3 019 reviews

SharePoint

Collaboration & content management platform

4,2 /5 (3019 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,2
/
5
Value for Money
4,1
Features
4,1
Ease of Use
3,9
Customer Support
4
82% recommended this app
3 019 reviews
Patric S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Document Management and more

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/26
Review Source: Capterra

We use it as our intranet, to share information about projects, tasks, opporunities or rather static content to display information about various departments.
We have a lot of customers who use it mainly as a document management system or also as a intranet solution. Especially the SharePoint Online version is very easy to adapt and has great integration with Microsoft 365.

Pros

Offers a ton of features, you don't have to use all of them but they are there if you need them. It can be used for document management (DMS) or even CMS for intranet purposes. It has a powerful search engine, you can manage complex permission scenarios, there is also the possibility to manage records, litigation holds, taxonomies, and more and more.
With the new modern UI users can also even more simply edit pages, place web parts on them to display different content like, text, images, videos, news feeds, document libraries, lists etc.
If you don't go the on-premise but the SharePoint Online route, you can save yourself the hassle of installing it on your own and have a very easy access to a powerful tool for collaboration or to simply display information.

Cons

Has some kind of a learning courve. Can be complex, especially if you want to take it to the next level and start to customize it. On-premise version is rather expensive and needs an IT professional to set up and also it should run on multiple servers and also MSSQL which adds to the license cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Karla G.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Sharepoint is very robust but more than many small businesses need

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I currently use it to archive old client data. I have found One Drive to be easier for me work with for current files.

Pros

I like Sharepoint for being a secure location to have all your documents in one place in the cloud. And I like the ability to share documents via a link with both team members and outside parties. I like the ability to use metadata tags to facilitate searching for documents.

Cons

I find it hard to set up and did not find it to be very user friendly. It is not easy to get assistance or guidance as to the best approach in the setup. We were told by our consultant NOT to use a folder structure, but a Microsoft employee told me that was not good current advice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Evan S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Daily user and administrator,

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/03
Review Source: Capterra

We use SharePoint primarily as version control for documentation and also for request tracking via a SharePoint list. It is an adequate solution for these needs but leaves some things to be desired.

Pros

Convenient way to share files in and outside of your organization. It is truly loaded with good features; whether or not your instance will be capable of utilizing them all is another question (see cons).

Cons

Occasional integration issues with Microsoft's other apps such as OneNote. I had the hardest time moving a OneNote from one SharePoint to another and wound up having to do so one page at a time.

SharePoint lists are our only recourse within my company for external user request tracking, and they are clunky at best. Users do not like the front-end form no matter how much tinkering we do in the provided form design tools SharePoint Design and Infopath.

Poor visibility of who has access to what. The permissions hierarchy and inheritance is just not clear, and clean-up of any SharePoint you take ownership of will be a hassle.

Many useful and seemingly rudimentary tasks are made difficult by integration issues with our corporate network, however this could have as much to do with our excessive security protocols than SharePoint. As such, I have not considered it in this review's score but gone ahead and included this complaint as a point of reference for anyone considering adopting SharePoint at their company. If your company's infrastructure and security model is already difficult to navigate, then it is unlikely you'll be able to take full advantage of what SharePoint has to offer without a very talented implementation team.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Shikha V.
Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Proficient tool for storing and sharing the documents

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/03
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with Microsoft has been good so far. I am sure there is still so much to learn about this application and I am still discovering new things occasionally. It is suitable if you are looking to create a cloud-based repository of documents and it works efficiently if the IT support team of your company set it up perfectly and they keep updating it steadily.

Pros

SharePoint is the cloud-based tool, which facilitates the storage, sharing, accessing, and managing the files from any location/device using centralized location link. It is a flexible platform and can be implemented and managed in the way you like it.
We have been using this software in our company for almost 3 years now and it is extremely compatible with our needs. It helps in creating a common repository of documents, which can be accessed by multiple users/devices. It works well within groups where the permission to access, edit is given by the primary user. It is one of the best software to manage the confidential information in a controlled and restrictive way. There is an option to chat within the group as well.
All files can be added to library by simple step of drag and drop. It has abundant features to choose from and you can tailor them as per your business needs. Since it is cloud based, it provides inter and intra-departmental cooperation creating a perfect collaborative environment for a small organization.

Cons

One has to be experienced with Microsoft products in order to run this smoothly else, it could be little complicated to learn in the initiate phase. Secondly, it could be expensive than the other products in the market however it provides good features but if you are looking for economical solution, you should research more before buying this. If someone authorized edits something in a document, it becomes difficult to locate where the correction has been made. Though it shows the real-time notification I someone is editing but if you try to locate for the past corrections, it is not easy to find out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Harsha V.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

The Future Software Point of Sharing a Perfect Collaborative Tool to make an Awesome Organization!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

+ Creating a new SharePoint site/app/directory is very easy and manageable. Users need to request the access before using the website or owner can manage how and whom to give what permission level of access on each site.
+ We could inherit permissions from top level site or we can manage permissions separately to each individual sub sites.
+ Permissions on each document level! Jaw Dropping feature of genius.
+ It has a plenty amount of features to choose from and you can customize each app to fit your business needs.
+ You can also add sandbox solution based or script based jssor/jsom apps to each SharePoint site.
+ Very easy to share files and information across our organization.
+ Perfect for document management and storage system for employees of many locations.
Syncing the SharePoint content is a nice feature.
+ Uploading/Checking in thousands of documents at one click with the help of explorer is definitely something special.
+ Connecting SharePoint calendars to your Outlook calendar will make your work life easy.
+ SharePoint Designer, Info path, Nintex, K2 all are bonus to have for OOTB Workflow configurations.
+ Content management Checkin, Checkout, Publish, Approve/Reject features are nice features to have on each document.
+ Not only Search, You can even do Filters among search results.
+ Not only Filters, You can do Best Bets on search results.
+ What is more, All search results are very fast across the whole website.

Cons

A humble advice to Microsoft SharePoint team! since we can't host External websites on cloud, It will be good if they come up with Team Communication sites, Forms apps within On Premises.
Comments from Anonymous users on our SharePoint Blogs: If we have the ability to get comments/likes from anonymous users outside our organization it would be helpful for organizations which are depending on SharePoint On Premises version because of PPI (Personal Protected Information) data.
In Overall, There isn't anything to dislike about it, to be honest it is everything we've expected it to be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Muneeba F.
Industry: Research

Safe, Secure and one of the best Microsoft Products ever!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/08
Review Source: Capterra

Sharepoint has helped me a lot in my business. Sharepoint acts as an extra storage device for me to store all my business relevant data. The space provided by Sharepoint is also quite extensive hence anything can be saved. Entire folders can be uploaded into the Sharepoint browser link so need not to upload/save one file at a time. Also, being a product of Microsoft, it has the best security available. This software is reliable and the top notch security ensures all my data is saved and can't be compromised. My colleagues and I can share the Sharepoint link and can save data simultaneously and also work from it in live time. One of the best Microsoft Products

Pros

Instant reporting 24/7 and consolidate data to get better reports
Can create a unique SharePoint intranet
Can enable cross-department collaboration
Can address multiple service providers
We can decide on the best pricing model
Perfect solution for small businesses planning to grow big.
Central repository / one point of truth to store and share all company data.
There are plenty of licensing models to choose from that will suit any business size.
Extremely scalable and can address multiple business requirements thereby saving you money
Communicate from a single source to give everyone the same message.
Create electronic forms to reduce the paper trail.

Cons

Customization time and costs
Integration can require extra development effort
The licensing model is very complex
You need the right expertise to get it set up correctly.
It will require a lot of configuration and training.
It's browser based so if there is no internet, it means no SharePoint

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jason M.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Sharepoint 2013 Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/21
Review Source: Capterra

Sharepoint, when setup, is wonderful. It's a great way to disseminate new information to our various locations without worrying about consistency. It is so integrated in our environment that it is the homepage for all 209 staff members. However, setting up is difficult and it seems as if the server resources (when on Prem) are not utilized efficiently. Over last 2 years or so, we had to add CPU cores without there being any REAL change in our IT environment or in sharepoint itself.

Pros

The myriad of features. Sharepoint serves as an excellent repository for our company's files, work flows, SOPs, and staff wide notifications. It integrates very well with our other windows products and services such as Active Directory and Office. Our users find the interface to be smooth and free flowing.

Cons

Administration. Managing Sharepoint is somewhat strenuous. About a year ago I tried to upgrade from CUM 8 to CUM10 and it broke the "sites" section. I reverted the changes using a backup I had and tried doing the upgrade again with the help of the Microsoft Support team. The MS Tech was VERY helpful and patient, however we were not successful with the upgrade and I eventually asked that the case be closed since I have already invested several hours.

- Needs to be fully integrated with Chrome. With IE no longer being supported and Chrome having about 70% of the market share, Sharepoint needs to be fully compatible with Chrome to ensure users aren't disrupted.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Brett C.
Industry: Renewables & Environment
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A great addition to using Microsoft Office in the corporate world.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/12/21
Review Source: Capterra

- Better file distribution & collaborative editing abilities
- Pliable and user-friendly mobile user interface
- File storage & document capabilities of a fortune 500 companies without huge implementation overhead

Pros

Overall this software is the best for large-scale collaboration. A few of the things I like the most:
- In-depth file & permission structures are possible
- Easily integrates with nearly all Microsoft Office applications
- Employees can easily be managed through one location instead of requiring API interface or multiple site permission/deletion work
- Saves each iteration of a documents change, allows users to go back to the first iteration and view progressive changes & who made those changes
- Usable mobile interface on all platforms
- Online document edits for quick edits that need to take place
- Groups can be established to assign multiple permissions to multiple users easily
- Cloud storage is cheap and easily expandable
- OneDrive app interfaces well & allows easy document upload/download for phones

Cons

- Cloud-based version has frequent changes that sometimes induce bugs
- Little support help outside of forums & slow to little Microsoft support help on those forums.
- Uploaded videos cannot be played on all mobile platforms (currently)
- Permissions has a learning curve & is a combination of the old structure and the new structure, which can lead to confusion when attempting to set granular non-inherited permissions

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Yaxi W.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Easy to use document management tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/14
Review Source: Capterra

Relatively easy to use, not the coolest looking tool but generally intuitive to use and does what I need - sharing files with those who need access and also accessing assets others have created.

Pros

It’s easy to create new “sites” for each of your teams so that you can easily organize and manage all your content for various business units. Once a high level structure is created it’s easy to organize all your companies documents so that they can be easily searchable. User access controls are robust making it easy to delineate who has access to what for how long.
Works particularly well in conjunction with one drive. Makes it easy to sync my local files and I can move my assets first to my personal onedrive before moving it to a public folder in share point.

Cons

No real cons. The tool is easy to use, not the coolest UI - clearly am older fool, but has all the features I need to manage, share, and access company docs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Aubree S.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Very Useful for Businesses

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/15
Review Source: Capterra

It provides access to employees from all departments to use one central location. This helps communicate information across the company without the hassle of constant emails and it allows you to access documents you made need without having to track down the keeper of the document.

Pros

The ability to access it from anywhere when signed into the company network. If not on the company network, I would be unable to access the company's SharePoint site which makes it more secure. I like that I can access just about everything I need to know about our company through the company's SharePoint site. It provides access to employees from all departments to use one central location. This helps communicate information across the company without the hassle of constant emails and it allows you to access documents you made need without having to track down the keeper of the document.

Cons

I dislike the inability to access it easily from anywhere however this is what allows SharePoint to be more secure when publishing important and confidential documents for others in the company to access. Overall, the benefits definitely out weigh the dislike as this helps keep company information secure and not easy to access for others without permission.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joey P.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Collaborative Online Productivity Suite

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

Some other collaborative suites do not allow multiple people to edit a document simultaneously, though some competitors do. The biggest thing that stood out to me was that SharePoint provided this feature while using familiar software from the MS Office suite with almost full capability as the desktop application.

Pros

Teams of people from all over the United States were able to work concurrently and collaboratively on living documents. The ability to work in the same MSWord or Excel document simultaneously is extremely valuable to our work. We've tried using other similar web-based platforms for collaborative work with interdisciplinary teams throughout the country, but none were as convenient, familiar, and user friendly as SharePoint.

Cons

Some users on my team had experienced technical issues when navigating through nested files, where it would sometimes lead to an IT error message - forcing them to refresh the page and dig back through the file tree to get back to where they were. This was more of an inconvenience than a serious drawback, as it only happened to some users, through they told me it was somewhat frequent. Other users on my team never experienced the issue, so I wouldn't be quick to blame it on SharePoint.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Evan B.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Good but becoming Outdated

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/27
Review Source: Capterra

Overall the experience was positive, but had too many shortcomings to provide much positive feedback.

Pros

This software was and still is used without my company, it is used for safe storage for our projects. Uploading/downloading information etc.

Cons

This software is difficult to use and not user friendly. The menus are difficult and sharing content with different users is cumbersome. Many times, i find that using other means/methods to share files was easier and quicker. Google Drive is a good alternative to Sharepoint.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Research
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great way to collaborate across locations

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/21
Review Source: Capterra

It is a great tool for collaboration and working on slides/documents together as a group. It has enabled us to even collaborate across the country, easily sharing links to edit in Microsoft Office online or through the app. However, it does have some issues with syncing and deleting things randomly when too many people edit at once. Definitely recommend to edit your work on a separate file on your computer and integrate it later when not as many people are making changes. Otherwise, great tool for enabling productivity.

Pros

It is really easy to share presentations and documents across locations, and even across continents. With this software, employees have the opportunity to work on relevant documents at any point, especially with the integration with Microsoft Office online. The software even tracks changes so that you can see who changed what, and when. It's a convenient way to have everything in one space, on-the-go. Different "sites" that you can create on Sharepoint allow for the easy categorization of different tasks.

Cons

It can get too disorganized too quickly, and the search feature leaves a lot to be desired. For example, due to not really cutting down on users abusing the ability to create folders, many duplicates were created, and searching for a particular name sometimes yields no results even though clearly the file name is identical to what was searched. Additionally, the online editing can be clunky at times and drop slides in a way that google docs does not. For example, we once had ten people working on a powerpoint online through sharepoint, and all of a sudden two people had their slides deleted for no apparent reason. Going back through the record of changes, nobody had deleted the slides; they just ceased to exist for some reason, but everyone had seen the two slides simply disappear. Be sure to save backups of your work often is all I can say.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Uros O.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Best Office 365 service hands down.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

I'm using SharePoint for more than 3 years now, and it is the main tool in my Company, I edit view and share SharePoint pages daily, where all our procedures and documentation are stored.

Pros

If you work at a company that owns Office 365 Subscription you have got to try SharePoint out. This is a great Knowledge-Base tool that can help you store, keep track of and share all your important Documents/Procedures/Files etc..
SharePoint is very powerful tool, it allows you to set access level and permissions for any page you have on your SharePoint, and even you can Synchronize it with OneDrive making all your Documents available offline on your dedicated device. SharePoint is simple to use, and simple to create any sort of page where you want to store your important documents and it is very customizable, so you can make every SharePoint page stand out from the other and be unique in it's own way.

Cons

SharePoint is very Customizable and you can do almost anything with it, but the Con would be that there is not that much of a templates to use, so you will have to start your page from scratch.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ram charan M.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 201-500 Employees

SharePoint: Collaboration made Quick and Easy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/10/08
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, SharePoint eases information sharing in complex business organizations where working in teams is crucial. It keeps its users updated about the current developments in a team and makes communication quicker, easier and safer.

Pros

The simplicity and ease of access makes SharePoint a brilliant tool to collaborate from anywhere around the world. From the sneak peak, Microsoft shared earlier this year, of the latest version of SharePoint, it is clear that Microsoft is pushing for increasing its online capabilities and enhancing user experience. This tool is perfect for sharing, storing and organizing files online, safely, in any organization, from mini projects for student collaboration to working with different teams , across the world, in an MNC. SharePoint allows one to upload, download files, archive previous versions, and create various listing views. It's power lies in its integration with other Microsoft products, namely Drive and Office.

Cons

Though it has a great capability in utilizing other Microsoft products, there can be improvements in their integration. Real time response is occasionally slow. It could be intimidating to use if one is not familiar with Office, but who isn't these days.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mohammed A.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best Collaboration tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/30
Review Source: Capterra

Very Good experience working on share-point. I will recommend every start up company to start their file server on the cloud using sharepoint instead of spending money on servers and network equipments

Pros

Best option to collaborate and work collectively
Secure access to company’s data.
Accountability for every action
Easy file versioning, Working with teams
Sharing files with outside world and trusted domains.

Cons

Difficulty in setting up initially
Once you get used too it will be easy going.
File naming characters limitations

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Caleb J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

SharePoint - Collaboration and Sharing made easy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/28
Review Source: Capterra

SharePoint enabled us to create an Intranet which made collaboration and sharing possible and took content management to another level with super simple organization, boosting the company's productivity, creativity and transformed our business processes.

Pros

SharePoint is super popular for its' collaboration and sharing capabilities, which is a game changer in today's workforce. It is not a desktop application that is installed locally, but instead, it is a storage server that is accessible via your browser using any PC, mobile device or a tablet.

One of its' key feature is the ability to create websites or team sites which enables teams to work together by storing and saving necessary documents, find whatever information maybe required and many more. Another one being its' content control and/or version control, making data easily accessible with one source. Also, SharePoint has an awesome search feature that allows you to effectively search within all the contents you have created.

Last but not least, it has a super handy recycle bin features for those days when life happened.

Cons

No cons at the moment, just an awesome top of the line saas.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Banking
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

A perfect document management and collaboration software.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/24
Review Source: Capterra

Generally my overall experience with Sharepoint has been superb and excellent.

Pros

On the greatest thing i like about Sharepoint is that it provides me with a simple, familiar and consistent user experience thus simplifying how i interact with my documents and content during management process. Another great thing is that Sharepiont has efficient collaboration features that allows me to collaborate with fellow team mates during a project hence speeding up project completion time. It also promotes productivity in my organisation since the knowledge of each member flows freely within the organisation. I also like the fact that Sharepoint meets consumers choice by allowing me to change and specify on security settings, storage and auditing policies to those ones that i feel will best meet my organisation needs.

Cons

I feel that the very many built in features are more than enough making it difficult for one to choose which ones will best meet organisation needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shaik A.
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Best one stop shop portal for all the business flow system allows you to manage work flow like CRM

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Best document and management tool that handles bundles of the business flows and its collaboration activities.It's basically an intranet and content management system that is used for internal purposes to assist us in bringing our organisation together.Happy news is 70% of the MNC's in fortune 500 companies use this as it has flexible options to organize and has large space to upload the data. Enterprise business uses this sharepoint as means of communication in delivering the request. on an whole this is one of the best tool i have seen and was loving using it. In this we can store large amount of the data, organisation structural policies updates to employees and real time business flows documents has highlevel of security provided by microsoft.

Cons

The least about the software is its structure though it is secure and robust it requires small changes in the options panel and hide the unwanted link options in the header bar. UI part requires changes make it colorful

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Zee G.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

In case you use Microsoft products...

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/27
Review Source: Capterra

It's a good product, but before you make the decision to purchase it, consult with someone who has used it for the reasons you want to use them (file storage, collaboration, websites, etc.) It's not cheap and it might be a waste of money.

We wanted to streamline the progress of working with files submitted by our Chamber members, which is why we united our website and a files storage. We also had two separate storages - one for internal documents that needed to be secure, and a public one, where we had files for our members. It worked, but it was not the easiest thing to use, so we kept the internal storage, but not the public website.

Pros

It's quite powerful, but like most of Microsoft products, it sometimes feels like it has too many available features and it's easy to get lost.

The main thing we liked about SharePoint was the documents, search, and web site options. Our goal was to recreate our corporate website, where people (Chamber members) can upload various documents, for example, application to become a member, and the files would automatically save in the required folder, where the staff can easily access it without having to resave it from emails.

Cons

It's certainly not the easiest thing to use. We had a corporate Microsoft 360 account, and so we decided to use SharePoint for the corporate collaboration for documents and then went for a website. I can't say it was a disaster, but it was definitely not something that was the most user-friendly interface.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Alvaro M.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Repository for the Microsoft-centric workplace

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/10
Review Source: Capterra

Microsoft-centric common repository platform for our small to medium-sized business. Easy export to doc, excel for the tables and fields you put into the site. Easy enough to setup, and manage users and accesses.

Pros

We have a long-standing partnership with Microsoft. Our workflow involves Microsoft products (MS Office, Great Planes, etc) and so we needed a repository platform that can put all our Microsoft centric archives and files into one place. SharePoint to the rescue.

We used Sharepoint initially just for archiving purposes (i.e., creating folders and saving our *.doc, *.xls...). We then extended it use for keeping a common calendar, creating team spaces for Projects, and even using the messaging and poll functions.

Workplace is able to create a micro-site that is easily exportable into an Excel file for reporting and data analytics purposes.

Cons

The subscription comes with a hefty price (esp for a bigger user base). Some users (even administrators) feel that the app is clunky and heavy on the backend.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Excellent place to collaborate on team documents

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Probably the best part about Sharepoint is its seamless integration with all the standard Microsoft software such as Word, Powerpoint and Excel. It's so nice being able to have multiple people on a team all working on a single document at the same time, whether it's through the online interface or through desktop-based software. The customizability of Sharepoint is also a strength. With some experience, it's easy to create dynamic, engaging web spaces for teams to utilize for storing and accessing information.

Cons

Customizing Sharepoint sites definitely takes some experience and users can be overwhelmed by available features. This can be overcome by training and governance, as long as you set up the right user rules. The worst part about Sharepoint is related to the web-based versions of the Microsoft office suite. Online Excel, Word and Powerpoint don't hold a candle to the desktop versions so users rarely work from the Sharepoint docs directly online.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Stefan T.

Best platform to share important documentation with your fellow collegues.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/26
Review Source: Capterra

You can easily share important documentation, just by sharing links to people within your organization, or giving them access and edit options to your SharePoint pages.

Pros

Everything starts with SharePoint, you can make SharePoint page look beautiful, more beautiful then 90% of website pages out there on the web.
It is easy to use, everything is self-explanatory, on SharePoint you should have all the important documentations uploaded, as well as news and updated about your project.
Another great thing is that you can Synchronize all your SharePoint files with OneDrive and have them offline if needed or just to have quickly access to them.

Not to mention FileHistory option, where you can revert any Change mistakenly made, and you can set for how many changes backwards you would be able to revert them.

Cons

I really cant find any bad side of SharePoint. Maybe downside would be that there is no SharePoint for personal but just for business use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Makes Project Collaboration a Breeze

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/03
Review Source: Capterra

Group projects are completed with less frustration and everyone is able to get their input on every aspect of a project. This program is the definition of "team work".

Pros

There is so many features to make group collaborations on a project smooth. There is direct messaging to discuss individually with a team member. Having share-able links is a huge plus for those who don't have the software to view the progress.
You can see who is typing what in what section and see trends. It make remote group work possible in one interface.
It integrates with other Microsoft products such as the commonly used Excel, Word, and PowerPoint.
You can chat as well as get progress done on the project.
It is much smoother and simpler than sending documents back and forth, so everyone can see what has happened.

Cons

There is a learning curve in getting familiar with the software and how to use it's features effectively. The big con is that it does take up a lot of computing space, so it can appear glitchy or laggy when being used. This is because of the sheer power and capabilities and the connection from so many sources.
Great features, could be smoother while using.

When sharing the link for others to view or join in, when they do not have the software there is more hoops to jump through to be able to actually contribute.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Files finally moved off premise and into the cloud

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

If we had to do it over again we would have hired a professional for the initial setup portion. Without proper knowledge, or time to go through training, it can be difficult to configure.

Pros

For the most part, the process of moving data up into SharePoint is fairly easy. The initial setup is the biggest challenge and requires the most time. Coupled with Microsoft Teams, SharePoint becomes more of the back end, which in my opinion, is a good thing. With Windows 10, you can also map SharePoint libraries directly to file explorer for easier access.

Cons

Unless implemented properly, or by a professional who works with SharePoint regularly, the interface can be clunky and hard to navigate. We attempted this mostly ourselves, and there was a huge learning curve. Most of our users were reluctant to use SharePoint because of our interface. What saved us was Microsoft Teams. Teams uses SharePoint on the back end for the data storage. It created a fresh and easy to use interface.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10