170 reviews

Adaptive Planning

Enterprise planning software for agile budgeting & reporting

4,5 /5 (170 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,5
/
5
Value for Money
4,4
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,5
95% recommended this app
170 reviews
Nick C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Adaptive has created a tool that is easy to use and provides value almost instantly.

Reviewed on 2017/08/01

Pros

I love the ease of creating a budget and the ability to quickly create a new forecast. Adaptive has created a formula wizard that is similar to excel, which makes it easy for excel based planners to easily adapt. Adaptive also has an excel interface for reporting, OfficeConnect which makes reporting even easier. They have also created an upload feature to easily maintain your hierarchy, dimensions and attributes. For a company as large as ours it makes the maintenance of the system easier.

Since Adaptive is Cloud based there is no sharing excel files. I can work with anyone in my organization from anywhere and we are all able to access the same file. Since everything is housed in Adaptive we are able to collaborate easier and make better decisions.

Cons

There is always room for improvement and Adaptive is always listening to its customers. There are some features that make reporting a little clunky, rollups. They recently updated the reporting tool within Adaptive, but it doesn't seem as user friendly as the older version. Hopefully over time it will be easier to use.

Rob G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Consistency and savings through use of Adaptive Planning

Reviewed on 2016/03/04

When I started in my role as Manager of FP&A with an agricultural inputs company, one of my first tasks was to move our planning and forecasting processes away from Excel workbooks. Trying to manage P&L's for 200+ retail locations and departments, combined with nearly 2,000 employees, during a high-growth period proved to be challenging, to say the least.

Adaptive Planning has streamlined our planning and forecasting cycles and helped us to standardize metrics, reporting and analysis. Through the use of multiple versions, we have the ability to compare plans, forecasts and actuals across the organization.

My only regret related to Adaptive Planning was the timing of our implementation. We started our implementation in late-July and finished in October, which coincided with our annual planning cycle. We survived, but I would not recommend this timeline!

Pros:
1) Implementation was relatively quick (even though we implemented during our annual planning cycle).
2) Affordability compared to other SAAS and on-site alternatives.
3) Flexibility allows us to mold portions of the product to our needs.
4) Customer support is excellent and timely.
5) Tool can be maintained by Finance; IT involvement is not required for installation or maintenance.
6) Ongoing product enhancements continue to improve this product.
7) Office Connect allows for creation of templates in Excel, Word and PowerPoint. Updating with current results is a simple refresh button-click.
8) Attributes and dimensions allow for unlimited slicing/dicing of organizational data.

Cons:
1) Only a single organization structure is currently available in a single-instance installation. This has caused some headaches, especially in the window of year-end close and progressing into a different organization structure in the new year. We have worked around this issue by utilizing level attributes to view our data in multiple structures.
2) The reporting side of the tool could be improved, including automating linkage to standard distribution/reporting platforms. For example, we use SharePoint for distribution of standard reports, but publishing reports from Adaptive to SharePoint is currently a manual process.

Alex S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Adaptive Planning the best FP&A platform

Reviewed on 2016/07/19

We implemented 20 customers using Cognos, Oracle and SAP. Adaptive was a huge discovery for us. Is an amazing solution. The best for all parties is that Adaptive is really administered for Finance people despite other software.

Pros

Ease of use.
Thought from Finance to Finance people

Cons

It´s not available for on premise environments.

Dan G.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome tool for budgeting and forecasting. We don't even maximize the product and still love...

Reviewed on 2018/05/07

The ability to ditch Excel for our annual budget process

Pros

The ability to track payroll, depreciation, and other "sheets" to roll up in the data. Also, we load actuals from our G/L to help with forecasting. Overall, an awesome product.

Cons

Not to much to say here, but there are some complex formulas that need to be written at times. Need to be very careful the data is pulling from the proper sheets when creating a new version(s).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Adaptive Planning is 100 times better than an Excel Spreadsheet

Reviewed on 2016/02/25

Prior to Adaptive Planning, my company used 100's of complex spreadsheets for our annual budgeting process. The system is configured to do everything our spreadsheets did for us and more. No more formatting spreadsheets for each of our 90 depts...

Pros

Add assumptions one time and all applicable areas are updated.

Cons

Version protection could be better. Some changes in assumptions aren't version specific, therefore previously locked versions are affected. This is not good for companies that use prior budget versions for benchmarking purposes. The reporting module could be a little more robust but can give you some nice basic reports.

Kelly P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Creating accountability for our budget

Reviewed on 2014/10/23

Pros

Not only does Adaptive Planning remove the pain of consolidating spreadsheets to quickly roll up our budget, but it also gives the ownership and accountability to each of the users who enter data into the sheets. The software is very user-friendly and utilizes some of the best features of Excel.

Cons

Although Adaptive gave us a great deal of flexibility in adding as many users as we needed to allow us to think through the users and the roles, it's a very sales-driven organization, and they were somewhat pushy to have us sign contracts by the end of the quarter in order to fill their quotas.

Ken H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Dairy
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Don't look back

Reviewed on 2016/03/09

Collaboration and error free financials with the simplicity of Excel.
I've presented this solution to a number of financial advisers and consultants on behalf of all sorts of enterprises and they are astonished by how easy it is to get up and running and the consistent, single source of truth, information it will give them on a regular basis to help manage their businesses.

Pros

Easy to set-up and deliver results with.
Great for real-time information for planning.
Makes collaboration easier and cuts down processing or number crunhcing time.

Cons

Can take some time for users to be comfortable moving away from Excel and organisations don't often allow enough time to plan the implementation - it is simpler than competitive products but expectation management (you still need a decent plan/structure) is key.

Brian L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Adaptive Planning is a Must for FP&A

Reviewed on 2016/03/02

Our company has used Adaptive Planning for about 2 years now. We went from a complex Excel spreadsheet based system to an organized and efficient Adaptive budgeting process. The customization and flexibility in the system is almost limitless and impressive.

Pros

Customization, flexibility, value, security

Cons

Administration - learning to build and maintain the system is complex, but that is why the system is so powerful

Igor C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Pretty flexible and adaptive

Reviewed on 2018/04/11

Adaptive is a good substitute for the good old Excel. While it may automate most of the manual work, Adaptive has a quite a room for improvement and I am very hopeful they will continue to get better.

Pros

Adaptive Insights allows to effectively manage both actual data and budget data in one place. Interactive dashboard and data visualization provide real time metric. Another good feature is that it allows collaboration on projects across various departments of the company.

Cons

There were issues with foreign currency conversions that just shouldn't be there in this type of software. It also uses Java which sometimes gives inconsistent user experience (or just won't respond) depending on the browser used and the version of Java installed. The security permissions for users were also not very intuitive to set up.

Rick S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Adapt to Adaptive

Reviewed on 2014/08/21

As a FP&A analyst, I have implemented Adaptive Insight's cloud based planning software multiple times across several organizations. Each time, our end users found the tool to be intuitive while increasing the accuracy of their forecasts and budgets while minimizing the time spent in completing the task at hand. Regardless of size, complexity or organizational structure, the application can be easily customized for any organization to produce a full set of financials.

Coupled with dynamic reporting and visual analytics both with drill down capability in addition to the ability to quickly crank out various scenarios based upon key financial/operational metrics, Adaptive Insights is a must for any organization that has to produce forecasts. Evolve from excel and adapt to Adaptive!

Billy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2016/08/30

Its been a difficult implementation. We have been implementing for more than a year, but still no final production.

Pros

has a lot of features; great planning tool. Vision is awesome

Cons

Not user friendly; takes a lot of training to be good at it.

Scott K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Software

Reviewed on 2016/03/22

I am in the beginning phase of using Adaptive Insights, and I've already seen the how beneficial this software will be in our company. I've previously used IBM's Cognos TM1 software, and while that software is great, it definitely requires a lot more resources (dedicated servers, etc...) to implement it and keep it running. This software has a great, easy-to-use interface that makes building out the architecture simple and easy to follow.

Pros

Ease-of-use
Ability to connect to many data sources
Ability to create front-end user reports
Ability to add many business users with varying security levels

Cons

Office Connectivity - there is an Office Connect module available with Adaptive, but the connectivity to Microsoft Office is still limited. IBM's Cognos TM1 had more options when connecting with Excel.

Panagiota M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Adaptive (Non-Profit)

Reviewed on 2017/03/17

We are implementing Adaptive planning and forecasting in order to automate the process of quarterly forecast and connecting a complicated expense driven model along with Grant Management. Although it is complicated to set up, the end result is value for money.

Pros

AUTOMATIONS AND DASHBOARD

Cons

COMPLICATED TO SET UP

Bart F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

User friendly

Reviewed on 2017/10/10

Pros

Very useful product. Depending on business needs it provides the extent of capabilities to manage and govern your business both operationally and financially

Cons

The reporting side is a little light for my needs. I like flexibility in customizing my reports to my needs.

Steven F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Adaptive Review

Reviewed on 2017/04/02

Adaptive has been very helpful for our finance org. We are able to use adaptive for a single source of knowledge that can be accessed across the company at any point in time. While we are currently using it only within our finance org, I can see the potential to use it across departments. The software is very easy to use to view different facts and scenarios. The exporting ability through office connect has been amazing as well.

Brian M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Budgeting and Planning tool

Reviewed on 2014/06/04

Adaptive makes it very easy to look at historical data in a nice simplified way. It allows me to effectively plan for the upcoming year as well as communicate current trends that are happening in our business at a very granual level.

I do wish Adaptive was a bit more robust to be able to look at more than just planning. I often have to build several reports in excel because there is not enough opportunity to look at additional items. Such as member data/profitability, heat mapping, and product profitability. It would also be nice if it linked daily data so executive members can look at reports with fresh data anytime they want without requesting it from the Finance Department.

I believe Adaptive to be a perfect product for what it is, but I think it could be capable of so much more.

Herman N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use, fast reporting when integrated well

Reviewed on 2016/04/28

Pros:
- Fast when data is integrated well
- Flexible with different cuts of information
- Accessible via the cloud
- Office Connect is great

Cons:
- full features are reliant in a PC environment (not friendly to OS users)
- Reports feel clunky and business users resist it
- when not integrated well with an ERP system, can be very frustrating

Matt B.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall positive

Reviewed on 2017/06/01

Pros

Version control is extremely important in FP&A. I love how easy is it to control our docs and to see when changes have been made.

Cons

The modeling aspect can be a bit challenging. I often times find it easier to work out of excel when working with heavier modeling.

Alissa N.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Forecasting made easy!

Reviewed on 2018/05/30

We were able to better forecast for a large multi affiliate company.

Pros

I love that Adaptive Insights made forecasting so easy. I liked that we could have every department contribute to the forecast and have it all roll into one easy to read report.

Cons

I don't like that changes didn't update in real time, but rather after a refresh. I believe you can have it refresh often so it can be close to real time.

Antony W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very Positive Experience with Adaptive

Reviewed on 2014/07/16

Pros

This is a very user-friendly product that allows you to customize your report layout. The vendor is very supportive.

Cons

The thing I like least is probably that the product does not follow the same logic as MS Excel.

Rene V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Adaptive Planning

Reviewed on 2016/02/26

Adaptive Planning has been able to speed up our annual budgeting process. It has great reporting functionality and great help desk that's always quick to respond and help out with any issues you might be having.

Dan B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Adaptive Insights

Reviewed on 2015/02/10

Great software. In most cases you will need to use professional services from either Adaptive or an outside vendor. Once you have you instance set-up then the software is great and is very intuitive to make changes to.

Gustavo V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Robust and Flexible Managment Reporting Tool

Reviewed on 2016/05/18

Pros: Very flexible options regarding data connections, dimensions, attribute tagging, and overall system setup.

Cons: Microsoft reporting features can be costly to add

Mannat P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review of Adaptive Insights

Reviewed on 2016/11/08

Best part about this that you don't need to maintain finances anymore (it is automatic). I love that it can be completely customized for the unique details of our company.

Pros

Cloud based.
Easy to change functionality.
Easy to use and update and many more.

Cons

Product is very costly as compared to others.

Jaynee T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Efficiencies are gained which have resulted in more time savings and accuracy!

Reviewed on 2016/04/28

I have no cons to share. The pros are to totally eliminate the usage of excel spreadsheets in the budget process.