SharePoint Reviews

SharePoint

Collaboration & content management platform

4.2/5 (1919 reviews)
Evan S.

Daily user and administrator,

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/03
Review Source: Capterra

We use SharePoint primarily as version control for documentation and also for request tracking via a SharePoint list. It is an adequate solution for these needs but leaves some things to be desired.

Pros

Convenient way to share files in and outside of your organization. It is truly loaded with good features; whether or not your instance will be capable of utilizing them all is another question (see cons).

Cons

Occasional integration issues with Microsoft's other apps such as OneNote. I had the hardest time moving a OneNote from one SharePoint to another and wound up having to do so one page at a time.

SharePoint lists are our only recourse within my company for external user request tracking, and they are clunky at best. Users do not like the front-end form no matter how much tinkering we do in the provided form design tools SharePoint Design and Infopath.

Poor visibility of who has access to what. The permissions hierarchy and inheritance is just not clear, and clean-up of any SharePoint you take ownership of will be a hassle.

Many useful and seemingly rudimentary tasks are made difficult by integration issues with our corporate network, however this could have as much to do with our excessive security protocols than SharePoint. As such, I have not considered it in this review's score but gone ahead and included this complaint as a point of reference for anyone considering adopting SharePoint at their company. If your company's infrastructure and security model is already difficult to navigate, then it is unlikely you'll be able to take full advantage of what SharePoint has to offer without a very talented implementation team.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

Share and SharePoint alike

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/07
Review Source: Capterra

As mentioned briefly above, my most recent experience with SharePoint is using lists. This particular list (with a workflow to assign tasks) replaces an Excel spreadsheet of the same information. Using a SharePoint list instead, complete with different views and user alerts, allows relevant people access to the information they need in the right format, without having to duplicate work, send email updates, etc.

While SharePoint can be frustrating, it seems evident from the updates that there is a move towards more intuitive use.

Pros

The recent updates to SharePoint have come a long way in making it more intuitive to use, and providing a better looking user interface.

The management of the 'apps' (e.g. document libraries, lists, promoted links) has become much easier of late. It would be useful to see more information added to the apps descriptions, to help users determine which best suits their needs, without having to navigate to the Office help pages and/or third party sites.

The best feature for my current use is the ability to create different views of a list, and initiate workflows to assign list items as Tasks for certain users, thereby automating the sharing of the distribution of workload.

Cons

Some parts of SharePoint's functionality can be baffling - without formal training, it can be very difficult to work out how best to utilise SharePoint's features. When SharePoint is used across a large institution, without consistent training differing practices across different teams can make collaboration hard, as Sites/Pages/Libraries have been set up to function so differently. Inheriting a SharePoint site set up by someone else is tricky, as the logic they used to manage the site can be hard to decipher.

Permissions can be hard to manage, particularly as its rarely clear to the requester to whom their requests for access are being sent. This can be frustrating, as it can contradict the 'Share' aspect of SharePoint.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Shikha V.

Proficient tool for storing and sharing the documents

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/03
Review Source: Capterra

My overall experience with Microsoft has been good so far. I am sure there is still so much to learn about this application and I am still discovering new things occasionally. It is suitable if you are looking to create a cloud-based repository of documents and it works efficiently if the IT support team of your company set it up perfectly and they keep updating it steadily.

Pros

SharePoint is the cloud-based tool, which facilitates the storage, sharing, accessing, and managing the files from any location/device using centralized location link. It is a flexible platform and can be implemented and managed in the way you like it.
We have been using this software in our company for almost 3 years now and it is extremely compatible with our needs. It helps in creating a common repository of documents, which can be accessed by multiple users/devices. It works well within groups where the permission to access, edit is given by the primary user. It is one of the best software to manage the confidential information in a controlled and restrictive way. There is an option to chat within the group as well.
All files can be added to library by simple step of drag and drop. It has abundant features to choose from and you can tailor them as per your business needs. Since it is cloud based, it provides inter and intra-departmental cooperation creating a perfect collaborative environment for a small organization.

Cons

One has to be experienced with Microsoft products in order to run this smoothly else, it could be little complicated to learn in the initiate phase. Secondly, it could be expensive than the other products in the market however it provides good features but if you are looking for economical solution, you should research more before buying this. If someone authorized edits something in a document, it becomes difficult to locate where the correction has been made. Though it shows the real-time notification I someone is editing but if you try to locate for the past corrections, it is not easy to find out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Mandeep J.

SharePoint is the best web based intranet software to streamline the management of the data and info

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/12
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using this software for information sharing and accessing within my organisation and I can say it's one of the best online web-based tool for sharing record and information and that too very securely. Definitely one of the best software for intranet web based information sharing.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint is the best software for sharing of documentation and information witin an organization. This software given best control to the owners to enable controlled and restricted access to the information for the targetted users.
This helps users to access the information remotely from any location using centralized location link using web browser hence the companies can place the data securely at a centralized location even with password protection and let their employees to access the information virtually from any location using the link or url to access the information. Users can also edit or create new information on the portal using certain credentials provided as per the organizational chart.
This also helps companies to distribute the important bulletin without being any need to distribute that locally to the employees.
It's one of the best software for such controlled and restricted access to the information and valuable data.

Cons

Though it is very effective tool for management of information Sharing within an organization but it require some experience to set the checkpoints to enable the restricted access to the information to a certain group of peoples such as password protection, applying some read only checks and other restrictions that can be implemented.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

A professional document sharing and collaboration tool

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

I've recently been evaluating SharePoint to determine if it is an effective way for our company to share sensitive documents internally and externally with other users involved in our projects. It does seem to be a solid tool for sharing documents securely so we have decided to go with it. So far, so good. I will say that most of the same features are available through Google Docs for free but ultimately, it was the whole package that SharePoint is part of that convinced us to move our workspace into it for the sake of convenience and consistency.

Pros

This software allows you to share your documents, edit and collaborate with other users anywhere in the world in real time, securely. It's an amazing thing when you can see who is currently viewing and editing a document and everything anyone does is automatically saved and secure within the group it is shared with. SharePoint helps save an incredible amount of time and makes remote meetings much more productive. One of the possible drawbacks is that it seems to be limited to people who also use Sharepoint and live in the Microsoft community of software but I recently learned that you can share with people who don't have Microsoft accounts by providing them with a security key to access the documents. It becomes a two step process for them to accept the document and then get the key to enter but at least it is possible and this makes sure your documents remain secure.

Cons

It is possible to share with people who aren't part of your network or even Microsoft's network but again, it takes extra steps. Also, there are settings that enable or disable the feature and it is not very clear where the settings are or how to use all the different share options. It took some trial and error, testing and talks with Microsoft support before we were comfortable that it could do what we needed it to do and how to do it. Even after all of that, it is still a bit unclear when certain options should be used but I suppose that could be considered a benefit of the software's flexibility to do the similar things with different methods.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Harsha V.

The Future Software Point of Sharing a Perfect Collaborative Tool to make an Awesome Organization!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

+ Creating a new SharePoint site/app/directory is very easy and manageable. Users need to request the access before using the website or owner can manage how and whom to give what permission level of access on each site.
+ We could inherit permissions from top level site or we can manage permissions separately to each individual sub sites.
+ Permissions on each document level! Jaw Dropping feature of genius.
+ It has a plenty amount of features to choose from and you can customize each app to fit your business needs.
+ You can also add sandbox solution based or script based jssor/jsom apps to each SharePoint site.
+ Very easy to share files and information across our organization.
+ Perfect for document management and storage system for employees of many locations.
Syncing the SharePoint content is a nice feature.
+ Uploading/Checking in thousands of documents at one click with the help of explorer is definitely something special.
+ Connecting SharePoint calendars to your Outlook calendar will make your work life easy.
+ SharePoint Designer, Info path, Nintex, K2 all are bonus to have for OOTB Workflow configurations.
+ Content management Checkin, Checkout, Publish, Approve/Reject features are nice features to have on each document.
+ Not only Search, You can even do Filters among search results.
+ Not only Filters, You can do Best Bets on search results.
+ What is more, All search results are very fast across the whole website.

Cons

A humble advice to Microsoft SharePoint team! since we can't host External websites on cloud, It will be good if they come up with Team Communication sites, Forms apps within On Premises.
Comments from Anonymous users on our SharePoint Blogs: If we have the ability to get comments/likes from anonymous users outside our organization it would be helpful for organizations which are depending on SharePoint On Premises version because of PPI (Personal Protected Information) data.
In Overall, There isn't anything to dislike about it, to be honest it is everything we've expected it to be.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Anilkumar P.

Microsoft SharePoint CMS for Managing content and documents of organization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/06/07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

If you are small organization, always prefer SharePoint Online services and SharePoint on-premise is recommended for big organization usually.

Pros

1. Since it is Microsoft product, Area of development and support is very vast and also accepted globally.
2. Guidelines for installing and configuring SharePoint is very easy to compare to other CMS available in the market.
3. From performance and security point of view, SharePoint is the best product for any organization.
4.Can be easily integrated with other Microsoft product such as Outlook, Azure, Yammer, Office, and PowerBI etc.
5. SharePoint also has Foundation version (till SharePoint 2013) for free to target smaller organization.
6. With the release of SharePoint Online on cloud, It provides more flexibility and less IT team work for any organization, especially for a smaller organization.

Cons

1. Maintaining SharePoint on-premises for smaller organisation becomes very difficult and costly because it requires more technical support.
2.SharePoint may have added customization options for those who wants to implement intranet system, Microsoft actually discourages this from happening. The ease of customization with custom designs, especially from a home page perspective, can help businesses better tailor their intranet experience to the individual workers.
3. To work SharePoint search efficiently, Lots of internal customization is needed.
4. Since for SharePoint online, Microsoft is maintaining server, which ends in providing less scope for customizing.
5.Migration from old SharePoint version to new is little complex and requires lots of efforts

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Muneeba F.

Safe, Secure and one of the best Microsoft Products ever!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/08
Review Source: Capterra

Sharepoint has helped me a lot in my business. Sharepoint acts as an extra storage device for me to store all my business relevant data. The space provided by Sharepoint is also quite extensive hence anything can be saved. Entire folders can be uploaded into the Sharepoint browser link so need not to upload/save one file at a time. Also, being a product of Microsoft, it has the best security available. This software is reliable and the top notch security ensures all my data is saved and can't be compromised. My colleagues and I can share the Sharepoint link and can save data simultaneously and also work from it in live time. One of the best Microsoft Products

Pros

Instant reporting 24/7 and consolidate data to get better reports
Can create a unique SharePoint intranet
Can enable cross-department collaboration
Can address multiple service providers
We can decide on the best pricing model
Perfect solution for small businesses planning to grow big.
Central repository / one point of truth to store and share all company data.
There are plenty of licensing models to choose from that will suit any business size.
Extremely scalable and can address multiple business requirements thereby saving you money
Communicate from a single source to give everyone the same message.
Create electronic forms to reduce the paper trail.

Cons

Customization time and costs
Integration can require extra development effort
The licensing model is very complex
You need the right expertise to get it set up correctly.
It will require a lot of configuration and training.
It's browser based so if there is no internet, it means no SharePoint

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Susan D.

SharePoint is an excellent way to set up your company's intranet.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/28
Review Source: Capterra

A wealth of experience in working with intranet communities. I found this to be invaluable as I went on to create my own online communities.

Pros

I was part of the team with the Oregon Department of Administration in the creation of their employee intranet built with SharePoint.

It was an easy transition for me to learn SharePoint for the following reasons:

Combined with previous knowledge of HTML, my familiarity with Microsoft products made it easy for me to learn SharePoint. With two day's of formal training, I was able to get up to speed in virtually no time.

SharePoint has a wide variety of pre-built modules out of the box from which developers can select.

One very pleasing aspect of the finished project was that the end-users came on board and operated their new employee website with ease and productivity.

It gives the State employees a place both for resources for knowledge of government procedures and a marketing platform to promote their office to the rest of the department.

It gives them a place for teams to streamline their workflow within each office and work together as virtual teams to enhance their digital processes.

It gives each office an opportunity to individualize their space on the intranet to show their office's competencies and assets.

As I am a designer at heart, SharePoint gave me the opportunity to express my creativity through the interpretation and development of each module to fit the end-user.

Cons

If you have the experience ( a background with Microsoft products), it's easy to learn SharePoint. If not, it can be a bit trickier in that the HTML coding is sufficiently different within SharePoint that it can lead to confusion. I found this easy to overcome, but some might not and that is a consideration when selecting software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Rachel S.

SharePoint - 2018 review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/29
Review Source: Capterra

I used to not like SharePoint at all. It was not user-friendly at all and essentially it wasn't functional. Now that the SharePoint site I use has had some re-modeling and organizing, I feel more educated on the product and I am able to use the features to access the information I need to preform my job duties. SharePoint became much more user-friendly when I was able to customize the site for my team's specific needs. I had to work with my organization's specialized SharePoint experts to educate myself and my team, and get access to several controls in order to make the necessary changes my team needed, which was a difficult process. Overall, once all the changes were made the SharePoint site my team and I use is functioning and we are easily able to retrieve documents quickly, share important bits of information, update calendars to keep everyone informed of events, PTO, OOO, etc., and we can access links to all the websites we need to use to preform our job all in one location. It's great for training purposes and is helpful for new hires to have all the information they need in one convenient location. Now that SharePoint is up and running properly for my team, it is a very helpful resource that we could not do our job without.

Pros

It's customizable and has lots of capabilities. There are multiple applications you can add to a webpage.

Cons

The company I work for has controls set in place that limit your ability to have free range of the customizations and capabilities of the site. We had to do a lot of work to create a useable platform for the team I work on to be able to easily access documents and build a library of information. The search function is not user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Creating your team site is easy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/03
Review Source

Pros

Easy to use site creation allows you to have your own intranet. You create a page, give it a title, and then start adding announcement tabs, calendars, documents, and other additional features. The basic layout is easy to understand. It is a great value if you purchased an Office 365 license. You can add additional apps with the online version, but the on-premise version has more of the robust features. Anyone can manage a SharePoint site and its great for team collaborations and shared documents. Its a great way to give your company their own website internally. You can also use it for your own documentation or knowledge base center internally. This works really well as others can make changes to documents and edit files as they wish.

Cons

SharePoint has some confusing permission issues if you're wary that someone in your company has too much or too little access. If an employee checks out a document then you may have to check that back in. These are just a few issues I had with permissions within SharePoint. We used the cloud based version at first, which lacks a lot of features and limits the amount of creativity you could add to the site. I really wish Microsoft would make all the menus a bit more user friendly because I feel like Site Settings can be confusing for someone simply wanting to manage one or two in-depth details of the site and its users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Vince P.

Sharepoint review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

One certain benefit is how scalable SharePoint 2016 is without the danger of lowering performance. There's been an increase in max file sizes and the number of items that can be indexed, along with a bigger list threshold. Plus you have precise control over license costs per staff member ideal for small or growing teams.

Pros

These are just some of the pros that we have liked about Sharepoint. It is a central repository / one point of truth to store and share all your company data. Sharepoint complies with ISO standards and other legislation, which is a plus. Sharepoint enforces standards, publish policies, and provides audit trails on your changes. Sharepoint provides instant reporting 24/7 and consolidates data to get better reports. You can create electronic forms to help reduce the paper trail. You can communicate from a single source to give everyone the same message. It is scalable and can address multiple business requirements thereby saving you money.

It integrates with most other software, so if you can use SharePoint for your business solutions, you can still surface the data from other applications in SharePoint.

Cons

This is an expensive solution. You need the right expertise to get it set up correctly. It does require a lot of configuration and training. In larger companies it can take 3-5 years to successfully rollout an adopt. The licensing model is very complex.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Joebe C.

Great backend for intranets

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/27
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I have used Sharepoint in many different capacities and have found it to be the best for internal use / intranets. It has the ability to house thousands of resources that can be easily navigated in the backend with an uncomplicated sitemap structure. Whilst working for a large UK company that relied on Sharepoint to aid colleagues in their day to day working life on the Retail shop floor, I found the CMS to be consistent and efficient especially with the publishing and un-publishing of content (drag and drop and bulk editing functionalities). Sharepoint not only allows for a collaborative working space but has become a dynamic, integrated platform where users not only see the intranet as a document repository, but a source of knowledge.

Cons

Due to it's ability to house such a large amount of information, Sharepoint (like all CMS') really does need to have consistent, aggressive house keeping done. If archiving or deleting material is not high on the list of the CMS users or owners, the backend of this software becomes a mindfield - the same is also true if users are not taught the intended sitemap structure in their induction to the system. Additionally, the legacy versions don't have the most beautiful looking interface and at times it can be a bit confusing to master but once you know how to use it, you know for life.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Jessie bell W.

It gets the job done, but not in a fun or enjoyable way

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/02
Review Source: Capterra

SharePoint, in my opinion, is pretty OK. I would just as soon use DropBox or Google Documents to manage documents, but I think SharePoint is probably better for larger organizations with multiple moving parts. Again, I'm not sure if the problems I have with SharePoint are intrinsic SharePoint issues, or how my company set it up.

Pros

SharePoint allows you to share files with you coworkers easily. If you need software that helps you stay organized, helps keep your remote team connected, and a way to keep project files documented, this software works. For us, we had a large number of team members working remotely, and from satellite offices around the US. Sharepoint helped keep project managers and administrators accountable, and helped us stay organized and on the same page. We were easily able to manage document flow, and everyone could find documents easily

Cons

I don't know if this is a SharePoint problem, or how our IT administrators set up our SharePoint sites, but it was sometimes hard to navigate. There seemed to be endless dead-ends where you had to use the "back" browser button in order to navigate up folder levels. The features that allow you to edit Word / Excel documents in the browser never worked, and always ended up crashing. Also, the "social media" feature that allows you to post updates about what you are doing is really cheesy.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Tom R.

SharePoint Online Has Limitations

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/09/18
Review Source: Capterra

Less complicated infrastructure management.

Pros

SharePoint is relatively simple to use to configure sites, user groups, and the like. Like most CMS's, it can have a default "look and feel" across just about all aspects of a site or group of sites. It's integration with Office 365 is thorough. If you have basic needs for hosting an internal site, with not particular need for complicated integrations or workflows, SharePoint Online is a viable option.

Cons

Unlike the on-premise version of SharePoint, you do have a number of restrictions with SharePoint Online. There is no access to certain logs for troubleshooting. There is no direct access to the database driving the site. Certain automated processes are limited in scope and frequency.

Some general SharePoint issues include workflows that are somewhat handicapped in what they can do. The built-in workflows are very limited in scope, and SharePoint Designer, used to create more advanced SharePoint workflows, has not been updated in years. Microsoft seems to be pushing customers to use Flow, which costs extra and has a different feature set than SharePoint Workflows. Flow seems much more geared towards integration with other, third party sites and platforms, while being very limited in what it can achieve within SharePoint itself. SharePoint Workflows, on the other hand, can perform many more tasks native to SharePoint, but are very limited with any sort of integration to other sites or platforms. There are odd quirks to SharePoint Workflows, though. Such as the ability to copy a file from one library to another, but not move the file. There's also not a method within SharePoint Workflows to move or copy a file to a specific folder within a library. You can use the built-in content organizer rules to handle these tasks, but it add's complexity and is limited in frequency.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Brett C.

A great addition to using Microsoft Office in the corporate world.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/12/21
Review Source: Capterra

- Better file distribution & collaborative editing abilities
- Pliable and user-friendly mobile user interface
- File storage & document capabilities of a fortune 500 companies without huge implementation overhead

Pros

Overall this software is the best for large-scale collaboration. A few of the things I like the most:
- In-depth file & permission structures are possible
- Easily integrates with nearly all Microsoft Office applications
- Employees can easily be managed through one location instead of requiring API interface or multiple site permission/deletion work
- Saves each iteration of a documents change, allows users to go back to the first iteration and view progressive changes & who made those changes
- Usable mobile interface on all platforms
- Online document edits for quick edits that need to take place
- Groups can be established to assign multiple permissions to multiple users easily
- Cloud storage is cheap and easily expandable
- OneDrive app interfaces well & allows easy document upload/download for phones

Cons

- Cloud-based version has frequent changes that sometimes induce bugs
- Little support help outside of forums & slow to little Microsoft support help on those forums.
- Uploaded videos cannot be played on all mobile platforms (currently)
- Permissions has a learning curve & is a combination of the old structure and the new structure, which can lead to confusion when attempting to set granular non-inherited permissions

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Janet M.

Microsoft SharePoint Roadmap Innovation for Eager Business Owners

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/11/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Microsoft SharePoint restore eager business owners and innovative risk takers workforce agility across numerous Information Technology infrastructures. SharePoint is designed to help organize environment workflows and team agility. The software is sustainable and self directed with robotic approaches that encourage and inspire small business owner to leap forward with sustainable possiblities. The methodology is solid comprising professional development mirroring Software and System Full Life Cycle (SDLC) approaches. Personally, I feel Microsoft SharePoint roadmap future directives for business startups without much focus on the business owners. The software is powerful and supported by Microsoft team of qualified engineers; unlimited which help successful drive return of investment (ROI). I recommend the software to business owners to inspired and maintain a successful business environment with prime directives and strategies that secure profits within multidimentional industries.

Pros

Microsoft Sharepoint is the best software to build a business that capture future earnings, stakeholders attention, and professional dynamics advantages in social media while maintaining professional industries standards. I like the opportunities that can be built out to support and sustain any business environment.

Cons

Microsoft Sharepoint require more templates development; which support less experience project managers and project team leads. I think Microsoft should provide a team of qualified engineers that build out customer projects-request directly through Microsoft instead of encouraging third party vendors. This is a prime drawback for numerous small business owners and startups. The time it takes developing high-level templates to support and retain major corporate presence. This is a requirement which should be address by Microsoft. The major drawback for developing dynamic function templates often take to much time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Akash gupta M.

Sharepoint product review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

It saves time and increases communication within the organisation. It also unites the employees by providing a single platform for the management of documents. My organisation has been using SharePoint for 5 years and it has been always a great experience to use SharePoint.

Pros

This software manages documents well and provide efficient way to share the information within an organisation. With the use of sharepoint we can save our important documents at one place and all the employees of an organisation can access the document instantly, which saves time and cost. In SharePoint admin can give particular access to the users as per his requirement eg:- if employee A is working with finance in that scenario share point admin can give access of finance related documents to employee A rather than giving him access to all the documents managed by sharepoint . This option helps organisation to keep their data safe from any vulnerable condition.

Cons

It is recommended for large organisations as intial cost of setting up SharePoint intranet is high and it's not fruitful to use it for small organisation . SharePoint need to be customised before its implementation in a particular organisation and this customisation needs time .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ozgur E.

Simple and easy way of sharing documents/information with large groups

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/06
Review Source: Capterra

In overall, I'm happy with SharePoint. Ms SharePoint is a simple and integrated tool that helps you manage your documents while keeping it safe from unauthorized uses. Recommended for your document safety and interaction with the groups.

Pros

Using Ms SharePoint is a very simple and easy way of managing documents. As known, it's a browser-based document management system. This makes the things easy for most of the users. You can access your data very easily and effectively. I use it in our company and interact with large groups globally inside our organization. Sharing information is easy. If you are the administrator of the sharing portal, it gives you to manage user accesses and rights/privileges easily. Interface is very close to Office applications, ribbons are similar. Advanced checkout process makes sure the safety. Users not require much training.

Cons

It would be better if social framework integration is possible. As social media is getting more space in our lives, this would help. At this point sure confidentiality need to be addressed so that social framework links does not cause any information spread. Another issue can be some issues with document storage if you are subject to use SQL Server.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Natalie G.

Good product if you are a Power User

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/01/26
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our company started using sharepoint to catalog and share information. The main frustration I have had is the ability to find documents. It may be the way our management has chosen to catalog them, but in order to find a certain document, we pretty much have to know the name of the document or plan to look through pages and pages of documents when using a keyword search.

Another issue we have experienced with Sharepoint is a number of documents that are saved and the order they appear in the search. I never know if I am getting the most recent version or a previous version that someone forgot to remove or replace. When I search for a document, there is no order in the way the search results are listed. I don't know if the documents are showing by latest date first, or most relevant, or most popular or just in a random order. Again, this makes it difficult to find the most recent document- or be assured that I am using the most recent.

Other than that, we have found that Sharepoint is a quick way to share lots of information and then save it for later use. After some training, colleagues and I discovered all the cool, very usable features that Sharepoint has. The only trouble is, our management has very few power users so all those cool features are useless to those who use Sharepoint the most.

Another great feature is the ability to really "personalize" the look of Sharepoint. My department has a very simple design with a department calendar, link to announcements and links to other important pages, and a keyword search. I have seen other departments in the organization that has very detailed (and it looks like much more useful) pages with search, a well-planned left-hand menu, and graphical links to other important reports or document libraries.

I am pretty tech savvy, so once I received access to Sharepoint, I was able to get in and use it as far as my permissions allowed without any training.

Pros

Little or no training required to use if you have technical ability.

Cons

If you are not a power user, your ability to add will be very limited.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Robert V.

Enterprise productivity in a university setting.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

Worldwide collaborative ability, and great workflows that ensure consistency in common processess.

Pros

It can do so much. At the basic level it is a library that you can access securely from all over the world. It can house all kinds of documents and video. It is collaborative, as you can share documents and track who has them checked out at any point. More advanced utilizations include interactive websites and SharePoint workflows (one of its best features!). We moved everyone's departmental files from a shared drive to SharePoint. SharePoint comes with everything turned off initially, so security is straight forward as you set it up. No one has access to anything until you allow it, and you can't see what you don't have access to. It is best to hire a SharePoint expert to set it up, as it's complexity is considerable.

Cons

If you have financial people who create file paths through a dozen folders, you will have trouble storing these items in SharePoint without modifying the folder structure, as there is a limit on file path characters. You cannot store a database in SharePoint, and if you turn on Versioning it will take up a lot more space.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Uros O.

Best Office 365 service hands down.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

I'm using SharePoint for more than 3 years now, and it is the main tool in my Company, I edit view and share SharePoint pages daily, where all our procedures and documentation are stored.

Pros

If you work at a company that owns Office 365 Subscription you have got to try SharePoint out. This is a great Knowledge-Base tool that can help you store, keep track of and share all your important Documents/Procedures/Files etc..
SharePoint is very powerful tool, it allows you to set access level and permissions for any page you have on your SharePoint, and even you can Synchronize it with OneDrive making all your Documents available offline on your dedicated device. SharePoint is simple to use, and simple to create any sort of page where you want to store your important documents and it is very customizable, so you can make every SharePoint page stand out from the other and be unique in it's own way.

Cons

SharePoint is very Customizable and you can do almost anything with it, but the Con would be that there is not that much of a templates to use, so you will have to start your page from scratch.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Randall H.

Great collaboration tool for your intranet

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Sharepoint allows for the easy storage, management, and sharing of information within your company. It is more than just your basic configuration management tool as it integrates flawlessly with other Microsoft products such as Word, Excel, Powerpoint, etc. You could have multiple people working on the same document and modifications sync up and can merge with each other. The Cloud based feature of it allows you to access documents remotely from your mobile device, which can be very convenient. Over the years, the interface has become visually more appealing and easier to use and navigate.

Cons

There are certainly other collaboration tools available in the market that compete with Sharepoint and are in many ways better than it in my experience. There are many options and features and it is not always straightforward on how to use them, so there's a bit of a learning curve for new users. I wish permissions could be set up such that managers or team leads had elevated levels of control, not as high as IT obviously but more than regular users. Every time one of our team members leaves, there would always be files locked by that person, and it just gets annoying to have to have IT unlock it for us every time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Justin L.

Great Power Requires a Deep Learning Curve

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/23
Review Source: Capterra

Sharepoint's versatility as a document management and storage tool addresses many needs across the organization. There's site building, communities, analytics and a host of other capabilities that far exceed my objectives and knowledge. Which is the biggest issue that I have: I know what my objective is and I know what I need to do but the learning curve is very high for even the most basic of functions. I understand that creating dashboards and pages according to the Sharepoint paradigm requires some reasonable amount of research and learning, but processes such as checking out documents to edit and editing permissions to objects should be more clear and intuitive. In addition, it may not come as a suprise, but be sure to use Internet Explorer when using Sharepoint; certain features will simply not work in other browsers. Be prepared to do your homework when you need to complete a project using the tool. You'll get there, but it may take more time than you originally expected.

Pros

Powerful and versatile tool that address a variety of intranet site building and document management needs.

Cons

High learning curve. Not very intuitive. Basic functions and navigation should be simpler.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Brett V.

Microsoft SharePoint - It's more than just your company's internal website.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/03
Review Source: Capterra

We have SharePoint Foundation installed and in use in our main office. It was a free offering from Microsoft, and while it has some limitations, it's been a great addition to our company's assets. We have several sites site up, one for each project team, and a main company site where we use a shared company calendar, document repository, company project management, employee telephone directory, and training resources. Several of the customers we provide technical support for also use SharePoint in their businesses, with varying levels of customization.

Pros

I like the granular level of customization and bolt on third party apps and templates that are available and add nearly unlimited functionality to the SharePoint platform. I like that it can be accessible from within or outside of, a company's internal domain, and that which areas of Sharepoint a user can see and access is controled through differing levels of security.

Cons

If you don't understand the basics of web development and Internet Information Services (IIS), building SharePoint Site's, lists, repositories and administering the back end will have a learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10