19 reviews

Brainshark

Business presentation provider

4 /5 (19 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
79%
recommended this app
19 reviews
Jason C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Integrating Process and Product Training to CRM

Reviewed on 2017/12/06

Large process and product trainings can be an ineffective and inefficient use of time considering schedules and makeup sessions for a large sales organization.Brainshark allows us to get trainings out effectively on a large scale and across departments and sites that allows users to complete at a time that works best for their workflow and allows managers to hold reports accountable for completion.

Pros

Brainshark allows us to train and coach our sales floor efficiently and effectively, saving time in conference rooms and away from our desks, phones and computers by integrating into our CRM. We can use data to bring real time product trainings to our sales force as necessary depending on client, product or focus.

Cons

The course catalog and transcripts tab in Salesforce can be clunky and unintuitive. Curriculum and transcript tabs are difficult to organize.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I like brainshark - smart training

Reviewed on 2020/02/20

We use brainshark to make sure people do their trainings prior to a big event (SKO, Team Meetings, Etc.). We are able to get 100% people to do it and so far we've been happy with it.

Pros

Easy to use and not a buggy system. You're able to make sure people watch the videos and answer the questions at the end. Easy to find out people's scores and message people to take training. Interface looks good and easy to use

Cons

None that I can think of, had a positive experience so far with Brainshark. So there are no cons from me, would highly recommend

Katie S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great for starting an online training not an ongoing fit

Reviewed on 2017/09/07

Pros

Very easy to use, if you can use power point you can use this product. Great ability to create curriculums and stand alone courses.

Cons

Pricing is absurd for a learning management system. Also, in that space there hasn't been a ton of innovation that seems to keep pace with the industry.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great app for uploading, adding voiceover and distributing Powerpoint presentations,

Reviewed on 2018/04/10

It allows me to record voiceovers for my clients powerpoint presentations from my desk, and not have to record each slide's notes in my studio and then have to import them into Brainshark - unless I want to (that option IS available, but just not optimal for me).

Pros

Ease of use. I love how you can add a soundtrack to your decks in numerous ways, including over the phone, with your laptop mike, with a USB mike or you can record them separately and import them into Brainshark.

Cons

The only con I can think of is, when recording you cannot pause recording. If your phone rings, or a noisy car drives by - and you are reading a long slide - you have to delete it all and start the slide over. If there were more robust editing features (instead of just record/preview/save), that would save some time.

Larry S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 2018/08/07

Steven M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fun tool, but not robust to support large training

Reviewed on 2018/05/10

Pros

Ease of use and ability to rapidly create content, also over the last few years built out many new functionalities and was impressed with their improvement.

Cons

Just not robust enough to drive large training events through, more of an add on but it is a hard sell because have other content tools. Decided not to purchase.

Artem V.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The ABC's of Capturing Customers with Brainshark

Reviewed on 2018/03/17

Replicating event session replays to our users, and broadcasting exec-level presentations to the selling community (and users too). It gives great analytics for what content is being consumed, and the viewing details inside the content, and give guidance as to what's important and what is compelling.

Pros

Cloud-based, the login-and-go functionality is what I use the most. Being able to edit a slide and/or the narration without disrupting the entire presentation, and have those updates flow into the existing URL. (ie: no file manipulations needed!). Viewing statistics are very good.

Cons

The authoring tools are outdated and take a long time to really polish and setup animation timings, video syncs, etc. (although still better than other methods, this can still be significantly enhanced). The mobile player (HTML5) is terrible, and they are really late to improve that given the death of Flash and how most browsers will automatically pull the not-so-great HTML5 player. They did recently improve the resolution quality of the slides in the HTML5 player, and they have plans to improve all of these areas, hopefully by Q1-Q2 2018.

Derek B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to use testing

Reviewed on 2020/08/18

It's easy to create exams and push them out to the required audience.

Pros

Very organized. Intuitive to use. Clearly shows due dates and required testing courses. Easy to use video and audio in testing.

Cons

Some of the question types and lengths are confusing. It is sometimes unclear which questions are required or their weight.

Nathan H.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I have used brainshark to edit presentations, add narration, and share with others.

Reviewed on 2018/06/22

Pros

I enjoy the reporting regarding views and that Brainshark can help me do so many things to be sure my audience is learning from the content I create and share.

Cons

The only thing I might change is to be able to avoid having to record full pages at a time. In those cases, I'd prefer to be able to pause the recording.

Dale S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SharkSmart

Reviewed on 2015/04/13

SharkSmart

Pros

Ease of use and flow. Intuitive to work through the program.

Cons

Sometimes it can get too simplistic with the presentation.

Adam C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Difficult to use in updated software

Reviewed on 2019/02/04

Pros

I like that you can choose what input for audio that you would like. After uploading your presentation you can choose to record directly from the site or use call in number to record your audio.

Cons

I don't like that the web based version of the software is flash based. This requires browsers that support flash. We've had to use Internet Explorer as the main browser for this and have recently had trouble with newer computers not connecting via their internal mics.

Cheryl J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great training and LMS system

Reviewed on 2014/06/04

We selected the Brainshark system after looking at 8-10 different vendors. It seemed like most of the vendors would excel in one area, but fall short in another. Brainshark seemed to have the features that we were looking for, including:
-Ease of preparation for the presentations, ability to upload PPT, video, audio, attachments, etc.
-The ability to add audio without spending extra money on recording equipment (you can call in and record audio using any phone)
-Easy editing of presentations, and ability to update information easily when minor changes are needed
-Tracking of attendance, and the ability to upload records to our HRMS
-The sales executive and installation coordinator were very helpful, professional, and easy to work with
-Ability to build training curriculums with a series of training steps
-Comprehensive reporting system to track attendance, test scores, etc.
-The ability to build customer focused presentations to link to our social media pages and website without the need for a user login - this was a piece that was missing in several of the vendors that we reviewed.

The areas that we would like to see added at some time in the future:
-The ability to do basic video editing (e.g. cut a video, split or merge videos
-The ability to use the system to level out the differences in audio levels when different inputs are added to a course

We are just in the final phases of the project implementation, and so far, we love the system. We have developed several courses so far, and have gotten positive feedback from our employees. We are very happy with the Brainshark system.

Drew M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Major logon problems with Brain Shark

Reviewed on 2016/05/03

Any new salespeople that I want to get started training have to wait 24 to 48 hours to get a log in password that works. No phone numbers to talk with someone, only chat that you have to wait for someone and if you don't see they are writing, they close you out and you have to start over.
Hopefully it will get better.

José luis P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Brainshark, the easiest way to coach and train your teams

Reviewed on 2019/04/30

Brainshark is used in my company mainly to coach and train our teams effectively and in an efficient manner in different topics and policies. It has proven to be a very user friendly tool which has boosted the knowledge and capabilities inside our organization.

Pros

What I like the most about brainshark is that it is a versatile and very easy to use tool.
You can create your presentations and upload them into the site, customize the audio, etc.
I really like the fact that you can measure the learning because of the quizes you can include into the webinars.

Cons

The mobile app is currently only supports IOS devices.

Jasmine A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Tech Support

Reviewed on 2018/10/09

It was ok. My employer use it for taking test about new products that we will release.

Pros

It was easy to use at work. I was able to go back and finish some questions.

Cons

I did not like that if you accidentally close out of the session it will count as an attempt.

Shannon R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Haven't had a lot of experience. Needs some fine tuning. Speed of each presentation is very...

Reviewed on 2017/05/09

Pros

I think it has the potential to be a great LMS with some corrections. Not sure if this is a Brainshark issue or vendor issue.

Cons

The speed of each presentation and the location of attachments are not very visible for clients who are not as familiar with the product.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Brainshark is a game changer!

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

We've been able to save time and additional resources since switching to Brainshark,

Pros

Brainshark was very easy to learn and prepare. The editing features are excellent and efficient along with the numerous amounts of reporting tools. So far we've had nothing but positive feedback.

Cons

The price is a little steep but so far I think it is worth the investment due to the minimal issues we've had.

Keith B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Brainshark is great for training

Reviewed on 2017/04/12

I used Brainshark with my previous company. It was very helpful as I was in charge of training and measuring competency of my team.

Pros

Ease of Use. Easy to measure your team competency.

Cons

Can be pricey. Not viable for single product companies but great with multiple.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

An alright platform - not a favorite

Reviewed on 2019/04/04

I was able to use it - but I'm not a fan and would not recommend

Pros

I like that it was pretty straight forward in terms of following tasks that were outlined for me

Cons

It's a very meager video hosting platform - in terms of the student there isn't much to interact with other than what you're given, but the video player was awful. You couldnt easily fast forward/rewind and the video player never went truly full screen! It would always leave the progress bar at the bottom and buttons on the side which was weird.
Plus, I heard it wasn't too intuitive from the admin point of view.