactions in many areas. Since the software has been around for many years, there are a lot of ISVs offering add-on products for various needs. The backend is strong in that it is MS SQL Server.

Cons

There are some features that do not automatically come as part of the main package. Reporting, operational and financial, has been all over the place and is still not where it needs to be. There is not a lot of remote capabilities.

Alternatives Considered

Acumatica Cloud ERP and Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Dynamics GP

Dynamics GP is more robust than Quickbooks and has more security features. It focuses on maintaining an accurate set of books rather than just speed of entry. Accumatica did not seem to force a lot of awareness about general ledger aspect of transactions and had a lack of tracing/linking to source transactions.
Una H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Solid mid market ERP system

Reviewed on 2016/09/16

Pros

It is a comprehensive solution, with solid add-ons to compensate for deficits in the core system. We run a manufacturing operation with deep. multi level BOMs and FIFO costing, GP manages it very well. AP, AR and GL are solid.

The smartlists are a nice reporting tool, where you can drop the data into excel for easy analysis.

Cons

The front end has a clunky feel. On the back end trying to find the table the data is stored in takes a lot of time so the learning curve from a reporting sense is very long. The SQL tables are sparse - so you could end up having to add several tables to a query just so you can connect the one table you need. Report writing process is long and arduous initially. It is really expensive to upgrade. Other solutions in past lives have required minimal tech support to upgrade, this is a major process to upgrade and therefore very expensive.

Randy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics GP - Great product in its day (27 years ago)

Reviewed on 2021/12/21

Started supporting GP in 1994 when the product was in version 1.X. Back then, it showed promise but was slow, unstable and buggy. After GP was acquired by Microsoft in 2000, the mandatory switch to SQL server helped with stability, but technology it was based on never really improved.
Starting in 2006, I converted ALL of my GP clients to various versions of Quickbooks. No client regretted the switch,

Pros

Owned by Microsoft, the largest player around.

Cons

GP was developed in the early 90s. Still uses same technology. Other platforms developed later runs rings around GP.

Michael B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use but some quirks to learn

Reviewed on 2021/02/11

Its a great product and it allows for massive amounts of data in the form of transactions to be handled and reconciled easily. its a must have for any mid to large sized business

Pros

I love the ability to run smart list and then run specific queries drilling down to specific vendors and dates. it makes reconciling vendor statements a breeze. i also love the integration to be able to run transfers from other software to be able to auto enter retail invoices and gas sales. taking a way the manual entry nightmare of most retail situations.

Cons

I don't like that once something is entered it cant be deleted. you have to void it to remove it but it still will show up on all of the reports. also there are allot of quirky ways you need to learn to use the software that don't transfer over from similar software use.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Dynamics GP

we chose dynamics because of the price point for one but we also liked the ease of use of the software to integrate with non intuit products that you cant find on QuickBooks enterprise
Wassim R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Reliable software

Reviewed on 2020/08/18

Good experience

Pros

It's very reliable, scalable, has deep functionality and is well served by a large number of add-on vertical and other solutions

Cons

The user interface is quite old and does not resemble what modern day users would expect

Alternatives Considered

Dynamics 365

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Dynamics GP

Deeper functionality
Arshad Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy to use, convenient to have web access, but lack of features

Reviewed on 2017/09/15

A decent system to use, but was disappointing due to the lack of flexibility in terms of generating reports/export functions - not as great as I would have expected from a Microsoft product.

Pros

-Web access
-Single database
-Integration with a variety of reporting suites
-A widely use system since it is Microsoft based, and a huge community to get help with if there are any issues

Cons

Not truly web-based as it relies on the program to be housed on a server;
-Limited in terms of GL reports - cannot jump ranges of accounts, or have multiple ranges in a single report like our old system
-takes a while to load reports like SmartList Favourites, and does not have as much flexibility as our old system
-freezes quite a lot
-tax limitations on the Accounts Payable module
-Desktop version slow

Gregory G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

So many options so little taste

Reviewed on 2021/10/21

Microsoft Dynamics can be a great tool with many options and greatly integrates with all Microsoft Products, but it feels like working on a decade-old software , some customisation and general overhaul would be great

Pros

The software is robust and has plenty of options as well as what you've to expect from Microsoft products - ease of use and integration.

Cons

UI/UX is not the best and lacks taste as well can feel overwhelming. Without a good internet connection, the program lags a lot(hard to say where the fault is in this case).

Kyle K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Dynamics Review

Reviewed on 2021/10/21

Pros

I am used to it now so like with most software, it becomes easier/more tolerable as you get used to it.

Cons

It could be more user friendly and up to date. It's more than a bit clunky.

Maci H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Accounts Payable = Microsoft GP

Reviewed on 2021/12/13

Pros

I appreciate the ease of access to all functions in payroll and accounts payable all within the Microsoft GP interface.

Cons

The program integrates well with Greenshades... I just wish it would integrate with PlanSource.

James X.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Senior Corporate Accountant

Reviewed on 2017/09/14

I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros

t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use
It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word
It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations
It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization
It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms
It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users
It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions
It automates and standardizes recurring tasks
It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons

With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts.
I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

Thanh t. N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

GP is a functional product, but the user experience is not the best

Reviewed on 2018/05/01

Pros

The software is relatively easy to use. The biggest advantage of GP is probably it is a Microsoft product, meaning GP works well with other Microsoft products, such as the Office suite.

The learning curve is also not that steep if users are willing to learn through various blogs, videos (especially YouTube), and through Microsoft web site.

The price is very competitive, comparing to leading-edge solution such as Intacct or NetSuite.

Cons

I am a big fan of anything on the Cloud. Our controller spends lots of time to upgrade GP through different version over the years (GP is hosted either on premise or through third-party vendor's server. Of course the upgrade or any troubleshooting is not that bad with the right support from a third vendor. However, this is not value-added function in accounting/finance. If I have a choice nowadays, I will go with Intacct or NetSuite.

With a Cloud solution, users will have very little downtime. With an on-premise solution, at least in our experiences, we have lots of downtimes. Also for some reasons the software requires us to reboot the backend server from time to time due to software bugs.

Judith F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave

Reviewed on 2016/12/06

I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of distribution and coding layout. GP allows you to clearly access what has been recorded, and makes it easy to reverse anything if necessary. The "Smart List" is one of it's finest features. This tool allows you to not only access reports, but to streamline, and create reports that are tailored specifically for your needs. I believe this is one of the best systems out there for processing of manufactured goods, and inventory control. I highly recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP - Manufacturing!

Pros

Report Building
Distribution and coding clarity
Easy navigation
Excellent Customer support

Cons

Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue)
Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

Carson G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dynamics GP High end accounting software thats usable

Reviewed on 2018/11/27

Great product, huge upgrade over SBM, but could be so much better if they streamlined the processes, and made it easier to find help in setting everything up. typical microsoft where user friendliness is a concept they simply dont understand

Pros

Can do most everything you can think of, workflow makes sense, cheque writing and invoice entry features are easy to use, once youve got the report functions figured out, can customize them to your needs for the most part

Cons

way too many keystrokes to perform the entries you need to make, some reports such an income statement are incomplete with no way to create them the way you want, error messages are pretty much useless unless youre an experienced user, even then, they can be difficult to cipher, looking for answers for how to do things is very poor, and because they keep updating/changing the interface without warning, many of the steps shown are out of date, thereby useless

Shane P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

ERP with a familiar MS Office feel

Reviewed on 2015/03/04

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics GP does a great job of integrating into the other mainstream Microsoft productivity applications many organizations implement, and it offers some great familiarity that helps someone new to the software feel more comfortable with using the application.

Because it is a Microsoft product, there is also healthy mainstream/community support via online forums.

And, of course, logical access is simplified thanks to integration with Microsoft's Active Directory but you may also opt for SQL Server database logical access as well.

Cons

Microsoft Dynamics GP is very light on Customer Relationship Management (CRM) features. Customer accounts and details can be stored in the software for invoicing and other accounting functions, but much is left to be desired. Microsoft instead points you to buying additional software, such as their Dynamics CRM product which integrates nicely with Dynamics GP but adds on additional licensing costs.

Jana Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

2018 Is Better than the last

Reviewed on 2018/11/20

Pros

I like the fact that I can sort things easier. For example when I'm looking for a specific invoice I can sort by date document type, number, etc. It makes things much easier. I know there are many things as a company we are not utilizing and would like to be able to.

Cons

I feel like there should be more advanced options when it comes to running such things as Trial Balance. I also wish there was more help with smart list. Maybe some kind of training video in the help module.

Tony C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very Powerful Tool that can be Difficult to Use

Reviewed on 2016/04/09

Pros

Overall, Microsoft Dynamics GP is a powerful and complex accounting and financial management tool. My favorite parts of the software is that the reports are customizable, and there is a lot you can do with them. Another positive is that the forms and records offer a tremendous amount of detail.

An important feature of MS Dynamics GP is the multiple dashboards available, though they can be overwhelming. One of the more useful ones is the Business Analyzer, which gives multiple options of which KPIs and other bits of data are shown and displayed in separate windows. These can be re-sized and moved around on your monitor so that what you need to see can be seen when you need to see it, if that makes sense.

Cons

The main negative is that it can be difficult to use. The processes for doing thing are not intuitive and are unlike other similar systems. The entire user interface feels like something from the early 2000s. Compared to some of the similar products, I believe Dynamics GP would require a bit more training for the general user.

Linda R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics GP

Reviewed on 2018/05/08

Pros

This system is laid out like a folder on your PC, making it intuitive for most users to learn. The import/export functionality is robust and allowed my organization to seamlessly integrate external website sales into the order processing/accounting module. This was possible because the solution is sequel based.

Cons

In order to share reports, the solution requires SharePoint, and there are times when the system processes slowly.

Lee B.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great ERP for Small to MidSize Businesses

Reviewed on 2017/09/05

Dynamics GP is an ERP that is flexible and dynamic. it provides all the tools a small to midsize business needs.

Pros

Easy and Intuitive UI that leads to quick learning curve for all areas of Accounting. GL, AP, and AR modules are top notch. Integrates with many 3rd party applications for seemless sharing of data to enhance BI needs.

Cons

Lots of windows and a slightly confusing card structure. SmartLists can be cumbersome to create, save, and manage.

Summer L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A challenge to learn

Reviewed on 2017/12/19

Each portal operates under the same method which makes it easier to understand when moving through the many facets.

Pros

It has many functions and levels to operate a multifunctional facility. It includes Financials, Purchasing, Sales, Administrative, and a multitude of reports, inquiries, and lists that can be customized and modified to the users preferences.

Cons

There’s a lot to learn about the functions of this software. It’s difficult to correct errors and delete particular transactions. It can become very expensive depending on user support services and the number of users allowed to be on at the same time. Make sure that this is the right software for the functions of your company Before purchasing. The annual renewal can be quite expensive as well.

Michael W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Dying product

Reviewed on 2018/08/09

It is too bad that this product is being left behind as the push becomes for Dynamics 365, which is a completely different product and will require a complete reimplementation (if the features we need are even in there).

Pros

Used to be very easy to use and was cutting edge for several years. Great functionality for distribution.

Cons

Microsoft is no longer developing the product, so it has become very stale. Hardly any new features and no current online resources.

Elaine W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP

Reviewed on 2017/02/22

I've used this software for 6 years and expect to keep doing so. There is so much support from our Microsoft partner and GPUG.

Pros

I love the smartlists. I also love the adding products available to handle situations like sales taxes.

Cons

There are many different reporting options available to use but are there ever really enough.

Ron C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Program

Reviewed on 2017/02/24

Very good program
Functionality is better than any program I have used

Pros

Extremely easy to use for a variety of situations. Never had any unexpected errors as we did with other programs. Used it for 23 Branches and 15 program areas.
The ability to design your on statements with the report writer was great

Cons

Pricey
Needs its own budget program.
We had to design one and import/integrate the numbers in which was a headache

Tesa D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Simple and easy to add SKU bulk tool. Appreciable dynamic data integration

Reviewed on 2018/09/20

Pros

The easiness to start even if you've never used a ERP before and tracking things (contracts, clients and other documents) in one place for your clients is a plus.

Cons

Limits in the customization areas. licenses are restricted to full access or read only.
Not knowing the amount of data which is stored in entities is also a minus (Especially when you have a lot of data integrations and add-ons).

Desiree K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GP Dynamics

Reviewed on 2017/03/01

I have been using Great Plains product for over 25 years. It was one of the first companies to offer flexibility for company growth without limitations.

Pros

I love the security , and reports that can be created and exported to excel. Works great with Microsoft office suite since it is Microsoft owned

Cons

Learning curve getting use to. Very detailed setting up. Requires partner to install and support.